We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for couples.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ladera Resort to your Saves list
Ladera Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Complimentary nights
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great spot for couples.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Ladera was our honeymoon pick. It was great. Definitely a great location on St. Lucia which I would say is this venue best trait. The staff was friendly and did a good job, but I would not call it "exceptional service". One word of warning to potential guests is that Sugar Beach access is "free" to all public people. But if you want to sit on lounge chairs or under cabanas, then be prepared to spend 50 - 100 USD for a day's rental. Not bad, but not "free". The Dasheene Restaurant is definitely another great trait of Ladera. With some variety day to day, this is where we ate almost every meal. Top notch.

Room Tip: All the rooms are likely great at this hotel. They will all have views of Sugar Beach and one if not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    140
    44
    38
    29
See reviews for
22
629
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of June for our honeymoon and did the peak to beach package. The hotel is gorgeous - the view from the room really does take your breath away. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a treatment at the spa which is a little tired but both therapists were excellent. The food at the restaurant really is exceptional and makes the hotel in my opinion. The menu doesn't really change but when one guest asked where the nearest place for pizza was, the hotel made this for them and were told that the restaurant would make anything, provided they had the ingredients.... We didn't stay long on the beach as the weather wasn't the best but they could do with investing in some new loungers or coming to a better arrangement with sugar beach... Saying that, the hotel pool is great with amazing ocean views.

We would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I would recommend the Ladera Resort to everyone who loves beauty, outdoors, peace, delicious food, the beach, mountains, wildlife, fresh fruit, and friendly people. We just returned from our honeymoon! I wanted to take a moment to compliment the staff of this gorgeous, what seems secluded, resort. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped out of our taxi. The staff of Ladera were always so positive, friendly, and took care of our every need. They MADE our stay! :) The Dasheene Restaurant at the resort was the most delicious place to eat in St. Lucia. We tried other places, but we could not find competition--WE especially enjoyed our FUN and helpful waitress, LEAH POPO. She was the best server we could ask for. Camilla also did a fantastic job serving us. We also loved Lee, Shekina, and all of our other Ladera family that we encountered during our stay. The owner, Holly, also was a huge part of running her fabulous resort, which showed us that she takes great pride in running the very best resort in the world. We miss this place already and are looking forward to the day that we can go back again!!! We love you guys and won't forget how good you were to us during our stay. xox katie and james lowder (aka the dinosaur pic couple!)

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and unique. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in some of the top ranked hotels, but this was a once-in-a-lifetime trip--the views(!), room, food, and customer service were unbeatable! The perfect honeymoon spot.

Upon check-in, a bottle of processco and a nice note from the owner were waiting for us. And the view from our room...AMAZING! My favorite spot was the swinging chair above our plunge pool--I would have never left if there weren't so many fun things to do!

Hit up Sugar Beach (just a free, short shuttle ride) and the Grand Piton hike is worth it (but VERY hard--you'll deserve a few beers post-hike). Meals at Ladera are wonderful but for a real treat, go across the street to the Bucan at Hotel Chocolat (and be sure to order the white chocolate mashed potatoes). There's a small but nice gym at the hotel so you can work off all the food.

This was by far the most relaxing and unique vacation we have ever taken--were were only there 4 nights. It might not be for everyone (i.e. we heard people complain about the lack of air conditioning, bugs, lizards, birds, and very loud frogs at night) but I would go back in a heartbeat (there are ceiling fans, bug spray, earplugs, and just don't leave a light on at night). Such a wonderful place for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: We had room E near the front. It has three bedrooms--too many rooms but the view from the main bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in St. Lucia in May, 2013 and loved our experience. Ladera was our oasis after skirting the roads and pedestrian traffic in Vieux Fort in a rental car. Caroline's friendly reception welcomed us to a gorgeous room (Hilltop X3) with a view of the Pitons that is priceless. This luxurious eco-lodge is far from luxury camping; bringing in the outdoors, which is why we were on the island of St. Lucia. Quick rainstorms were fairly frequent and thrilling to experience from our mosquito-netted bed. After exploring the area we would return to our room to swim privately with a view that only Ladera has. Ladera's heart is with the St. Lucian people as is evidenced by the happiest staff on the island. The owners and manager have layered the resort with local creations. Our room was filled with colorful tiles and exotic wood carvings. Dasheene Restaurant is a must for every couple to visit. Come before sunset and stay for live music at night. We are truly thankful to the owners for sharing this paradise with us. Thank you Holly for your gracious generosity. Our island journey continued to the northern tip yet we were unable to recapture the heart of the island that was abundant at Ladera Resort.

Room Tip: Tree frogs make sleep challenging. We found this to be true even outside of the rainforest. Put a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very late on this review, stayed here in July 2012. There are now words to describe the view you get from Ladera. It is simply AMAZING! We stayed in the 3 bedrooms suite. The whole resort is beautiful. The only bad part is it got dark around 6 p.m. in July, and the bugs at night. There are bugs...a lot of bugs. That should be common sense though since these are open rooms. St. Lucia, Soufriere is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been too. We went to Barbados after our stay at Ladera, and all we could think about was Ladera.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom suite is amazing! Summer is slow season, they should give you free upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A romantic retreat like no other for nature lovers and the adventurous. The rooms are all a bit different, quirky and totally private,. The most interesting feature having no 4th wall - its totally open on the ocean side. this makes for an amazing view and feeling like a tree house, but may not appeal to those uncomfortable with the idea of living with nature right there (like bugs or birds sharing the space). We found the food and service quite good and enjoyed walking the property and the infinity edge pool seeming to disappear into that unforgettable view. There is plenty to do off site, like hiking and the beach.

Room Tip: all are different and some multi level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ladera Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera opened in November 1992 and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere’s oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960’s a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladera Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.