We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing resort but research first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anse Chastanet

Save Saved
You added Anse Chastanet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DELIGHTful SUMMER ESCAPE
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing resort but research first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic stay here and we are already looking for an excuse to return. One of the reasons we had such a good time was because we researched our holiday carefuly and there are a few things to be aware of if you are planning on coming here. A few headlines:

- Food and drink is expensive if you are not on a 'meal deal'. Some might say shockingly so. The all-inclusive option for a week+ stay is an absolute must and we felt it was excellent value.
- As you have probably gathered from other reviews by now - the hillside location of the resort means you will get very familiar with climbing steps. We quite liked this though as it helped keep the calories off.
- As the sun goes in, the biting insects come out. Obtain some strong repellent for when you are in the bar or restaurant. The room is fine thanks to good mosquito nets around the bed and anti-bug burners.
- No air con. Not an issue if you are up in Jade Mountain with a private pool, but the heat can become oppressive at times.

The food was excellent, varied, fresh, cooked to perfection and interesting. Service was (nearly) always conducted with a smile and was attentive and effecient. You can order wine by the glass (a choice of 3 reds, 3 whites) if you are on the all inclusive plan which are quite pleasant. Breakfast comes in the form of a buffet which was always an excellent start to the day. We were both very impressed with the quality of food on offer.

There is a truly awful road to be traversed if you are entering or leaving the resort, which makes you seriously think twice about any excursions unless it is via boat. This is a surprising feature considering attention to detail in the rest of the resort. Two beautiful beaches are available with thankfully only a bare mimimum of pestering from a couple of the locals which the hotel obviously tolerates. We didn't use the scuba centre but the snorkelling was excellent - you only need to travel a few meters from the beach to find teeming varietes of sealife.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    126
    43
    39
    35
See reviews for
55
472
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After the horrible drive to the hotel along a very bumpy, long and dangerous road we arrived at a tired looking hotel.
The room we was given was sub-standard and we had to climb up an extremely steep hill to get to it.
The walk to the beach was a joke, 100's of steps! When we finally got there rude staff and sales people approached us.
We had lunch at the beach restaurant, the menu wasn't good and neither was the food. Over cooked and salty.

We had dinner at both the Indian restaurant and the main restaurant during our stay. I can honestly say we were disgusted with the food. Small portions, badly executed, lack of flavour... Can anybody cook fish at this hotel? Dry is an understatement.

My husband and I had booked 1 week at Anse Chastanet. after 2 nights we decided to go back to Jalousie Hotel which we had stayed the previous year. Jalousie Hotel is far superior in every way. Anse chastanet is like a prison. WARNING DONT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

All I can say is Wow! This place is spectacular. From the rooms to the food and last but not least, the staff, I cannot tell you have perfect this place is. We had the opportunity to stay in room 7F "Royal Palm" and without question this room is absolutely spectacular. The view of the Pitons and ocean is breathtaking. All of the meals were five star quality and made from fresh local ingredients. This was thebvacation of a lifetime, and would highly recommend this hotel as a place to get away from it all and just relax. If you are looking for some adventure, The jungle biking and tour of the tropical gardens are fantastic excursions. The trek up Tinker's Trail is challenging, but the view from the top is worth the hike. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent 8 days in Anse Chastanet from 9th October. We had a hillside room facing the pitons (to the left) and the beautiful caribbean sea. Such a relaxing holiday and yet plenty to do if you want to. Food was first class in the evening, and even lunch time there was a good choice in the beach bar. Anse Mamin beach (the next beach along- only short walk) was stunning, and the steak burgers are delicious.
We have been to St Lucia before (staying at the more busy part of the island - Rodney Bay), also other caribbean islands, but this is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
We will definately consider coming back to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Anse Chastanet for 1 week in early October, 2012 and loved it!

We had a Hillside Deluxe room which had an open wall/balcony facing the jungle with a small ocean view. The room itself was large and had a nice-sized bathroom, sitting/reading area, cafe table, in-room fridge, and plenty of closet/drawer space. The hotel is just remote enough that you feel removed from cities/towns, but not so far away that you couldn't get a cab or water taxi in and experience the local life. The island itself is obviously a tourist destination but doesn't have a busy feel or the overly aggressive souvenir vendors that other islands we have visited had.

Pros:
- Large, clean, comfortable rooms
- Beds all had mosquito nets and ceiling fans
- Snorkeling at the beach was *awesome*. Seriously, the best snorkeling we had ever seen in the Caribbean, probably second worldwide only to our snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef
- Food was excellent and varied. We are vegetarians and when there wasn't an option that suited us the chef was extremely happy to make us something special.
- Beach was clean and well-maintained. The secondary beach (Anse Mamin, a 10 minute walk) was probably even nicer.
- Lots of on-site activities (biking, hiking, birdwatching, snorkeling, lounging, scuba diving...probably some more that we missed!) (note that some of these are not free)
- Staff was very friendly and helpful for the most part
- Afternoon tea has some really wonderful "desserty" items, make sure you check it out!
- Evening turn-down service was nice when it happened during our dinner
- The beach is a wonderful soft volcanic sand

Cons
- The resort is situated up the side of a mountain, so there is quite a bit of walking up and down stairs -- to the beach, to hotels, to your room, etc.
- Unless you get one of the Meal Plans the restaurants and drinks (even water) are very pricey
- Taxis to/from town are $20 USD, and water taxis are $40 -- making on-site dining even more necessary
- The road to the hotel is in a state of extreme disrepair. I was told this was due to a dispute between Anse Chastanet and the few homeowners that lived on the road
- Shuttles labor up and down the "resort hill" from 5am - 11pm, which can be loud if your room is near the road
- A few of the wait staff did seem overly busy or annoyed when we interacted with them, but this was not the norm

Misc
- Seating at the beach restaurant is pretty limited, so be sure to get there early if you want a nice table
- Locals all seemed to accept both EC and USD, so money changing isn't necessary if you are from the US
- Be sure to bargain down prices with any of the beach vendors/guides
- Believe the "Extreme" sign if you are going to hike or bike Tinker's Trail. It is very steep, rocky, and exhausting -- but the view at the top is incredible!
- Get a tour of Jade Mountain while you are there -- it is amazing
- Bugs were not a huge issue. We did get a few bites when hiking, but nothing too bad
- Tropical Storm Rafael sucks!

