We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAULTLESS!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer - Free Night!
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FAULTLESS!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We checked out of our room, 721 with views of the beach and Gros Islet, yesterday and arrived back today after a 12 night stay. We watched fantastic sunsets from the idyllic beach which was clean and well cared for, as were the well manicured gardens. We are a family of 4, with 2 sons aged 13 and 12.

We were on the All Inclusive plan and this proved to be great value for money. The food was excellent and we were offered a varied menu all to a very high standard at both the Beach Club and Palms. Our youngest son has a Severe Egg Allergy and his numerous requests to staff for mashed potato and bacon were never too much for them to deal with. Upon Checkout the bill was spot on and people have no need to worry. We chose to give tips to individual staff at the end of our holiday rather than adding them to the daily bill to avoid any discrepancies at checkout..

All of the Staff, Sherol, Rose, Tim, Benjamin, Sylvia down to the maintenance guy Lampkin, to name just a few provided a very friendly and genuine service. Nothing proved too small for them to deal with.

Spotless, very well appointed spacious 2 bedroom apartment, was finished to a high standard and had great views.

We would recommend that people go on "The Martinique Splendour" trip from Rodney Bay Marina which is less than 5 minutes from the Hotel. We also made use of the Hotel Shuttle Bus into Rodney Bay and Charles the driver proved to be a very informed local guide.

We found St Lucia to be a beautiful, safe, friendly Island and we would highly recommend the Landings. We would have no hesitation in staying there again on any future trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
WHAT A GREAT REVIEW - THANK YOU!
We appreciate the details description of your stay with us. Thank you especially for calling out the associates who made a special difference. We always share the comments and our staff are thrilled to be mentioned. One last thing; come back soon. Thank you from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    110
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
214
163
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband, 6 year old son, mother and aunt stayed at the Landings St Lucia. We got a great deal on a great 2 bedroom suite with washer/dryer and full kitchen. We had a harbour view. The grounds are spectacular. We also got breakfast included.

Highlights - great surroundings, the beach is perfect, you can snorkel right off the shore, great for kids and for people learning to snorkel. The water is calm and clear. You sometimes see topless sunbathers, I guess europeans :-) We saw some horses just having a frolicking time in the nearby beach. Beautiful sunsets. Well placed beach club restaurant. Great cleaning staff, they were friendly. Pool was never crowded. Kayaks are complimentary , just sign up for them and its alot of fun. Pigeon island is 2 mins away. It's fun to hike to the top, the view is amazing and the beach below has interesting snorkeling. Mall, restaurants, bars and groceries are all 10 mins drive away.

Not so great- the menu at the beach club for breakfast was the same every day, so that became a bit tired after a few days. The service at the beach club restaurant was ok. The restaurant was quite pricey.

There were lots of frog noises at night but its just the caribbean, no worries, lots of crabs on the beach at night. My son loved looking for seashells on the beach.

We often bought groceries and cooked so we had a great time overall at the resort.

The downside to this was the island of St Lucia itself. The people cant give directions, nor is there any signage on the roads so if you rent a vehicle good luck getting around without getting lost a few times. A local even commented on this and said St Lucia tries to get the tourists to take taxis so they can make more money off them rather than have clear signs everywhere. We went to the sulphur springs, very stinky, the drive there is horrible. With so many other caribbean options, I would choose another island for sure

Room Tip: choose one close to the beach/pool and restaurant especially if traveling with the elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are pleased with your review heading - thank you. Your comments are great and appreciated. We especially regard the reviews of senior contributors as yourself. Sorry that you didn't find our lovely island as a place you would return. Yes, there are many Caribbean options and we value that you chose us for a try. Maybe you will return another day; we hope so. Best regards from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We only stayed at this gorgeous hotel one night but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite with a plunge pool. Check-in was smooth, the front desk clerks were very nice. We ate lunch in the restaurant and the food was delicious. We got the chance to go jet skiing and had a blast. The rooms were very quiet. The only thing I was unsure about was the fact that there was no door to the room, only a glass storm door. We got use to it though. This is definitely some place we'd stay if we come back to St. Lucia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW. We too think that the Landings is "beautiful". We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As a travel agent, I am very critical of hotels and the amenities. I have to say that I had some reservations at first, but was completely blown away compared to other caribbean condo style resorts .We had a fantastic four night stay at the Landings! We were orig. staying for three and extended. The beach, the views and the sunset were idyllic. The front desk staff was fantastic prior to arrival as was almost all staff during our stay. The beach staff kep the beach well groomed so we could enjoy using the free rafts and picture perfect sunsets. It was fairly slow and the beach attendant offered to take us sailing or for a little motor boat ride on the shuttle if we liked. The chef made several off the menu special dishes at the beach restaurant. Fantastic. Jamar is really really talented. At the indoor restaurant, we experienced very slow service and our meals weren't as described on the menu- if I had to search for a complaint this was it. If you're looking for variety, the large residential units are absolutely lovely, we had two huge balconies, one with a hot tub and a fully stocked kitchen. I'd recommend this hotel for families, and those who prefer boutiques. We spent a day at the Sandals next door and were very very happy to come home to our luxury home. Next door there is a public beach and there are plenty of people and their dogs enjoying the sun. A few vendors politely asked if we were interested in their crafts, when we declined they left immediately. Such is the politeness of the entire island. While I do like the Soufrieer area better (closer to activites) I'd say this hotel is on par with the Viceroy Sugar beach, Anse Chastenet and Ladera in terms of service, food and overall experience. The rooms /condos themselves are huge in comparison so big + for the landings. We felt a little isolated, but Rodney bay was only about 1 5 minutes away and we did stock our kitchen from the supermarket. We like having a lot of dining options usually, but eating nightly at the beach bar with the lovely views and amazing food caused us to eat there nightly! We met a few people who were staying for 4-5 weeks at a time and return often. This little peaceful slice of heaven was perfect for our getaway and worth returning to in the future.

