We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paridise in Paridise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
San Ramon, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paridise in Paridise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is truly a wonderful place that exceeded our expectations. On our arrival we entered the airy lobby and my wife and I were offered a rum punch, while the kids were given fruit punch. We had booked a beachfront room and the receptionist confirmed that it was very nice. We were stunned, however, by how luxurious it was. There was marble throughout, a fully modern kitchen and 2 and 1/2 baths. But the most pleasant surprise was spa on the back terrace, where you could soak and relax with a view of the beautiful garden and Rodney Bay.

A private path let to the hotel beach, where there were plenty of lounge chairs, and a staff ready to serve drinks and snacks. There was also plenty of recreational equipment like snorkels and kayaks that were covered in the room rate.

The restaurant had a different buffet every night, with fish night being particularly good. You could also get some tapas selections by the bar if you wanted lighter fare. The wait staff were consistently helpful and friendly.

We were also very pleased by the excursion packages offered through the concierge. The offerings were diverse and reasonably priced.

We would definitely return to the Landings and have enthusiastically recommended it to many of our friends.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, pay the extra for a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We love your opening sentence - that we exceeded your expectations. We take great pride in encouraging our associates to "delight" our guests. Thank you also for your complementary words about our restaurants and the service. Lastly, thank you for mentioning to your friends. It really makes a difference. Best regards from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    100
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
199
158
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided on The Landings for a 'rest and recuperation' holiday this July, and paid a significant premium for a five star luxury hotel treat. On arrival we were told that the 'fine dining' restaurant - The Palms - was closed for most of the week, similarly the Viscount bar, meaning we had only one bar/restaurant option for most of the week- The Beach Club. Not a good start and something we should have been told before payment was taken. Our suite was upgraded, and the rooms were excellent quality, but we quickly noticed there was no mini-bar, and tea and coffee making facilities were not available. We made complaints to the hotel management, but were disappointed to find that we had to spend far too much of our precious holiday time chasing them to get what is fairly standard in a three star hotel. The General Manager seemed to take our complaints seriously, but his staff seemed rather indifferent. It transpired that the hotel had only just begun to offer an all-inclusive option, and they are simply not geared up for it. There were some valiant attempts made to offer us compensation - two restaurants outside the complex to compensate for the lack of options, but overall we were disappointed that such a lovely venue was let down by poor service - this was especially the case at breakfast time.
In reality, this was a self-catering condo set-up masquerading as a five star hotel. Our advice would be to avoid the all-inclusive option, because as a self-catering destination this would have been just fine. The staff and their low level of professionalism mean that a lot of work must be done to get up to the standards of a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a Harbour view room. The beach view rooms are expensive and you should avoid rooms too near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Landings for your summer holiday in "Simply Beautiful" St. Lucia.

We are very happy that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay with us.

We have some of the most professional and caring associates not only in St. Lucia, but possibly in the entire Caribbean as well. Overwhelmingly, our reviews of service received are exceptional.

Sorry you did not enjoy our all inclusive offerings. You and I met often, and the extent of our offerings to you were exceedingly generous. We feel that we did everything possible to remedy your concerns. Many guests who have chosen the all-inclusive plan have been thrilled with our food and beverage offerings.

Just one clarification; The Landings is a luxury resort, which also offers freehold villas for owners or lease-back villas as well.

Thank you for choosing St. Lucia and the Landings, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Lyle & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited The Landings in October. Despite the hour and a half ride from the airport, The Landings tirned out to be one of our favorite vacations. The rooms are spectacular! The beach is picturesque. You feel like you are in a James Bond movie! Food was excellent, especially The Palm. Service is warm and friendly and Lyle, the manager, made you feel like you were at home. Going back in a few weeks. Can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us....so pleased that you found everything "spectacular, picturesque and excellent" While can't take credit as a "James Bond" setting, we are thrilled that you felt as if you were. Please e-mail me direct if you would like anything special for your next stay. info@landingsstlucia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This will be a somewhat mixed review, but honest. My husband and I travel extensively around the world and chose the Landings as a last minute weekend getaway to play golf and celebrate 20 years of marriage. Our initial encounters were fantastic! Gus picked us up from the airport and I don't think we have ever had a better driver. His car was spotless and he was extremely knowledgeable. WE had such a great time that we booked him for an entire day to show us around! When we arrived at The landings, everything is just as shown on the website the place is beautiful and the staff was great! We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom corner room right on the beach! Marvelous. We booked all of our activities with the concierge (Aschelle) who did a fantastic job. She arranged our private sailing tour, and chef to come to our suite and cook for us on the night of our anniversary! Everything was perfect; the food was to die for. Thanks Chef. Every meal that we had on property, exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was the most fun, because the staff became like family to us. We always looked forward to the banter during breakfast. We both had several spa treatments and the ladies in the spa took great care of us. Lena and Valencia were sweeties. The spa is adequate, not great.