Shout-outs!
- Dave the bartender is a great guy, and made our stay even more enjoyable
- Sous Chef Sator did a wonderful job making us a custom vegetarian meal one night - amazing!

All in all we are very much looking forward to going back, and would highly recommend Anse Chastanet to others looking to travel to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent a week here in October 2012 – a week was not long enough and very quickly realised we should have booked 10 days or a fortnight as lots to do and a lovely resort. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food – especially dinner in the Treehouse Restaurant, was fab. Highly recommend the free plantation walk with guide Mano. Snorkelling at either end of the bay was great, even if a little choppy and churned up after a stormy/rainy weather that we had for about a day and a half. Day trips from other hotels drop off big groups of snorkelers a couple of times a day - best time to snorkel is when they are not there and you pretty much have it to yourself and probably more fish as they are not as disturbed. We both got bitten by insects a lot – they are not mosquito bites, but sand flies and none of the anti insect measures made any difference to this annoyance. I noticed lots of other people had the same bites – generally concentrated on the ankles/lower legs . The room was very nice, we had a view of the bay rather than the Pitons, but it was lovely, not overlooked and felt very private. Turned out to be a bonus as the rooms on the other side were more affected by the stormy weather we experienced. We paid to go on the catamaran trip which was good , if a little expensive. We saw lots of pilot whales but no dolphins or other whales – still a good trip though. Our room was at the top of the hill and there were around 200 steps from the reception area to the room. There are even more steps – quite uneven ones - down from the reception to the beach. This was not a problem for us and if you wanted a lift in a car from reception to your room then this was easy to arrange, but if you have difficulties with stairs then this may not be an easy resort for you. The beach is wonderful, well managed and the gardens are well tendered throughout the hotel. The few locals that are selling their products or offering taxi services are polite and do not overly hassle you. There were some local good singers/bands (particularly liked the reggae band) but some nights were heavy on country music which is more tailored to the American guests. A couple of tiny improvements would be good – the all inclusive arrangement still needs to be clearer – a few times during the week we were asking ‘is this included?’ It nearly always was, but it’s not that clear. Also compared with other places I’ve stayed that are possibly less exclusive/high end, the mini bar/room fridge situation is a bit annoying. You are given a modest allocation of drinks in the fridge when you arrive but this is not replenished. This will cost you an additional $5 per order. It seems a bit petty in the grand scheme of the arrangement. We were in room 8b and were able to get WiFi access. Overall though we had a lovely holiday and based on this experience would consider returning to St Lucia in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First off, this is an amazing resort. It is nestled in a corner, all alone and by itself, with a two mile road that leads only to this place (the owner did that on purpose). It is beautiful, amazing, and every other cool word to describe it. But, you have to understand a couple things about here.

To start, it is very naturalistic. It is situated on a hillside so most of the resort is built going upward with the land. Since you are very much in the middle of a lush forest area, there are bugs and insects and the like. Insect repellent is a must, and it is expensive on the resort. Bring it with you if you can. They do spray for bugs once a day, but in the middle of this environment, it is tough to manage them so I would recommend that you bring your own personal spray.

Stairs and more stairs. Oh, there are stairs. But they do offer a shuttle service, and they are very responsive to you when you call for it. When going from beachside up to the reception area or a room that is not beachside, you had to call and request the shuttle then walk a short distance to a waiting area and be picked up there. The most that we waited was 10 minutes... but most of the time, the shuttle would beat us there or we would arrive at the same time. The stairs did not bother me, and the resort was great about being responsive to our requests for the shuttle.

If you are considering a beachside room, remember this: the room is beach SIDE, not beach FRONT. These beachside rooms will not be located directly on the beach and with a view... instead, they are situated against the hillside and do not have a view (except of greenery). There is a surcharge for a beachside room, so gauge your preference according to it. Pros of the beachside rooms: air conditioning and a shorter walk to the beach with no need to take a shuttle. Cons: the added cost and no view of the water.

To the food... wow, the food was great. It was always fresh and cooked to perfection. There are three (I believe) restaurants on the resort and each serves different food. But, only one restaurant open for lunch and the lunch menu doesn't change (so it does get old after about a week). The Indian fusion food was awesome but it was a bit spicy for some people. There are a number of bars and they have live music which is great to sit and listen to. The view from the reception/bar area is amazing. You will definitely be satisfied with the culinary offerings of this resort. If you are on an all-inclusive meal plan, be aware that drinks are not covered (alcoholic or non-alcoholic). And they bill you per drink... so, for example, if you get three iced teas then you get charged for three iced teas.

The staff is something else... everyone was super nice, helpful, and genuinely wanted to make your stay the happiest and most enjoyable that they can. They will go out of their way to do something for you... I do not see any other resort having better staff than Anse Chastanet.

All in all, an amazing place and highly recommended. If you want to be surrounded with lush greenery, great rooms, awesome staff, and a beautiful volcanic sand beach with tons of excursions available to you, then stay at Anse Chastanet.... you will truly enjoy this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: Old French Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anse Chastanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.