We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Picture perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We got from Jalousie Plantation for our honeymoon in August, and we couldn’t have picked a better resort. It was absolutely amazing from the staff, food, beach, service and accommodations to the breathtaking views.

We had an amazing view of the Pitons in room #505 which provided amazing sunsets on our back porch.

We spent most days at the beach under a Tiki Hut; we never had trouble finding one. It’s a very intimate resort which is perfect for a honeymoon. There are not too many people and we never had trouble finding a place on the beach. Most days we skipped lunch at the Bayside restaurant (This is where lunch is served on the resort) and ordered off the beach menu. The beach food was amazing and our favorite items we ordered were calamari, basil salad and pizzas.

The snorkeling is great and the beach is so nice that other resorts bus their guests in to use it. They do have to stay on a small section of the beach so guests of Jalousie get the Tiki Huts and plenty of beach space (another great benefit).

The food is great; nothing like eating at a five star restaurant every night in The Great Room. Definitely book the meal plan otherwise you will pay $35-40 for an entrée, $15-20 for an appetizer in The Great Room and $12 for most drinks. Also, we thought we might get charged an 18% service and tax fee at the end because it’s on all the menus as a separate charge but that is also included with the meal plan.

Everyone is so friendly and love to make small chat like what you did that day, if you’ve ever visited the island and what you think about it. No matter who you saw on the resort; everyone went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying your visit.

The tours at the resort are rather pricey. Instead, use Real St. Lucia Tours. They are half the price and the owner and his drivers are amazing and will help customize your itinerary.

Make sure to bring cash; everyone wants cash once you leave the resort. American Dollars are accepted everywhere and I don’t recall seeing an ATM.

Definitely vacation at Jalousie. It’s a great place that won’t leave you disappointed.

Thanks to all the other TripAdvisor travelers that helped us pick such an awesome resort and helped us save money along the way with our excursions.

Room Tip: Do you research and look at the rooms on YouTube. Many travelers have made videos. We stayed in #505...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for your very valuable feedback about your stay at the Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
I am happy that all of your expectations were exceeded and you had a wonderful time. I am pleased you enjoyed our amenities and accommodations as well as the relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. We are committed to ensuring our guests have stays that are fulfilling and memorable for all the right reasons and I am delighted that this was the case for you.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food as our culinary team works hard to ensure guest satisfaction. Although there isn’t an ATM machine on resort, if our guests desire to have cash, we provide that service and charge it back to the room. It appears that you were not aware that we provide that service. If that was the case, I am truly sorry.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team and commend them on a job well done especially Aquinas.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    77
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
78
320
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just married at Jalousie in July and the week after we returned we canceled our Europe trip and went back to St. Lucia. Our same butler, the ever-smiling Linus, was standing there with cool drinks upon our arrival and we broke into applause. The beautiful clear pool beckoned at our room and the place was as breath-taking as ever. Even with the renovations going on, the staff was fully informed that we were returned guests and greeted us like old friends. Every effort was made to make our visit memorable, from the beautiful, torch-lit private dinner on the beach (cooked once again by the wonderful Chef Prescod) to the extra towels, to an evening jaunt around the lush Pitons to see the bats fly. This place is the epitome of romance and luxury. Flowers everywhere, hummingbirds, lanterns and the ever present crystal blue Carribean. This is the premiere property for location and scenery in all of St. Lucia, nestled between the towering Pitons. Every single person working at the place is friendly and smiling and helpful. Even the construction workers told me to have a nice day. The renovations will be done soon and it will be more beautiful than ever. I watch my wedding video over and over, just soaking in the beauty of this special place.

Room Tip: The 800s villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this glowing review about your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
We are glad that you found Jalousie to be a place where you enjoy vacationing.
For the second time around, I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the ambience and atmosphere of the resort.
Our team is passionate about what they do and I share the same sentiments as you about their level of friendliness. Chef Prescod will be delighted to know that you were amazed with his cooking.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and business. We look forward to your return visit soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Remember when you your were a kid, someone sent you a postcard of a far exotic place, a cove in between two mountains accessible only by boat or 4x4, where the water is clean and clear and you get to play in the sun all day. OK so fast forward several decades, grab your better half and book your trip to Sugar Beach. This place is amazing.

The facilities are impeccable, and the staff is unbelievable. There is a reason it is TA travelers choice top pick for 2012 in the luxury category. Beautiful villas equipped with every amenity you could desire, plunge pools, patios, decks to enjoy the most incredible sunsets. You can spend your day down bay-side in the Palapas with tasty beverages and vittles readily available. Or do nothing up at the villa and still feel amazing

The food in this place is everything you want while on vacation. The Executive Chef, Chef Cupertino and the Executive Sous-Chef, Chef Victor run a tight ship making the Great Room a world class dinning experience.

