We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking scenery, but not exactly 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fifth Night Free
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery, but not exactly 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

How to begin? I just returned from a stay at Sugar Beach. The staff was incredibly kind and generous. The butlers worked very hard to insure our needs were met, always with a smile on their faces. However, we were there while the resort was full and sometimes things were a bit of a pain. This resort is extremely difficult to get around at. Shuttles are required for everything, unless you stay in one of the few beach villas. Even getting to breakfast requires a wait for the shuttle, even if you call ahead. This is probably not always the issue, we were just there during a very busy time. This seems to be a family resort, lots of children. Getting the dinner time we wanted was not always easy either, and we could never get a tennis court despite the fact that when we tried no one was using them. Around the pools there are some gazebos that offer shade. On one of our last days we set up camp there, no one was using any of them. When we ordered drinks we were informed that the gazebo had been reserved and that there is an extra charge for using them. We apologized and left. Supposedly all of them were rented. We spent all day at the pool and no one was ever in any of those gazebos. NEVER. We did not even know that there was a charge for using them and frankly, it was all quite ridiculous. We could not even rent one. The staff simply said they were reserved. Definitely a policy that management needs to reevaluate. Our villas were large and the view was amazing. The plunge pools were warm and the outside shower was great, our son loved it. The only thing that we found unacceptable was the shape of the villa. Considering the cost, we expected the room to be pretty much perfect and it wasn't. The first day my in laws shower in the joining villa did not work. In fact, they suddenly had no water. In our villa, the shower had broken jets that kept falling off the walls. Some of the room was simply "tired" and in need of a refreshing. The worst part is that the villas had a strange smell. Initially, I thought it was the wood floors, but later I recognized it as more of a musty/moldy smell. They have wood floors in the bathrooms as well, and we wondered if, due to the wetness and humidity, it is a mold issue. However, the rooms were kept very clean and the maids did a great job. I hate to complain because we did love this resort. Just that they need to step it up a little bit in these areas. Do not go and expect a Four Seasons experience. In some ways, it is so much better and more of an adventure....but with such high prices, the rooms need a bit of a clean up, the smell being the biggest issue. The hotels main pool is very nice, quite large. Both restaurants were very good. Dinner at the Great House was excellent, with wonderful service. Once again, the staff was superior! St. Lucia is a beautiful island, and the setting of this resort is fabulous. The staff was kind and charming. They tried very hard to accommodate us, there were just a few issues that were frustrating.

Room Tip: Rooms are scattered down a very steep hillside. Be prepared to walk a lot and take shuttles. Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I would like to apologize for the issues you have highlighted. Please know that we have taken your comments onboard and we are continuing to evaluate our service standards to ensure that we provide our guests with the best possible service—especially in the area of in-room maintenance and repair.
Apart from the disappointments mentioned, we are happy to know that overall you enjoyed the time that you spent at Sugar Beach.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    114
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
119
465
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights on the way back from another island in one of the larger villas within the resort.

The views and position were spectacular with ocean and evening sunset framed by two impressive pitons with a jungle backdrop. The beach was one of the best we've been on. The colonial style main building is very in keeping with the resort theme. The Great Room main restaurant had very good food, typically expensive and the themed bars and common areas surprisingly trendy with edgy art work. The Bayside beach restaurant and Terrace breakfast area are much more typical with not much to differentiate them from other resorts except the views.

We find the staff in most resorts in the Caribbean friendly and this was no exception, however we felt the service levels in the Bayside and Terrace restaurants could be improved. Staff at the Bayside certainly take their own sweet time and give off an indolent air.

Our stay was marred building works next door to villa so that noise from 8am and a number of workmen overlooking us really interfered with our ability to use the villa. It also appeared that our villa had not recently been occupied and a number of maintenance issues meant some of the services did not work. Mosquitoes at our villa (which we found out was due to lack of spraying) also meant we couldn't sit on our terrace without wrapping ourselves in towels. We discussed these with the manager and accepted the compensation he offered.

Our butler was an exceptionally keen young man who put in a lot of effort.

I had a massage in the spa which was very nice set in the jungle.

Room Tip: Beach front villas are very comfortable and stylish with unbeatable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you have highlighted. We have taken your comments onboard and will be discussing the general issue of in-room maintenance general arrival preparations with the relevant department heads.
I am sorry your stay coincided with a more active phase in the building of a private residence next door to your accommodation. We did not anticipate the noise associated with this project which has now been completed.
We do hope that apart from the disappointments mentioned, we trust that you had a wonderful stay at Sugar Beach and that we will welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

In one word: Awesome! Location & views were spectacular; Accommodations were beautiful & comfortable; Staff was gracious & friendly. We stayed at Beach Bungalow #14 which was a perfect spot - great views, easy walk to restaurants and scuba shop. McKenzie, Fabian & Greg were fantastic butlers. Thanks, guys, for following up with Delta and getting my lost luggage from the airline. Scuba was fantastic with Richie & O'Neal. Dive sites were just minutes away. Most of our dives were just the two of us as patrons. The spa is truly unique and must be seen. Food was very good, & Angelique was a wonderful hostess.

