We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful vacation at the The Landings. My family consisted of my husband and two kids (ages 8 & 10), my parents, and my aunt. When we arrived to the hotel we were shown to our 3 bedroom harbor view condo which was beautiful and as promised they had all our groceries stocked for us which we ordered before we got there. This is a great benefit! Our room was located close to the lobby which gave us quick access to the fitness room and shuttle service. It was a bit of walk to the pools and beaches, but honestly did not mind since it is a beautiful walk through the marina looking at all the great boats. They also provide a golf cart from the lobby if you don't want to walk to the restaurants and beach.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous and you can get a chair without having to get to the beach at the crack of dawn to save a chair like some other resorts. They will also put an umbrella out for you wherever you sit. We did some great snorkeling right off the beach near the rocks and saw thousands of tropical fish!! Between the pool and the beach the kids has a great time swimming in both places.

Pigeon Island is a great spot to visit for a hike and/or visit. We all walked there from The Landings and toured the place. My mother and aunt decided against the hike since my aunt is 80 and has a bad knee. The hike to both of the peaks is a must do - the hike to Fort Rodney is easier and just an upward slope with some steps, but the other peak has an easy to moderate climb. Both have great views at the top. The Jambe de Boise restaurant on the Island is a great little restaurant on the water with affordable, good food and nice cold Pitons!

We also had many meals at the Beach Club Restaurant at The Landings which we all thought had great food. We thoroughly enjoyed the Beach BBQ night where they had dancers, fire eating show, and limbo which the kids really had fun with.

Those are the positive features of the resort. A few things that would have made our trip perfect was a working elevator in our unit. It was very strenuous for my 80 year old aunt with a bad knee to walk up and down the stairs. We told them about the elevator and said they would work on it, but never was fixed. Another problem we had was the toilet in the master bedroom which we requested to fix because it would not flush so my dad had to fill the tank in the back each time. We called a few times but that was not fixed either.

Lastly, a few recommendations I would have for the resort is to have a lobby type shop where you can get basic foods, snacks, souvenirs, local products, etc. It would not have been bad if they still offered the free shuttle service to Rodney Bay (a 5-10 minute drive), but to have to pay $30.00 round trip for a liter of milk seemed outrageous. Last recommendation would be to have more waiters on service at the pool and beach to take drink orders. We waited and waited, but instead went up to the bar to get our drinks every day. I believe the resort could make much more money and have satisfied customers with just simple drink orders.

All this being said I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Landings. Stocking our villas with your pre-ordered goods is just one of many Landings services. Thank you for writing about it. Glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurants and theme nights too! Sorry that the elevator wasn't working. We agree that it isn't acceptable. You are also correct that we need a gift shop. We are renovating the space and expect to have it open and stocked within a couple months. Thank you again for your thorough review. It is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    100
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
199
158
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hello!

We just returned from a lovely week long stay at the Landings. The hotel itself it beautiful and the hotel staff is very professional. Upon check-in we where given a room that was already occupied but we where shortly given another un-occupied room. Although we paid for a beach front room we were given a beach view room (which was fine). Our apartment was two bedrooms, three baths, washer/ dyer and kitchen. During our stay we booked a massage which was really nice.

Recommendations for the Landings - I suggest you invest in an employee that knows the Island well. We asked several employees for recommendations on Restaurants, Climbing the Pitons, Snorkeling, Etc and no one seemed to know any information. Having someone work at the information desk who knows the island well and can provide information would be a great asset to The Landings.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us, and for your comments to. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your comments about our Concierge services. We have made some changes to how we communicate and book excursions and restaurants and I am confidant that information is now better available to our guests. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This review is a little coloured as we were upgraded from a one bedroomed ground floor apartment to a three bedroomed second floor one bigger than our home in England!!
The location first: the properties in lovely grounds, surround a smart marina or are on the private beach overlooking the beautiful Rodney Bay. The Beach Restaurant is as it says on the beach and open air, food is good if rather expensive, service throughout the resort is excellent and genuine. You can walk through the neighbouring Sandals resort to Pigeon Island (a lovely St Lucia Nat. Trust property).
The apartment (521): incredibly spacious, clean, with all the facilities you could imagine, a large balcony with hot tub overlooking the marina, peaceful to sit out on and a smaller front balcony as an alternative view for the evenings.
The beach: plenty of umbrellas and loungers, safe swimming, fish in abundance near the rocks, ideal for snorkelling (even better on Pigeon Island), plenty to see in the bay using kayaks if you wish.
Only negative was the distance to shops and restaurants. It's not practical to walk to Rodney Bay where there are plenty of both and a taxi is essential (£10 each way).
Having seen a few other resorts & hotels on St Lucia can really recommend The Landings.

