We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the brink of being exceptional in every way!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On the brink of being exceptional in every way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I visited Sugar Beach in May for just over a week. We normally prefer adult only resorts as we have very stressful jobs and our holiday is a time to relax, unwind and recharge (we’re in our mid-late 40s).

We were not disappointed in Sugar Beach! As has been mentioned many times in reviews, the setting is really spectacular. You don’t quite understand how special the position of this resort is, until you get there. The original plantation house is very gracious and the grounds & gardens are immaculately kept.

We were extremely grateful to be upgraded to a Grand villa (904) and were told by numerous members of staff that this villa had one of the (three) best views in the hotel. The villa was beautifully appointed and spacious. One suggestion would be for a little more detailed instructions when it comes to the shower fittings. We inadvertently pushed the wrong handle in the outdoor shower, which then switched all the hot water in the bathroom & indoor shower to the outdoor shower. We did complain a few times that we didn’t have any hot water in the bathroom (we didn’t mind too much just using the outdoor shower), and only towards the end of our stay was this handle mentioned to us!

I wouldn’t say this is the best Caribbean beach I’ve ever been on as the water is not crystal clear and instead of sand at the bottom, it had green seaweed. But it’s a small price you pay for the spectacular volcanic Piton backdrops. It also dropped off quickly into very deep waters (which is great for snorkelling).

I had the bad luck of being stung by some kind of small jellyfish every time I went into the sea, but my husband didn’t have the same problem. In the end I gave up swimming in the sea and stuck to the pool. My husband is a keen sailor and enjoyed sailing the Hobie Cat every morning.

Service on the beach was great and we were often (not daily) handed some refreshing ice fruit smoothies, which was a lovely touch and would be a great idea to do this on a daily basis ;0)

The food was good, but not exceptional. After a week, the menus at both restaurants started looking a bit limited, especially for me with a shellfish allergy. We loved eating in the Great Room and were sad to notice that some guests didn’t adhere to the smart casual dress code at all – men arriving in t-shirts & jeans and ladies wearing flip-flops! None of them were turned away, despite casual dining being available every night at Bayside.

The biggest disappointment was that we were kept awake for 5 nights by some kind of rodent/creature noisily eating something inside our bedroom ceiling. It started every night at 12:30am and continued until 6am. We complained numerous times and various people came to have a look. All offered different explanations and solutions, but nothing that actually solved the problem. Let me just say, we lived in Africa for many years and loved the night sounds (of insects/frogs/crickets) at Sugar Beach, and are quite used to being in and surrounded by nature. In fact, we love it.

I appreciate the resort is surrounded by tropical vegetation and therefore impossible to keep all the creatures at bay. However, something like this should have been dealt with quickly, but instead it meant that for half of our holiday we didn’t get any good sleep! Only after I complained about it again on our last day AND suggested that a nice gesture might be to grant us a late check-out at no charge, did they actually offer this to us and nothing more. As far as these complaints are concerned, we felt that management should have been more on top of things!

On the whole we loved our holiday at Sugar Beach, but felt that while the resort was on the brink of being ‘exceptional’, in our opinion it was just ‘really good’. A few key touches were missing to make this a truly special place. We found the service throughout the whole resort to be very good and everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially our two butlers Montgomery & Dwight. When we arrived we had a lovely fruit platter in our villa. We ate all of this fruit during our stay, and felt it would’ve been a nice touch to replenish the fruit bowl on a daily basis as you would expect in any top notch hotel.

We’d like to go back to Sugar Beach again and hopefully some of these things will have been addressed and improved upon by then. This resort should really be exceptional to do justice to the spectacular setting!

In summary:
Location = 100%
Beauty = 100%
Hotel & Grounds = 100%
Villas = 80% (looking a bit tired in places)
Food = 80% (limited menu if staying longer than 4 nights)
Staff = 90% (some training required still)
Drinks = 50% (extremely over priced!)

Room Tip: Villa 904 for the best view in the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
It is satisfying to read that on balance you enjoyed your stay with the exceptions of the disappointments that you have highlighted.
Our food and beverage team works tirelessly to ensure that our guests are satisfied. I am sorry that their offerings were not exceptional to you and that you found the menu to be limited due to your allergy to shellfish. Our executive chef would have offered some other food options had he been aware of your concern.
I would like to apologize for the situation that you have described regarding the noisy creature in the ceiling of your room. I am disappointed that the issue was not resolved. We do our utmost to ensure unwanted wildlife is kept at bay. Having said this, the surrounding environment makes it extremely difficult to completely control these pests. We very rarely get concerns such as the one you have raised. Although this is cold comfort to you now, you may wish to be aware that since your departure, we have stripped the room to ensure that whatever creature was making the noise is now gone.We suspect it may well have been a maniku (a local opossum) keeping you awake.
Once again, we are very thankful for your comments and business and look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    71
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
74
279
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

this is truly an amazing hotel, we stayed here in June 2011 so it was a while back but still it was incredible and the best location in St Lucia, since then i have visited the WindJammer Landings and there is no doubt this hotel is better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at what was then The Jalousie Plantation. As you can imagine, a lot has changed since 2011 and we would welcome the opportunity to share an even better Sugar Beach experience with you.

