We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - the beauty, view, quality of food, hospitality non-touristy area...just incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stonefield Estate Resort to your Saves list
Stonefield Estate Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - the beauty, view, quality of food, hospitality non-touristy area...just incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We as always chose to stay away from the tourist traps and take in the quality of the beautiful island and local foods..just amazing! The Stonefield is one of the two resorts on the island owned by a ancestor if Carib..they built one villa at a time...the villas are perfect, and we stayed in the smallest which was more than spacious a beautiful beautiful view as the restaurant - all built in the mountainside rain forest with beautiful views if the ocean Pitons and the lush tropics. I can not say enough about this perfect location and beauty!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    114
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
37
380
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for four nights as the second stop on St. Lucia after five nights of an all-inclusive experience on the northern end of the island. I couldn't wait to see our room, because I just couldn't imagine how it could ever live up to the pictures we'd seen here and on the hotel website. It did.

The Room - We stayed in Frangipani, and I would highly recommend it. The pool is larger than most of the other units, it's very private, and the view is astounding (see the pictures). The room was clean, the outdoor shower was fun, and it made for a very romantic and relaxing trip to be able to relax by our own private pool and soak up that amazing view.

The Service - Service was excellent, the room was cleaned and the minibar restocked daily by an attentive staff. A note on the minibar - this was the first place I've ever stayed where the prices weren't a ripoff.

The Mango Tree Restaurant - After some of the reviews here, I expected the food here to be just average, but I was completely wrong. We ate here two nights, one night at Ladera, and one night at Chocolat. I would say that the Mango Tree was the best meal out of all of them. Everything we ate was creative, unique, and delicious. The prices are quite high, but then again they seem to be high at all of the restaurants in the area.

Some notes: Like others have said, beware of mosquitos. They're everywhere. We ended up paying $20 for a small bottle of bug spray at the front desk. We visited the Sugar Beach to use their beach, weren't that impressed. You have to park by the entrance and then walk a good 1/2 mile down a very steep hill. Once at the beach you kind of feel like a second class citizen since you aren't a guest.

Room Tip: Frangipani has one of the largest pools and an amazing view. It's very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a truly beautiful resort with lots of colourful flowers in lovely gardens. Each villa felt very private and we loved having our own pool. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean with great facilities.
The food was usually excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful. The staff were very well trained.
Excellent resort.

Room Tip: We were in Casuarina and liked it very much, but I'm sure that they are all as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had our own private swimming pool, private spacious veranda with a hammock, exotic outdoor garden shower and spectacular views. We were in the Tamarind Villa - and it was beautiful. There is no TV nor Internet (WiFi is available in the main lobby areas and at the restaurant), so it was nice to "unplug" and truly relax. We were given a prepaid cell phone to use to contact the front desk or security, if needed. Breakfast is included with your accommodations and available at the onsite Mango Tree Restaurant. We woke up every morning to the strong sulfur in the air and a gorgeous view of the Pitons and Caribbean Sea down below.

The area is studded with fruit trees and "local wildlife" (read: many feral cats.) We had a banana tree at our villa and a papaya tree at the restaurant that they used to make the jams we ate at breakfast. The only negative is the BUGS. I brought citronella bug-repellant bracelets and used citronella candles, but they were not strong enough. Highly advise using strong bug spray repellant with DEET. Especially on your legs.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View upgrade. It was not crowded when we went, so were able to get upgraded complimen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this resort in late November 2013 for two nights in St. Lucia. This resort has the most amazing setting with views of the petit piton from all over the grounds. This resort, in my opinion, is meant for the romantics and newly weds who want to spend most of their time lounging around their villa and with their significant other privately. It really lends itself to that with private patios, private pools and plenty of space for lounging. But, beware of the mosquitoes! Bring your repellant because they do and will bite. The common rooms like living room and kitchen are extremely spacious, but bring entertainment like a computer, tablet (wifi available) or old fashioned books and games for down time and rainy days. There are no TVs anywhere, but there was AC in the bedrooms. The resort restaurant Mangos was delicious, and had incredible views both day and night. Breakfast is included which we never missed, but dinner was pretty expensive. Soufriere has great beaches, zip lining, waterfalls and the pitons. One would believe that the Stonefield would be the optimal place to stay and experience all these things, but from another hotel experience during the same trip we learned a few things... The Stonefield, hands down, had the island living experience for guests figured out to a science, however it was incredibly expensive to do excursions through the front desk. Taxis were the only option for travel (walking is very challenging in St. Lucia with all the big hills) unless you rent a car (which I also don't recommend). Our tab at the end of our stay was more than we had intended on spending and we felt taken advantage of by the resort. The people are incredibly friendly and helpful, the service was great but the prices there matched the slope of the petit piton, STEEP!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bougainvillea Room and had MORE than enough room for another couple! We had an incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I visited St. Lucia for three nights in mid-November. I knew we wanted to stay in the Soufriere area and, after much research, settled on Stonefield. We based our decision on reviews, photos and the fact that the villas have AC which is important because I am a light sleeper. I had a number of questions and requests prior to our visit and was very pleased with Sadia’s prompt reply and attentiveness. We were booked into the Rain Tree ocean view villa.

Upon arrival, Sadia was there to greet us and Amanda showed us to the villa. I have to say that all of the staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The villa was very nice with a great view and the only minor drawback being a portion of the deck area looks out over the parking lot. After the first night, we were upgraded to the Oleander villa (this was a special surprise) and it was absolutely perfect. It is larger, including a sitting area separate from the bedroom, and has an incredible view of Petit Piton and the Caribbean from the plunge pool and lounge chairs. I have a photo from there as the screen saver on my laptop which is probably not a good idea because every time I look at it I want to be back at Stonefield. On the last evening of our visit, we spent several hours enjoying that view.

We ate breakfast each morning at the Mango Tree restaurant which is a very attractive setting (as is the entire pool / bar / restaurant area) and the views are even better than from the villa. The service was top notch and the food delicious. Overall, the hotel lived up to everything we were hoping for and we plan to return for another visit sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The staff at this resort are very good indeed - we were impressed overall with the friendly, personal service. The drink and cool flannel on arrival were much appreciated.
There were some niggles: our pool was not filled when we arrived, a number of light fittings weren't working and needed changing, there's exposed cables in places and the bathrooms could really do with an overhaul. The overall feel of our villa was definitely intended to be rustic and authentic, but that would not need to be abandoned by updating the fixtures.
The bedrooms were good sizes with the smallest being a bit of a squeeze for a couple. The common areas are plentiful, large and sociable, and the outside seating includes both a covered area with a hammock, a table and chairs, as well as sun loungers.
The restaurant was very good and having breakfast included each morning a very pleasant bonus - however, as good as the food is, the menu is somewhat limited and a second dinner at the hotel felt distinctly like deja vu!
There are shuttle buses from the resort down to two local beaches and a larger pool by the restaurant. We stayed in a 3 bed villa so also had a decent private pool; most of the smaller properties appear to have plunge pools rather than ones you can swim in.

Room Tip: We stayed in Plantation - a 3 bed villa. Note this does not have AC and is not glazed so the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, T4B, Splendia, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonefield Estate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.