The Cane Bar is a must, a flight of Rhum will get you going and the game room is funtastic.
We spent 4 nights there and did not want to come home. Every morning on the patio, coffee with a spectacular view and every evening, cocktails with friends and loved ones sharing the postcard to always be remembered.

I want to thank the entire staff that catered to our group in the 500's and yes Fabian, Empty vessels do make the most noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to provide your feedback about your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
We are genuinely concerned with every guest experience and do all we can to ensure that the services and amenities that we offer provide great satisfaction to our guests needs. I am pleased that you were satisfied with our high standards.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team, especially Fabian and congratulate them for making your holiday extra special.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and business. We look forward to your return visit soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When we arrived at the Jalousie Plantation we were hypnotized by its location - An azure sea of silk cushioning crystals and diamonds as they sparkled underneath the Caribbean sun and sky of powder blue- a lovely curved white beach between two breathtaking cone shaped volcanic pitons of black and green framing the picture. They call it paradise and IT IS!

We had a most excellent time, in fact the holiday was probably one of the best we have had due to the Islands beauty and the warmth and the friendliness of the St. Lucian locals as well as the company of other guests. Our villa was lovely with amazing views looking out onto this stunning landscape. Each morning was a delight waking up to the views, and even when it rained, the Plantation had that very special quality of making you feel relaxed.

The staff were warm, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the resort plants, trees, animals, the Plantation’s history and the Island.

The buggy drivers on the vertiginous resort roads who were our favourites and deserve a special mention:
• Michael for his warmth, intelligence, charm, personality, and knowledge. His way of making you feel very special as a visitor to the resort as he chatted and listened in each conversation you had with him during a ride to the restaurants etc.
• Also Charlie who was full of knowledge, friendly and experience of local flora too, advise where to find the best views etc.

Our butler Nysan was very accommodating, professional and sweet, did his upmost to make sure we had a wonderful experience at the resort and looked after us. He arranged boat trips to Soufriere and Castries via Anse Chastenet (great snorkeling) and Marigot Bay (fabulous setting for lunch) and the Mineral Waterfall . We must mention the water taximan Justice with his boat of the same name. He is an excellent advert for St Lucian Tourism, his local knowledge is outstanding! He was such fun to be with and laid on cold beers etc., without ever being asked. We thank you all very much and commend your professionalism, charm, courtesy and taking the time to remember and use our names, rather than just sir or madam. In fact all the staff were lovely. The St Lucians are very friendly, warmhearted people. A real character on the beach is the Coconut Man; please look out for him as he is charming and always gives you a wave and smile.

The food served each morning for breakfast was good, but it would have been nice to have seen the menu change at least once during our stay of 10 days. We ate in both the Great room and the Bayside. The Great room was beautiful and elegant with its chandeliers, real ambience from an earlier era and balcony with amazing views of the grounds with a lily pond and the sea. The one comment I would make is that maybe the lighting was a little to subtle and made if difficult to read menu’s or even see your food sometimes. The Bayside had a more relaxed feel, and you felt a real connection with the sea and beach when eating there. The Bayside bar was excellent for lunchtime snacks and lovely fruit punches. Nigel, the barman, made me several fruit punches during our stay and each one was amazingly delicious. The bar and restaurant staff were always very friendly and helpful at all times.

It would have been nice to have more Creole food, and more variety of dishes. There was always beef, steak, lamb, pork and chicken on the menu but they were just served up with maybe a different sauce and other types of vegetables. The fish was always a delight and tasted fantastically fresh, the sushi/sashimi was excellent. It would have been great to have more of a mixed selection for desserts too. Being a great audience for excellent cooking and flavours we felt the menus could have been more exciting for the palette. The house wines and spirits were of good quality (all inclusive).

The beauty and history of the Jalousie Plantation (soon to be the “Sugar Beach” as the complex is being rebranded by the managing company, the Viceroy Group) is extremely beautiful. Sadly it seems to us that the rebranding will allow the plantation’s history, identity and spirit to be lost. This is such a shame as it is one of a kind and was one of the principal reasons for coming in the first place “Sugar Beach” could be a resort anywhere in the world and does not sound at all unique, special or different. The Jalousie Plantation has history and its roots are firmly in St Lucia along with its people and the island’s development.

From enquiries we made during our stay, Viceroy seems to be insistent in this rebranding exercise despite strong objections from locals and other guests staying at the JALOUSIE PLANTATION!

