We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spring break for us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
milwaukee, wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Spring break for us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Landings is, indeed a little gem in the Caribbean!
The photos on the website are quite true to the reality of the beautiful property. Our family of 5 spent a fabulous 8 days over our Spring Break here. would most def recommend to friends and return ourselves!
We have been fortunate in exploring many Caribbean islands, so here's how we felt that The Landings compared:
Beautiful! Modern, luxurious rooms. We had a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath unit in building 6. Very high-end. Absolutely no complaints about unit. (unit 602).
Extremely safe resort. Felt safe with kids (ages8 and 12) running back and forth between room and beach/pool. Never worried.
Quiet beach and pool. (And we were here during high season.) Such a delight to not have to get up at 6 am to save chairs by pool or beach. What a pleasure! And float mats. So nice.
To our surprise, buffet breakfast was included. We didn't expect it. Nice addition!
Staff was über-friendly and helpful.

So, here are our constructive critiscms to make this property 5+ stars: (let's get this place to a Ritz-Carlton. You are close)
Change up the menu. We sought out lunches elsewhere simply out of "menu fatigue!". You could maintain revenue by simply offering (and marketing) lunch specials. (dinner options, on other hand were great!)
Beach service was present, but could def use some more people. You are leaving $ on the table by not employing more people to service beach and pool.( this would certainly produce revenue.)
Room cleaning more consistent. You may or may not get refills of water, shampoo, etc.
Order more blue floaties. A cheap investment= big impact. Dispose of all the ripped ones on regular basis. Will make resort appear far classier.
Lastly, we used "Big Mike" to go over to Spinnakers several times. Figure out a way to formally include this to your guests' experience. How cool is it to go to lunch via motorboat???

Bravo to the landings for giving us a great family vacation. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    101
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
200
158
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a great vacation at the landings! The property was beautiful and does not disappoint. Excellent amenities, service and a property that gives you no reason to leave! Food at the two onsite restaurants was quite good, and we ate there much more than expected.

Beach, views, and workout facilities were terrific too.

Special thanks to some of the staff who made our trip extra special:

Tamar, Alian, Jemma, Jaclyn, Lampkin, & Clint

We will definitely be back!

Brian B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

ARRIVAL: After the excellent greeting we received at the airport from Trevor the driver scheduled to meet our arriving flight. Trevor had chilled water, cool towels and a winning smile and personality that made all in my party feel like ‘the holiday has just started’ Trevor had a fantastic high quality Escalade that was perfectly air conditioned and very comfortable. Trevor explained the trip would be about 90 minutes and he would be happy to answer any questions we may have, as well as point out some points of interest on the way. Trevor found time to stop at a wonderful photo spot so we could start filling our holiday album. Even with the stop we made perfect time and the journey was really enjoyable.
RECEPTION: On arrival at The Landings, the reception team looked and appeared to be ‘on holiday’ themselves. Our reservation didn’t appear to be in the system and we had to wait a very long time for the room to become available. We didn’t particularly have an issue with the resorts desire to ensure perfection for our room, but some communication would have been helpful. The vacant operative behind the reception desk just couldn’t give a coherent response to my questioning. In the end a ‘bus boy’’ came over to explain the situation and then drove us in the club car to our room. If only The Landings reception team could take lessons from Trevor.
ROOMS: We had a beautiful 3BR, 3.5 Bath condo on top floor (3rd on a Ground-to-3rd floor building) of an end- building that faced canal/waterway and ocean. (Access was by elevator or stairs.) Our room number was 133 it is without doubt the best room for views, ease of getting to all amenities and the beach is just on you r doorstep I think one of the best features was the covered balcony/terrace that runs the length of the condo, with sliding doors from the dining area, guest room 1 and master bedroom. The terrace had a "plunge pool," large dining table, lounge chairs, etc., ceiling fans, etc. A perfect location, with beautiful ocean views and a fabulous breeze. The Condo was gorgeous -- looked brand new and was very clean. Great kitchen, baths, washer/dryer etc., and professionally decorated
STAFF: Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful - very nice and well-trained. They really do need to take the service standards from restaurant, beach towel lady, beach waitress, indeed some of the team who should be mentioned at Gemma, Clayman, Ophelia, Charlene, Dexter. These and many others really did make my family feel ‘welcome, valued and relaxed’ on a daily basis. In fact even when things didn’t go quite right, they always wanted to help you have ‘great time’ and fix the issue.
BEACH: beach is very nice - we had no problem getting chairs/umbrellas. The beds are not the most comfortable so my suggestion is grab extra towels to help. You never needed to rush out first thing to "hold" a chair.
FOOD: Breakfast is buffet style, lots of it, from cereal, fresh fruit, full cooked items etc. In fact everything you need to set you up for the day. Lunch is limiting, so would suggest a trip to Rodney Bay supermarket (10min) courtesy bus or taxi, it’s very easy. Purchase some breads, salads, fillings etc with the fully stocked kitchen at your Condo, it’s actually rather pleasant to sit out of the heat and appreciate a simple lunch on the balcony enjoying the cool Caribbean breeze. Evenings are a mix of themed events, usual Caribbean style, buffest etc. The A La Carte is the most disappointing. My advice is. If not eating a buffet menu, take the short trip to Rodney Bay where you will find good restaurants, such as Big Chef and Chef Xavier.
I would absolutely recommend staying at The Landings, we will defiantly return, but now we know the minor short- comings of The Landings we can be better prepared. The issues are small and are totally outweighed by the Great Location, Great Condo, Great Smile on most of the staff, Excellent service standards of a majority of the personnel. Can’t wait to return soon

