We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Condé Nast & AAA Awarded
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I brought our children, ages 3, 5, and 7, to The Landings for a spring break vacation during March 2013. We stayed 6 nights and wish we would have never left. We stayed in a three bedroom ocean front room with a plunge pool on the balcony. The reviews about the room decor and amenities are completely correct, everything is first rate.

The beach: 1) There is a gradual decline into the water making it perfect for kids to play in shallow water; 2) the Landings stations a security guard on the beach all day to ensure that everything remains safe; 3) there is no need to rush and reserve beach chairs early in the morning, there are plenty of chairs for everyone; 4) there is great snorkeling for kids right next to the rock formations for the resort bay; 5) the beach restaurant has drink servers delivering drinks and food orders on the beach (do not listen to the reviews claiming the service is to slow, it is fast, friendly, and always done with a smile); 6) the resort provides plenty of non-motorized beach equipment; 7) private vendors do approach the edge of the Landings beach to offer jet ski rental, motorized tubing, and water skiing.

Kids club: We used the kids club twice and the baby sitting service once. Both the kids club and baby sitting were managed by Ms. Roselie. She was great with our kids and we never had to worry about the safety of our kids. Our two boys (5 and 7 years old) can occasionally get rough with each other, but Ms. Roselie didn't flinch and handled them perfectly. She did not follow the daily schedule for the kids club, but it did not matter as she did plenty of arts and crafts with our kids and kept them busy and entertained.

Service: All of the employees are professional and courteous. We spoke with Angela Torille for assistance twice and both times she provided excellent service. If you are trying to decide whether or not to stay at the Landings, call and ask to speak with Ms. Angela and she will answer any question or concern you have. She is first rate. All of the staff goes out of their way to assist guests and make them feel welcome. Anyone that speaks poorly of the Landings’ staff must themselves be the problem, because every level of staff we interacted with was friendly, courteous, and a joy to be around.

Only negative: The Landings is not all Wi-Fi capable. Only the beach restaurant and the front building have Wi-Fi. The Landings website is correct in that high speed internet is available in all of the rooms, but it is by Ethernet connection. This was a little frustrating from time to time, but it worked to make me keep my mind off of work.

Excursions: As a family we did a full day catamaran trip to Soufriere and visited the volcano, a half-day jeep/jungle excursion, and a visit to the market in Castries. I would recommend any of these excursions for a family. My wife and I also did a snuba excursion, which is only a five minute drive from the Landings. It was simply awesome. For every excursion the tour company picks you up at the resort's main entrance.

Restaurants: We dined at several places (Tapas on the Bay, Spinnakers, Key Largo, and Charthouse) in Rodney Bay and at the Rainforest Hideaway in Marigot Bay. All them were good, none over the top excellent, but quality meals for respectable prices. It was a long drive to Marigot Bay. Do not worry about car service as the Landings always has drivers from a private company that are waiting to take you and return for your pickup. One of them, Peter Willie, was extremely helpful in pointing out things to do and see during our stay.

Travel to and from the Landings: On arrival to St. Lucia, we took a helicopter from the international airport to the airport in Castries. The views and time savings were well worth the cost. We took a ground transfer back to the airport, which is a 1.5 hour trip and goes along part of the east side of the island, which delivers some of the best views of the island's coast. It is not worth trying to rent a car as the roads would be hard for a non-local to navigate and the cost for the airport transfer (one-way) was only $120 U.S. dollars.

I will recommend The Landings and St. Lucia to anyone thinking about Caribbean travel. Although the Landings is a great facility with all of the amenities you can think of, the staff are the real treasure as they take care of every detail.

Last thing: Mosquitos. I have read some reviews complaining about mosquitos in St. Lucia and at the Landings. This is absurd. We may have seen one mosquito a day, but none of my family received a single mosquito bite. Anyone complaining about mosquitos must have never visited the southern states of the U.S. No bug problems exist to be concerned with. Instead, worry about sunscreen.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room, you will not be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I promise you that very soon we will have wi-fi in all the villas, and not just the lobby and restaurants. Thank you very much for the detail in your critique - we think you described us perfectly. Thank you also for your kind words about Rosalie. We always share guest comments. Come back soon please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    112
    32
    9
    11
See reviews for
227
178
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I (two adults and two five year olds) spent a week here in Winter 2012. This was a great, beautiful spot. The kids loved the pools and hot tubs, the beach was beautiful and the on-site restaurant was good. Our accommodations were spacious, clean and provided everything we needed (kitchen, washer/dryer, etc). The only downside is that there is nothing in walking distance from the property if you are looking for some variety in food or sites. Recommend renting a car to have some independence.

