We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anse Chastanet

Save Saved
You added Anse Chastanet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anse Chastanet
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon at the beginning of July. Everything met or exceeded our expectations by far. The staff was so helpful and very kind. The excursions and packages they offer make the stay even more enjoyable as you can decide if you want to leave the property or not. The food here was great. Not like some of the other resorts that offer pretty much the same food all over the resort. Our room had the 3 walls, I would highly recommend!!! We were a little worried at first that we sould hear everything and that there would be so many bugs. That wasn't the case at all. Our bed was surrounded by netting with a fan. There was also 1 or 2 other fans in the room to help when it was hot. The AC really wasn't an issue since we had a nice cross breeze and the cieling fans helped. Beaches were so clean and such a beautiful setting to enjoy your days on. I would love to go back for our 1 year anniversary if only our wallet allowed!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    122
    42
    40
    34
See reviews for
52
454
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed in Anse Chastanet on a diving trip. What a phenomenal place!! The room was fabulous; the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was totally romantic and restful: no phones, no alarm clocks, no internet, no TV!! Boring you say? Not at all. Bring the right person along and you will have an unforgettable time.

No pool, beach only... Great diving on the premises

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It had been more than 25 years since we last visited Anse Chastenet. At that time we rented a house called Cloud Nine above the resort, but were permitted to use the restaurant and beach at the resort. It was a lush, beautiful setting that we feared might have lost some of its charm and attraction over the intervening years. It didn't! If anything, the resort is even better with the addition of two new restaurants and improved services on the beach. The dining options and fare are significantly improved over our previous time there. The chef and his staff provide numerous options, all of which are typically well-prepared and presented. They also use locally grown ingredients which helps with freshness and taste. We so enjoyed the setup we never left the resort, which is atypical for us. The charm of the octagonal cottages remains intact. We toured the Jade Mountain facility as well, which is built above Anse Chastenet. Though impressive, Jade Mountain lacks the charm, lushness, and proximity to the beach that Anse Chastenet offers. The staff at Anse Chastenet are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We did a bike trek through another part of the resort's property that was once a plantation. Both the tour guide and the paths were great. The accommodations, food, staff, service, beach, snorkeling, etc. were all top notch. The only downside to the resort is getting there (the van ride from the airport is winding and rocky especially as you approach the resort--something that remains the same after 25 years) and there are a lot of steps to walk up and down to and from the beach. But those are niggles compared to the resort's other outstanding attributes. We will definitely be going back and won't wait 25 years to do so.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1B which is close the main restaurant and bar facilities, which was convenient and cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing place for a babymoon and booked Anse Chastanet. It didn't disappoint! The villas were lovely. Ours had an incredible view of the Pitons and the water, and so we spent a good deal of time sitting on the porch, watching the birds and taking in the breathtaking views. We were slightly worried about the lack of air conditioning, but it was not an issue at all -- the room was cool and breezy at night, and the sheets and robes are thin, so we were never hot. The beds are all outfitted with mosquito nets, and we found sleeping under them to be quite romantic.

The beach exceeded expectations. The black sand wasn't rocky at all, and the water was clear and beautiful. We spent most of our days there, just relaxing under the cabanas. Although we'd venture out to the resort's second beach most days for lunch -- the burger there is worth the trek.

The service was also excellent; everyone was friendly and welcoming. The only slight drawbacks are (1) the winding car ride to the resort, which did make me a little nauseous, and (2) the steep stairs that lead you to and from the beach. But you forget about the car ride as soon as you arrive at the resort, and the stairs end up being a nice built-in form of exercise.

In short, it was a lovely stay, and we would love to return someday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Anse Chastanet is a wonderful place to excape winter. The service is superb. The views are amazing. It is hard to beat. There are no buffet restaurants. Everything is a la carte. The dinner menu rotates every night and repeats itself on a two week cycle. You can go for two weeks and never see the same menu twice. The food is very good.

