We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful sanctuary beneath the Pitons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stonefield Estate Resort to your Saves list
Stonefield Estate Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall 40% Off Special
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful sanctuary beneath the Pitons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is an absolute joy. Perched on a hillside beneath the Pitons, it is a wonderfully peaceful retreat comprising 16 self-contained villas. Each is surrounded by rich, exotic and colourful vegetation with its own swimming small pool, verandah and hammock. The views through the trees and over the bourgainvillea bushes are stunning, especially as the sun goes down.
Stonefields is privately owned and has been set-up with great love and care. The staff are helpful and friendly with the restaurant and bar area - both high above the sea - expertly overseen by the delightful Mr Alcee.
The rooms are comfortable without being spectacular. There is both air con and a ceiling fan above the large four poster which is draped in a mosquito net. There is no TV anywhere on the complex but docking stations in each roof allows for music and a decent wi-fi signal. Each room has a small kitchen area and an outside shower unit. Ours was not in great repair and was a little tempremental but it was good fun, not least when a bunch of bananas fell off the tree above the area. It is the breathtaking view and the atmosphere - humming birds darted among the flowers over the pool - that are the stars here.
There is a decent, well stocked bar near the main pool, which is quite small given there is no hotel beach, close to the Mango Tree restaurant which has its own superb view. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced but we felt the menu was limited and the cooking not in the class of those at the neighbouring Ladera or Hotel Chocolat.
Breakfast again was adequate but nothing special given the local fruits and ingredients available. A number of items such as yogurt were extra while the quality of bread and rolls were average as were the eggs, often cold after the walk from the kitchens.
That said, this should not put you off this hotel. In the days we were there we ate in the Mango Tree twice, at the poolside BBQ - a highlight - and out three times. The Dasheen at Ladera was the best we experienced while at Soufriere, ten minutes away by taxi, Orlando's or the laidback, slightly more down market, Humming Bird, had a great bar, cocktails and decent creole food overseen by the splendid Joyce, a picture hanging proudly on the wall recalls the day she was honoured by the Queen. Service, however, can be slow.
There is no beach at Stonefields but the hotel runs a shuttle service to the brash US-dominated Sugar Beach resort nearby or to a bay used by locals and a 10 minute walk away - 20 minutes back as it is up a steep hill. This was virtually deserted except for a couple of yachts and those visiting the only bar/restaurant. Swimming was stunning although there is quite a pull from the currents with plenty of fish to see. Go quickly, there is a plan by a major hotel chain to develop the beach - much to the annoyance of some locals.
From the sand or the sea, you are able too to appreciate the beauty of Stonefields as only a few of the rooftops are visable, the rest perfectly merged into the hillside and dense vegetation.
There is a problem with the beaches for although they are officially 'public' the reality is that they are dominated by the hotels who appear to resent non residents. At Sugar Beach non residents are either moved to the end of the beach where the boats come in or charged ridiculous amounts for hire while at Anse Chastanet, probably the best sandy beach near Soufriere, it is dominated by hotel liungers which can't be hired and, dangerously, all others are made to feel like second class citizens.
From Sugar Beach, Anse Chastanet and the disappointing, dirty harbour at Soufriere it is possible to take a yacht or speed boat up the coast to Pigeon Island, Rodney Bay and the yachty haven on Marigot Bay - try the Capella restaurant there.
Pigeon Island, a National Park with its broken colonial buildings and fort left from the skirmishes between Britain and France is well worth a visit. There are two beaches, great walks, a gem of a local restaurant, views of Martinique as well as the crashing waves of the Atlantic on one side and the calm of the Caribbean on the other.
Either way, calm, charm, peace and friendship awaits your return to Stonefields.

Room Tip: For those who find walking tough for any reason, go for the higher villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    106
    24
    19
    7
See reviews for
34
344
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent a nice long weekend in St. Lucia for our anniversary at the Stonefield Estate Resort. The Staff was very welcoming and friendly. They had our villa setup with fresh flowers and fruit for our anniversary. As well as a beautiful card on the night table. The resort was very clean, the pool was great, and the restaurant food was delicious. Our villa was very private and you can't beat the view, we had a nice view of the Ocean and the Piton. The Spa staff was also great and very friendly. The Hotel provides free taxi service to Sugar Beach. They also provide a lot of different tour packages of the Island (at a cost), as well as pickup arrangements from the hotel to the airport. I will recommend this resort to family and friends if they are planning to stay in the West side of the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was a fantastic place to go for my wife's birthday. We stayed in one of the small villa types of rooms, which comes with a private garden/porch area that includes a small pool, a hammock and a breathtaking view of the Piton and sea. The grounds of this place are just beautiful and the layout provides the opportunity for plenty of privacy, with the ability to get out and mingle as desired.

We found having a rental car helpful, as you can save a lot of money getting to the different tourist sites yourself, and we found the locals to generally be courteous drivers. At no time did we feel in danger driving and moving around locally on our own without shelling out for an official tour.

You are a short walk away from a small public beach near a yacht club that is almost deserted, which we found a perfect place to spend some quality time together. You can also go to another hotel nearby with which Stonefield has an arrangement if you want to be in a more resort oriented environment. You are also very close to "downtown" Soufriere, so you can mingle with locals and check out some good restaurants.

The food was excellent at the onsite Mango Tree restaurant and the resort staff was incredibly nice and helpful with suggestions on places for us to check out and other places for us to dine. The manager of the restaurant is an especially nice man, and seems to enjoy his job more than anyone I have seen in a long time. With the views from the dining area, I can see why.

Upon check-in you are issued a mobile phone so you can call in to the resort if you need anything, get lost, have a question...whatever. This is an example of the small details Stonefield thinks about to make your stay pleasant. I actually forgot to mention that it was my wife's birthday except in passing to the manager at breakfast that morning, and when we got back from sightseeing they had decorated our room beautifully with flowers, written a message in petals on the blanket and left a very nice card.