Room Tip: lovely to have an ocean view, or at least a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing about your stay too. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. You are correct that we (and many resorts) are not within walking distance of other restaurants and attractions. It is always our pleasure to arrange rentals, car service or taxi for any trips to the nearby places. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Landings is, indeed a little gem in the Caribbean!
The photos on the website are quite true to the reality of the beautiful property. Our family of 5 spent a fabulous 8 days over our Spring Break here. would most def recommend to friends and return ourselves!
We have been fortunate in exploring many Caribbean islands, so here's how we felt that The Landings compared:
Beautiful! Modern, luxurious rooms. We had a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath unit in building 6. Very high-end. Absolutely no complaints about unit. (unit 602).
Extremely safe resort. Felt safe with kids (ages8 and 12) running back and forth between room and beach/pool. Never worried.
Quiet beach and pool. (And we were here during high season.) Such a delight to not have to get up at 6 am to save chairs by pool or beach. What a pleasure! And float mats. So nice.
To our surprise, buffet breakfast was included. We didn't expect it. Nice addition!
Staff was über-friendly and helpful.

So, here are our constructive critiscms to make this property 5+ stars: (let's get this place to a Ritz-Carlton. You are close)
Change up the menu. We sought out lunches elsewhere simply out of "menu fatigue!". You could maintain revenue by simply offering (and marketing) lunch specials. (dinner options, on other hand were great!)
Beach service was present, but could def use some more people. You are leaving $ on the table by not employing more people to service beach and pool.( this would certainly produce revenue.)
Room cleaning more consistent. You may or may not get refills of water, shampoo, etc.
Order more blue floaties. A cheap investment= big impact. Dispose of all the ripped ones on regular basis. Will make resort appear far classier.
Lastly, we used "Big Mike" to go over to Spinnakers several times. Figure out a way to formally include this to your guests' experience. How cool is it to go to lunch via motorboat???

Bravo to the landings for giving us a great family vacation. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a great vacation at the landings! The property was beautiful and does not disappoint. Excellent amenities, service and a property that gives you no reason to leave! Food at the two onsite restaurants was quite good, and we ate there much more than expected.

Beach, views, and workout facilities were terrific too.

Special thanks to some of the staff who made our trip extra special:

Tamar, Alian, Jemma, Jaclyn, Lampkin, & Clint

We will definitely be back!

