We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefield Estate Resort

Save Saved
You added Stonefield Estate Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Summer Special!
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our stay at Stonefield Estate Resort was wonderful. We usually like to stay right on the beach when we vacation, but once I saw the pictures of the rooms at Stonefield, I was set on staying there and nothing else I saw seemed to compare. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant there was great as well. Breakfast was included each morning at their Mango Tree Restaurant and it was delicious. We stayed in the Jacaranda room and were very pleased. I will post photos since the website (when we booked) did not have many pictures for this particular room. We were very happy with our room and it had a nice little private stairway up the restaurant that was very convenient. There are no phones or TVs in the rooms, which was fine by us. The hotel does give you a cell phone that you can use whenever you need to call the front desk and it was very handy.

While here, we went down to the beach at Jalousie and it was beautiful. There are free chairs off to the side and not very apealing, instead we paid to use the hotel chairs and lounged in the most comfy beach chairs ever. We also used Solomon's Water Taxi to take us to the Gros Piton for a hike and then to Anse Chastanet Beach after. This beach wasn't as beautiful as Jalousie, but we enjoyed our afternoon relaxing there after our exhausting hike. We loved the Mango Tree Restaurant at Stonefield and we also loved the Dasheen Restaurant at Ladera Hotel just a few minutes away from Stonefield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    105
    24
    19
    7
See reviews for
32
337
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

In October my husband and I visited the Stonefield Resort and Villas. We have vacationed in several Caribbean Islands: St. Martin, St. Kitts, Nevis, Martinique, the BVIs, St. Barts, the Bahamas and without a doubt St. Lucia is absolutely the prettiest and friendliest island we have ever stayed. Stonefield was exceptional from the time we arrived and were greeted by Valna, the receptionist to the time we left. Each separate villa is secluded from another and each has its own very private pool. Our villa not only overlooked the ocean, but had a magnificent view of the Piton Mountain. The villa was surrounded by lush flora and vegetation grown in the rainforest. We had a king size bed, a small half kitchen with the refrigerator stocked with soft drinks, beer, wine, creamers,an outdoor shower which was fabulous, a porch with rocking chairs, lounge chairs and a hammock. In the evening we watched the sun set and enjoyed the sailboats returning to their ports. Every morning we were graciously greeted in the Mango Restaurant with a delicious assortment of fruit, breads, omelets, sausages or waffles and marvelous rich coffee which was included in our room price. The resort has a nature trail that meanders through the rainforest and leads one to a petraglyph etched by ancient natives. Along the way is a parrot named Abdul who loves to speak and dance for the guests. One afternoon while it was pouring down rain, we ventured to the spa where Dawn treated us to a very calming and therapeutic massage in the Bamboo Spa which is located in the resort. The resort has one room villas up to 3 bedroom villas with infinity pools. Another special feature of this resort is that the guests are given a cell phone so that they can call the desk to make dinner reservations, to schedule a van ride to other resorts or into town, or to arrange for the days' activities. While we were there a couple who had planned a "destination wedding" at another resort ended up at Stonefield because of their accommodations and their service. Also, one of the other guests was a travel agent who had been to multiple Caribbean Islands: Aruba, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, etc. and they, too, felt as though St. Lucia was the most beautiful of islands and Stonefield was absolutely one of their favorites resorts. One side note, there are no televisions here but wiifii is very accessible which makes this an ideal getaway. Of all the places we have stayed,Stonefield is my number one choice for total relaxation, peace, beauty and serenity.
--