Of course, the stellar location right between the Pitons is one thing that hasn’t changed and continues to impress returning visitors and first time guests.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to your return visit to see firsthand all of the new accommodations and amenities we offer.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon at Sugar Beach and we are still talking about all the wonderful people we met. Our butler's Montgomery (Monte) and Dwight, the shuttle drivers (Terry and John) and one of the restaurant managers (Ernie). The fact I knew and remembered these names is a testament to the level of service we experienced during our stay. We loved our room (900's) and the whole property is just gorgeous. The only wish is that they played some music at the pool and/or beach. We wanted it to be peaceful and quiet but having some light Reggae or Calypso would have been a really nice touch without going overboard. I would highly recommend that you book your stay at Sugar Beach. Also ask for Miles Taxi Service. 758-717-1820 germs_3@hotmail.com. Miles was an amazing island guide!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 904 and it had the most amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good day,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like say how happy we are that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and thank you for providing us with your feedback.
We are gratified that the individuals mentioned made your honeymoon stay extra special and that you were pleased with the services they provided. We will praise them for a job well done.
Thank you for your comments, recommendations and business. We hope to see you again soon.

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Its taken my wife and I to write this review. We were married in February, and honeymooned here. From the moment we checked in our stay was off the charts. We were upgraded bc of construction and could not believe the house! Every morning i woke to local fishermen casting out their nets. Each day was better and better. Service was unbelievable, the sights spoke for themselves. I think the most enjoyable thing for my wife and I was, we took a water taxi to the capital. We were treated as friends and not tourists. Everyday after the taxi right, the boat drivers came and talked with us on the beach. Felt like we had been friends for years! We are planning to return in 2014, We could only hope that Linus would be there. He answered every call, and the smallest demand was met. If the ownership reads these reviews we would really like to get intouch with Linus somehow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review.
We are very pleased with your comments and glad to hear that you enjoyed the time spent at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Linus is indeed a superb butler. He will be recognized for the excellent customer care that he delivered to you. By now, you should have received his contact information.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We are looking forward to your visit in 2014.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Luxury Sugar Mill room 10 for 10 nights from 3 June. Having booked our trip several months ago and read the rave reviews, we wallowed in the anticipated delights ahead. Would Sugar Beach meet our high expectations? No...it far exceeded our dreams of luxury,indulgence, pampering, soporific ambience, stunning location and delightful staff. The best of welcomes with cool rum cocktails and cold, lavender towels, as we were escorted straight to our perfect room.
We normally self cater in the Caribbean and hire a car, so this was a total change, we feared boredom. No fear of that, spending our days snorkelling, kayaking, playing tennis, oh and copious amounts of chilling on the comfy sun loungers.
The beach is so beautiful and although small, never felt busy.
Thank you to all the staff who were exemplary, our butlers Nysan,(so attentive) Gus (the grin, watch out Hollywood). Gym pro Canice (oozing with energy ) and of course Sherman and Nathaniel, the perfect hosts.
Dining was always a treat and again the staff couldn't be more helpful. Anyone who claims otherwise should take a step back and look at themselves.
Varied artwork decorates all area's and is refreshingly eclectic, unlike the bland, safe displays at most hotels.
This holiday was a special treat and unlikely to be repeated, but if you get the chance GO and enjoy.

Room Tip: Sugar mill rooms are perfectly located, but if you don't mind beach users in front of you, the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your positive comments about your special stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
It is important that our guests have with an overall great experience and we strive to provide activities that they look forward to enjoying. We are glad that you made the most of the fitness facilities and other amenities we have on offer.
The individuals you have mentioned receive rave reviews for delivering superior service and we are very proud and satisfied with the high level of service that they offer to our guests. They will be happy with your comments and we will commend them for a job well done.
Our unique artwork is very inspiring to all those who come across. All of the pieces on display are either part of the resort owner’s private collection or have been specially commissioned for the space. They all invite a response. It is gratifying when our guests appreciate just how special the artwork is, so thank you in particular for these comments. Once again, your feedback and business are important to us. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

It is very difficult to explain the Sugar Beach resort without visiting. From the moment we arrived we experienced nothing but 100% attentiveness and service, the 2 guys at reception were brilliant and they immediately made us feel at ease and relaxed, we went straight to our villa in the 300's and met our Butler (Swamed, Alex and Jason) who helped us settle in to paradise.

