We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hummingbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
misty_phil413
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We didn't stay at hummingbird. We stayed in soufriere at la haut. But spent a day walking around soufriere town and walked over to the hummingbird for drinks. Very nice bar and restaurant. Nice menu although w didn't eat. Good prices. There was a cook from the US there that worked at jade mountain. He higwhen're commended the food and said he eats there a lot when not at work. the grounds there are well kept and the cottages look cute from the outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
24
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Chili prawns were a standout. Other food was good. restaurant is atmospheric with stone arches, but air doesn't circulate, so it gets hot.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hummingbird is a tiny resort located by the sea, 40 minute drive from the airport. The garden is beautiful with a little pool area. Rooms are cosy but a little worn out. It´s nice to sit on the verandah and watch the hummingbirds flying around. Restaurant offers nice food and the breakfast is good too. The personnel is very helpful and friendly, always singing and smiling. There´s a beach in front of the resort but the water is not very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We traveled with our son and his HS senior friend for their senior spring break. We had an amazing time, stayed Friday to Friday at the Hummingbird Resort in their small charming cottage across the road from the main hotel rooms. It is surrounded by their local garden which produces many fruits and vegetables and flowers which are put in your room daily. The resort has one of the best views of the the Pitons since it is right on the water. Each day one is greeted with the majestic stature of the Pitons, something which is the national symbol and from which on never tires.

The Hummingbird is a converted estate of a Canadian family and is warm, has beautiful stone walls, very nice bar and restaurant, and a small but adequate pool. The resort is run by Joyce and Linden and the staff is very helpful. They help arrange for water taxi 's, scuba diving( see Chester at the dive shop immediately adjacent to the resort-access from beach), tours, etc. The resort is not fancy, but it is very clean and secure 24hrs a day. We felt extremely safe there, as did others with whom we spoke. The entire facility has a charm that retains the warmth of the home it once was. The WiFi was spotty and stopped working for several days completely which was a mixed blessing since we were then totally focused on our vacation but felt a bit out of touch. We watched the NCAA mens basketball tourney on a television at the bar which was brought in special for us by Joyce when they found that the regular big screen was not working. What a great gesture! They made us feel special the whole time we were there. The restaurant food was very good but a bit pricey( as it is in almost every restaurant we saw)
We hooked up with a local young man named Porgey who acted as our daily guide for anything we wanted to do. He even climbed up to the summit of Gros Piton with us in only flip flops! His buddy Simon had a boat which took us to Rodney Bay and back one night and to Marigot Bay another evening. Water taxi's can be a bit expensive but are definitely faster and more fun than car. Its a great way to see the island. Ask Miss Johnnie or Jimmy at the desk for help contacting them.
The town of Soufriere is a short walk from the Hummingbird and appears fairly poor since most everyone there has there hand out. Its not nearly as bad as Jamaica or the Bahamas, the town clearly has needy people. Despite this, we traveled into the local grocery on several occasions, went to a couple of local bars ( with our local guide ) and sang karaoke. Everyone drinks Piton Beer, a local staple. The town is not resorty or touristy, which is actually refreshing, and has a number of very good restaurants from which to choose. Besides being close to town, the Hummingbird is also in close proximity to several of the islands top resorts( aka very expensive) such as Anse Chastenet, Jalousie Resort, The Still Resort and Ladera and all can be accessed for use of the beaches etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which has its own charm, but the rooms in the resort also look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were staying at the Beach House next door for 1 week and visited the Hummingbird daily. The owner was very welcoming and friendly, inviting us to use the pool whenever we wished, since we did not have one where we were staying. The staff were always helpful and friendly and the resaurant was very nicely decorated with a fantastic view of the Pitons in the background overlooking the pool. A wonderful place to watch the sun set while having dinner. The food was good, atmosphere was classy and prices were reasonable. The location is great with fantastic views of the Pitons and within walking distance of the town of Soufriere. Great bar with outgoing bartenders making it a perfect place to have drinks around the pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

While visiting St Lucia we hired a driver to show us the Island. He took us to the Pitons and several other well known sites. We decided to have lunch in Soufriere and the driver mentioned the Hummingbird Resort. From the outside it appeared to be a little dive but when we went in we were pleasantly suprised at the beautiful, open aired views from the restaurant set over looking the resort pool hanging over a cliff! It sat directly accross the bay from the Pitons and was the most beautiful view ever! The grounds we lush with foliage and the staff was very friendly. We ordered appetizers and drinks before lunch and the waiter reccommended a seafood dish that was made with shrimp, crab, cheese and onions. It was fantastic! When I commented on how delicious it was the chef came out of the kitchen and sat with us and wrote out the recipe for me which I brought home with us. We didn't stay over night at the resort as we were staying at the Sandals in Castries and for such a highly rated resort, nothing even came close to the delicious food we enjoyed at the Hummingbird. I highly reccommed the Hummingbird and also reccommend paying a "taxi" driver as a guide for about $60.00 for the day instead of paying for a tour. We got to see places that the tours would have never taken us. Really great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

When we arrived at the Hummingbird for the first half of our honeymoon, we were welcomed with warm smiles, gorgeous grounds, and flowers beautifully displayed all over our room. The room had more than enough space for all of our things and the room service was very predictable and thorough. We visited the pool almost daily, and were able to look at the Pitons and drink Pitons. The best part were the constant presence of hummingbirds surrounding the pool. We had breakfast there everyday, which was always fresh and delicious. Our one dinner there was also very good - we would recommend the chicken with a teriyaki like sauce. The owner was very friendly and gave us a tour around the entire resort property as well as her own.
As others have noted, the beds are very hard. So, try to tire yourselves out during the day so you can fall right to sleep. Also, after a big rain, the resort did not skim the pool and we had to do it ourselves.
In general, the people and facilities were excellent and we highly recommend this resort for easy going people who want a nice place to relax!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.