There are a few mechanical remains and skeletons of original walls where once the building for crushing and processing the sugar cane stood, which could have been promoted more to tell the story of the plantation’s history.

The buildings were beautiful and the spa blending into the rain forest with its wooden stilted walkways were very pretty. The Cane Bar was lovely and felt up market and very modern and relaxed. The facilities for children seemed very good also.

Works were still going on during our stay on the new pool, yes there was noise but it was kept to a minimum and visitors were compensated by having upgrades to other villas if there was a problem. The workers friendly and always said good morning etc. The pool I would imagine will be excellent when finished. As we had a plunge pool, we did not miss the swimming pool too much not being in use. You could always swim in the sea or take a dip in the pool at the villa.
The rebranding of the complex to a 5-star with no fully inclusive option we feel is a very large step. Something the complex is not really ready for, having traveled widely and stayed at many 5-star resorts hotels. We do not feel that the Jalousie has quite reached that standard of excellence yet. This is not due to the staff but due to attention to detail. The management needs to replicate the services of successful up market resorts like the Banyan Tree Group, which are strong customer based holiday hotels. At these resorts, every whim of the client is taken into consideration, even down to little details of fresh flowers in your room everyday. Where beds are decorated with beautiful forest flowers every day and staff know and use your name. It is all about knowing your customer and making their experience exceptional.

We did have some problems during our stay. We had no hot water for 3-4 days, then no water for a day, some problems with the air conditioning, and only half level in the plunge pool for a day. When the plunge pool was refilled it was heated and soon gained its gentle warmth back. We received a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates due to lack of hot water and time taken to sort this out. This was probably not enough to compensate for the time without being able to wash my long hair and shower properly. The cause of this seemed to be a mystery and finally it was discovered that maintenance to the pool meant turning off our hot water, a valve needed to be turned back on. This is of course attention to detail as mentioned above. Other resorts we have been too would sort out these problems within a couple of hours or they would not have occured. These are the things that the management needs to address if they state they provide a good quality service at 5-star rating!

They were sorted and even though caused a few problems we did not let this cause any lack of enjoyment during our stay. All staff were extremely apologetic for problems caused.
All in all, we enjoyed our holiday was tremendously relaxing. We were very sad to leave this beautiful Island and its many treasures, which include its people, as well as its amazing landscape.
We will visit St Lucia again as we have both fallen in love with it. We understand that the fully inclusive option will no longer be available which may rule it out for us. Having visited many beautiful places in the world and staying in some most exclusive hotels, this beautiful complex should retain its roots in the history of the island and work on the requisite things to make it even better than it is.