Room Tip: Loved the beach bungalow - private hot tub, lounge chairs, and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good Day,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like say how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service and it is satisfying to know that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, accommodations, and everything else that we offered.
We will be sure to share your comments with the individuals highlighted. They work hard to create special experiences that not only meet but exceed the expectations of our guests.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach at some point in the future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Swimming in the pool your panoramic view takes in rainforest vegetation nestling between the Pitons towering into the bluest sky with fluffy little white clouds, the Caribbean Sea lapping softly onto the white sand.....just beautiful.
The weather in March was like the best British Summer day, when it’s hot enough to tan but it leaves you with enough energy to sightsee. We took a water taxi along the coast; listened to John telling us about local nature on the Tet Paul trail where stunning views reward 45 minutes of gentle walking; we wallowed in mud baths at the sulphur springs, washed off in a waterfall; and we photographed exotic plants in the Botanic Gardens.
The immaculately-tended, luxuriant grounds of Sugar Beach itself are a reminder of its plantation past. Tuktuk shuttles circulate constantly to transport you between villa, pool, restaurants, spa and gym. The spa is amazing: each treatment room is a little hut nestling among greenery with mineral streams to relax in after your massage.
Sugar Beach is run with unobtrusive efficiency , not least the restaurants where Julien and Angelique are always on hand. Before dinner, try the fabulous cocktail bar, where Merton and his wonderful team will even invent a cocktail for you that you can drink on the balcony overlooking the beach watching the glorious sunsets.
But it was the people that made this holiday so perfect. Unfailingly helpful and smiling, our butlers Mosiah, Alex and Swameed, restaurant hosts Tracy and Chad, Terry and the tuktuk drivers, made our stay so memorable, we were booking our return as soon as we got home!

Room Tip: The tuktuks make all rooms accessible. We were in the 300s-beautiful views, so much space. But there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this very useful review about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation.
Please know that your comments and your business have been greatly appreciated.
On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had an amazing stay at this resort. The expectations were high as I read so many positive things about it and this place was recommended by friends to us as well. We booked to stay at the Superior Luxury Villa and were kindly upgraded to the Grand Luxury Villa. The resort itself couldn't be faulted, it is just so beautiful and the pictures don't do it justice. I find with many resorts, the pictures only tell half a story. You really have to have been there and experienced it because each resort has a certain 'feel' about it and the feel in this resort, is very special, very difficult to convey in pictures. It's cosy, yet it's very spacious, it's luxurious without being stiff. It feels just right and very unique. You don't want to leave. The service is impeccable (I don't understand the comments about staff not smiling enough; it must be a mentality difference but we always found the staff very friendly and not overly/unnaturally friendly.) The food was good and we visited the Ladera resort, just above, for dinner and some cocktails to take in breathtaking views of the Pitons. We did a sunset cruise which was unforgettable and excursions around the island. But to be honest, we could have stayed at the resort itself many more weeks without feeling bored or tired. The only slight worry is that there seem to be constantly new villas built and I sincerely hope the resort won't become overdeveloped. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay.
We are delighted to know that your vacation at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resorts exceeded your expectations and that you felt special in our environment. Our team will be delighted with your feedback. We will commend them for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your glowing review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

To start the place I cannot fault it. The staff always greeted us with a smile and were very welcoming. We were greeted with drinks and shown to our villa. It was very clean and modern. The bed was very comfy and the view was lovely! The private pool was not heated and we were shaded so it wasn't ever used! But still lovely. We very rarely spent much time in the villa with the beach being so nice and quiet so it wasn't much of an issue. The beach is very clean and the sea is so warm. The snorkels are free and highly recommended, the bay is stunning to snorkel (bring an underwater camera)... And the waiter service was exceptional. The only con was a) it cost us a little over £7k but it was worth all inclusive if you are not leaving the resort b) the food menu is the same every day (3 things change every 2/3 days) which is ok for a few days but after that you find yourself eating the same stuff.
We really enjoyed it as our main honeymoon holiday and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort for your honeymoon.
We are glad to hear that everything was fantastic and that the staff provided exceptional service.
I am sorry that you grew tired of our culinary offerings. Had you voiced your concerns in that area, our executive chef would have been more than happy to prepare additional dishes to your satisfaction.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A beautiful setting, pool, beach and views etc. Had dinner here and it was fabulous. Fantastic service, delicious food. Great pool area, secluded golden beach cove. Everything is perfect. Wished we could have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience Sugar Beach and that you enjoyed our facilities, amenities and service.
We hope to welcome you back next time as a resident guest.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, JackRabbit Systems, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.