We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anse Chastanet to your Saves list
Anse Chastanet
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Charleston, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“10th Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

St. Lucia was our second choice for our honeymoon (we went to Tahiti instead), so we decided to go here for our 10 year anniversary. We have known about the resort for years due to the scuba diving facility on-site. This was our first trip in 6 years since having kids, and it was definitely a good place to unwind, appreciate each other as a couple again and start scuba diving again. Food was excellent, although by the end of the week my husband was wanting just plain old pizza! We stayed in the hillside room 4A. We had a few of the Pitons and the sunset over the ocean. The satellite antennaes were outside of our room, so we got excellent reception on our phones and IPAD. Otherwise, you will have to go to the main lobby area for reception. Yes, there were mosquitos/bugs, but we used the bug spray in our room provided by the resort every day and had no problems. Slept under the mosquito net too. We really liked our room, but wished there was better seating outside...maybe a small hanging hammock or chair. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, so no need for anything more fancy. The walk from our room down to the beach was about 250 steps, so if you have bad legs or injuries, this would not be easy. We felt like we got our work out every day due to the steps. Resort is well maintained and clean. There were a few excursions offered, but we were mainly scuba diving every day. We did go on the volcano/botanical garden/emerald estate tour and that was enough to satisfy our curiosity of the island. Enough things to shop for at the stores on-site and the tour. Scuba diving as simple and easy. No big sea creatures, but many lion fish and colorful fish. Nice snorkeling on the resort beach as well. The resort is an hour drive from the main international airport, and the road within a mile of the resort is very bumpy. Warning: A lot of flights are arriving at the same time, so be prepared to wait in Customs when arriving. Wear cool/loose clothes. We were in line for almost 2 1/2 hours with no A/C. That was really the only negative part of the trip. Anse is primarily filled with honeymooners, which was fine for us. There is live nigh-time entertainment. We had the American meal plan (all meals), but no drinks. Drinks are very pricey and add up quickly (i.e, Island cocktails are $12 each, wine is $10). If you want a lazy, easy place to go, this is it. If we weren't scuba diving, I think we might have gotten bored...since we weren't on our honeymoon!!!! Also....the frogs and crickets are really loud at night, but they didn't bother us!

Room Tip: All of the open air rooms will be noisy at night due to the frogs/crickets. Actually it was comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    130
    43
    39
    34
See reviews for
59
483
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got married here in January 2012 so obviously have very fond memories of the resort. We flew in after a trip to New York and unfortunately my husband was very ill on our first night. However we were so well looked after by the hotel staff who drove us to the hospital, stayed with us for several hours and even when I eventually persuaded them to leave us and come back for is in the morning they left me with their personal mobile phone so they could phone me every hour to make sure we were ok. Now that's service, and Roger and Michael not only looked after us that night but we're also the witnesses at our wedding ( which incidentally we had to postpone by 2 days but the staff couldn't have been more accommodating, especially Angel who definitely lived up to her name).

The resort is beautiful, rustic and charming. The beach very relaxing (thank you junior for spreading the sunshine!) the food and service excellent. The rooms with their open air views of the pitons is breathtaking. We would love to return one day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time to St.Lucia and to the Anse Chastanet. We stayed in the one of the open air rooms and loved it! I loved the falling asleep to the crickets and tree frogs every night. Our room was huge, very nicely furnished, yet comfy. The whole resort felt exclusive, but not stuffy. We felt pampered and catered to. Even though it only had 3 walls, it felt very private and romantic at the same time. The views of the Petons and the ocean were breath taking! The food was delicious, and the staff was very friendly. They found out that we were celebrating our anniversary soon, and surprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room! We loved the beach and the calm waves that rolled in. The ocean water was so clear. We went snorkeling we could see far below at all the brightly colored fish and coral. We also took the free walking tour down the mountain to the city of Soufriere. Our guide was so funny and knowledgeable about the jungle, the plants, animals and the history of the island. He also took us to the Saturday Farmers Market for some quick shopping and sight-seeing. It’s the kind of place you can unwind and relax in a hammock on the beach, or with so many free activities provided, have nonstop adventure! I would definitely stay here again for a quiet romantic getaway, or a family trip with the kids. Amy D.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For our stay at St. Lucia, my husband and I decided to stay at three of the four resorts on the Conde Nast Gold List (the fourth resort Ladera Resort was closed the time we went for renovations, therefore we stayed at Sugar Beach Viceory, Anse Chastanet, Jade Mountain in that order).

