We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredibly Relaxing, Decadent, and Private Beach Vacation in a Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Incredibly Relaxing, Decadent, and Private Beach Vacation in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent a week at the Sugar Beach Resort. The setting is simply stunning - situated in a secluded rain jungle rising from the beach, between two massive 2,500 peaks (Gros Piton and Petit Piton). The service was absolutely first class and we loved spending quiet days next to the private pool outside our room, on the large sandy private beach.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and appear to have been recently renovated. We stayed in room 501, one of the luxury villa rooms with a private plunge pool. The veranda was spacious, with plenty of outdoor deck space both under a large porch as well as a large open deck. The villa pools/decks have varying levels of privacy - some can be seen easily from the access roads, and others (like 501) are completely private.

The view of the ocean from our room was simply spectacular, and as far as we could tell, most of the rooms (except the rainforest rooms) had similar views. This is because the villas are situated along a very steep access road from the beach and main dining areas. There are regular "tuk-tuk" shuttles that ferry guests around the resorts and we found that we rarely had to wait more than a few minutes for a ride. Most mornings we simply took the 10-minute walk down to the breakfast veranda in the main building.

Overall, the environment was just as advertised in the website. We loved the art, the food was first-rate, and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The only thing we didn't expect, and can't be captured in photography, is just how stunning the setting is. We'll be returning for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to comment on your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed your Grand Luxury Villa in addition to the services and amenities the resort offers.
Once again, thank you for your words of encouragement and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    85
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
90
346
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

When we arrived at the property, we were given a villa in the 300's. They were working on villa next door - just painting when we arrived so no big deal. By the 4h day there we had 20 or more construction workers next door. At this point, I complained and mgmt did respond and try to make amends. This is the only reason I am not giving the resort a 5 since we should never have been put in this villa. Regarding the remainder of the visit, we found the staff very efficient at the bayside, great room, and cane room. Several comments have been made on trip advisor regarding the food & service - our only complaint would be service at breakfast could be a hit or miss. We truly enjoyed our meals at Bayside & Great Room. Our butler, Alex was outstanding - thanks for everything! We also visited the rainforest spa for a couple massages. Great service! Lastly, make sure to take time to visit the botanical gardens & mineral springs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write your review of your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with everything that we offered with the exception of the few issues you have described.
I have discussed your comments about service at the Terrace with our restaurant team and we will be implementing refresher training to see tangible improvements in this area.
I would also like to apologize for the lack of privacy at your villa. I am happy that we were able to rectify the situation to your satisfaction. Please know that your comments and your business have been greatly appreciated.
On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh , Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What can I say that's not been said before by or new best buds from Canada!!
We feel very lucky & privilaged to have stayed here for a week in May after a week in the north in a villa on Cap Estate.
We arrived on the Friday after a 1.5 hour drive down the west coast of St Lucia. Don't let anybody fool you the roads are in great condition & its easy to drive all over the island.
We pulled up at reception round 1pm & was greeted with a couple of cocktails.
Within seconds we were being whisked away on a tuktuk to our Luxury Villa. We were greeted by our nice butler with another couple of drinks. I did a video of the villa 304 & put it on youtube to save time. After showing us round the villa which is amazing we jumped in another buggie to the beach bar for lunch as we just missed the 2.30pm cut off time for lunch at the bayside.
We used the car over the weekend to visit other hotels / restaurants in the hood but I would not do it this way the next time as you do not need to leave the resort.
You have everything you could ever want for the perfect vacation just outside your villa.
They only have two restaurants but the menus are changed a few times a week which keeps it fresh & the selection is great.
When we stayed it was only half full which was really nice.
Loads of beach beds available & loads round the massive pool.
Be warned this resort is full of Honeymooners which can be a bit shy but they don't bite so feel free to try to talk to them as they need some help in the coversation department.
They think they are the only one's on the planet that are in Love.
Don't miss watching a film under the stars on the beach it was amazing & don't care about what film they are showing you will still love it. We had a new Mr Bean film & it was a blast.
If you stay at SB you must do the Gros Piton trail if you feel up to it. Trust me it was not a walk in the park but it will stay with us forever as one of the most amazing experiences. The views of SB & St Lucia over the mountains from the Piton were to die for.
We are fit & took 5 hours up & down but did spend a while at both tops to soak up the views.
The best / busiest night of the week was Thursday in the Air Conditioned Cane Bar where the drinks were free from 9-11. This included cocktails, beer & wine by the glass. They even had a DJ playing some funky tunes. The Honeymooners were out in numbers but still managed to keep to themselves & still need to go to dane classes before hitting the floor.
After a few Chilli Passions & Hurricaine's me & Bill had a dance off. This was one of the highlights as the poor wee lovers did not know what was happening.
Think dad dancing on speed & you will get the picture but who cares you are on holiday & there is no law against being silly the last time I looked.
Our very understanding partners enjoyed every minute of it from the comfy seats.
All in all pound for pound the best holiday we've ever had & plan to return next Year.
The layout of the resort makes you feel you have your own space & the staff will do everything they can to keep you happy. We stayed on the breakfast plan & wow what a breakfast it was massive with a cooked menu to keep any hungry Horace happy.
I asked them to remove all the drink in the fridge that could be charged for to save any unwelcolme going away present on our bill.
The piton, water, coffee is included in the villa price & is restocked regularily.
That's enough BOOK NOW before the secret gets out!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are very happy that you liked our accommodations, facilities and amenities and that the staff provided exceptional service.
Climbing the Gros Piton is quite an adventure and I sure you were satisfied that you reached the top. There really is nothing better than being able to sit back in your sun lounge, look up and say, “I climbed that.”
I am also glad that you enjoyed the movie, “Mr. Bean”. Cinema under the stars is a firm favorite with our guests.
I will be sure to communicate your glowing comments to the entire team and commend them for a job well done.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach in the near future.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Saying that Sugar Beach has incredible service and accommodations, amazing people, a one-in-a-million location, and wonderful food & drinks doesn't do it justice. This place is unbelievable. We had our wedding there as well (Marcus is so genuine and great!) and couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience. We loved absolutely everything about it... Especially the cucumber mint drinks! I would definitely recommend all inclusive. We travel a lot but don't usually splurge, and it's worth every penny. I just wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely save up and be back. Other recommendations: Climb the piton, snorkel whenever you can, explore the rainforest, take advantage of their freshwater pool in the mornings, and expect the butler to find you on the beach if you forgot to make reservations for the evening!

