We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family vacation!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing family vacation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip to celebrate a milestone birthday (mine) and make it a vacation to remember. Well, it certainly worked out that way! We decided to go for spring break, along with our 2 children, ages 5 and 8. We had an amazingly good time, despite some rain that was not in the forecast (rainy season for St. Lucia starts in June). We flew in to the local airport - I believe the name is Charles - and the ride to the hotel was a mere 15 minutes. This involved a connection in Trinidad but the 1-hr flight from Trinidad to St. Lucia went so fast, and both kids were fascinated by the prop plane and the fact that they could see everything below us.
We had a ground-level, beach-front 2-bedroom suite which could not have been better in any way. It was absolutely perfect (suite 101). The kitchen was large enough to comfortably cook meals - we made dinner twice - and the dining area equally spacious, though we usually sat on the patio outside. From our living room we could walk out onto the patio and keep walking right onto the beach. Equally convenient was the access to the pool and beach club restaurant, where we enjoyed breakfast every morning and quite a few meals during our 8-night stay.

The staff are all wonderful! Special thanks to Sheryl, who not only looked after us on the beach in terms of drinks, but also baby-sat for us one night so that we could have a few hours to ourselves. Our kids loved her!! And the drinks on the beach and in general were amazing!
The Landings does a great job in making its guests feel welcome and looking out for any need that may arise. There were a few minor miscommunications but those were worked out quickly and without issue (ie: our rain forest excursion was initially booked for the wrong day; once we pointed that out, it was remedied right away). We got rides to and from the main lobby when we requested them, due to intermittent rain, and everyone was very accommodating.

Tuesday night is beach barbeque night, with a live performance - we all loved it! A word of advice: make reservations in advance for that, and for any other special night (like Friday night which is steak night and also commands a large crowd at the Beach Club restaurant). We did not eat at the higher-end restaurant, because quite frankly, all the action was at the Beach Club. We ran into many other families with children in similar age group as ours, and so our kids had playmates for the entire trip, which was great for us as well! We could sit and relax on lounge chairs while watching them play in the sand or in the water. The beach has nice soft sand, excellent for sand-castle making, and clear turquoise water that is roped off to keep swimmers away from the boats that come by. This was actually a very good thing for us, having younger kids, where they could swim up to the rope and then back again, without us worrying that they were going to go too far out. There were some pretty fish by the rocks that intrigued both my kids for long periods of time, and some crabs as well. Two or three times a day, the fruit boat would stop by with fresh fruit and sugar cane that the guy cuts up for you and puts in a bag for $20. A bit pricey for a bag of fruit, but it was part of the experience... I did buy a beautiful conch shell from him for $10 that I will add to my coastal living room decor!!
All in all, an amazing, relaxing trip that was everything we wanted it to be and so much more... all four of us were sad to leave but look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach give the best access to everything - the closer to the lobby, the farther fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Fantastic that your husband chose The Landings for your birthday! Thank you! Thanks also for your kind words about our associate Sheryl. She is both a great Beach Attendant and also a trusted Babysitter. Thank you also for your comments about BBQ Night, turquoise water and "Fruit Boat Man"...we love him too! We appreciate that you found us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    100
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
199
158
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decided to take a family vacation this year and began intense research of various Caribbean islands. After reading lots of reviews and visiting hotel/resort websites, we sought out St. Lucia. Our three children, ages 7,5, and 3 could not have had a better time! We loved our time on the island and this is largely due to The Landings. From the helicopter ride from the airport to our first glance of The Landings, we knew we had chosen the right location for our family vacation. Our Villa, #231, was AMAZING!!! We had a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath unit and it did not disappoint. Everyone had plenty of room and the views from the balcony were beautiful. Our kids loved the beach and did not want to leave. The beach service was attentive and always engaging. From arrival to departure the staff, was very helpful, welcoming at every corner and made it a worry free vacation. Our kids had a great time in the Kids Club and loved Ms. Roselie! The breakfast at the Beach Club was ideal for our family and we enjoyed traveling to various restaurants around the island. A big thank you to Peter Willie for always making sure we had a driver that not only dropped us off but waited and picked us up. All the drivers offered lots of information about the island.
Since our return home, I have not stopped the praises for our family trip to the Landings as well as passing on the website information to friends!
As we begin to plan next year's family vacation, St. Lucia and the Landings have set a really high bar. We look forward to many return trips with our kids! Thank you for helping our family make amazing memories!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms offer beautiful sunsets and are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Thank you also for review. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Peter is a wonderful guide. We will be sure to share your comments.
Please come back to The Landings St. Lucia soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I brought our children, ages 3, 5, and 7, to The Landings for a spring break vacation during March 2013. We stayed 6 nights and wish we would have never left. We stayed in a three bedroom ocean front room with a plunge pool on the balcony. The reviews about the room decor and amenities are completely correct, everything is first rate.

