We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our Expectations~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anse Chastanet

Save Saved
You added Anse Chastanet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DELIGHTful SUMMER ESCAPE
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beyond our Expectations~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Oh I have so much to say. Anse Chastenet is by far the Best Resort we have ever stayed at and we love tropical destinations and this Resort had it all~ We are an adventurous outdoor family with expensive taste for cuisine and being pampered and this exceeding our expectations!!!~ We lOur room was 9005 without a fourth wall which gave us breath taking views of the Pitons and the two bays~ the exoticness of the songs of the birds, frogs and the beauty of all the flowers enhanced our view!!!!~ Our room came with a full kitchen and the fridge was always stocked with beer, wine, fruit juices for our son and lovely platters of the island's fresh fruit~ It was hard to choose from the five different restaurants because the food was out of this world!!!~ We asked to see the chief to Thank him personally~ But we also came for the adventure~ Anse Chastenet has the best snorkeling on the Island no need to go anywhere else~ We kayaked to Anse's private beach and in my opinion ate the world best burgers~ We explore the nearby rain forrest by hiking or one can mountain biking and a guide to share his knowledge of the rain forest~ There is 150 different kinds of mangos!!!~ Almost all trees and plants have proprieties that the locals use~ If one was to get stranded on an island this would be the island!!!!~

Room Tip: "Deluxe Hillside has the Most Amazing Views"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    126
    43
    39
    35
See reviews for
56
472
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A friend and I did a volunteer trip around different parts of the island then stayed at Anse Chastanet for a couple of days afterwards. We liked that it's not near the more hustling capital city of Castries. It's located near the laid-back fishing village of Soufriere if you want to take a water taxi to town - the 2 mile road is very bumpy and takes longer. You can also take a water taxi to the Saturday morning market in Soufriere or to the nearby Seafood Party held every Friday night. You can drink the tap water, but they also provided a large bottled water each day. Room had a fridge with complimentary fruit the first day which we ate for breakfast the next day. Great big bathroom with toiletries, good water pressure, and hot water. The best part was the private patio that had a hammock over section of sand, 2 chaise lounges, ceiling fan, couch, table, and 2 chairs. The A/C worked but the room wouldn't get as cold as my friend would like - I was fine with it. We loved the location because the marine reserve is right in front of the hotel so scuba diving was only a 2 minute boat ride away. The staff was superb - everyone on the island is so genuinely friendly. And the food was excellent. Be sure to get a beach room if you can - the hotel is on a big hill and some rooms require lots of steps to get to the beach. There is a restaurant on the beach as well as one higher for the "tree top" rooms.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a beach room if you can - the hotel is on a big hill and some rooms require lots of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