Room Tip: Sugar mill 10 was close to the beach, pool, restaurants, and spa. Perfect location for people who do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good day
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your wedding and the quality of service you experienced at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Marcus will be pleased to know he did an excellent job at coordinating your wedding. I will pass on your comments to the team and applaud them for a job well done.
I am glad that your overall experience was enjoyable and satisfying. Our aim is to make every guest experience pleasant and fulfilling by providing the highest level of service.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, perhaps even for a first anniversary celebration.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just spent 5/19-5/24 at Sugar Beach as part of our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it there. The atmosphere, the room, the beach, pool, Cane Bar, billiards room, and the food were outstanding. Opt for the all inclusive package, its well worth it. If you have a hat, bring it. There are small black birds between the beach and pool that come down and claw at your head (not joking). It doesn't hurt, its just startling. I did not have a hat so I walked around with my hands and/or my beach bag on my head. If you are looking for pampering, rest and relaxation this is the place to go!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called "Sugar Mill 5", its less expensive and super close to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent honeymoon Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
With such a stunning location, we are constantly striving to ensure our services, dining experiences and accommodations are just as impressive as the view.
It is pleasing to read that your dining experiences, luxury villa and the services you enjoyed helped to enhance your honeymoon celebration.
I am sorry about your close encounter with the birdlife by the pool. May is nesting season and while we try to encourage the birds to nest elsewhere, there are still a few that slip through the net. Luckily, they are only around for a couple of weeks. You may be pleased to know, they have gone already.
Once again, thank you for your very valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon- perhaps even for your next anniversary celebration.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful stay at the Viceroy.The service was impecable. The grounds are spectacular, the food was very good and the views are breathtaking. Exceeded all expecations. Service in the Caribean can be inconsistent and we found the staff really friendly and well trained. We accidentally left our passports in the safe as we moved to another part of the isaland. Paolo of guest relations personally retrieved them and had a taxi deliver them to us. Really pleased with our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. The 300 and 500 rooms have a little better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the standards and quality of service provided at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
On behalf of the entire team, I would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your high expectations in all areas.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team, especially Polo, for ensuring that you received your passport safe and on time. I will commend them for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your very valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

our second week on the island of St. Lucia in honour of our 25th May 11th through to the 18th. The PERFECT place to spend our final week on the island.

OMG!!! This place was everything I'd hoped it would be and then some!!!

