We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon at Sugar Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fifth Night Free
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Prospect, Kentucky
1 review
“Fantastic Honeymoon at Sugar Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife & I just returned from our honeymoon in St. Lucia and wish we could have stayed longer. Viceroy is absolutely as advertised if not better. The resort is certainly not inexpensive, but the location & service are priceless.

Upon checking in, you immediately realize the phenomenal service the resort has to offer. You are greeted with warm smiles and a staff that aims to make your stay a memorable one. After a long day of travel, it was nice to be handed a refreshing drink as you check in and are escorted to your room. The private rooms are incredibly impressive. We had a villa in the 700's and were absolutely blown away. The scenery truly is better than a postcard. The rooms were spacious & elegant. There was a large indoor shower as well as an outdoor shower. Closets were huge and the bed was very comfortable. The deck & outdoor area were unbelievable. The view in and around the plunge pool never got old.

We really enjoyed the beach area. The imported white sand between the pitons made for relaxing days. I would also highly recommend snorkeling on property. We snorkeled twice while on the island and much preferred the swim just steps from our beach chairs. There are also a variety of other non-motorized water sports complimentary with your stay. The pool area just up from the beach was beautiful. Very nice to simply hold up a red flag if you wanted a drink for the bar and there was someone available prompty to take care of us.

We mostly dined on property during our stay. The Great Room is an excellent venue for a nice dinner. The Bayside restaurant is more casual and offers nice outdoor views of the water. Overall, most of the food was top notch. We enjoyed the lamb chops & red snapper. We only had one meal that I would classify as disappointing - one day for lunch we ordered a burger while at the restaurant in the sand and it was drastically undercooked. For $18, I thought it would be a bit better. Luckily, the restaurant took care of our meal and offered us something else free of charge. Other than that, everything else was excellent.

In short, the scenery & location set this property apart from the others. When you arrive at Viceroy, you realize that it is worth every penny. We would go back in a heartbeat!

For anyone looking help in booking their travel, I would highly recommend Jennifer Byrne and her team at The Tropical Travelers. We were referred to her as a friend and were very pleasantly surprised. I had not used a travel agent before planning our honeymoon, but will certainly use Jennifer in the future. She went out of her way to answer all of our many questions leading up to the trip and design the perfect stay for us. She is incredibly knowledgeable of all of the islands and resorts (including personnel at the resorts). She was also very responsive to emails or phone calls. We unfortunately had travel complications on the way down to St. Lucia and she started working on Labor Day to help rearrange portions of our itinerary. Thank you Jennifer for all of your help!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Day,

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for posting your glowing comments about your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We certainly agree with you that our location is a special one and truly romantic for couples wishing to relax, especially after the hectic pace of wedding preparations.

I am thrilled that your butlers and our other team members provided special touches that made your stay memorable for all the right reasons.

I am sorry that you had an issue with lunch at the beach, but pleased that the issue was handled promptly and professionally by the team in the kitchen.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    114
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
119
465
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've just returned from a quick three night break to Sugar Beach, from Barbados.

We actually stayed here last year on our honeymoon, and I was a little worried that it wouldn't be as good as we remembered, and those brilliant memories would be damaged.

However, the trip just reminded us how amazing this place is. The setting is stunning, with a quiet beach surrounded by beautiful jungle, and a Piton on either side. I could spend hours just gazing out at the scenery. You can tell the place has worked it's magic on everyone there. All guests and staff are friendly, smiling, and super chilled.

It's an incredible resort for a romantic break, but there were also several couples there with young children, and they all looked like they were having a great time. If/when we have kids, I will bring them here on holiday.

Yes its pricey, but for once I have decided that it's worth every cent. Sleep in a beautiful room, chill on the beach, go diving underneath the Pitons, fall asleep during a massage, eat delicious food. Your body and mind will thank you for it.

We were in a completely different state of mind when we left after three nights. Despite this, I refuse to go for less than a week next year. We were practically crying when we left!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500s have great views. We had 503 which I think has the best view in the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day,
Thank you for writing this review about your second stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

It is always heartening when we read feedback such as yours and hear how we continued to meet and exceed your expectations.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and hope you will choose to stay a little longer next time.

Once again, thank you for your comments and continued support.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I’m not 100% sure what is was that made this an outstanding stay - it could have been the breath taking setting or the exquisite service, or the fantastic food. Thinking about it, it was all of the above – combined with great facilities, smile after smile from the staff and a villa nestled in the hillside that met our every expectation of a colonial style Caribbean retreat.

Ahead of arriving we were slightly concerned that the hotel was more designed for adults than children but our kids (both under 10) had a fantastic time. There were enough other kids for them not to be self conscious and for us not to worry that it was our kids who were ruining the ambiance for couples seeking a quieter time. The fact that the hotel site is so large and the sun loungers both at the beach and around the pool are sufficiently dispersed means that it’s hard to tread on any ones toes.

Most of our time was spent around the pool or snorkelling on the house reef which is one of the island’s tourist attractions. We also used the spa, the gym and had a tennis lesson with the resident coach – all were worth doing (not many places you can play tennis whilst staring as something as impressive as the Pitons). We’d also recommend the cocktails and hammocks at the beach bar.