we had no idea, but this hotel is pretty much Techno-Free. there is a tiny guest area that people congregate every morning to check their email and surf. I really liked the staff and they were super nice - we even had arrangement for my 9 year's old birthday and they brought a cake and sang a song for her. It was a complete surprise to us that they brought a cake for her! and she was thrilled. the hotel is incredibly limited in food choices. we did visit every one of the restaurants but don't count on this island to be a epicurean trip. Overall, the drinks were cheap and in a couple of occasions downright awful - the mohitos were meh, the island drinks were nothing of the type of Rum you'd be boasting about, and even the fries sucked majorly. if you count the awful food throughout the island and the hotel out, all else was great. Bring your expectation down a notch and you'll be enjoying the beach that was lovely and full of colorful fish to see when you scuba dive or snorkel. The sister hotel to the Anse Chastanet did not allow children so we were not able to go and see it. our room was quiet and tucked away inside the trees which was pretty much a bungalow with cover. The staff was super nice and attentive. No pool so if the kiddies don't like sand... oh well, they have to deal with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at Anse Chastanet for a week of diving on the all inclusive package. It was fantastic. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. The dive operation and operators were there for our every need. They made it so easy the diving was good the coral were so healthy lots of critters to see. The food was incredible lots of selections and very well presented. Everyone at the resort were so friendly and helpful I don't think I have ever encountered such a friendlier staff. Any problem was taken care of immediately. The views from the rooms were just spectacular and they cooled down at night to a very pleasant temp. Go all inclusive it is the only way to go!! So if you want great diving, great food, and friendly people this is the place to be!! Loved it and would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in one of the superior hillside rooms, a beautiful octagonal room - we were in 6B (Tamarind) which meant we woke up to a stunning view of the pitons every morning. The breakfast location is also lovely, in a treehouse, so the birds come to say hello! Food wise, we thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet dinner with wine pairings. It's quite pricey but great for a special treat. The excursions were fun and well organised from the hotel - we went on the zip lining and the whale watching trips. Sadly we didn't get chance to do the others we'd booked as my mum was taken ill at home and we had to fly back early - the staff at Anse Chastenet couldn't have been more helpful in liaising with the airport to get us home as quickly as possible. The hotel is in an amazing location on the hillside but, by its very nature, this means it is also well over a hundred steep steps up from the beach. In the humidity this was quite strenuous so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with mobility problems. Light sleepers may also need to take earplugs - the hotel's 'back to nature' ethos means the tree frogs are very audible from sunset to sunrise! That's the only reason I've given an 'average' mark for sleep quality. The bed was very comfortable, we were just woken several times by the frogs!

Room Tip: 6B (Tamarind) had a fantastic view of the pitons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are looking for a nice get-away with amazing food, warm friendly staff and interesting activities nearby, you will love this little boutique resort. If you are looking to be surrounded by other guests and staying in a hotel that could be anywhere, this is not the place for you.
This a wonderful escape and we were shocked on how amazing the food was. We normally do not do "all inclusive:" options. We originally did not. Once we had 2 meals, we knew we would not find better food with out significant effort leaving the resort. We were impressed and surprised by the daily changing selections.

Room Tip: 2A and 2 B have better views that are not obstructed. If you have more cash to go super deluxe, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Anse Chastenet is truly a tropical paradise, and we enjoyed the island vibe. We experienced exceptional service, an overabundance of delicious, gourmet meals, and were treated every day to magnificent views of the resort, ocean, sunsets, sun rise, and the awe inspiring Pitons.

Our room was made up impeccably every day into a romantic place to return to thanks to our "floral designer" housekeeper Berniece. Every staff member we interacted with seemed to enjoy providing service to guests, which was a real change from some places we have been in our travels. There are several hundred variety of birds on the island, and they did wake us up a little early some days.

My husband's dive group went out several days and the dive masters, boat captains and other staff were professional, knowledgeable, and very personable to everyone on their boat. There is good snorkeling right off the beach as well, which I took advantage of as I don't dive.

The beach huts were a perfect way to spend lazing around, and we took advantage of our all-inclusive plan (we didn't include alcohol last time but would in the future) for regular meals as well as time spent at the beach. It was definitely worth the short jaunt to Anse Mamin, which is a little quieter separate beach but with all the same amenities as the main beach area. Very attentive staff there as well.

The food is delicious and there are Indian influences in many of the dishes. Desserts of all kinds, and every tropical drink we could think of were available. With the rough drive into and out of the resort, the all-inclusive plan is really the most efficient way to purchase meals.

Reading about the resort before choosing it is important because all their descriptions are accurate. The resort (and sister property Jade Mountain) is built into a hillside and there are no elevators or escalators. There are a lot of steps down and back from the beach, but plenty of lovely landings to stop and admire the view while you are headed up. For those times when we ate too much dinner, there was a shuttle to drive us up to our rooms which was very nice. The rooms on the hillsides are quaint and spacious but don't have A/C, however we were able to get a second fan which helped.

The plantation mountain bike ride was fun, with plenty of areas to challenge more experienced riders. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining about the history of the plantation.

All in all a gorgeous setting, lots of gourmet food, and gracious staff. We are looking forward to a return trip in the next couple of years!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anse Chastanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.