Room Tip: The 500 cluster have the most stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent holiday at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach
We are committed to making every holiday experience fulfilling and memorable by providing first class services and amenities. I am delighted that we matched and surpassed your expectations in most areas.
I am also glad that our team positively contributed to a great holiday experience and that they added special touches that you enjoyed. I am happy that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. Regarding more options for Creole food, had you made us aware of your feelings, I am confident our executive chef would have been more than happy to create these dishes for you.
We are always getting rave reviews about the quality of our transportation system and the interaction of our friendly and professional shuttle drivers. I am delighted that you share the same opinion.
The spa and Cane Bare are truly amazing and word-class and I am pleased that you had the opportunity to experience it.
The resort will change name from the Jalousie Plantation to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort on November 30, 2012. While other guests share your views about the loss of the Jalousie name, the reason for the change is to clearly signal the completion of the resort’s multi-million dollar enhancement project. Sadly, the resort has enjoyed mixed success under the Jalousie name in the past and the resort ownership was anxious to indicate that after so much work, this is essentially a new resort. At the same time, all of us who work at Sugar Beach and live on the island will continue to keep the history alive and ensure Sugar Beach retains all of the very best elements of the Jalousie Plantation.
The main pool is now redesigned and opened a few days ago. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for this remodeling project at the time of your stay. I am glad that the upgrade that we gave you helped to some extent to compensate for the inconvenience caused.
I am disappointed that the hot water issue in your villa was not rectified in a timely manner. We are continuing to review our service standards in that area to ensure that there is not a repeat of what you have described.
I would also like to clarify your point about the all-inclusive package. Sugar Beach will continue to offer a range of meal plan options to guests from room only to all-inclusive. We have no intention of changing this very popular option for our guests.
Once again, thank you for your business and feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Returned about 2 weeks ago from Jalousie Plantation. We were greeted by our lovely butler Jose with rum punch and cold lavendar towels on arrival, we Had been upgraded to a luxury villa from the sugar mill rooms due to the pool renovations which were happening the week we were staying. Our villa 901 had a piton view and we were blown away with the room, it was beautiful. From the chandelier in the huge bathroom, to the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, to the outdoor shower around the back of the villa. My husband loved sitting outside and taking dips in the private pool. We were on the MAP for dining, so breakfast and dinner was included. The breakfasts were amazing!! I loved the blueberry French toast with caramelised banana and my husband had an English breakfast most mornings, we were spoilt. We had dinner in the Great Room a couple of evenings but were we're actually more taken with the Bayside Restaurant. The staff working here were so professional and attentive you could not fault them. We did the couples cabana massage which was a great experience. We also did the whale watching tour organised by the hotel, we didn't see any whales, we did see dolphins and flying fish however but you could go on the tour again if you didn't see any whales. We did the sunset cruise which should be called a booze cruise really :-) the guys running the tour were great craic and they were going around the guys on the boat giving them shots of 80% rum which is used to make the rum punch to see the guys reaction to it, very funny. The resort attracts a lot of American couples and they can be a bit clicky with each other, there were also lots of British couples staying while we were there. The only negative side to this amazing place is the Mosquitos, we were eaten alive by these little buggers, we tried everything to keep them away and every morning we woke up with an additional 4 or 5 bites on our bodies, they must bite through clothes also as I had bites on me in places that were definitely not exposed. I know the resort gets fogged twice a week and your butler also fogs your room while your out for the evening so there isn't really much more you can do about them. We knew going over that it is an extremely lush environment and set in a rain forest and mosquitos were to be expected and we did go well armed but they did annoy us as the bites are so unsightly, I wore leggings every day as my legs were destroyed and one or two of my husbands bites got infected. This of course won't be the case with everyone as some people prove to be more susceptible than others. We got married while we were in St. Lucia, it was organised privately through a company called Awesome Caribbean Weddings and the venue was La Haut, again stunning scenery here. All in all, I would give anything to go back here again for our holidays, we will do our best to return as soon as we can, anything to get back here when all renovations are completed, something to look forward to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your wedding and honeymoon experience at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
I am happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas and you had a wonderful time during your stay. We provide amenities that we know our guests will enjoy and I am glad that you were satisfied with our accommodations, amenities and facilities.
At The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach we are very passionate and concerned about our guest experiences and therefore strive to ensure that the highest level of service is always provided. Our culinary offerings and are well considered to create exceptional dining experiences for our guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed the dishes prepared for you.
We will pass on your comments to the team and let them know that their extra care and attention really enhanced your overall wedding and honeymoon experience.
Regarding the mosquitoes, we always advise our guests to use repellant to protect them from these pests especially when they are susceptible to bites. In addition, we spray the rooms on a daily basis and fog the entire property twice a week to help eliminate these nuisance insects.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Sugar Beach. My husband and I stayed there on our honeymoon and it was beyond perfect...the staff, the rooms, the beach, the food, the spa...everything was better than we could imagine. I have been fortunate to stay in several luxury hotels in my life, and Sugar Beach met or exceeded the standards I've seen elsewhere. My husband and I are already planning a return trip, and we wouldn't dare stay anywhere else in St. Lucia other than Sugar Beach. It was just perfect, and I can't imagine any place better for a romantic, luxurious, indulgent island getaway.

Room Tip: Unless you have a big family, stay in the Sugar Mill rooms! It's still very much like having yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good Day,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like say how happy we are that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and thank you for providing us with your feedback.
We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service and it is satisfying to know that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, accommodations and amenities.
I will pass on your compliments to the staff, especially the individuals mentioned, and let them know that their extra care and attention really enhanced your overall vacation experience
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach at some point in the future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

From arrival to departure we were treated like royalty. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff, they were all so proud of the resort. Special thanks to Jose in the 900 suites along with Jason, Brownie in the restaurant, Terry and Michael on the shuttle and Cleon in the Great Room with all his staff. We were very sad to leave after 2 weeks on the most luxurious Honeymoon we could ever have wished for. Cleanliness was second to none, we have never seen so many fresh towels and soap replaced so frequently the housekeeping take their roles very seriously. This is a perfect honeymoon destination for couples wanting something very special, exotic and luxurious.
PS Jose's special rum cocktail is not to be missed or taken lightly!!!!

Room Tip: Any Hillside Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Day,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like say how happy we are that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and thank you for providing us with your feedback.
We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service and it is satisfying to know that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, accommodations and amenities.
I will pass on your compliments to the staff, especially the individuals mentioned, and let them know that their extra care and attention really enhanced your overall vacation experience
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach at some point in the future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort (formerly the Jalousie Plantation) is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island’s scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia’s majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort’s 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.