We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anse Mamin

Anse Mamin
Soufriere, St. Lucia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An old sugar plantation with a knot of bike trails along the estate.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thank goodness we found this beach or we would have thought that all St Lucia beaches were jammed with cruise ship tourists (e.g. Sugar Beach). This has real volcanic sand (not imported white stuff) and most importantly we had the whole beach to ourselves. Bliss.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    50
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anse Mamin/Anse Chastenet beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Last year (2012) we scheduled a tour of Jalousie Beach through Spencer Ambrose tours. We had a great time at the base of the Pitons swimming and snorkeling, however, every other cruise ship on the island had tours there. It became very crowded about noon and the water was too cloudy for snorkeling.

This year (Spring 2013) i emailed Spencer Ambrose and he suggested Anse Mamin. This is a spectacular beach, manicured by the Anse Chastenet resort staff. It's not accessible by road as one must go through the gated resort or else use a water taxi. This is a neat place on the grounds of a 200 yr old sugar cane plantation. The ruins are maintained for use of the hotel guests but today the site is a world class bicycle trail destination.

With a little patience and respect for the hotel staff the cruise ship visitor can obtain some beach chairs in the shade of the palm trees and access to the plantation ruins. My wife and I waited at one of the picnic tables for a little bit while one of the staff members checked with their supervisor. One of the hotel staff set up two beach chairs for us in the shade - I gave him a $10 tip. When we wanted to tour the plantation site I gave him another $5 tip. We were treated just like one of the hotel guests and had an excellent visit. There is a hotel beach bar/grill and restroom facilities. This is a first class beach and there were only about 15 people there the whole day.

I can not say enough nice things about Spencer Ambrose. He has always given us a really good price, very prompt replies to emails, and he personally came by about 1/2 hour after we arrived to check on us. He picked us up promptly in the afternoon for a little bit of sight seeing with his Jalousie beach group on the way back to the cruise ship with about 2 hours to spare before the ship left.

You can contact Spencer at http://spencerambrose.com

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ahhh-mazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the best beach on the island . Completely isolated, not as rough as the eastern area. Simpy beautiful ! A must try. I visit 2x in 4 days

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a beautiful place. But don't tell everyone, lets keep it quiet so we can enjoy the seclusion and peaceful atmosphere.
The beach is accessed by water or through the Anse Chastanet resort. The road to Anse Chastenet is another experience in itself. rocky, steep, twisting, with magnificent views along the way. Keep our eyes on the road !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting walk off the beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can get here by water taxi, or if you stay at Anse Chastanet by their water taxi. The beach is pretty well deserted. The loungers are of a lower quality than the Anse. The service stops at 3 pm. The water is difficult to get in and out of given the many rocks, tough waves just at the "dip" where you go from ankle to hip depth (off the shelf). A fabulous snorkel one-way from here to the Anse next beach over, drift and enjoy. The ruins are not terribly exciting, but add an interesting 15 minutes to your stay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anse Mamin also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 
Dennery, Dennery Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Anse Mamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anse Mamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.