For us, it wasn't a down side but for some it might be. There are no TV's or telephones in the room. There is no AC in the room but there are big windows on 6 sides (octagon shaped rooms), a ceiling fan and an oscilating floor fan. They go out of their way to prevent mosquitos and it obviously worked. I didn't see one. Wifi is free but only available in the main bar area. It is not available in the restaurants (enjoy your meal). There is no pool available, but who need it with a wonderful beach complete with a great reef for diving/snorkelling.

I would not recommend this resort for families with small children. Without a TV or pool kids could get bored easily.

If you are mobility impaired, Anse Chastanet could be a challenge. There are 129 steps to go down to get from the main entrance to the beach. A shuttle is available on demand, at no cost. The rooms are up a steep hill from the main entrance. It doesn't take long for the huffing and puffing to go away.

Unfortunately, they do allow smoking in the bar. That was our biggest disappointment.

Please see a seperate review of Scuba St. Lucia, the dive facility associated with the resort.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill you are the longer the walk but the better the view of the Pitons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked a quick, last minute getaway for my mother and I, to take our minds off of a loss in the family. It could not have been more perfect.
Of course, in booking the trip last minute it was difficult to find availability. I booked a beach side deluxe for the last couple of nights, but my first night had NO availability (I made the mistake of booking my flight first). They were very accommodating and understanding of my situation and found a hill side room for us. They were so nice through phone and email that I knew I had made the correct choice of resort. When we did arrive at the resort, I was blown away by their kindness and the natural beauty of the grounds.
The view from the first room was a breathtaking panoramic of the Pitons and the ocean. It was all open air and very private, the best part being the HUGE open air shower (making me wish I was honeymooning and not with my mother, but I digress). The second room was also very beautiful, the view outside was of the lush land with a lot of birds coming through, my mother's favorite was a little hummingbird that came to visit before dinner both nights. The beach side rooms completely avoid the stairs to the beach and to most of the activities, it's just a hidden pathway to the rooms from the beach. Also, they are air conditioned!
The staff was amazing. Junior makes being on the beach an even HAPPIER experience. Troy made some of the best drinks I've ever had, plus he's a great dancer. Garfield was very knowledgable of the island's history and we had a wonderful day of kayaking with him; the bat cave was quite the site! I could write forever about the wonderful men and women that make that resort worth every penny, I felt as if I was amongst family.
To boost, the food was superb, and I am a very snobby eater. I usually expect mediocre-but-pretty food on vacation, but their meals won me over in taste and presentation. I definitely recommend whatever the date-souffle-type-dessert was at Aspara (the Indian restaurant), if you'd like to know what heaven tastes like.
There was a lot to do: water sports, excursions, hikes, spa services.. unfortunately our three night trip did not leave room for everything, but it is just an excuse to go back, and most definitely will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've just returned from our fourth 10-day stay at Anse Chastanet in the last few years. We've also stayed at Jade Mountain, and while it was very special - and yes, the rooms are incredible - I prefer the laid back vibe of Anse Chastanet as well as the proximity to the beach and the other restaurants. We've also tried other places like Hamanasi in Belize (a most unpleasant experience...) and the Royal Plantation in Jamaica (very nice place, too), we keep going back to Anse because it really is the perfect Caribbean destination. Yes, there are many stairs to climb from the beach to the rooms - but with all the delicious food and drink that one is ingesting, it's hardly a negative! Besides, there is a shuttle at your disposal at all times so if the stairs are really daunting, then all you need to do is ride your way up! Be sure to get the all-inclusive package so you don't have to ever think about money. Unlike other 'all-inclusives' there are no hidden charges or nasty surprises (think, Hamanasi). The staff and service are excellent, the rooms are all beautiful in their own unique way, and the beach is paradise. Treat yourself to a sunset boat ride with Captain Moby Dick, to Marigot Bay for an evening cocktail. The harbour below and the stars above will take your breath away. We will return - without a doubt. Thank you Anse Chastanet for another fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: The Hillside rooms have incredible views but we've stayed on both sides of the hill and have enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St Lucia
Anse Chastenet
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Address: Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anse Chastanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.