We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Landings should be a 5 star, but it's not - yet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer - Free Night!
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Landings should be a 5 star, but it's not - yet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just returned from The Landings. This is a beautiful condominium style property that is fairly secluded with a lovely large beach. We had a 3 bedroom 3 1/2 bath unit that was spectacular in every way. The rest of the property is lovely and the grounds a well cared for. The Gym is great.

Why isn't this place a 5 star property? Many reasons!
-A secluded condo property with a closed gift/food/sun lotion store is not helpful to it's customers. $20.00 each way by cab to the nearest store in Rodney Hieghts to by lotion or for something to put in the fridge. The friends we met while there could not believe it.
-Concierge desk but no Concierge. We asked the fill-in guy about a few resturants and he told us "I don't know about the resturants, I'm to poor to eat out". Sorry Management, don't put a kid on the desk if he doesn't know what he's doing.
- Beautiful large decks- Birds love to hang out on our deck fans and leave their debris. We complained that it would have to be picked up daily, but it wasn't.

There is more but... I really did enjoy The Landings but I think the Management needs to work out some basic issues and get a first class store in there for it's customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review of The Landings. Our Concierge Desk has be refreshed with a new Manager and a highly qualified and engaged team. Sorry that you were here during a transition. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to have you as a guest of ours again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    111
    32
    9
    10
See reviews for
224
176
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, luxury resort, this is the one. It is ideal for families (our unit was 3 bedrooms with a huge balcony, Jacuzzi, full gourmet kitchen and laundry room). It is staffed with first-class staff. Every other Carribean resort should send their staff to The Landings to be trained! We experienced a staff made up of people who went out of their way to make our holiday special. Everyone is kind and gracious.

The Palms restaurant was superb, as was the more casual beach buffet. We did enjoy having a kitchen as our kids are young and a few meals in the room made it easier on us.

The beach is clean, beautiful and quiet. many chairs and umbrellas are available.

From the check-in (where rum punches are served to you), we knew we were in for a great holiday. The Landings is a special place. It may be too quiet for young couples (or for families with teens who need stimulating entertainment 24-7), but it is MADE for those who want a restful, relaxing, premium, unpretentious luxury resort. Families will adore it.

What a great spring break! We will return to this world-class resort.

Room Tip: I would not advocate spending more for a beach-view room. The marina is so beautiful (so choose a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you. We agree that we are "The very best in St Lucia". What a great review...much appreciated. Thanks also for your evaluation of our "first-class staff". We look forward to welcoming you back to The Landings St Lucia soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

ROOMS: We had a beautiful 3BR, 3.5 Bath condo on top floor (3rd on a Ground-to-3rd floor building) of an end- building that faced canal/waterway and ocean. (Access was by elevator or stairs.) Our room number was 2531 I think. Best part was the covered balcony/terrace that runs the length of the condo, with sliding doors from LR,Dining Area,Master BR. Terrace had a "plunge pool," large dining table, lounge chairs, etc., ceiling fans,etc. With that location, we had beautiful ocean views and a fabulous breeze.
The unit was gorgeous -- looked brand new and was very clean. Great kitchen, baths, washer/dryer etc., and professionally decorated. (High-end hotel quality appearance)
STAFF: Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful - very nice and well-trained.
BEACH: beach is very nice - we had no problem getting chairs/umbrellas.Did not have to rush out first thing to "hold" a chair.
POOL: The pool closest to beach was nice, quiet, with chairs and umbrellas, and got a good breeze which was nice because beach tended to get very warm. )Pool does not face the ocean; it faces canal/waterway but was very pleasant.)
RESTAURANTS: there are 2 but one is right off the lobby and looks like a conference room (small) with only 4 outdoor tables. It was only open 3 nights a week when we were there so we went once, sat outside, and the food was good. But from that spot, there is no view of the water, so we ate all our other meals at the Beach Club.
Beach Club Restaurant: Food is pretty good for Caribbean and the restaurant has different "specials" on many nights: Stir-fry, Pasta, Steak, etc. At breakfast, we had the buffet which included fresh fruit, made-to-order omelettes, pancakes, etc. Service is sometimes slow but the staff is extremely friendly - you see same staff most days so it's very nice. We also liked the Beach Barbecue night, where they literally set up tables/chairs on the beach and had some entertainment. A bit hokey but fun, and food was good.Again, the staff did a great job.
GYM: is in lobby building. I think it had 3 treadmills, a couple of eliptical machines, weight machines, etc.(bring your own headphones) Not bad for Caribbean but equipment needs to be cleaned.
DOWNSIDES : 1) TRIP FROM AIRPORT: The resort is on the opposite end of the island from the airport, A 90-MINUTE TRIP (we knew this before we booked, but it does make the travel days extra-long.)We arranged transportation through hotel and had a lovely gentleman pick us up arriving and departing - he was very knowledgeable about the island and so that made the trip more enjoyable.
2) BEFORE YOU BOOK: Some buildings are on a canal and look across at other buildings on the other side of canal. Fine, but one building on the canal is a cement shell where construction has stopped. Just so you don't get an unpleasant surprise, I'd ask very specific questions and ask for a map of property/buildings so you know where you're booking.
GROCERY SERVICE IS GOOD IDEA, BUT... We didn't plan to do a lot of our own cooking, but we did place a Grocery order so we'd have some food there when we arrived, which is a nice service the Landings offers. The sliced "turkey" we ordered was pink - we never ate it. The OJ, milk, eggs, apples, bananas, cereal, bacon (Oscar Meyer), and potato chips were fine. Yogurt was local brand -- mediocre... Certain things on the list weren't available: pretzels, certain fruits, etc. - a reminder that you are in the Caribbean. We didn't order ingredients for dinner so don't know how meat or poultry would be. Halfway through our stay we took a cab into town for $15 where there are a couple of grocery stores -- we went to the "high end" grocery store for more fruit/snacks and it was so-so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thanks also for posting your review. We always enjoy hearing about our associates and services. Just a note to the airport travel-time. There is helicopter service between our two airports, so if you land at the furthest one, a 10 minute helicopter ride gets you just 15 minutes from The Landings. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 sons 20 and 22 just get back from a wonderful stay at The Landings in St. Lucia. Upon arriving at this complex we were graciously greeted by staff when we got out of the cab and helped with our luggage. While my husband checked in, which was an extremely easy process we were given a complimentary rum punch drink and then driven to our room. Our condo was 2 spacious bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths and all the rooms were nicely appointed. We were extremely happy with the room. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate and it was great and the restaurant staff is most gracious and accommodating. We also ate in the Beach restaurant at The Landings for dinner several times and we enjoyed it. The service was sometimes slow but hey you are in the Islands to relax!! The beach is well kept and you never have trouble finding a lounge chair with an umbrella!! We found that the employees at this resort are all so friendly and helpful. We loved our stay at The Landings and in St. Lucia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Wonderful that you enjoyed the arrival, the rum punch, your villa and everything about your stay. How great that you and your family truly enjoyed. Thank you for sharing and we hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely place our room or should I say three bedroomed apartment was stunning , we had I view over the marina ,the food was ok at the beach club and the staff were lovely a very special mention for Donna she was lovely and looked after us very well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. we too think that our associates and villas are lovely. Thank you especially for calling out Donna. We love to hear about great service from our associates and we always share it with them. We want you to come back soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a few days with wife & teenage son. The resort is in a great location, has a beautiful beach, and there is plenty to do activity-wise. Rooms were very well-appointed, spacious, and exceptionally clean.

