We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far not impressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anse Chastanet to your Saves list
Anse Chastanet
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Limington, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So far not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Waiting for over an hour at reception as we had been "upgraded" to a "better" room which was not beachside hopefully this will be resolved quickly as anything less than what we paid for will not be acceptable. We specifically reserved "Beachside Deluxe"! They want to place us up in the gardens!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    130
    42
    39
    34
See reviews for
59
478
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from 9 days at AC. This is a really lovely place to stay and chill. If you can get one of the rooms near the beach then do so, despite the fact you are at the bottom of the steps it pays off especially in getting to the beach etc.

The other option is for Jade Mountain, which while very nice, is a bit too much concrete and right angles for my tastes. This place has a bit more charm.

There is loads to do here too, of course water sports are the main activity, but if you want a blast then the Jungle Biking is way cool. Jovan took me out, but the real fun is absolutely firing around the course/s!!! Watch out for trees and keep your eyes at least 6-12 feet ahead..absolutely epic!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are the best, go all inclusive as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Anse Chastanet is a wonderful resort in a spectacular location overlooking a marine preserve. My wife and I stayed in a Hillside deluxe room. The accomodations were spacious and nicely decorated with indigenous art. We had a huge living area open on oneside where we could see the water and a separate bedroom and bathroom.

We opted for a meal plan with breakfast and dinner. It was well worth the expense, since all of the restaurants at the resort had exquisitely prepared and served meals. The number of restaurants (5) meant there was a wide variety cuisines.

We spent most of our time enjoying the beaches at Anse Chastanet and at Anse Mamin. We especially enjoyed being able to snorkel right off the beach where we found a wide variety of coral and fish species.

We did take one excursion to the Sulphur Springs at the drive-in volcano, the Diamond Waterfall and Botanical Garden, as well as a short stop at the resort's farm which provides fresh fruits and vegetables.

On our last night, we stayed at Jade Mountain, which is a one of kind extraordinary resort on the top of the mountain owned and operated by the same folks. We stayed in a pool sanctuary room, which had magnificent views of the Pitons from the personal infinity pool in the room. The Jade Mountain Club restaurant was the equal in food and service of any restaurant in New York.
This is a world class resort with one of a kind architecture designed by the owner.

Anse Chastanet is a wonderful place to kick back and relax on vacation or to spend your time engaged in endless water sports.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hillside have spectacular views and are open to the ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at both as Jade Mountain was booked up for part of our stay. While not as glamorous, the views are good, the rooms are cute and very romantic. Your walk to the beach is easier and the place is just as relaxing. It is less glamorous but arguably a better value. For special occasions i would do Jade Mountain but to get an island getaway, this was very good. The room views are different here, if you can, get a cottage with a view of the Gros Pitons, they are amazing visually.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Gros Pitons. the ocean views are very nice, but the pitons are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon at the beginning of July. Everything met or exceeded our expectations by far. The staff was so helpful and very kind. The excursions and packages they offer make the stay even more enjoyable as you can decide if you want to leave the property or not. The food here was great. Not like some of the other resorts that offer pretty much the same food all over the resort. Our room had the 3 walls, I would highly recommend!!! We were a little worried at first that we sould hear everything and that there would be so many bugs. That wasn't the case at all. Our bed was surrounded by netting with a fan. There was also 1 or 2 other fans in the room to help when it was hot. The AC really wasn't an issue since we had a nice cross breeze and the cieling fans helped. Beaches were so clean and such a beautiful setting to enjoy your days on. I would love to go back for our 1 year anniversary if only our wallet allowed!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed in Anse Chastanet on a diving trip. What a phenomenal place!! The room was fabulous; the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was totally romantic and restful: no phones, no alarm clocks, no internet, no TV!! Boring you say? Not at all. Bring the right person along and you will have an unforgettable time.

No pool, beach only... Great diving on the premises

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It had been more than 25 years since we last visited Anse Chastenet. At that time we rented a house called Cloud Nine above the resort, but were permitted to use the restaurant and beach at the resort. It was a lush, beautiful setting that we feared might have lost some of its charm and attraction over the intervening years. It didn't! If anything, the resort is even better with the addition of two new restaurants and improved services on the beach. The dining options and fare are significantly improved over our previous time there. The chef and his staff provide numerous options, all of which are typically well-prepared and presented. They also use locally grown ingredients which helps with freshness and taste. We so enjoyed the setup we never left the resort, which is atypical for us. The charm of the octagonal cottages remains intact. We toured the Jade Mountain facility as well, which is built above Anse Chastenet. Though impressive, Jade Mountain lacks the charm, lushness, and proximity to the beach that Anse Chastenet offers. The staff at Anse Chastenet are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We did a bike trek through another part of the resort's property that was once a plantation. Both the tour guide and the paths were great. The accommodations, food, staff, service, beach, snorkeling, etc. were all top notch. The only downside to the resort is getting there (the van ride from the airport is winding and rocky especially as you approach the resort--something that remains the same after 25 years) and there are a lot of steps to walk up and down to and from the beach. But those are niggles compared to the resort's other outstanding attributes. We will definitely be going back and won't wait 25 years to do so.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1B which is close the main restaurant and bar facilities, which was convenient and cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anse Chastanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.