We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday/Wedding/ Homeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing holiday/Wedding/ Homeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the beach bungalows from the 23rd June to 3rd July.. amazing accomodation. The resort is one of the most amazing that we have ever seen, every day we discovered something more beautiful than the day before. The staff at the resort are simply some of the most wonderful people you could meet. The restaurants were fab and the Cane Bar is so refreshing to retire to after a nice meal.
Our wedding organizer " Marcus " was great looking after every detail with such care and attention . He supervised every single detail on the day up to the photographers leaving and also doubled as our witness along with the lovely " Tyson".
Definitely climb the Gross Piton if possible and a boat trip if possible.. we went out with Nathan which Tyson organized for us and it was one unforgettable trip...
Snorkelling is a must as so easy just to walk down the beach and see amazing fish.
Sugar Beach is definitely a little bit of heaven on earth and we will never forget the kindness and compassion that was shown to us while we were there.
If you tried to look for something wrong with this resort you would be very hard pressed!!
Management and staff clearly work together here as the vibe you get shows it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your wedding and honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. First and foremost, congratulations on your special day!
We are happy to hear that your wedding and honeymoon were everything that you dreamed they would be and that Marcus did a wonderful job to ensure that all of the small details were taken care of to make your celebration truly special.
Well done on climbing the Gros Piton! We know how challenging that can be and thank you for your comments about Nathan. We are pleased that you enjoyed his water taxi tour and that your butler, Tyson, recommended and booked excursions that you enjoyed. They will be commended for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    79
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
324
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Sugar Beach for our honeymoon. We were there for 6 night/7days and could not have asked for a better experience. Everyone was exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to help us. Our butlers helped us set up an itinerary the first day we were there and printed it out for us. It included everything from pick up times, to dinner reservations, even our spa times. We stayed in a luxury villa, which is a 1 bedroom house with 2 full baths, a private pool/layout area, and living room. Everything about our vacation was wonderful and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your perfect honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are always pleased to see positive reviews like yours. We are proud that we were able to provide you with a flawless honeymoon experience. Our staff will be extremely pleased with your feedback. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities in your villa.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business and for considering a return visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Sugar Beach for 7 nights on the second half of our Honeymoon, after a hectic week in the States. What an amazing place! We were collected from the airport by private transfer and our driver filled us in on the highlights of the island and pointed out the various sights that we were driving past. When we arrived at the resort the staff greeted us warmly and we were whisked inside to check in (with cocktails!) before being driven down to our beachfront bungalow. As we approached the Pitons came into view...wow!
The bungalow was incredible and right on the beach. It had both indoor and outdoor showers, a private patio with hot tub and french doors from the bedroom looking right onto the beacn, complete with our own hammock and sun loungers and a little table and chairs. Waking up every day with that view was incredible.
This resort is absolutely fantastic - the bars and restaurants serve excellent food and drink. We started each day with a really nice breakfast on the terrace, lunch usually at the bayside restaurant and then a few choices for dinner, although the great room in the main building was FANTASTIC and after eating there once we returned every night after that. The staff there were fantastic and were knowledgeable about all the dishes and the large wine list. We usually followed dinner with a few drinks upstairs in the stylish Cane Bar (again with fantastic bar staff).
The resort staff were really lovely and made such an effort to make our holiday fantastic. Aside from the obviously gorgeous surroundings, the staff at Sugar Beach really do make the resort fantastic and cannot be praised highly enough.
We went on a few trips (the sunset cruise was great fun) but I actually think that just being on the resort for the week is enough, there is so much to experience and things like free snorkelling to try.
We hope to return here at some point!

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows are truly fantastic if you like being right by the sea and don't mind o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are delighted that the high quality and level of service that you received from arrival to departure exceeded your expectations in all areas.
The beachfront bungalows are stunning accommodations in an amazing location right on the white sand of Sugar Beach. They are also extremely convenient for those who want to be closer to the main facilities and walking distance to the restaurants and spa. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you in particular for your comments about our food and beverage offerings. The culinary team will really appreciate your positive feedback.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit in the not too distant future, perhaps for your first anniversary.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We loved everything about Sugar Beach. We were taken directly to our room by cab from the airport where we were met by our butler and his assistant with two rum drinks for us. Talk about a nice touch!

The staff was exceptional, from the butlers and maids to the waiters and waitresses to the shuttle drivers. All were friendly, helpful and very capable. They clearly had received excellent training. A special word about Titus, the tennis pro, at Sugar Beach. My wife and I hadn't played tennis in over 3 years but at the end of the week, we could definitely hold our own on the courts. Titus has a great personality, yet was serious about improving our games.

