We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most amazing view i ever saw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Haut Plantation

Save Saved
You added La Haut Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Haut Plantation
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
northern ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“the most amazing view i ever saw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

What can i say, thought i had saw everything,, but the view of the piton's was breath taking.... the plantation and its staff were great... the owners inifinity pool just made us speechless.... food was first class and seeing the animals and the fruit growing on the plantation was something i will always remember,,, we stayed at cashew number 1. a lovely room with a four poster bed, mosqi net and everything. only thing was that due to the heat we would have needed 2 ceiling fans as one was not enough.... or air conditioning would help. all in all one of my best holidays. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    76
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
167
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous views and location above st Lucia with stunning vista to the Pitons. The room was huge, very clean and well laid out, with a wonderful balcony where I parked my bicycle ~ the bike has never ever had such a glorious resting place! Staff were lovely, and the infinity pool is a magical experience, watching the sun set whilst in the pool was one of the best memories I have. The food is clean and healthy and tasty. As a picky single female traveller, this was an ideal place to stay and I felt very privileged that this was my first place to stay in st Lucia. It started my holiday in the best way possible, and contributed to the great time I had whilst travelling round there. I would wholeheartedly recommend La Haut.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

You will not find a better place to view the beautiful Pitons. But I did not sleep well at all in our room. We were in the Cashew rooms which provide great views but no AC. I have read in other reviews that there are rooms with AC but they do not have as good or any views of the Pitons.The room had a fan but was so noisy we had to turn it off. We heard our neighbors from about 1am to 3am. We had a great big patio and a large room I just wish there was a standing fan or AC. We used the owners vanishing edge pool, which has amazing views. Dinner was good not great, the free breakfast was good. Great views from the restaurant. Overall, the room and property are very pretty but the lack of AC will make me try somewhere new when I return to St.Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at La Haut 10 nights in April/May and truly enjoyed every bit of it. If youa re looking for a fancy exclusive place this isn't it but for us it was exactly what we were looking for. Wonderful property and great friendly staff. We had the Cashew1 room and we believe it is the best room on the property. The view is unbeatable! Air condition would be great but not having it didn't take away from our great experience. We loved the plantation settings and enjoyed the farm feel with the animals. We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: The premium vista rooms, especially Cashew 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

the villa was beautiful and relaxing. we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: villas are private and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at La Haut Plantation for three nights in May of this year. We couldn't have asked God for better weather, more beautiful views of such an incredible island landscape, or the inn for more courteous staff. We did, however, experience a good bit of discomfort during our stay, and being fair I will address that along with the good points.

We arrived at the modest gate of the property, and were directed to the reception office. Yvette checked us in, and escorted the various members of our party to our rooms. My wife and I had booked the Premium Vista rooms for about $250USD/night, and were escorted to our room, Cashew #2, which does indeed have a premium vista. It does not have A/C though, which is normal in the Caribbean but just be aware because it can get hot. I would recommend Cashew #1 or #3 since the balcony on #2 has walls on either side and does not get good airflow all the time. The room was decorated nicely with indigenous flora presented throughout the room upon arrival. The staff would even furnish guests' rooms with fresh local fruit daily, including mangoes (from the trees outside), papaya (from the tree outside), cashews, bananas, and I even got sour-sop (so good chilled). Underneath the rooms though, elevated on the hillside, there was a lot of construction activity during the day with workers working on the owner's personal home, which is located on the same property as the inn (about 50 yards from my room). The bed in the room was truly comfortable. The showers always had warm water.

The owner's home is where the honeymoon suite is located, as well as the infinity pool. The infinity pool is open to guests only during business hours. An aviary and kennel are also maintained in this area. The aviary is located between the owner's house and the Cashew rooms and makes the area smell strongly of bird feces. The kennel is for guard dogs and is located at the owner's house. The dogs barked for continuously and loudly for hours every night we were there, and if you're in the honeymoon suite (like my relatives were) it is especially loud. We saw the owner several times, either driving in his Range Rover, or briefly making an appearance near the office or restaurant, but we never had the pleasure of meeting or speaking with him.

I must say it was a little disconcerting to see so much activity being done on the owner's abode while there was so much work that could have been being done on the La Haut. There were innumerable cosmetic upgrades that needed to be done on the property (i.e. needed new paint throughout the restaurant, replacement furniture for the old, broken farm equipment and garbage in some of the hillside areas). There were also a good deal of animals on the property, which made it feel like a farm at times. The donkeys' pen was next to the uphill rooms, the aforementioned bird pen, dogs, etc. It would have been fine if that's what we expected and it was disclosed in the advertisements, but we were expecting something else given La Haut's image.

On a more positive note, the staff were consistently kind and accommodating from the office staff, to the bar/restaurant servers, all the way to night security. The bar made great drinks, and even brought some to me and my wife in the pool. The several meals we had at the restaurant were quite tasty, and when we decided to go into Soufriere town to eat the staff were gracious enough to make recommendations. A word of advice: don't try the Ballawoo fish...trust me. Do try any number of satisfying special local Creole combinations.The property, of course, was beautiful as many pictures tell, and I would say that its natural beauty is La Haut's chief strength and support. It is really a unique place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at La Haut for 4 nights in early July. It was everything we expected it to be. We were upgraded to Cashew1. As others had said, the room was large, with high, vaulted ceilings, and the deck was magnificent. It had comfortable, soft-cushioned chairs and a small table, and probably could have fit 20 people. We never tired of the magnificent view, with vegetation all around, a palm tree within touching distance, and a Piton view that would be tough to beat.

First thing each morning, we could see the Pitons through the glass doors leading to the deck without even leaving our beds. Although we got maybe an hour of sun during our four night stay, watching the different cloud patterns playing off the Pitons was not a bad consolation prize. We disagree with those complaining about the distance between the Cashew rooms and the restaurant. If you can handle a 5 minute uphill walk, you shouldn't have a problem.

As nice as the view was from our room, it was even better from the restaurant, with magnificent foliage all around. Drinking tamarand, cherry and mango juice on successive days, all home grown, was a real treat. It was also fun seeing the three donkeys by the fence, having a goat suddenly looking you in the eye, and watching the geckos scatter about near our room. There were more workers than guests during this off season, which was another advantage. Everyone was accomodating. The only reason we didn't give it a 5 rating is because of little inconveniences, like an in-room safe that didn't work properly, or a multitude of tiny ants that invaded our kitchen counter when a bit of fruit juice got on it, or the fruit plate that wasn't delivered to the room every day as expected.

Last, and best, was the Infiniti pool. It alone was worth the price of the stay. The owner was very gracious, since it's his private pool, and having the chance for my wife and I to spend time swimming (without any others around as if it were our own pool) and taking in the view gave us a taste of what those who are subjects of "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" must feel. It can't be described -- It must be experienced.

Robert and Leah

Room Tip: One word - Cashew
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Haut Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Plantation

Address: West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Plantation 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Haut Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Plantation St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Haut Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.