We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hummingbird Restaurant :)))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hummingbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hummingbird Restaurant :)))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A weary and very hot traveler I was until I stopped into this welcoming little beach spot.
You must meet the nicest people on Soufriere beach. I was greeted warmly by the entire staff when I arrived on foot after a day- trip to the beaches - they were very helpful and provided me delcious local fruit beverages, menu, and assistance. Joan , the owner, was so pleasant - and proudly displays her pictures with the Queen . Thank you all for a memorable visit / both times !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
24
86
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ate at the Hummingbird's lovely terrace restaurant and were very impressesed with the food and the service. We wished that we were staying there as the views of the Piton mountains are amazing and the facilities look good too. Our lunch was lovely - fresh marlin, perfectly cooked with a creole saice and with beautiful vegetables, and we even had a choice of how we wanted the fish- well done medium or rare! I,d recommend medium but my husband prefers just seared and it was perfect. Washed down by a couple of ice cold piton beers it was a stand out lunch!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is amazing! It's priced fairly, it has a water taxi drop off, the rooms are good, and the food is to die for. The staff are the sweetest people on the island and the owner was very proud of her resort. In fact, she took the time to show us pictures from the resort's opening, which included many celebrities. If you are on a honeymoon or not, which I wasn't, this is the place that makes you feel invited to the island. If you want the "Real" St. Lucia, come here. It's also organic, St. Lucian owned, and right on the beach.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms by the pool, and honestly, you won't need AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was not fancy but it was clean and comfortable and you could not get a better view of the Petit Piton anywhere else. Plus it was affordable. This hotel has the best restaurant and the sweetest staff. Breakfast is included and for dinner the mushroom stroganoff was my favorite. They use fresh fruit grown right on the hotel grounds and fish caught locally. Soufriere is close to the pitons and so many great outdoor attractions. My only negative comments come from the town itself. The beach outside the hotel was very dirty and every time we tried to walk on the beach or out on the town we were accosted by NUMEROUS beggars the entire time we were off the property. It was very annoying to be approached constantly by multiple people before we could even get a block each and every time we tried to walk on the beach or sight see around the town. I would suggest taking a water taxi to Jalousie Beach for the day. It's a private white sand beach and resort situated between the two pitons. It's clean, friendly, and has a great restaurant and bar. If you stay at the Hummingbird then you can safely walk to Anse Chastanet if you are up for a great hike and by walking this direction you won't run into all of the beggars. We loved all of the sweet hummingbirds, the fresh food, and the sweet staff and yes we would definitely stay there again. I would suggest renting a car to tour the island like we did or hire a local service to take you where you want to go during your trip. We spent a week there and went all over the island in our rental. The roads are very rough though so make sure you have good tires and a good spare before venturing out.

Room Tip: Don't get hung up on the air conditioned rooms. You really won't need them plus I thought th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this place in April 2012. It has a good location, you can easily visit all the attractions - the rainforest, the volcanic mud bath, botanic garden etc. If you arent lazy, you can take a walk to the beautiful beach - Anse Chastanet. There you can even take a guided tour of the breathtaking Jade Mountain hotel (it is worth!)
The rooms were clean, the staff cleaned them every day. They even decorate the room + bathroom with flowers, it is nice.
However, the walls are thin so you might hear people from the next room talking, walking...in case you are sensitive to these things. We were not, but we noticed it.
The hotel bar is cute, they serve good drinks and the bartenders are very nice, too.
What we did not really like was the surroundings of the hotel, but they are rebuilding the area, they are building some park there, if I understood it right. The beach in front of the hotel wasnt very nice either, but well, if you wish to take a swim in the morning, you can do so.
We also had 2 or 3 meals at the hotel restaurant and they were delicious - I especially liked the seafood curry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last year for 3 days. We booked next door hotel Still Beach House, but it was closed. We tried everything…called owner, knocked the door, called to Expedia. But only owner from Hummidbird hotel help us. She invited to stay at their property, put luggage, and was trying to reach the owner. Finally we decided to stay there. And we loved everything there…view, staff, food. I want to return back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I really loved my stay at The Hummingbird. The location was lovely, the restaurant was delicious and people still can't believe the pictures of The Pitons that I took while sitting in a chair on our balcony. I know there are more luxurious resorts on this beautiful island, but I have to say, there is a special feeling at this hotel I didn't find while visiting other resorts. If this is the price range you are going for, you cannot find a better hotel. I can't wait to go back and would not stay any where else for twice the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.