We stayed at Sugar Beach for our honeymoon for a week in May 2013. The place is without doubt the most luxurious in which we’ve ever stayed so it was a fitting setting. So much thought has been put into the landscaping and the look of the place – there’s scarcely anything which doesn’t suggest “paradise”.
We were welcomed by our butler to our cottage with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, and also a small bottle of rum, some plantain chips and a floral arrangement by the bed. He explained how everything worked at the resort, and in particular what was covered by our all-inclusive meal plan. This was very welcome as we’d spent a fair bit extra on this, and we worried about encountering other charges. All the menus have options marked that aren’t included, although virtually everything on the menus is included other than expensive wines and champagne, which is fair enough. There was also complimentary Piton beer and soft drinks from the fridge in the rooms – although we later found out all get this, whether all inclusive or not. You can get room service delivered for a small charge, which was great to have a couple of meals in the peace and calm (and privacy!) of our outside seating area. We also had the most superb plunge pool outside our cottage. Let us answer those on Trip Advisor that say it is useless unheated: it is not, have you seen how hot it is during the day in St Lucia?!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and keen to help whatever you asked them to do. Most of your immediate contact is with the butlers, particularly if you’re up in the hills in the cottages as you need the “shuttle” to get around – a golf buggy-style vehicle that goes around picking people up and taking them to the various places in the resort. It’s like calling Dad for a lift, but you never wait more than a few minutes, and it’s a very slight price to pay for the resort and the cottages being in such a spectacular setting. Most of the drivers are great to chat to as well, and to get ideas for spending the day from. Our favourite was Terry, a lovely guy who even remembered our names!
There are two main eating places in the evening – Bayside, a relaxed beachside restaurant, and the Great Room, which as the name suggests is a much grander affair further inland. We found the Great Room a little cheesy but it’s great for marking an occasion or the last night, but the atmosphere at Bayside is great, from the sound of the waves coming in from the darkness to the musical entertainment often laid on. In the daytime there is a great system on the beach and by the pool where if you’d like a drink or some food, you put a red flag up and someone comes and takes your order. You can end up feeling a little spoilt by the end of your stay!
We also hired snorkelling equipment and were surprised how many tropical fish were very close to the beach. We went for a spa treatment in the spectacular setting of the Rainforest Spa and went on a hike up the Pitons – something you need to be in relatively good shape for, a fairly testing four hour round trip up the spectacular Gros Piton, but worth doing so you can look at it from the beach and say “I’ve been up there”! Overall although there is much on offer outside the resort we wouldn’t say you need to leave the resort too often, as the setting is so fabulous, and certainly worth soaking up.
The only niggles we had – and there were only very small as the service was so superb – were firstly to do with the veggie food. The restaurants actually have quite good vegetarian selections, but mostly hides them away on separate menus that you don’t know even exist until you find out somehow! (although after a while they did learn and bring it out unprompted). This is a bit of an odd way of working, and we weren’t impressed by bringing out an amuse-bouche containing fish when we’d just ordered from the veggie menu. The food itself is however superb, no complaints at all there. We had mixed service with the butlers too – on some occasions wonderful (such as lending us a backpack for the hike), others not so great – problems reported with the firefly phones not followed up, flat not restocked, departure info not passed on etc. We also found our taxi from the airport added on our final bill when it was meant to be included in the holiday - removed immediately when we queried but I wonder how that happened. There’s also some guys peddling water taxis on the beach who can get tiresome and could do with being moved away.
These are however very small niggles – overall we had an amazing honeymoon at Sugar Beach and would undoubtedly recommend it to anyone thinking of celebrating an occasion with a visit! We hope to return one day, perhaps for an anniversary!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are committed to making every holiday experience fulfilling and memorable by providing first class services and amenities and I am delighted that we matched and exceeded your expectations in all areas with the exception of the niggles you have pointed out. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused, particularly with the inaccuracies on your bill. We are continuing to review our service standards in that area to ensure that there isn’t a repeat of what you have described.
Once again, thank you for your comments, recommendations and business. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.