Room Tip: It's all about the views, beach front suites are limited but well worth the upgrade. Req a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your review and completely agree. Thank you especially for your comments about our front desk and Beach Club associates. we agree that they are wonderful, probably among the best in the Caribbean. Thank you for mentioning Jamarl. He is a real gift. Thanks again for your review. we appreciate that you are helping us tell the world about us. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Let's start with the check out first. We were on the all-inclusive program. When I checked out, the bill I was presented with said things like "AI Breakfast" and an amount. The charges came to over $600 and they should have been $80 to cover the excess gratuities I added throughout our stay..

It is a bit unnerving to be told that we just need to sign the charges to our room and they will come off. The all inclusive program was a good value for our family of 4 - including our two 20 something sons. In 3 days, we got our money's worth but found it frustrating to worry if the $250 dinners were going to go away.

On the first night, we asked Tim if there were any restrictions on the all-inclusive program (we weren't told anything other than to sign by the front desk). He told us that the lobster, premium liquors (not named) and wine by the bottle were not included. No problem. We worked around these rules. The meals at the Beach Bar were very good. The Palms restaurant - not so much. The Long Island Iced Tea my son had from the lobby bar was the worst drink he had ever had and he mentioned he had tasted some pretty bad stuff in college. To us, it wasn't worth the fuss to go to the fancy place.

Tim was our server a number of times. He seemed to genuinely care about his guests. If I owned The Landings, I would worry about losing him to another place. He can choose any place and I would follow him to that restaurant. A couple others seemed to give a rip and others warmed up by day 3.

For those of you wondering about the expensive taxi ride - do it once and you will understand why it is so much. That is a long ride. We rented a car and had a couple of challenges including coming around a corner to a stalled dump truck with tires screeching by those going the other way on a road that is really much narrower than a two lane mountain road in the US. As for driving on the left, I didn't have a problem with it although my wife did mention that I was close to the shoulder line (and the cliffs) a few times.

We had a harbor front two bedroom unit. The appliances are high end - Miele oven, Liebherr refrigerator, etc. Lots of space in the main room. Shower leaked in the master bath - water over to the toilet. A towel between them slowed the flow. Water pressure was pretty weak - pressurized shower heads would have helped.

We felt our room was very clean. We only saw the housekeeping staff once briefly. The walk from our room to reception/Palms Restaurant is long and you would want to use the golf cart shuttles they offer to get around.

Would consider other places in St Lucia before returning to The Landings. It just wasn't firing on all cylinders. I would have preferred wrist bands or something else to continually worrying about the charges and then being presented with an overstated bill as I feared. Ultimately it was corrected. Others have mentioned a similar problem. My situation apparently wasn't unique.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a pretty late review since we were there in May of this year. Better late than never, right! lol St.Lucia i a beautiful island that has its own charm.
The landings is a great resort, we were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite which was huge for just us 2. Nice spacious and clean. The suite backs onto a gorgeous Marina, which we found to be a great change of view... something different. it also has a private plunge pool(awesome & heated)
The beach is beautiful and has a great view. They offer bar service on the beach as well.
The restaurant was great for breakfast and lunch we found there were too many mosquitos during dinner to enjoy our meal comfortably but it was no biggie because they delivered our meal to our suite.
Every Friday there is a street party at Gros Islet which was fun and a great expereince, recommended.
We were there during the Jazz festival so the island was abuzz with events and music!
The Jacksons we actually staying here. Surprised!!
We also did a private boat tour with Mike who you can find on the beach, he was very helpful in organizing a custom tour for us due to the accessibility issues we often face we havent been on many. He was great and took us right from the beach on his little boat (private and nice for couples) we went around to Marigot Bay, the bat caves, saw the pitons and had lunch at petite piton restaurant. Than we drove to the volcano and sulfer springs from there.
All in all we felt very safe and at ease. Resort was accessible, just had to cross a patch of grass to get to the beach but its cut very low so not too bad depending on your level of mobility.
Great resort, we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Cant really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at The Landings for 10 days in September. Nice property. The room was a condo apartment with all amenities. The cleaning was OK, but I think they need to pay attention to details a bit more..this is why I did not give it 5 stars. There are 2 restaurants and both were great, although the fancy one (the Palms) was not open every night. The staff was very friendly and professional. A special thank you to Trisha, Selma and Tim...wonderful wait staff who made us feel very comfortable and happy!!!

Room Tip: A washer dryer combo was in the room. You don't need to pack as much !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;