Room Tip: ASK FOR 133. ITS THE BEST has perfect beach view and close to all you will need during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just returned from 10 days (end of March til beginning of April) family vacation at The Landings and its been pure bliss every day. We had a 2 bedroom beachfront suite (1 bedroom for the adults, 1 bedroom for the 3 kids) with a beautiful view over the ocean (room #201), flowers and orchids in the foreground and a plunge pool right in front of our livingroom. The beach is ideal for young children as it is pure sand and no rocks, also very shallow so the kids can enjoy it by themselves easily. The service at the hotel is impeccable, i especially like to mention Brenda, Ophelia, Shane, Tim who made our stay pure heaven. Also everyone at front desk (sorry, i don't remember all the names anymore) were very helpful. We had booked halfboard which was the right decision as the food is really good and at 30 degrees Celcius you don't feel like eating the whole day. We had dinner at the Palms Restaurant as well and the quality was really top notch. We rented a car to do our own excursions to Jaelousie beach (very steep road, better take a 4x4) and Hotel Chocolat to make our own chocolat, but also booked tours using the hotel. The whale and dolphin watch cruise using the Exodus-Team was perfect. Saw about 50 dolphins and a humpback right next to the boat. All in all a vacation in paradise we'd love to repeat soon.

Room Tip: At first we wanted a room higher up but during easter holidays all the beachfront rooms except for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I don't know where to start! There are so many great things about this place! We had a three bedroom suite which over looked the ocean and the mountains in the background. In our suite we had a giant great room which had large sliding door that opened the full length of the wall. It also had a kitchen and all the appliances (including the washer and dryer) were all Miele. In the bedrooms, the mattresses were very comfortable with king beds in two of the bedrooms and two twins in the other. The two king rooms had ocean views with access to the main balcony. Each bedroom had an en suite bathroom. The room had two balconies one when you entered the room that looked out on Pigeon Island and another one which had a plunge pool, a dining table for eight and two other sitting areas with two lounge chairs which looked out over the ocean. All the finishes were top notch throughout the room. The resort itself was very nice with all of the buildings centered around a small marina. The snorkeling was pretty good too and the restaurant had good food. Overall, I think that the resort was a excellent choice! I would highly recommend St. Lucia for its beauty and especially I would recommend the Landings St. Lucia for its luxury. My family had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We excitedly checked into the Landings after 3 nights right in Rodney Bay. We had a one bedroom king villa booked to celebrate our 2nd anniversary (no kids). We requested an early checkin which they could not accommodate so we spent the day at the beach until we could get into our room approximately 3pm. Our room was beautiful, full kitchen bathtub and shower and hot tub on the patio. After we got back from dinner we started noticing things wrong with the villa... The air conditioning was not cooling, the freezer was not cooling and the room wreaked of mold/mildew. Due to my allergies, I called the front desk to report the issues and asked for a room move where I was immediately told not possible. Maintenance came to work on the a/c, couldn't get it to cool. Housekeeping came to deodorize the room and agreed it smelled very strong... We again asked for a room change after housekeeping told us rooms were indeed available.

We moved rooms at 9:45 pm... Not what is expected when paying >$600 per night!!!!

The next day we spoke with the supervisor whom we had met the day before and told him what happened. Essentially we got a handshake, nothing more. Again, for this price a dinner on the house would not be out of the question.

This is a huge resort that misses on small details. Do not expect working Internet in the room, do not expect turn down service (which is a personal fave of mine) and do not expect anything above regular service you may recieve at the hotel down the street. So much for having a really special anniversary.... The Landings is not walking distance to anything.

Overall disappointed with out stay and we still have two nights left (3/31-4/3). My experience may not be the norm, but it sure is not at what we expected on our luxury vacation. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello. Thanks for your review. I note that you have not yet departed our hotel and that you are due to leave tomorrow April 3, 2013.

In speaking with our Manager on Duty, he tells me that there were challenges with this villa. We are sorry for the frustration caused in getting your room move. We were full-house that past few days. We hope that the rest of your stay is comfortable and that we get a chance to speak. I have left a message in your villa and am available to talk anytime.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just spent a week over spring break with our two teens and family friends at the Landings on St. Lucia. I have to say, it was one of our top vacations yet. The resort was beautiful and the service was excellent. Keep in mind that everyone is on island time, so nothing happens lickety split, but you're on vacation, remember?
We stayed in a two bedroom harbor villa near the lobby. It was a bit of a walk to the beach and Beach Club restaurant, but the walk was lovely and you could get a golf cart ride if you preferred. Employees were attentive and friendly. Sheryl took care of us at the beach where drinks, snacks and meals were readily available, or it was a few steps to the restaurant. There was a breakfast buffet daily which was included in our package. There was also a buffet most evenings and Sunday Brunch, some pricier than others but always delicious. You could also order off the menu any time.
We ate dinner at The Palms at the Landing which was wonderful. Small dining room with very personalized service and delicious food.
We had some beach days lounging and enjoying several activities, including jet skiing, snorkeling or just lounging on rafts provided by the hotel. The water was lovely, warm and clear.
We took some adventures, zip lining, atvs through a banana plantation and 1/2 day deep sea fishing. We caught yellow fin tuna which the crew filleted for us and we brought back to our villa. For a reasonable fee, Jamarl who works at the Beach Club, came to our villa and prepared the best meal we had in St. Lucia. I would definitely recommend this, whether you catch the fish or the hotel provides the entree. Definitely worth the price and a great experience. Jamarl is an awesome chef; he even prepared kid friendly food for our younger guests.
The sunsets were incredible and able to be viewed beachside or from the restaurant enjoying dinner and/or drinks.
All in all, this ranks as one of our best vacations and we will definitely return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.