The Spa at Sugar Beach is magnificent and maybe the nicest we have ever seen. You feel like you are in the middle of the rain forest in your individual hut. If you have a "couples" massage, your hut also has a private mineral pool (heated) which you can use at the end of the massage. BTW, both massage therapists were excellent and we signed up for two different sessions.

I only had two issues during our stay there. One, while the WiFi worked well in the common areas, it was very spotty in our room and would cut out after a few minutes which was very frustrating. The other is if you are staying there over a week like we did, the menu became a little repetitive. The food was excellent particularly at the Great Room, but I would suggest that they add a nightly Chef's Special to add a little variety.

All in all, this is definitely a 5 star resort which we would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Room 710 was great in that it was basically by itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are delighted to hear that the time you spent at our resort was amazing and that you enjoyed everything we offered.
I would like to apologize for the inconsistencies that you experience with the internet connection in your villa. We are working closely with the service provider in an effort to make this important amenity more reliable for our guests wherever they log on.
In addition, I am sorry that you found the menus in our restaurants repetitive during your longer stay. If we had been aware of your concerns during your stay, I am confident that our executive chef would have prepared other dishes to your satisfaction. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sugar Beach for two nights at the end of our seven night honeymoon. We stayed in a luxury cottage for both nights.

We originally booked Crystals in Soufriere (a local bed and breakfast) for seven nights. After 5 nights, we decided to try and move to a more luxurious place with a nice beach. Crystals has some issues with noise and construction. To say the least, we wanted to be pampered.

After eating dinner in the area, we made our way down to Sugar Beach in our rental car on a whim. We were hoping that they would have a last minute cancellation and...THEY DID! We got a last minute deal on a luxury cottage and went back to our B&B so excited to spend 2 nights at Sugar Beach.

From the moment we checked in our experience was absolutely amazing. We were greeted with lavender scented cool towels and a signature cocktail (which was delicious!). The cottage was absolutely amazing. We had our own pool and flowers were strewn everywhere in the cottage including a large 'congratulations' in front of the bed! The towels and robes were soft and luxurious. The in room coffee maker was great. We even had a cell phone with direct access to our butler who had a ride for us to the beach within 1 minute every single time.

The only slightly negative report that I have is that the service on the beach was slow on our second day but everything else made up for it by 110%.

Here is an example that reflects the level of service that Sugar Beach offers:

During our second night's dinner, my husband and I both ordered prime aged beef tenderloin. We were already splurging on the hotel, so paying 50$ for each of our entrees was a big thing for us! Well, my steak ended up being markedly smaller than his. I figured it was a normal variation in the cut of meat but just passively asked the server if it was in fact a normal variation. Without asking any questions, our meals were off the table in seconds. Minutes later the manager brought out two large cuts of steak, apologized, and comped 100$ worth of food. We paid 50$ for that meal (wine and dessert). We almost felt BAD for mentioning that we were unsure about our meals but they insisted on comping the food. Just goes to show how much they care about your experience.

The snorkeling is also the best on the island! We loved it and the gear was new and kept very clean.

If you can afford it, get a cottage. You won't be disappointed with Sugar Beach.

Room Tip: Luxury cottages are adorable and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and that our team members helped to make the final nights of your honeymoon memorable for all the right reasons. They will be pleased with your comments and happy in the knowledge the special touches they provided enhanced your time at the resort.
I would like to apologise for the lapse in service that you experienced, but please to hear that our restaurant team responded immediately to rectify your concerns. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, perhaps even for a first anniversary celebration.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here quite some time ago now and it was pretty lovely then, and it looks like it has changed and improved a lot. The facilities were very good, although far from anywehre so if you're looking for entertainment you are stuck with what the hotel has to offer, which from memory wasnt much, but we met some lovely people so we werent bothered. I would like to return now after seeing how much it has changed, it looks superb!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at what was then the Jalousie Plantation. There have been many changes at the resort over the past three years, culminating in the rebranding and re-launching of the property as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort..
Contrary to the period you stayed with us, the resort now offers nightly entertainment ranging from relaxing background music provided by local guitarists and pianists, DJs mixing great dance tracks in the Cane Bar to live Reggae bands. We also have weekly Cinema Under the Stars (weather permitting) where we bring a large screen out onto the beach, screen a film favorite and serve complimentary popcorn.
We hope you will be able to visit soon to see firsthand all of the changes made since you last stayed.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I visited Sugar Beach in May for just over a week. We normally prefer adult only resorts as we have very stressful jobs and our holiday is a time to relax, unwind and recharge (we’re in our mid-late 40s).