Overall – nothing to complain about and we’d be back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good Day,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and making the effort to provide your feedback about your family holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

I am delighted that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us and that the location, service and activities on offer exceeded your expectations. All of us who work here know what a special place Val des Pitons is and it is always heartening when we meet guests who share the same view.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sugar Beach was hands down the nicest resort/hotel/accommodations I've ever experienced. My husband and I both agree that the service was the best thing about the place. That and the absolutely gorgeous land that the resort is set on.

Sugar Beach is actually not a very big beach; it's a bay that is totally secluded from any other resort or civilization. We didn't mind the small beach because of the privacy and the feeling that we were the only ones on the island. The Pitons are literally feet from Sugar Beach and are breathtaking from every spot on the resort.

The pool is fabulous, the food is great (especially breakfast!), the spa was amazing, the luxury is definitely there. The only thing we wished had been different was the expense, but you definitely pay for what you get! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sugar Mill rooms, which were the least expensive but the closest to the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to post this glowing review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort and that our superb location and attentive service won you over.

Your comments and your business are greatly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufriere, St. Lucia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As a little girl, I grew up at Sugar Beach when it was the then 'Jalousie plantation' in the 1980s (a working plantation). I went to the estate often with my parents and grand parents who were plantation workers there at the time; cleaning the estate and making copra from dried coconuts! I admired being so close to these majestic peaks rising from the deep blue Caribbean waters. Today, visitors can enjoy this great Treasure by staying at the Sugar Beach Resort. The cottages were built between the lush vegetation making it an awesome location for nature lovers. The newly rebuilt cottages look great and although not so close to one another, shuttle bus services are provided at anytime. There are lots of activities for guests to enjoy; including excursions, fitness centre, night life, kids activities amongst others so you will not get bored!!!!!! My memories from twenty six years ago remains and I will always love this place! No where else on earth like it! Strategically located between our world heritage sites! The majestic Pitons!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your “homecoming” stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, formerly the Jalousie Plantation.

It’s a real pleasure when guests who grew up in St Lucia and who have known the area from childhood, come back to the island to rediscover all of the special memories this place between the Pitons holds for them.

It is a magic location and we work hard as a team to protect everything that is special about Val des Pitons and to ensure any additions are in tune with the local surrounding and designed to enhance the wonders that Mother Nature has already provided.

Once again, thank you for your review. We trust that this latest visit was the first of many more to come.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort is, no doubt about it, full-on five star. The rooms are beautiful, the beach and pool are perfect, the view drop dead and the food extremely good.

My son (as did all the other kids) absolutely loved the kids club and ran off there every day after breakfast. The spa was fantastic too.

I think the best thing (apart from the view) is the service though. They have an army of staff and, as you would expect of a far star (with five star prices) everything is done efficiently and nothing is too much trouble. You have a butler, who in principal can be at your beck and call - ours unpacked our suitcases, organised our dinner and spa reservations and looked into tours for us.

The only hiccup was that having travelled from another hotel (Windjammer Landing) we arrived at 11am, which we knew was before check-in (3pm) but we had hoped we might get in an hour or two early. We said we'd wait on the beach and they would collect us when our room was ready. As it turns out we only got to our room after the normal check in, which was shame. The problem was that the room we were shown to, whilst considered an 'upgrade' was quite a bit smaller than we had booked. We had booked a Superior Lux Villa, specifically as we like our young son to have his own room and the Sup Villa's come with a lounge. However, the hotel had upgraded us to a Beach Bungalow which whilst they cost £300 per night more and have a fab location on the beach do not have a separate lounge and are a bit small to add an extra bed into. For some reason even though the resort didn't appear full they were unable to move us that night so we had our first night in the Bungalow and then moved the next day which did mean our first 24hrs were quite disrupted. However the hotel came through with a very generous resort credit and the rest of our stay was magical.

I would definitely recommend this resort for young families and also couples.

Room Tip: Our room was in the 700's which whilst it felt very long way away took only minutes to get a shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent family holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

I am delighted that overall you really enjoyed your time at the resort. However, I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the villa allocation issue you encountered on arrival. Usually our guests are grateful for room upgrades when we can give them, especially when we can place them directly on the beach in one of our bungalows. We completely understand why the upgrade was not such a positive for you this time around.

At the time of your stay, the room category you booked was actually fully committed which meant we were unable to move you immediately to this particular villa type. While we were able to turn this around for you on the following day, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Again, thank you for your review and your comments. We hope to see you and your family back again soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

To get away from it all St Lucia is a good choice and Sugar Beach fits this bill it's remote nestling between the twin Pitons with soft white sands. We stayed for 12 nights and had a brilliant time the staff are fantastic and will go the extra mile for you. The hotel is all about relaxation with quality the food and choice is great and if you want something special they will arrange that for you.
The beach is a little stones right at the the waters edge although it wasn't changed while we were there. however we were told that plans are in place to remove all the stones and replace with sand
The pool is great very clean and all the sun beds are extremely comfortable. The cocktails in the bar should not be missed
A good book and a long drink for a relaxing and chilled out holiday

Room Tip: Any room is fine and there is transport to pick you up from your room and take you back if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your positive review about your holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to completely relax and enjoy our stunning UNESCO World heritage-listed surroundings.

As you point out, there are some areas on the beach that have small stones. We regularly rake these areas at the water’s edge to help keep the sand smooth and easy on the feet.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and the quality of the food we serve. I know our culinary team will be happy to hear your comments.

On behalf of my team, thank you for your comments and your business. We hope you will consider a return visit soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, JackRabbit Systems, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.