Our Villa # 807 had an amazing view of one of the Pitons and peek a boo views of the ocean "waaaaay down there" It had a lovely plunge pool... which was fairly private and used daily! No need to heat it as it was refreshingly cool! We enjoyed our private deck every day for morning coffee (surprisingly good little coffee machine and coffee supply) and afternoons for refreshing cocktails. We were surprised with a lovely bottle of champagne in honour of our anniversary which was a wonderful gesture. A fresh fruit platter and plantain chips and dip upon our arrival to our Villa as well. The rooms are every bit as beautiful as what you see online in the pictures made available to you... if not better!!! Everything is of top quality from construction to furniture, indoor and out... I loved "everything" about our Villa and hated to leave it to go down to the beach every morning but you didn't want to miss the beach view either so you HAD to go LOL The bath robes were so luxurious, that I bought two from the Spa to take home with me to enjoy!!!

Shuttle service was very prompt. Our 4 butlers (we only ever met 3) were excellent and would do anything for you. They are there to serve you and make you feel special during your stay and ours certainly accomplished this! This was our first experience with personal butlers... and needless to say, I could get used to it!!! LOL

Maid service. Excellent. Turn down service. Excellent.

The bed... AMAZING... the linens... AMAZING... the mosquito netting around the bed... lovely!!!

The resort grounds and buildings... AMAZING... so much beauty.

The beach... is small (but we knew that going in) so no long walks along the waters edge, and not so soft on the feet going into the ocean, but the ocean is refreshingly warm and calm in this bay and the beauty of being nestled in between the Pitons... priceless. Snorkeling is pretty good at the base of the Piton but very crowded when the day time visitors come (cruise ships/day trippers) the only good thing is you have your very own beach section that visitors have to pay a premium to enjoy a day bed, so no hassle there because only a select few wanted to drop the $$$ to do so. Beach service could use some improvement, and some servers were better than others. It's a nice idea with the flag option for service, just a little slow at times.

Movie night under the stars... that was really nice!!! Great bean bag chairs to lounge in... popcorn and cocktails offered (but we were too full from dinner to enjoy so we passed)

Breakfast... beautiful location and excellent menu and service. Excellent preparation of food.

Lunches... same as above :-)

Dinners... same as above :-)

Fresh fruits and vegetables served at all restaurants at every meal...excellent variety with their restaurant menus. There may only be two main locations for dinner but you get such variety that nothing is duplicated during your stay except say the breakfast menu BUT there is such a variety there that you can try something different everyday as well and not be bored! There is a male and a female manager that are constantly making their rounds during the breakfast and lunch hours, making sure you are well taken care of and things are running smoothly. If you looked like you needed something, they were quick to take notice and come to your table to see if they could be of service to you. We felt special at every meal during our stay at Sugar Beach... very well taken care of from start to finish. How lovely is that!!!

Breakfast and dinner was included in our package. We opted not to go all inclusive but rather just pay as we go for our daily drinks and lunches. This was a better option for us.

Thursday night at the Cane Bar was a fun night!!! Complimentary drinks all night... it was the most packed it had been all week and I guess for good reason if it was open bar.

We met a few really nice couples during our stay at Sugar Beach... it was a very different vibe compared to our week at another resort in the North of St. Lucia (Rodney Bay) a week earlier.

We did a 4 hour deep sea fishing trip one day... hubby enjoyed it... I napped due to gravol consumption ;-)

Hired our own taxi driver rather than going through the resort and visited the Volcano, Botanical Gardens and Waterfalls... very worthwhile.

Took a taxi up to the Ladara Resort to catch the sun set one evening... very worthwhile and I am now hooked on Coconut Rum Martinis!!! (easy to prepare at home now given that i bought some coconut rum prepared in St. Lucia and a few Cocoa sticks ;-))

Hiked the Piton (in my head) a few times during our week at Sugar Beach... met a couple that actually physically did hike it and they said it was grueling BUT well worth it. Maybe next time 'round ;-)

This week spent at Sugar Beach Resort was the most luxurious week hubby and I have spent in all of our travels and we would both go back in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your silver anniversary stay at Sugar Beach.
I am happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas and you had a wonderful time. We are very passionate and concerned about our guest experiences and therefore strive to ensure that the highest level of service is always provided.
We will pass on your comments to the team and let them know that their extra care and attention really enhanced your vacation.
Your business and your feedback are important to us and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort (formerly the Jalousie Plantation) is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island’s scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia’s majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort’s 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.