We were not disappointed in Sugar Beach! As has been mentioned many times in reviews, the setting is really spectacular. You don’t quite understand how special the position of this resort is, until you get there. The original plantation house is very gracious and the grounds & gardens are immaculately kept.

We were extremely grateful to be upgraded to a Grand villa (904) and were told by numerous members of staff that this villa had one of the (three) best views in the hotel. The villa was beautifully appointed and spacious. One suggestion would be for a little more detailed instructions when it comes to the shower fittings. We inadvertently pushed the wrong handle in the outdoor shower, which then switched all the hot water in the bathroom & indoor shower to the outdoor shower. We did complain a few times that we didn’t have any hot water in the bathroom (we didn’t mind too much just using the outdoor shower), and only towards the end of our stay was this handle mentioned to us!

I wouldn’t say this is the best Caribbean beach I’ve ever been on as the water is not crystal clear and instead of sand at the bottom, it had green seaweed. But it’s a small price you pay for the spectacular volcanic Piton backdrops. It also dropped off quickly into very deep waters (which is great for snorkelling).

I had the bad luck of being stung by some kind of small jellyfish every time I went into the sea, but my husband didn’t have the same problem. In the end I gave up swimming in the sea and stuck to the pool. My husband is a keen sailor and enjoyed sailing the Hobie Cat every morning.

Service on the beach was great and we were often (not daily) handed some refreshing ice fruit smoothies, which was a lovely touch and would be a great idea to do this on a daily basis ;0)

The food was good, but not exceptional. After a week, the menus at both restaurants started looking a bit limited, especially for me with a shellfish allergy. We loved eating in the Great Room and were sad to notice that some guests didn’t adhere to the smart casual dress code at all – men arriving in t-shirts & jeans and ladies wearing flip-flops! None of them were turned away, despite casual dining being available every night at Bayside.

The biggest disappointment was that we were kept awake for 5 nights by some kind of rodent/creature noisily eating something inside our bedroom ceiling. It started every night at 12:30am and continued until 6am. We complained numerous times and various people came to have a look. All offered different explanations and solutions, but nothing that actually solved the problem. Let me just say, we lived in Africa for many years and loved the night sounds (of insects/frogs/crickets) at Sugar Beach, and are quite used to being in and surrounded by nature. In fact, we love it.

I appreciate the resort is surrounded by tropical vegetation and therefore impossible to keep all the creatures at bay. However, something like this should have been dealt with quickly, but instead it meant that for half of our holiday we didn’t get any good sleep! Only after I complained about it again on our last day AND suggested that a nice gesture might be to grant us a late check-out at no charge, did they actually offer this to us and nothing more. As far as these complaints are concerned, we felt that management should have been more on top of things!

On the whole we loved our holiday at Sugar Beach, but felt that while the resort was on the brink of being ‘exceptional’, in our opinion it was just ‘really good’. A few key touches were missing to make this a truly special place. We found the service throughout the whole resort to be very good and everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially our two butlers Montgomery & Dwight. When we arrived we had a lovely fruit platter in our villa. We ate all of this fruit during our stay, and felt it would’ve been a nice touch to replenish the fruit bowl on a daily basis as you would expect in any top notch hotel.

We’d like to go back to Sugar Beach again and hopefully some of these things will have been addressed and improved upon by then. This resort should really be exceptional to do justice to the spectacular setting!

In summary:
Location = 100%
Beauty = 100%
Hotel & Grounds = 100%
Villas = 80% (looking a bit tired in places)
Food = 80% (limited menu if staying longer than 4 nights)
Staff = 90% (some training required still)
Drinks = 50% (extremely over priced!)

Room Tip: Villa 904 for the best view in the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
It is satisfying to read that on balance you enjoyed your stay with the exceptions of the disappointments that you have highlighted.
Our food and beverage team works tirelessly to ensure that our guests are satisfied. I am sorry that their offerings were not exceptional to you and that you found the menu to be limited due to your allergy to shellfish. Our executive chef would have offered some other food options had he been aware of your concern.
I would like to apologize for the situation that you have described regarding the noisy creature in the ceiling of your room. I am disappointed that the issue was not resolved. We do our utmost to ensure unwanted wildlife is kept at bay. Having said this, the surrounding environment makes it extremely difficult to completely control these pests. We very rarely get concerns such as the one you have raised. Although this is cold comfort to you now, you may wish to be aware that since your departure, we have stripped the room to ensure that whatever creature was making the noise is now gone.We suspect it may well have been a maniku (a local opossum) keeping you awake.
Once again, we are very thankful for your comments and business and look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort (formerly the Jalousie Plantation) is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island’s scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia’s majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort’s 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.