The resort is locally owned, which I found to be a huge positive, as you will be staying in luxury that in no way feels like a "canned" experience. Of all the places I have been in the Caribbean, I would say St. Lucia is now my preferred destination and Stonefield was a big part of that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 7 blissful nights in St. Lucia at Stonefield Estate Resort and they exceeded all of our expectations. The resort arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport and we enjoyed the ride to the resort as our driver pointed out the fishing villages, schools and other highlights along the way. (During our entire trip, everyone we met was friendly and eager to share the history of their island which made the trip even more fun and memorable.) We were greeted at Stonefield with a cold hand towel and fresh squeezed Tamarind juice and escorted to our villa.
The villa was spacious and very charming. There were fresh local flowers/plants in vases and planters around the room and little flowers had been picked and placed throughout along with “Welcome” written on the bench at the foot of the bed. The resort supplied a mosquito net around the bed to keep any biters away at night, towels for the outdoor shower as well as towels for the beach or plunge pool. They also supplied shampoo, conditioner, body bars and lotion and a hairdryer which is nice to not have to travel with. The room also has both US and EU power outlets so no converters needed. We especially enjoyed our private plunge pool and hammock on the deck outside our villa. And did I mention the view???? We had a water front/piton view and it was breathtaking. St. Lucia is by far the most gorgeous place either of us has ever been and Stonefield captures all of that beauty along with the immense charm of the island and the town of Soufriere.
Every morning we learned to look forward to our breakfast at the Mango Tree restaurant!!! The view from the restaurant is unbeatable and since it is so high in elevation, there is a fabulous breeze at all times! Even in the heat of the day, during lunchtime, we were never too hot or uncomfortable. (Everywhere we ate on the island was open air rather than a contained restaurant.) We ate a lot of our meals at the Mango Tree restaurant even though we had planned on venturing out for meals more often. The prices were not too ridiculous and their menus were wonderful!! I especially enjoyed the bounty of specialty drinks which used fresh mango! I couldn’t get enough.
Overall, our stay at Stonefield was perfection! Our room was always clean, we were able to keep it nice and cool by closing off the bathroom and closing all of the shutters in the room, the plunge pool was great to jump in and out of whenever we liked, all of the staff was helpful and friendly and the resort is located in the perfect spot to really capture the charm, natural beauty and experiences we were looking for on our honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We went on our honeymoon there and it was perfect. We had our own private villa with a private pool overlooking a piton and the ocean....we never needed to leave the resort or Mango Tree restaurant. It doesn't get any better!!!! The entire staff was very friendly and every view was beautiful. We hope to be able to go back within the near future. Our Frangipani room was amazing!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights at this resort of 16 private villas. We had a four poster king size, bed an outdoor shower, private plunge pool, and a hammock on our covered deck. I spent time every day in the hammock, reading a book, drinking a local Piton beer and staring at the views of the Caribbean sea and the Pitons. The staff was welcoming, helpful and friendly and the one restaurant, the Mango Tree, was where we ate breakfast every day. We often had a late lunch around 4:30 or 5:00 pm, the stayed for cocktails and watch the sun set. One day we walked down to Sugar Beach, which is very small. We walked back up the steep hill to the resort and only later learned there is a shuttle you can take there from the resort. We weren't told this beforehand! We rented a car for the week at the airport in Vieux Fort, and glad we did as we drove up the west side of the island to the capital, Castries, and up to Rodney Bay. The roads on the island are mostly very narrow and they are some very twisty sections, much like the road to Hana on Maui. Right hand drive cars, driving on the left side, and in the roundabouts you travel clockwise! A little bit of a challenge, but you get used to it quickly. There is very little tourism in Sourfiere, where the resort is located, but if you drive up to Castries, the capital, (where cruise ships come in) there are some duty free shops and more activity. Rodney Bay is beautiful and we ate at Spinnakers, a restaurant right on the beach and had great hamburgers. The local brewed beer, Piton, was great and we were disappointed it is not exported to the US. On our way back to the airport we went past it and up the east side of the island to the town of Dennery. There wasn't much there, but it was just nice to see some more of the island. St. Lucia could take some lessons about tourism from other islands. There are not many local items to buy (although I did find some great handmade soap from a vendor, and we bought an amazing carved wooden mask from their local famous artist, Zara, at his store in downtown Soufriere). St. Lucia is a beautiful volcanic, rain-forested island, with tourist-friendly residents who give helpful directions with a smile.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casuarina villa. Our private plunge pool was about 4-1/2 feet deep all around. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had 3 nights of complete relaxation at Stonefield. The resort is low key and really peaceful. Lush with tropical plants and alive with birds you feel a million miles away from it all. Open air shower complete with friendly gecko was a surprise feature I grew to love. The private pool is small but perfectly formed and the view is heaven. Decor is colonial and the mosquito netted 4 poster was charming. Never used the kitchenette other than for coffee and cold drinks which the staff stocked really quickly on request. Five star glitz it isn't but it made for the fastest switch to holiday mode I've ever made.
Downsides are difficult. Some of the staff weren't amazingly friendly but others were so that's just like everywhere . You could get bored of the limited dinner menu quite quickly but then it is walking distance to Soufriere which is worth the effort. Breakfasts were delicious but on the small side in terms of portions. There's no beach and the shuttle beach has limited seating if you don't want to pay but to be honest with your own pool and resident hummingbird flitting about your patio I didn't need the beach, although might have missed it if stayed longer.

And then there's that view. Incredible during the day and even more so at night with the Piton surrounded by stars. A really really beautiful spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonefield Estate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.