Room Tip: Try the Jambe de Bois restaurant on Pigeon Island - superb food and much cheaper. Go for an all inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our "exceptional" service and facility. We understand about the travel to Rodney Bay and restaurants. Our location is on probably the best beach in St. Lucia. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from a much-too-short stay at The Landings in St. Lucia with my family of 5. This is a really great place! The rooms are enormous, and all have beautiful water views. We had two bedrooms and three bathrooms in our unit, as well as a living room and kitchen. We also had a hot tub on our balcony that we enjoyed every night before bed. The employees at the property are incredibly friendly and helpful.

This is not an all-inclusive, which has huge benefits. First, it is not crowded. That means you do not have to wake up at the crack of dawn to stake out a spot at the beach or pool. Second, the food at the on-site restaurants is excellent because they are competing for your business. We ate quite a few meals at the Beach Club restaurant. The roti (ask for the fish version, which is not on the menu) and risotto are particularly excellent. Just don't expect fast service...the restaurants operate on island time.

A few additional tips...

1) For breakfast, there is a great local bakery a short 15 minute walk from the property. Just walk out the main gate toward the main road, make a right, and look for the sign for the French bakery. It's one block off the main road in a tiny little shop. We had fresh crossiants, chocolate crossiants, muffins and sticky buns. All were excellent, and much less expensive (and more authentic) than eating at The Landings restaurant.

2) You absolutely must stop along the side of the road and try a fresh coconut. They cost $1 apiece. First, they cut a hole in the top and hand it to you to to drink the coconut water. When you are done drinking, you hand the coconut back to the vendor and they cut it in half. The coconut meat inside has the consistency of jelly, which you scoop out with a "spoon" they chip off from the shell. Really delicious, and a huge improvement over the rock-hard coconuts we are used to in American grocery stores.

3) Pigeon Island is an easy walk from the property and a must-do. Incredible views from the top, and you are walking in the footsteps of pirates, the British Army and later the US Army. Just a 90 minute roundtrip walk from The Landings and very well worth it.

The hotel is in northern part of the island, which is a 90 minute drive from the UVF airport. Some might consider that a drawback, but it's a beautiful drive (reminded me of the road to Hana in Maui) with great views and an opportunity to see some of the countryside.

