We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence of St Lucia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stonefield Estate Resort to your Saves list
Stonefield Estate Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Off St. Lucia!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Essence of St Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

During February / March we spent one week at Stonefield Estate and one week at Sugar Beach Resort. We greatly enjoyed both but if we were given the oportunity to revisit only one, it would have to be Stonefield. At face value, this is an absurd conclusion, Stonefield has no immediate beach, wi fi is restricted to the restaurant and reception areas, inroom entertainment is a clock radio with an ipod dock and there is no central entertainment facility.
Stonefield is a small establishment with an excellent restaurant, which has Piton and other views to die for, plus 17 luxurious, self contained, totaly private villas. The estate is extensive and offers some lovely walks plus a very talkative macaw. If you are fairly fit you can walk to Soufriere or matgretoute beach, both about 1 mile (down hill going).

I must mention at this point that we did have a hire car which was highly beneficial.

We were allocated the machineel villa which had all the features which you would expect in a luxury villa plus an outdoor shower where you could indulge in the novelty of a warm shower under a full moon during a rain shower.
However, the features which we appreciated most were the extensive well equipped deck, the large clean pool, the lovely foliage / flowers and the view of the Petit Piton. The foliage attracted our resident humming birds which would fly round the room if the door was left open.

It would be wrong to file this review without thanking the kind, helpfull, hardworking, always smiling staff who had retained some St Lucian personality. We found that many of the staff at Sugar Beach had had this element trained / selected out of them. Karen, Desiree, Anna and Kevin deserve a special mention.

In summary, if you are looking for a combination quality accomodation / food, lovely scenery, natural suroundings with flowers and lush foliage, plus total privacy and peace when you want it, Stonefield may be right for you.

Room Tip: We were allocated Machineel which we would certainly recommend (providing that you do not require a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    108
    24
    19
    7
See reviews for
34
351
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

WOW. Just got back from a 6 night stay. We got upgraded to an ocean view villa (Bamboo villa). I was blown away from the moment I opened the first gate to the villa. Private, peaceful, stunning view, serene. Very nice appointments in the villa- super clean and well kept. Cillia at the front desk is A+ all the way. She is exceptionally nice, professional and helpful. The rest of the staff was also very helpful and nice. Probably the most relaxing vacation we've ever taken. A couple of drawbacks though to be fair- the restaurant was just ok. Better for breakfast than dinner. Nothing special at all and does not compare to the other restaurants we ate at. The beaches were nothing to write home about. My standard is Punta Cana or Turks and Caicos- St. Lucia doesn't compare. But the private pool in the villa more than made up for it! Would have liked local dining options vs. just other hotels. Overall a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. Would recommend Stonefield to anyone looking for a quiet, tranquil vacation.

Room Tip: As long as it's an ocean view villa, it will be a great villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

the place is pure serendipity. We were undecided about where to go or what to have for lunch. Four people all with different ideas. We kind of just went with the road and fell into Stonefield Hotel.
The signage Mango Tree Restaurant was funky and gave a promise of something rustic.
It did not fail in it's promise. The views from the terrace unto a World Heritage site of the Piton just captured us all after having done half of our round the island tour.
The food is local fare, cooked to perfection. No fuss, simple home cooking. Service was real country life hospitality. That shy yet attentive service that makes you feel you're welcomed into someone's home rather than a very well heeled hotel.
Pumpkin or Calaloo soup for starters,
Flying fish baguette, Fish Ceasar Salad, Jerk Chicken with friend plantain and salad for main courses,
we ate it all washed down with local juices.
Even the house cat was there to add to real country living atmosphere of the place.
Tranported into a world where we all would love to live - permanently.

Room Tip: The cottages/chalets looked huge! All with private plunge pools and set for privacy and tranquility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CREAMRIDGE N.J.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

WOW, it was finally nice to get away from everyday life from the east coast and just get to a place where my wife and I had privacy and a stunning view . The villa that we had was Casaurina and it was well kept ,neat and clean , adorable the Mrs. would like to mention , with beautiful scenic views of the petite piton and the sea and lush green surroundings. we often found ourselves in the hammock on the porch knocking back some wine .The plunge pool and out side shower were very romantic, and when it was mid day really was refreshing to cool off. The Mango Tree resturaunt had very nice atmosphere and the food was wonderful breakfast,lunch,dinner . if you find yourself in the company of Rawl the bartender you will have met a warm friendly guy who knows how to mix up a storm of great drinks. We asked to see each room and found that they all had something to offer and you really could not go wrong with any of them .Do not pass up a chance to go to Jalousie beach for snorkeling and later get a dinner you will like it . Stonefield was a great home base and refuge to venture off to other places on the island , such as zip lining , waterfalls ,exploring . youll never forget the views after you had a great night sleep it was great to have a cup of coffee and see the little humming birds buzz around on the porch . Enjoy Life...

Room Tip: Just check out the web site ,but fragipany and casaurina seemed to be what suited us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just got back from a 6 night stay . We had the Jacaranda Villa, ocean view. Walking in we were blow away with everything. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. From the people at the front desk, restaurant servers to the maids, all were fabulous. The view is to die for, your own private pool, air conditioned bedroom and the view of Mt Piton is unbelievable. Make sure to visit Martha's Table for lunch, just a few miles away. Food was delicious and very plentiful. We rented a car at the airport and did not have a problem with driving, just have to be careful are the roads are narrow. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

View, views, views. Just returned from a very relaxing 5 night stay. Our room, Casaurina, was great: walk-in closet, outdoor shower, 4 poster bed with romantic netting, private hammock and nicely sized plunge pool. The views were jaw dropping. It was easy to spend loads of time in our private perch. We had a superb couples massage at the hotel spa - very strong and nice aromatherapy. It was good to do after hiking up to the nearby warm spring waterfall. Snorkelling at Sugar Beach was also a fun activity as was walking through the Anse Chastanet bike trails. We ate dinner twice at Orlando's in Soufriere and loved the food. We booked through West Indies Online and were pleased with their service. Thank you Stonefield, we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

No TV! No phone in room! If this worries you then Stonefield is not for you! A breathtaking view of the sea and the Petit Piton, your own villa with hammock, private swimming pool, total seclusion? Excellent food and service, a free shuttle to a beautiful beach if you can tear yourself away from your villa.
There is also a very good if expensive spa on site.
A great place for a totally relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonefield Estate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.