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Junaluska, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is the third time I have been to St. Lucia the time before my husband and i stayed at The Landings Resort on the Beach which was excellent! However this time we both wanted some down time since I myself had been traveling for work for the last 18 months on assignments. I did my homework and this looked to be the place we wanted to go. A drop dead view of the Pitons but without the Jade Mountain Resort Prices. First of all the front desk group of ladies were awesome, never a moment they were not right on the spot for whatever we needed. They greeted us with wonderful eucalyptus cold towels and fresh squeezed juice on a warm day upon check in. All during the week anything we needed there was nothing they couldnt provide. They are a wealth of information and very intent on making your stay wonderful. Then we were taken to our room. AAAAHHH is all I can say the rooms are rustic reminding you of how the caribbean was before the new hotels came in. The rooms have hand made furniture and cabinets some look to be made out of mahogany just perfect and loved, loved loved the outside shower! The place is so private that most of the villas - clothes are optional for your private pool and sunbathing. The bed was a four poster bed and though firm mattress we slept like babies every night. If you have never lived in Florida or visited anywhere tropical you know there are these little bitsy ants that if you do not clean out your bottles after you are finished or put food away tightly or in refrigerator you will see them appear from no where but that is part of tropical environment anywhere so even though someone had written about them in a review, it was not a problem for us we know to expect them. We also know in the tropics at night you either listen to frogs/crickets or both again not a problem they put you right to sleep. If you are one that has a hard time sleeping just use the radio/ipod to play some music till you drift off to sleep but again something you learn to expect in the caribbean. The days were warm so the units have A/C and we were very comfortable.There is a mini bar in our room which I was grateful for and unlike most hotels the prices on the items were not jacked up they were very reasonable. As far as the food was concerned since we did not rent a car this time we just ate our meals at the Mango Tree. Breakfast is wonderful something on the menu different every day and we were plenty full. Most the time we did not eat Lunch or just had something light till Dinner. The ladies at Mango Tree most gracious and friendly especially Lisa, Desiri and Tarnisha! We could just have taken them home with us! Dinner was great loved the rack of Lamb, Lambi, Chicken and Crab, Calameri -so good, and the conch chowder to die for! The chef switched up the menu's three times so we never tired of the food. I have to tell you the dinning room sits off the side of the mountain with the most gorgeous view of the ocean directly below and the Large Piton in the mornings the sky was so clear you felt like you could just reach out and touch it! I found this view much more amazing even over Jade Mountain! The sun sets well you will just have to experience them yourselves! Since the Beaches are below you, you have a choice the one directly below (more private) which you could walk to but the walk up is not recommended unless you are fit , or you can go to the beach at the Jalousie. All beaches in St. Lucia are public however be prepared if you go to Jalousie that they do charge $20.00 a chair although comfortable if you plan to eat there as well they really should not charge for chair in my opinion.. ( food and drinks at Jalousie for lunch expensive, but good) If you want a great place to go to Lunch or Dinner that is Caribbean flavor, nice portions, great taste and reasonable- Martha's Table! We did go to the sulfer pools and had a mud bath at the volcano while there and made our skin feel wonderful and I would recommend. Also there is a mineral pools and falls we did not make and I wish we had had time for. My husband and I did partake in massages at the Bamboo spa at the Stonefield resort and Dawn was great! I would recommend while there to be sure and book.(word of advice for for those from U.S. - no need to tip her since the tip is automatically billed on your hotel bill we didnt realize that and ended up paying her twice-our fault) Since there are no TV's in the room my husband and I were forced to talk to each other, and we found this quite enjoyable, we laughed, played games, walked around the beautiful property there and swam alot in our private pool. All in all this is exactly what the Dr. ordered. I have to say we both agree this is the best vacation we have taken in the last 30 years! We so look forward to our return visit next year. Thank you all at Stonefield for making our time there so enjoyable as I have always said this is the only island where I just feel in love with the St. Lucian people the first time I visited and why I continue to keep going back over and over again. JohnFrieda

Room Tip: From what I could tell all rooms have a wonderful depending on how private you want. The Fragapani a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love this place, stayed 2 times. First time in Bambo secound time Frangipany. Each room has a private pool, beautifull view, great free breakfast, restaurant is outstanding, each room has a little fridge, microwave, sink, coffe pot...no TV(love that).
Shower is outside beautifull, landscape.
I highly recomand this fantastic place.
The beach is 15 mins walk (steep downhill), no problem for fit undividual, or 2 mins car ride, they have also a free shuttle to few other resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went here for our honeymoon in Sept of 2012 and stayed in the Flamboyant villa. I cannot recommend this suite enough. When we opened the door we were blown away by the view and the privacy. It was truly breathtaking and the private pool was amazing :) We went out on a sunset sail and some other adventures, but honestly, just hanging out at the villa couldn't be beat. The staff at this place is super friendly and they call you by name. Its a small resort so there is plenty of attention to detail... one of the maids even brought us a coconut to our room because she saw us trying to get one from a tree! Food and drinks were great here too. If you're considering this place, don't hesitate... you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Ask for the "Flamboyant Villa" you will be amazed!!! Pictures of the view do not do this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We found a great Groupon deal, and decided to stay here. The resort is perfect for getting away from it all, as you stay in rather secluded, private villas with fantastic views. The service was really excellent. You receive a cell phone when you arrive, which you can call the front desk with any concern you may have. The villa we stayed in was really nice, with a new A/C unit (which did a decent job of keeping the heat away at least in the bedroom), full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, private pool overlooking the ocean and piton, and hammock.
The Mango Tree restaurant was also very good. Complimentary breakfast is served at the same site, and was really good (we especially enjoyed the bread). Be prepared as most restaurants around the area (including Mango Tree) are attached to hotels, and can cost about $80 for two people with drinks for dinner. Also, cabs to take you to and from nearby restaurants cost $24 round trip
We also had 50 min massages at the spa on site, which were very relaxing. The staff there was also really great, always making sure we were very comfortable. The spa itself was well maintained, and looked very clean to us.

Overall, we had a fantastic time during our stay at Stonefield. If you are looking for a place that is away from the touristy bustle, with stellar views and some peace and quiet, this place is perfect for you.

Room Tip: We stayed at Jasmine, which overlooked the Piton and the ocean. It was a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Top, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Stonefield Resort is a truly amazing place. The resort is away from it all, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, this place can not be beat. The restaurant is very good and reasonable. Each villa has their own private pool and also kitchen (with full size refrigerator and stove). I felt like we had rented our own private house/apartment. There are no phones or TV, which is a nice break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Internet is available at the lobby area or restaurant only and you must have your own devise (tablet, phone or computer). The only downside was that it was extremely hot and although our room had AC, the villa is open to the outside (exterior walls are screened with shutters) so cold air doesn't stay in too well - thank goodness for the pool though, because it cools you off! The resort is beautiful, the staff is friendly and the views are more than amazing. I would recommend this Resort to anyone looking for privacy in a gorgeous location.

Room Tip: All of the villas are private- some have AC and some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonefield Estate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.