Having done our research we knew what to expect, but this surpassed all expectations. The villas are perfectly appointed with huge bathrooms, the worlds most comfortable led bed (I am not exaggerating) and the plunge pool was just incredible with views of both Pitons.

We found the shuttle service amazingly convenient with no more than 60seconds wait times for shuttles, our butlers made plans for off site reservations and excursions, and the beach staff were phenomenal!

Food at Bayside was well above par and the setting was stunning, we treated ourselves to 2 meals in the Great Room and both were exquisite. The Cane bar was great for a game of pool with a cocktail, and the Bayside Bar was a lovely way to let an evening roll by. Occasionally service here was a little slow, but hey - you are in paradise, chill out. It was probably more apparent given the move from Sandals where service if anything was a little too fast.

Selections for breakfast were well above par, the Burritto is well worth a try!!

Our butlers arranged for a private tour where we took in the Volcano, Sulphur Springs, Botanical Gardens, Sourfrier, and a bite to eat at the Beacon. We also went to Ladera for a meal and sunset cocktails one evening as well ad the Hotel Chocolate Bean to Bar tour, followed by a lovely meal there. We made plans before leaving the UK to spend a day with Congomon (Paul) which included a climb of Gros Piton, this was the highlight of our week and well worth doing (see separate review).

Overall this must be one of the most stunning resorts in the world. Staff remember your names everywhere you go, managers take an interest and come over to talk with you frequently, and the location, well the location has to be seen to be believed!

Truly paradise, will be hard to beat.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations in all areas and that you enjoyed your time with us.
The staffs at Sugar Beach are highly trained professionals, and we are delighted that they provided exceptional service, especially the individuals mentioned. They will be commended for their efforts.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort at some point in the future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Ne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This resort has an amazing location. Situated on a beach between the Twin Pitons, it is one of the most beautiful places my partner and I have ever been. The visuals are stunning from every angle, and the gorgeous, immaculate landscaping only enhances the effect. The ocean, the mountains and the rain forest truly create a surreal environment.

We stayed in a Luxury Cottage (305) and loved it. The view of the sea and the Piton was breathtaking. The beds were uber comfortable, bathrooms luxurious, products top notch, and the AC excellent. The Nepresso machine was appreciated. There is complimentary water and Piton beer (loved it). And the plunge pool was so refreshing.

The pool was where we spent most days, and I'm still there in my dreams. Pitons, palm trees and rum drinks. Raise the red flag and whatever your heart desires can be yours. The infinity,water edged design made it comfortable to gather and gaze toward the water's horizon. Quite dreamy. If you are there by 10:30, you will have your choice of the king size (room for 2) loungers. Same is true for the beach cabanas. We tried the entire drink menu and our favorites: On the Beach and the Zombie (take care with that one).

The butter service was fast, friendly and professional. Shwarma, Alex and Jason took great care of us. Any request (ice, reservations, buggy rides) was a phone call away.

We enjoyed the dining at both the Bayside and the Great Room. Pants are required at the latter (as we found out), but worth putting on for the fine dining experience. The grilled Mahi Mahi was to die for, and the Piton beer battered fish burger was amazing. Check out the "hot sauce" too.

We were on the AI plan and ate b'fast, lunch and dinner every day. Loved being able to try everything on the menu! Breakfast was a particular treat. The cheeses and pastries and fresh juices! If you plan on eating and drinking to your heart's content, this is truly the way to go- especially if you like a few cocktails and wine with meals.

Don't forget to check out the Cane Bar (for rum lovers), the Late Night Bar and the Palm Court Lounge. Lots of cool art and sculpture abounds.

The beach is calm and beautiful with white sand and snorkeling right there. It is a small stretch and there are smooth rocks upon entry. Great for swimming and floating.

We hope to return someday to this amazing and fabulous resort. It truly was the trip of our lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your positive comments and feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed everything that we offered at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Our aim is to provide our guests with top-notch amenities, accommodation, facilities and service to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay.

Our staff will be delighted with your comments, especially those you have highlighted. I will be sure to thank them for providing the extra care and attention that helped to enhance your time at the resort.

We know how important it is to provide our guests with great food and a variety of dining options. Our culinary team will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed their offerings in all of our restaurants.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Jalousie
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort (formerly the Jalousie Plantation) is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island’s scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia’s majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort’s 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.