We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ladera Resort

Save Saved
You added Ladera Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ladera Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay and great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The entire staff was great. The owner was engaging and very hands on. Shawn did an excellent job taking care of us and he worked very hard so that we could have a great time. Much appreciated all around. Would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    137
    44
    38
    28
See reviews for
22
601
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We wanted a short stay for a mini honeymoon. We were between this hotel and Jade, but decided to stay here. We looked at the reviews and most seemed pleasant. However, soon after our arrival, we quickly realized that the negative reviews on this place were correct. Come here if you enjoy camping. Literally. The first day it was enjoyable because it was different and had a nice view. But after a day here, you start to go crazy. From the bug infested pool, to the dirty room, to the community pool with no towels or service. We came here to relax, but didn't expect to be bored! With lizards, bugs, and frogs singing all night, including the extreme heat, made for some very unpleasant sleepless nights. The food was just ok. And then I booked a couples massage. They told us to be down at the spa 5 minutes before our appt. However, when we got there, they told us we couldn't do a couples massage in the facility, but would have to do it in our room. Then when we asked to do that they told us it would take too long to setup? Really? We stay at five star hotels all the time…and this was no where close to that. Overall, an extremely poor country and extremely poor trip:-(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPMarketingLadera, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is quite a surprise to read your first review on Trip advisor. Any concern about our guests experience is reported at Ladera and corrected as quickly as possible, therefore we carefully reviewed our records. While we cannot identify you ,we find it disheartening how you described
the overall experience, Most concerning are your efforts to undermine the genuine local staff, St Lucia being a poor country (?) and your negative remarks about the local population in general,
We are quite surprised that Trip advisor would publish such reports and a first review that attacks in a discriminatiory way our people and country. We welcome honest feedback but will not endorse discrimination!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We sailed to Soufriere, St. Lucia recently. Having been to St. Lucia before, one of our "MUST DO's" is eating at the Ladera restaurant. Ladera, is nestled in-between both of the Pitons and has one of the most beautiful sunset views I have ever seen. It is an open air Restaurant, with three acceding levels. As you go higher, the views become even more spectacular! If you are not staying at the Resort, ask one of the helpful staff to call you a cab. The drive is only a few minutes away from the main property, and the cab drivers tend to wait outside the restaurant until you are finished eating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Wow amazing place! A lovely getaway with breathtaking views, wonderful staff & fabulous food. If you want to relax and completely chill out then this is a great place to stay.

The unique style of the resort with the rooms open to the elements giving great views of the Pitons and the Caribbean Sea is a real bonus. Showering in the open air really gives a great sense of freedom, you may have to share with the odd small frog or gecko but they soon disappear. The room we stayed in was lovely and set across two floors with the bedroom upstairs, the downstairs having a comfy sofa, table & chairs for in-room dining and a fridge stocked daily with water, sprite & coca-cola and six Piton beers (2 for each night of your stay). The plunge pool was great to have and looked good but was rather cold.

We didn't experience any bugs or flies which was a real plus point, the rooms do have insect repellant & after bite sprays provided but we didn't have to use these.

The Dasheene Restaurant food on the lunch time & particularly on the evening was out of this world, the balance of fresh ingredients and flavours produced by Nigel the head chef are amazing and worth every single dollar. The entertainment and live bands were all really good and enhanced the Caribbean experience. The service from the staff was also impeccable throughout our stay, nothing was any trouble and ALL the staff were pleasant and attentive, right down to the gardeners, cleaners etc.

Most of the island tours are close to the Ladera resort and are fairly expensive but with not much to do at Ladera I would advise taking one or two.

Couldn't fault anything with the resort and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Ladera Resort captures the unique essence of St Lucia. Breath taking views and impeccable service make Ladera an exceptional destination for anyone looking for a distinct St Lucian experience.
We decided to get Married at this Wonderful resort and Glad we did!
All the staff went beyond the call of duty to ensure our very special day went as planned!
Love Ladera!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had such an amazing experience there, the food was superb, the service impeccable, such a beautiful place, just amazing. The atmosphere was very romantic and the band was excellent. After a few cocktails, dinner and excellent music what else can one ask?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

*Please note, we stayed at two resorts during our time in St. Lucia. This review is solely for our time spent at Ladera Resort. If you are interested in reading about our stay at Sandals St Lucian Grande, please visit their page.

We arrived in St. Lucia on Saturday May 16th. The flight was fairly easy, and going through customs at the Hewanorra International Airport was efficient. It was a Saturday, and there were a lot of flights coming in at 2:00pm. We did take the advice of several members of TripAdvisor and we carried our own bags from customs to the security checkpoint/out to meet our transfer service to Ladera Resort. The girls at the transfer booth were extremely friendly, and directed us to our driver. This is where the St. Lucia magic truly happened. Our driver Gillan (with James Stewart Transportation and Tours) was truly a gift. We were tired from traveling, yet on a “high” knowing our next 9 days would be spent in paradise. Gillan gave us an amazing mini-tour and explanation of the island while he drove us to Ladera. He even agreed to let us visit a local grocery store to allow us to pick up a few items since Ladera is not an all-inclusive resort. He gave us great background information on areas we passed through and we stopped to take a few photos. We truly fell in love with the culture and people of St. Lucia. They are always happy to help out, and made us feel welcome, and as relaxed as two busy-body/planners/type A personalities can get! The drive to Ladera took about an hour, but that was because we received the royal treatment and did sightseeing on the way.