Brian B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

ARRIVAL: After the excellent greeting we received at the airport from Trevor the driver scheduled to meet our arriving flight. Trevor had chilled water, cool towels and a winning smile and personality that made all in my party feel like ‘the holiday has just started’ Trevor had a fantastic high quality Escalade that was perfectly air conditioned and very comfortable. Trevor explained the trip would be about 90 minutes and he would be happy to answer any questions we may have, as well as point out some points of interest on the way. Trevor found time to stop at a wonderful photo spot so we could start filling our holiday album. Even with the stop we made perfect time and the journey was really enjoyable.
RECEPTION: On arrival at The Landings, the reception team looked and appeared to be ‘on holiday’ themselves. Our reservation didn’t appear to be in the system and we had to wait a very long time for the room to become available. We didn’t particularly have an issue with the resorts desire to ensure perfection for our room, but some communication would have been helpful. The vacant operative behind the reception desk just couldn’t give a coherent response to my questioning. In the end a ‘bus boy’’ came over to explain the situation and then drove us in the club car to our room. If only The Landings reception team could take lessons from Trevor.
ROOMS: We had a beautiful 3BR, 3.5 Bath condo on top floor (3rd on a Ground-to-3rd floor building) of an end- building that faced canal/waterway and ocean. (Access was by elevator or stairs.) Our room number was 133 it is without doubt the best room for views, ease of getting to all amenities and the beach is just on you r doorstep I think one of the best features was the covered balcony/terrace that runs the length of the condo, with sliding doors from the dining area, guest room 1 and master bedroom. The terrace had a "plunge pool," large dining table, lounge chairs, etc., ceiling fans, etc. A perfect location, with beautiful ocean views and a fabulous breeze. The Condo was gorgeous -- looked brand new and was very clean. Great kitchen, baths, washer/dryer etc., and professionally decorated
STAFF: Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful - very nice and well-trained. They really do need to take the service standards from restaurant, beach towel lady, beach waitress, indeed some of the team who should be mentioned at Gemma, Clayman, Ophelia, Charlene, Dexter. These and many others really did make my family feel ‘welcome, valued and relaxed’ on a daily basis. In fact even when things didn’t go quite right, they always wanted to help you have ‘great time’ and fix the issue.
BEACH: beach is very nice - we had no problem getting chairs/umbrellas. The beds are not the most comfortable so my suggestion is grab extra towels to help. You never needed to rush out first thing to "hold" a chair.
FOOD: Breakfast is buffet style, lots of it, from cereal, fresh fruit, full cooked items etc. In fact everything you need to set you up for the day. Lunch is limiting, so would suggest a trip to Rodney Bay supermarket (10min) courtesy bus or taxi, it’s very easy. Purchase some breads, salads, fillings etc with the fully stocked kitchen at your Condo, it’s actually rather pleasant to sit out of the heat and appreciate a simple lunch on the balcony enjoying the cool Caribbean breeze. Evenings are a mix of themed events, usual Caribbean style, buffest etc. The A La Carte is the most disappointing. My advice is. If not eating a buffet menu, take the short trip to Rodney Bay where you will find good restaurants, such as Big Chef and Chef Xavier.
I would absolutely recommend staying at The Landings, we will defiantly return, but now we know the minor short- comings of The Landings we can be better prepared. The issues are small and are totally outweighed by the Great Location, Great Condo, Great Smile on most of the staff, Excellent service standards of a majority of the personnel. Can’t wait to return soon

Room Tip: ASK FOR 133. ITS THE BEST has perfect beach view and close to all you will need during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just returned from 10 days (end of March til beginning of April) family vacation at The Landings and its been pure bliss every day. We had a 2 bedroom beachfront suite (1 bedroom for the adults, 1 bedroom for the 3 kids) with a beautiful view over the ocean (room #201), flowers and orchids in the foreground and a plunge pool right in front of our livingroom. The beach is ideal for young children as it is pure sand and no rocks, also very shallow so the kids can enjoy it by themselves easily. The service at the hotel is impeccable, i especially like to mention Brenda, Ophelia, Shane, Tim who made our stay pure heaven. Also everyone at front desk (sorry, i don't remember all the names anymore) were very helpful. We had booked halfboard which was the right decision as the food is really good and at 30 degrees Celcius you don't feel like eating the whole day. We had dinner at the Palms Restaurant as well and the quality was really top notch. We rented a car to do our own excursions to Jaelousie beach (very steep road, better take a 4x4) and Hotel Chocolat to make our own chocolat, but also booked tours using the hotel. The whale and dolphin watch cruise using the Exodus-Team was perfect. Saw about 50 dolphins and a humpback right next to the boat. All in all a vacation in paradise we'd love to repeat soon.

Room Tip: At first we wanted a room higher up but during easter holidays all the beachfront rooms except for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I don't know where to start! There are so many great things about this place! We had a three bedroom suite which over looked the ocean and the mountains in the background. In our suite we had a giant great room which had large sliding door that opened the full length of the wall. It also had a kitchen and all the appliances (including the washer and dryer) were all Miele. In the bedrooms, the mattresses were very comfortable with king beds in two of the bedrooms and two twins in the other. The two king rooms had ocean views with access to the main balcony. Each bedroom had an en suite bathroom. The room had two balconies one when you entered the room that looked out on Pigeon Island and another one which had a plunge pool, a dining table for eight and two other sitting areas with two lounge chairs which looked out over the ocean. All the finishes were top notch throughout the room. The resort itself was very nice with all of the buildings centered around a small marina. The snorkeling was pretty good too and the restaurant had good food. Overall, I think that the resort was a excellent choice! I would highly recommend St. Lucia for its beauty and especially I would recommend the Landings St. Lucia for its luxury. My family had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.