We had a great time staying at The Landings, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Geta a room with a hot tub on the patio. Great way to end the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, but thank you mostly for selecting The Landings St. Lucia! We appreciate the detail in your evaluation of us, our villas and our food. Yes, we are in the northern part of St. Lucia and it is 90 minutes from the International airport. Note to readers - there is a local airport (George Charles) which is just 15 minutes from us. There is also helicopter service between the two airports and many of our guests use it. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I took my 12-year old son here for a long weekend. We were completely pampered. Anna greeted us by name upon arrival. The room we booked was not available the first night, and she genuinely wanted to make us feel comfortable and welcome despite the small inconvenience of having to move. It was only a 3-night trip, so this would have been a big deal, had it not been for her going out of her way to make us feel welcome and happy. She took us to a lovely 3-bedroom harbor view room with a hot tub - complete with a welcome fruit tray and cheese and cracker tray waiting for us in the fridge. Then the next day, the bellman moved us to our over-the-top wonderful beach front room on the top floor with amazing view, enormous balcony, hot tub, and sliding doors that opened up nearly every room to the ocean breeze. The staff was friendly and the food was good - particularly the lobster appetizer and surf and turf entree at the fancier restaurant. We had the majority of our meals in the casual restaurant which offered a lot more choices and a much better atmosphere. We did the all inclusive option, and there was no bill for anything upon checkout. We enjoyed the spa - but do not take the last treatment of the day as they were ready to go home and rushed us out. Next time we'll go earlier to stay a bit longer. The massage treatment was excellent. The beach at this resort is very clean - no rocks or grass or anything anywhere. You can enjoy it like a swimming pool - day or night - and not worry about stepping on anything but smooth sand. It was an awesome trip - worth the journey even though we were only there 3 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words about our associates. We are so pleased that you and your son had a lovely stay. We always enjoy hearing when a particular associate went above and beyond, so we will be sure to pass accolades to Anna. Thanks also for your comments about your food experience. We think our Culinary Team is world-class. Thank you and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were there beginning of Jan. The hotel was a long drive from the hotel. Our check in was rather rocky to say the least. We were eligible for upgrade because of our package. We were shown an upgraded room, which was in a building without elevator. We decided to take it because of the view, but we were told that it would cost us extra 100+/night. After a lot of waiting and sorting out, we were given the room with no extra costs.

The beach was beautiful and quiet, it was the best part of the vacation. They had 2 restaurants, one on the beach and another at the main building. While we were there, the only restaurant that was open was the beach restaurant. We ran out of food to order because the menu was limited. The breakfast buffet was very ordinary, same food everyday. We had pineapples and melons for fruit, no island fruits. The unit we stayed at had a very nice kitchen, so we ended up cooking many meals.

There was one pool by the beach restaurant. It was a strange place for the pool because it didn't get much sun. The pool also wasn't very big (a rectangular pool) and we didn't see anyone there during our stay. The resort was more of a time share built around a marina. To get to the main building, one would have to walk along a road, which could be 5-10 min walk.

Maybe it was due to the time of year when we were there, but there was very little entertainment at night. Looking around the resort, there wasn't a lot of open space for parties, except maybe at the beach restaurant.

We would have liked to go off the resort for few meals, but the concierge didn't make it seem like it would be an easy thing to do. The resort was remote, not walking distance to any where. I think it would have been helpful if the resort could have made transportation more accessible.

Overall, it was a relaxing vacation without a lot of excitement or entertainment. My 19 year old would say it was borderline boring. The staff was very nice and our unit was cleaned well. It is a nice place if you have young children.

Room Tip: Beach front room to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your comments about our restaurants and food. Sorry that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our team for their input. We have three pools (and eighty eight plunge pools) throughout our expansive resort and gardens. Our guests frequently comment about the lovely grounds. When requested, we offer rides to any area of our resort via our golf carts. Sorry again that we didn't meet your wants. We hope that you won't judge us too harshly and will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were upgraded to a three bedroom suite facing the harbor upon arrival and it was perfect. The balcony was huge and the hot tub was already warmed up and ready when we arrived. The food was a little on the high side, but it was good. We chose the breakfast inclusive plan and had a huge breakfast every morning overlooking the ocean. I agree that it is set up more like a condo complex, but I liked having the washer/dryer and full kitchen- with top of the line appliances. Rodney Bay is technically within walking distance, but it's a bit of a hike. We drove there and stocked up on snacks at the grocery store- very nice, well stocked and clean. Rodney Bay has everything from Burger King and KFC, to really nice restaurants and even a good casino (I won $200 on blackjack!) I only ate at the beachside restaurant at the Landings, but heard the nice restaurant was good. I also didn't use the spa because we were busy every day.

Room Tip: They are building more rooms on the Pigeon Island side of the resort. Those rooms are connected by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We often hear that our villas are stunning. Glad to hear that you won a little at the casino. Maybe save it for your next trip back to stay with us! Thanks again for choosing us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Cap Estate, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.