Anse Chastanet was my least favorite. The food was very good (better than Sugar Beach Viceory but not as good as Jade Mountain). The customer service was also very good (although not exceptional like Jade Mountain). But the reason why I wouldn't come back to the resort is for two reasons. First reason: MOSQUITOES. It was during our stay here that my husband was bitten over SIXTY times by Mosquitos. I know it is not the resort's fault because we are in a rainforest after all but I'm guessing Anse Chastanet's location at the base of the mountain AND it's open architecture just makes you more vulnerable to the mosquitos. Sugar Beach Viceroy is also on the same level but obviously the villa's closed four wall design discourages the entrance of these pesky bugs into your living quarters. Jade Mountain has an open, "no fourth wall" design somewhat similar to Anse Chastanet but there we encountered less bites possibly because of the resorts altitude?

The second reason: The Noise at night. It is deafening. Even my Bose Noise Cancelling Headphones couldn't even drown out the noise. At Sugar Beach, the noise is less because you are in an enclosed space. At Jade Mountain the noise is less because you are elevated above the rainforest and the chirps are drowned out by the beautiful bubbly sounds of the plunging pool.

Anse Chastanet has a private charming beach with the best burger stand on the island, but next time, we'll just stay at Jade Mountain instead (they do share the same beach after-all).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been to St Lucia before in your standard all inclusive resort. This however is totally different and is a breath of fresh air that gets you back to nature. We slept on a comfy 4 poster bed in a room with the 4th wall missing. The balcony have us a beautiful sea view to watch the sunset from.
Food, staff and service are all fantastic but you do need to be nimble to navigate all the steps up to the rooms and down to the beach,
Two beautiful beaches. Anse naming is 5 minutes walk away but was quiet and had the best gourmet burgers. Anthony maintains the beach and always welcomed us.
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our fourth stay at Anse Chastanet and we had another wonderful visit. This resort is not your regular 5 star, pretentious, white linen resort. It is local, authentic, friendly, and most of all 5 star treatment. This place has it all: beautiful beach, beautiful palapas, great dive center, great snorkling, amazing 5 star restaurants, beautiful rooms, hiking, trekking, seclusion, views of pitons, etc. etc. We will come back again and again for the rest of our lives together.

We do have a couple of suggestions for the management company, but in no way did these items deter us from coming back. Just observations since the last time we visited.

New great additions: New sinks in beachfront are beautiful. New late morning fruit served beachside by an attendant, is a great new touch. New cold lemongrass towel service around lunch at beachside palapas, is an amazing touch...in addition, a gentlman offers you a cold water spritz while you are laying out. Just awesome new additions and it's the little touches like this that make this place just amazing.

Suggestions: Wait staff in the restaurants ONLY are not as friendly as they used to be. We definitely noticed a difference when requesting a table for dinner, they didn't even smile. Then taking our orders, there was no "hello, nice evening", no friendleness really. It used to be that they would almost chat with you they were so friendly...definitely smile all the time!

Remove the holder in the showers (the metal one). It isn't needed and gets in the way of the showerhead. It doesn't hold the little bottle of shampoos anyways. Just add a little shelf in the shower and that would be significantly better.

There is special praise for the beach attendants, they are superb!

Love this place and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a scuba dive trip and stayed at Anse Chastanet in July 2014. Such a remote beach with no traffic from other properties. The diving is excellent and staffed by such friendly and knowledgeable fellows at Scuba St. Lucia. The wait staff were elegant, friendly, invisible and attentive.

Great time! Will go back! Jungle canopy right outside the room veranda.

Larry R.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anse Chastanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.