We did have some issues, however. The food was good if not great, and service was a bit on the slow side (even for St Lucia). We had some maintenance issues as well. Several ceiling fans in our unit were malfunctioning - either the remote didn't work so we couldn't change the speed, or they would not come on at all. We also had burned out overhead light that was noted on check-in but never fixed.

Their concierge service was spotty as well. For example, while our departure ride to the airport was a nice ride in a comfortable vehicle with a friendly driver, we were charged extra at the airport for a 1-hour stop at the Castries market. I thought that was covered by the fee I paid on check-out, so I had no money to pay him - I had to run to the ATM at the airport to get the driver extra cash. They also booked an activity on the wrong day for us; thankfully we were able to fix it that morning.

All-in-all an excellent resort that could stand a bit of a brush-up on the details. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing about your visit too. We appreciate your great comments about our villas and also take your comments about our food and maintenance seriously. I have shared them. It is odd that you weren't made aware of extra charges for an excursion during your airport shuttle. It is not like our transfer company to not advise of extra charges for an hour stopover during your trip back. i will check with them. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent 2 weeks here in February weather perfect in lovely surroundings. Our 1 bedroom ground floor apartment was overlooking the Marina but surrounded by a bourganvilla hedge so very peaceful and private. Everything provided in the apartment for cooking,washing both dishes and clothes, Huge bed and a lovely bathroom with his and her basins ,bath and shower. On patio had eating area + own jacuzzi and loungers.
The beach was a few steps away with towels and loungers readily available. The sea has a roped off area which is plenty big enough and stops the jet skiers getting too close.
We ate at the beach bar a few times and buffet breakfast was good ($22 + 10% + 8% so not cheap)
A car for a few days is useful although driving is not for the faint hearted due to hairpin bends and road conditions + local drivers !! Otherwise you are rather isolated .Rodney Bay is about 10 mins drive where there are plenty of good shops and restaurants . The first supermarket on left as you enter the shopping area has multi storey carpark and is very good so can stock up fridge and freezer There used to be a hotel shuttle bus which has now been stopped so taxi the only other option and costs about $12 each way.
Serenity Vacations and Tours do some interesting trips around the island and are excellent
Sunsets are amazing always at 6.05 be ready with your camera!
Reception staff and housekeeping are all pleasant and very helpful . Sheryl who was on beach bar /beach duty was very helpful. At the Managers Cocktail party (every Tuesday evening) we met Xavier , Food Manager who was very friendly and helpful .
Do the walk to Pigeon Island, a St Lucia National Trust landmark ,and visit the fort at the top where the views are brilliant
Mosquito spray an essential item!
There is a Spa but quite expensive
Phase 4 is under construction so be prepared for building noise during the day
The only disadvantage is the long and very windy journey to get there from the airport about 1 and 1/2 hours !
All in all a lovely place to spend 2 weeks enjoying the sunshine!

Room Tip: Near the marina is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you. We too think that The Landings is the "perfect place to really unwind" and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thank you also for mentioning several of our associates. We always enjoy sharing these. Just a quick note about the construction comment. We have one Villa at the furthest point away from us which has some works going on during mid-day hours. This should be complete within a week or so. After that, nothing but serenity. Thank you again for staying with us and for helping tell the world about us. Best regards and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.