The beach: 1) There is a gradual decline into the water making it perfect for kids to play in shallow water; 2) the Landings stations a security guard on the beach all day to ensure that everything remains safe; 3) there is no need to rush and reserve beach chairs early in the morning, there are plenty of chairs for everyone; 4) there is great snorkeling for kids right next to the rock formations for the resort bay; 5) the beach restaurant has drink servers delivering drinks and food orders on the beach (do not listen to the reviews claiming the service is to slow, it is fast, friendly, and always done with a smile); 6) the resort provides plenty of non-motorized beach equipment; 7) private vendors do approach the edge of the Landings beach to offer jet ski rental, motorized tubing, and water skiing.

Kids club: We used the kids club twice and the baby sitting service once. Both the kids club and baby sitting were managed by Ms. Roselie. She was great with our kids and we never had to worry about the safety of our kids. Our two boys (5 and 7 years old) can occasionally get rough with each other, but Ms. Roselie didn't flinch and handled them perfectly. She did not follow the daily schedule for the kids club, but it did not matter as she did plenty of arts and crafts with our kids and kept them busy and entertained.

Service: All of the employees are professional and courteous. We spoke with Angela Torille for assistance twice and both times she provided excellent service. If you are trying to decide whether or not to stay at the Landings, call and ask to speak with Ms. Angela and she will answer any question or concern you have. She is first rate. All of the staff goes out of their way to assist guests and make them feel welcome. Anyone that speaks poorly of the Landings’ staff must themselves be the problem, because every level of staff we interacted with was friendly, courteous, and a joy to be around.

Only negative: The Landings is not all Wi-Fi capable. Only the beach restaurant and the front building have Wi-Fi. The Landings website is correct in that high speed internet is available in all of the rooms, but it is by Ethernet connection. This was a little frustrating from time to time, but it worked to make me keep my mind off of work.

Excursions: As a family we did a full day catamaran trip to Soufriere and visited the volcano, a half-day jeep/jungle excursion, and a visit to the market in Castries. I would recommend any of these excursions for a family. My wife and I also did a snuba excursion, which is only a five minute drive from the Landings. It was simply awesome. For every excursion the tour company picks you up at the resort's main entrance.

Restaurants: We dined at several places (Tapas on the Bay, Spinnakers, Key Largo, and Charthouse) in Rodney Bay and at the Rainforest Hideaway in Marigot Bay. All them were good, none over the top excellent, but quality meals for respectable prices. It was a long drive to Marigot Bay. Do not worry about car service as the Landings always has drivers from a private company that are waiting to take you and return for your pickup. One of them, Peter Willie, was extremely helpful in pointing out things to do and see during our stay.

Travel to and from the Landings: On arrival to St. Lucia, we took a helicopter from the international airport to the airport in Castries. The views and time savings were well worth the cost. We took a ground transfer back to the airport, which is a 1.5 hour trip and goes along part of the east side of the island, which delivers some of the best views of the island's coast. It is not worth trying to rent a car as the roads would be hard for a non-local to navigate and the cost for the airport transfer (one-way) was only $120 U.S. dollars.

I will recommend The Landings and St. Lucia to anyone thinking about Caribbean travel. Although the Landings is a great facility with all of the amenities you can think of, the staff are the real treasure as they take care of every detail.

Last thing: Mosquitos. I have read some reviews complaining about mosquitos in St. Lucia and at the Landings. This is absurd. We may have seen one mosquito a day, but none of my family received a single mosquito bite. Anyone complaining about mosquitos must have never visited the southern states of the U.S. No bug problems exist to be concerned with. Instead, worry about sunscreen.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room, you will not be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I promise you that very soon we will have wi-fi in all the villas, and not just the lobby and restaurants. Thank you very much for the detail in your critique - we think you described us perfectly. Thank you also for your kind words about Rosalie. We always share guest comments. Come back soon please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I (two adults and two five year olds) spent a week here in Winter 2012. This was a great, beautiful spot. The kids loved the pools and hot tubs, the beach was beautiful and the on-site restaurant was good. Our accommodations were spacious, clean and provided everything we needed (kitchen, washer/dryer, etc). The only downside is that there is nothing in walking distance from the property if you are looking for some variety in food or sites. Recommend renting a car to have some independence.

Room Tip: lovely to have an ocean view, or at least a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing about your stay too. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. You are correct that we (and many resorts) are not within walking distance of other restaurants and attractions. It is always our pleasure to arrange rentals, car service or taxi for any trips to the nearby places. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Landings is, indeed a little gem in the Caribbean!
The photos on the website are quite true to the reality of the beautiful property. Our family of 5 spent a fabulous 8 days over our Spring Break here. would most def recommend to friends and return ourselves!
We have been fortunate in exploring many Caribbean islands, so here's how we felt that The Landings compared:
Beautiful! Modern, luxurious rooms. We had a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath unit in building 6. Very high-end. Absolutely no complaints about unit. (unit 602).
Extremely safe resort. Felt safe with kids (ages8 and 12) running back and forth between room and beach/pool. Never worried.
Quiet beach and pool. (And we were here during high season.) Such a delight to not have to get up at 6 am to save chairs by pool or beach. What a pleasure! And float mats. So nice.
To our surprise, buffet breakfast was included. We didn't expect it. Nice addition!
Staff was über-friendly and helpful.