When we pulled into the resort, we were absolutely blown away. There were exotic flowers in bloom, and beautiful wooden and stone architecture all around – it took a minute to absorb we were truly in paradise! A member of Ladera’s staff greeted us with a nice towel to refresh our hands and faces, and a glass of their Ladera punch. The punch is a winner! We requested it all week, we did not care it was $30.00 for a quart sized water bottle. You must try the punch!!! We were escorted by a staff member through the entry of the resort, and she explained the location of the reception desk, restaurant, pool, and finally our home for the next 5 days.

We stayed in room “K”, which was breathtaking. The views Ladera offers their guests have no price tag. You are situated in between the Pitons and overlook Sugar Beach, with sprawling vegetation, wildflowers, and exotic plants in between. The room is very comfortable. We came prepared with bug spray, and itch cream, and Ladera provided us with some as well. But we never had to use it! The bed had a mosquito net around it, and we kept our lights off at night to not draw bugs to our room. Being that we live in the city and have street noise nightly- the tree frogs did not bother us in the slightest. The temperature was perfect – right around 73-77 degrees-- we caught a great cross-wind and felt great sleeping under the stars each night. The plunge pool is a neat add on (especially the waterfall noise for falling asleep at night) however, we never used it. We either went to Sugar Beach, or the main pooldeck. Room “K” had plenty of space to feel spread out and open to the elements, but cozy and intimate at the same time. Taking a shower in an open air shower is a totally cool feeling!

The staff at Ladera is 5 star. Everyone we met was friendly, accommodating and genuine. You are always greeted by name, what an endearing and personal touch! We had a little hiccup with our travel representative from a separate agency halfway through our stay. Sheremy, the property manager, is a dream to work with. She helped us resolve the issue to our liking, and "saved the day". She was incredibly helpful, and I immediately felt at ease. We are very appreciative for her wonderful customer service and professionalism. The staff went above and beyond for us more than once. Sheremy gave us a mini cooler filled with ice to pack drinks/snacks in for our beach trips. She also confirmed that our favorite driver would be picking us up for our transfer to Sandals. We cannot say enough good things about the ENTIRE staff, and their efforts to ensure your stay is comfortable and happy.

It is fairly important to remember, Ladera is not an all-inclusive resort. We ate at Dasheene (on their property), our first night in St. Lucia. We were seated in a back room/wine cellar room, but in all fairness we had just made the reservation that afternoon when we checked in. The food was very good, and service was nice. The scallops were tender and mouth-watering. The porkchops were flavorful, and paired nicely with a recommended red wine. I don’t think we had settled into the “No pressure, no problems” attitude quite yet, so we kept wondering…”where is our food/waitress?” The island was slowing us down, which we weren’t used to! We also visited Boucan at the Hotel Chocolat across the street. Do not jump the fence! It was dark, and we couldn’t see where the driveway was and hopped the fence. A security guard yelled at us, and said we were lucky Mr. Hill didn’t catch us. There were no lights leading to the restaurant which was confusing. We didn’t know where we were going, except head down the drive way towards music/noise of the restaurant. Then, a coconut fell out of a tree and scared the living daylights out of us!! Dining on the otherhand- This was quite a lovely experience. Everything is centered around chocolate so it was very cool to try mashed potatoes whipped with white chocolate, and chocolate butter. The also gave complimentary moush boush, and palate cleansing sorbet. Later that week, also took a short taxi ride to The Mango Tree restaurant. We were the only ones there, which was surprising, but welcoming as it gave us a very intimate dinner. Our experience was delightful to say the least. The food is truly wonderful at Dasheene, but we would recommend trying a dinner off the grounds as well, for a different feel/experience.

As far as excursions go, we decided to outsource our transportation with our new friend Gillan for seeing the sights. We visited Diamond Falls, Mud Bath/Volcano, and Botanical Gardens. We were taken to 'The Big Yard' for lunch and loved sampling the local foods. My fiancé and I wanted a more personal experience and we certainly had that. We did book the “Sunset Cruise” with Ladera for Tuesday night. A shuttle transported us about 10 minutes down the road to Soufriere where we boarded a catamaran hosted by the Mystic Men captain and crew. We highly recommend this cruise. The views were spectacular! We were served rum punch, listened to sweet Caribbean music and enjoyed meeting other couples, and crew of the catamaran. They do serve light hor de oeuvres - please note - you may want to have a bite beforehand, or plan to have dinner afterwards – especially after a few too many delicious rum punch’s! This is a great “date night” while in paradise!

Sugar Beach is about 15/20 minutes away (by shuttle). Although Ladera is not beachside, I think the pros of the location and views greatly outweigh the cons of being further from the sea. We packed a cooler, and brought granola bars and snacks so we did not have to buy lunch at the Sugar Beach restaurant. If you manage your expectations and understand this luxurious resort’s intended concept beforehand- you will not be disappointed!

Thank you again to the wonderful staff of Ladera! We will miss you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ladera Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera opened in November 1992 and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere’s oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960’s a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladera Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;