Now for the not so good. During our stay I contacted the manager about a necklace that was missing from my room. I was told that I would have to come down to the lobby the next day to speak with security. I set a time, and made a report. I was not overly concerned about the necklace it was a cheap costume piece that I purchased for 35-40 dollars, no big deal. I just wanted to make them aware. Here is the disappointing part, no one every followed up, are asked if we located it. There was absolutely no concern. Security was passive at best. I felt confident that I would have at least received a letter from management…..NOTHING. Here is the good news, I did find my necklace it had lodged in an inside pocket in our luggage! So there was no loss.

Overall our experience at the landings was A++. Thanks again to all of the staff that helped make our stay great. I

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. Thank you especially for your great comments about our staff, service and accommodation. Sorry that we weren't as attentive as we should have been about the item you thought was missing. We are glad that you found it. I am unsure who you spoke to when you thought the necklace was lost, but we have discussed it with our Leadership Team and are sure that a similar situation won't recur. Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate all the positives and note and accept your concerns too. we look forward to welcoming you back and making sure that your next stay is perfect. Best regards from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice hotel. Great service. Beautiful view (if you're on the beach) and a wonderful room (we rented a furnished condo).

They have some really nice real estate. You wake up and walk to the beach...that simple. The food is not that great and quite expensive. However, I think the Brits loved it as it has mayo in almost everything.

You're better off driving about 10 minutes into town and eating at the local restaurants as they have really good food.

Now here is the bad news: of the 3 of us who stayed at the 2-bedroom condo, one of us got severe rash on her body because of bed bugs. Really disgusting. It's a shame that a nice resort of this caliber would allow this to happen; a simple, thorough wash of the lined would solve this problem. So, if you're going to stay at this place, you may want to take your own sheets just to be safe.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are on the beach. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. Sorry that we didn't hear about your stay while you were staying with us. We don't have bed bugs. Sometimes guests mistake sand fly bites as something else. Our pest control program is rigorous and has never found a bed bug. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just spent 8 wonderful days at The Landings in Rodney Bay, St Lucia. It was one of the best family vacations/destination we have ever had. We are a family of 5 adults and 3 small children and we travel quite a lot. At first I had wanted to rent a villa near to the Pitons for my family, it would have been a mistake! I decided on The Landings because of the beach, but there was so much more...The property is beautiful, our 3 bedroom villa (really a very large apartment) was just perfect, a very modern kitchen, (very important when you have a 4 year old, a 2 year old and an 8 month old) large verandah with hot tub, really large living room, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms and very comfortable beds and furniture.
Great staff, we had housekeeping twice a day, and they could not do enough for us. It is all the little extras that they provided that really impressed us, such as bottled water in the bedrooms every day....coffee and creamer in the kitchen, lots of towels, I could go on and on! There was also a washing machine and dryer... an unexpected plus.
I should also say that even though there are several villas there was no noise and we felt we had complete privacy.
Great beach restaurant, we had breakfast there everyday, beautiful and very safe beach, lots of towels, beach chairs, umbrellas....but I think what made is so special for us was the friendly and charming staff. They also have a "Kids Club" so parents can have a break!
The location of the hotel is close enough to Rodney Bay so it is easy to sample all the different
restaurants if you want to leave the property. It is only a short drive into the town, we like to explore so we did this a few nights, you don't have to, there are 2 restaurants at the hotel and they also offer room service.
By the way if you decide to rent a car go with a company called "Drive- a -matic" , good rental prices and new vehicles! We were very pleased with their service, we had to rent a van because of our large group and they did give us the best price on the island.
To sum up..... we had a fantastic vacation and plan to return next year. St Lucia is beautiful, well worth a visit, in fact just about everything you can wish for if you want to spend time in the Caribbean. And even if you do not have children still stay at The Landings, you will not regret it!
A very happy grandmother.....Thank you again The Landings and St. Lucia!
Cindy Black
Miami, Florida

Room Tip: some of the villas are closer to the beach, a plus I suppose, but then again they will transport you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to write in such detail. We agree that our villas are perfect for multi-generational families. We hope to hear from you when your plans next take you to Simply Beautiful St. Lucia. Thank you from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returning from St. Lucia and stayed with my family at the Landings for a week in a two bedroom villa with a private jacuzzi on the balcony off the living room. The place is beautiful, luxurious, spacious with a fully appointed kitchen and 3 baths. The service is outstanding. We had breakfast at the Beach Club restaurant and ate dinner there a couple of times. The staff was very courteous, friendly, service was outstanding, food great! Special mention for one of the servers Trisha Phillip...what a sweetheart! She is beautiful inside and out. Went out of her way to make us feel welcome and make our stay extra special. Her service was above and beyond our expectations.... The beach at the resort is very clean, quiet, safe. The security guard was always there, inconspicuously. All in all a fabulous stay.
Please add more nightly entertainment. A game room with a pool table or some similar would be nice....

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any rooms. All with beautiful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review too! We also think Trisha is a gem. Thank you for mentioning her. Thanks also for your comments about the wonderful service. Our associates take great pride in making memories for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.