So, here are our constructive critiscms to make this property 5+ stars: (let's get this place to a Ritz-Carlton. You are close)
Change up the menu. We sought out lunches elsewhere simply out of "menu fatigue!". You could maintain revenue by simply offering (and marketing) lunch specials. (dinner options, on other hand were great!)
Beach service was present, but could def use some more people. You are leaving $ on the table by not employing more people to service beach and pool.( this would certainly produce revenue.)
Room cleaning more consistent. You may or may not get refills of water, shampoo, etc.
Order more blue floaties. A cheap investment= big impact. Dispose of all the ripped ones on regular basis. Will make resort appear far classier.
Lastly, we used "Big Mike" to go over to Spinnakers several times. Figure out a way to formally include this to your guests' experience. How cool is it to go to lunch via motorboat???

Bravo to the landings for giving us a great family vacation. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a great vacation at the landings! The property was beautiful and does not disappoint. Excellent amenities, service and a property that gives you no reason to leave! Food at the two onsite restaurants was quite good, and we ate there much more than expected.

Beach, views, and workout facilities were terrific too.

Special thanks to some of the staff who made our trip extra special:

Tamar, Alian, Jemma, Jaclyn, Lampkin, & Clint

We will definitely be back!

Brian B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

ARRIVAL: After the excellent greeting we received at the airport from Trevor the driver scheduled to meet our arriving flight. Trevor had chilled water, cool towels and a winning smile and personality that made all in my party feel like ‘the holiday has just started’ Trevor had a fantastic high quality Escalade that was perfectly air conditioned and very comfortable. Trevor explained the trip would be about 90 minutes and he would be happy to answer any questions we may have, as well as point out some points of interest on the way. Trevor found time to stop at a wonderful photo spot so we could start filling our holiday album. Even with the stop we made perfect time and the journey was really enjoyable.
RECEPTION: On arrival at The Landings, the reception team looked and appeared to be ‘on holiday’ themselves. Our reservation didn’t appear to be in the system and we had to wait a very long time for the room to become available. We didn’t particularly have an issue with the resorts desire to ensure perfection for our room, but some communication would have been helpful. The vacant operative behind the reception desk just couldn’t give a coherent response to my questioning. In the end a ‘bus boy’’ came over to explain the situation and then drove us in the club car to our room. If only The Landings reception team could take lessons from Trevor.
ROOMS: We had a beautiful 3BR, 3.5 Bath condo on top floor (3rd on a Ground-to-3rd floor building) of an end- building that faced canal/waterway and ocean. (Access was by elevator or stairs.) Our room number was 133 it is without doubt the best room for views, ease of getting to all amenities and the beach is just on you r doorstep I think one of the best features was the covered balcony/terrace that runs the length of the condo, with sliding doors from the dining area, guest room 1 and master bedroom. The terrace had a "plunge pool," large dining table, lounge chairs, etc., ceiling fans, etc. A perfect location, with beautiful ocean views and a fabulous breeze. The Condo was gorgeous -- looked brand new and was very clean. Great kitchen, baths, washer/dryer etc., and professionally decorated
STAFF: Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful - very nice and well-trained. They really do need to take the service standards from restaurant, beach towel lady, beach waitress, indeed some of the team who should be mentioned at Gemma, Clayman, Ophelia, Charlene, Dexter. These and many others really did make my family feel ‘welcome, valued and relaxed’ on a daily basis. In fact even when things didn’t go quite right, they always wanted to help you have ‘great time’ and fix the issue.
BEACH: beach is very nice - we had no problem getting chairs/umbrellas. The beds are not the most comfortable so my suggestion is grab extra towels to help. You never needed to rush out first thing to "hold" a chair.
FOOD: Breakfast is buffet style, lots of it, from cereal, fresh fruit, full cooked items etc. In fact everything you need to set you up for the day. Lunch is limiting, so would suggest a trip to Rodney Bay supermarket (10min) courtesy bus or taxi, it’s very easy. Purchase some breads, salads, fillings etc with the fully stocked kitchen at your Condo, it’s actually rather pleasant to sit out of the heat and appreciate a simple lunch on the balcony enjoying the cool Caribbean breeze. Evenings are a mix of themed events, usual Caribbean style, buffest etc. The A La Carte is the most disappointing. My advice is. If not eating a buffet menu, take the short trip to Rodney Bay where you will find good restaurants, such as Big Chef and Chef Xavier.
I would absolutely recommend staying at The Landings, we will defiantly return, but now we know the minor short- comings of The Landings we can be better prepared. The issues are small and are totally outweighed by the Great Location, Great Condo, Great Smile on most of the staff, Excellent service standards of a majority of the personnel. Can’t wait to return soon

Room Tip: ASK FOR 133. ITS THE BEST has perfect beach view and close to all you will need during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.