We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landings St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added The Landings St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Landings St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Toronto North
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband gave me a this vacation as a Christmas present and he never needs to give me another, he did so well with this.
The resort is about a 90 minute drive from the airport so we took a helicopter and arrived in time for cocktails!!! It was a perfect way to see the whole beauty of the island. When we arrived at the heliport, there was a driver waiting for us with the most amazing rum punch I have ever tasted. Not just a glass of it but a whole bottle for us......each.
As we drove in to the resort I could see that it was everything it professes to be on the website. The staff were so welcoming, it was like we'd come home. We had been in touch with the concierge by email and she assured us that everything we requested would be ready. She was absolutely right. Our suite was wonderful, bright, clean and well appointed with a view that we never tired of. We had a sunset view over the marina and we probably have a hundred pictures of it. The bed was wonderful and the bedding was high quality, a match made for comfort.
Our patio had a couple of lounges, a patio set for dining, and a hot tub.

The beach was nice, sandy and equipped with lots of lounges and umbrellas. There is a beach bar, so just put your little flag (provided at each lounge)into the sand and your wish will be granted.

We only ate at the Beach Restaraunt, part of the resort, but we enjoyed every meal we had there. We even had room service from there for which there is no extra charge as in most hotels.
There is another restaraunt in the main building but we didn't try it.Be mindful when tipping that there is an automatic 10% gratuity added to your bills.

Since all the beaches are public, you can walk in either direction and enjoy the sand between your toes. To the south was the village of Gros Islet and to the north you could walk to Pigeon Island and Fort Rodney. I am 60 and I've problems with my knees but the walk was not a problem for me.

I would not hesitate to refer this suggest to our friends a family.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach would allow sunset views. Marina views would be my next choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We can think of another present that your husband might give you - ANOTHER TRIP TO THE LANDINGS!
Thank you for telling about your experience. We also think that the helicopter and rum punch start is the best way to begin your time with us. Thank you for staying with us and thanks also for taking the time to write about it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    83
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
178
143
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The family just returned from the best vacation we have taken to date. We have only been back two days and already are figuring out how quickly we can return to the Landings. The staff was terrific and very accommodating. Manager's Reception offered an opportunity to meet the Landings Senior Staff and other guests/owners. Chef Pat and her team delivered top notch breakfast/lunch/dinner and Xavier provided a great atmosphere at the Beachside restaurant including a fantastic show put on by a fire-eating quartet. Most memorable experience and we highly recommend it to families/couples/friends.

Smith Family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
So wonderful to hear that you are already planning on coming back to The Landings. Thank you for your kind words and for calling out the names of some of our associates. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Firstly, the website perhaps is silghtly misleading, as i was expecting to be in a hotel but with condos as part of the rest of the development. when in fact if you book a beachside suite you are a considerable distance from the reception,gym and spa and fine dining restaurant.

But asides from that our suite was superb. the general finishes inside the suite are of good quality. although the TV's are a bit antiquated and the furnishings are typical bulky American style. it could do with a more Mediterranean style furniture to give it a more relaxed feel. The bathrooms are very good and are kept well stocked each day with 4 fresh bath size towels which are of good quality.
The Housekeeping staff are all lovely and are only too pleased to do anything you ask of them and the suites are kept very clean.

The terrace was a fabulous size and was a lovely area to sit and relax with obviously (if you book beach view) a wonderful view of the ocean and the beautiful vista of the St Lucian coast.

The restaurant which you use for breakfast lunch and the occasional supper is the Beach Bar. the breakfast offering is not up to 5 star standard at all,although after talking to the new manager Lyle he is fully aware of this and is looking to implement changes as i write this. lunch is a limited menu although what i ate was served by the lovely staff all with a genuine smile and a willingness to please. i feel the lunch and dinner menu and quality of the food needs bringing up a quite a notch as it didn't have that 5 star feel.

The beach is exactly what you expect lovely fine sand and the beautiful carribean sea.
there is a dinghy transfer over to Pigeon Island at your request, which is a 5 minute ride.

We ate out most nights and i can highly recommend restaurants such as the Spice of India (superb)The Cap on the rock (excellent)The Edge (lovely location) Flame of the Grill (try it on Friday party night) which is very rustic and typically local Caribbean style and one last one is Chef Xavier which is in the mall at Rodney Bay.
A small gripe is (although i didn't use it) was getting a phone call on the second day from reception to say that the hotel was stopping the free transfers into Rodney bay with immediate effect, although clearly on the website before you go it states free transfers.so instead you use the hotels taxis (albeit these guys are not employed by the hotel) but for a two mile round trip the charge is 30 dollars.
Finally the free wireless only really works in the beach bar or the reception area, so unless you have a router with you, you will not get it in the suites.
Overall i found the Landings to be a very relaxing experience although i feel that it needs a few adjustments to make it truly a 5 star venue. but i must finish by completing the lovely staff who all appear to be genuinely interested in making your stay a happy and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Book Beachside as the extra is worth it for the view.(just note its a 5 minute walk from the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your comments about our "superb suites". You mentioned some excellent Lucian restaurants and I can assure you that we are taking steps to also be the most sought after dining experience in St. Lucia. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a beautiful place. The location right on Rodney Bay is beautiful. There's a marina for the hotel, and you can have one to three bedroom places with a view of the marina or the ocean. The staff are remarkably friendly and very knowledgable. service is impeccable. It's in the North of the island, where most of the hotels are, and most of the restaurants and entertainment. The South of the island has nice accommodations, but those places are isolated and all activity is at the hotel, very little else around down there. The weather in the winter is extraordinary; hot during the day, sometimes cool at night, with NO humidity.

Food is delicious. There are two restaurants, one low key at the beach, one high-end in the main building of the hotel. There is a hot tub on every terrace of every unit.

Expense is the same as in New York, almost exactly. There is a supermarket in the Mall at Rodney Bay town, with New York prices, but also New York selections, very impressive. You can get around by taxis which the hotel and any other establishment will call for you, about $10-15 each way. Don't miss dinner at the Cap Maison hotel about ten minutes away, real 2 star Michelin fare. Prices are not outrageous.

There are a lot of families and little kids running around. I was lying at one of the two small pools one early afternoon, alone and content, when a father started wheeling his infant son around the pool deck area in a noisy plastic stroller. The area was in the shade, and he went back and forth, back and forth to get the kid to sleep. After 20 minutes, I got up and left, to the other pool area, which was occupied by three families and 4 happily-splashing kids. The beach is similarly occupied.

The hotel is a real value. Despite all the amenities, prices for the units are about half of what other high end places charge. Go figure.

It's particularly fun for families, and as a parent, I have no real complaints. However, as a place for a couple on a romatic getaway, I would look elsewhere.

The weather in the winter is extraordinary; hot during the day, sometimes cool at night, with NO humidity. The

Room Tip: One facing the ocean or marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the great review. We think you described The Landings perfectly and we appreciate all the detail. Thank you also for your kind words about our associates. We always share the feedback. One tiny little correction about our hot tubs....we have them in two-thirds of our villas, not in every villa. Also, we have three main pools: one for kids, one adult and one serenity pool. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at the Landings from January 13 through January 20, 2013. The property has great beach access and the rooms are wonderful. We had a 3-bedroom condo/villa with a harbor view. The room was in great condition. Staff were very helpful. This a great place to go if you are looking to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for helping us tell our story to the world. We always enjoy hearing great comments about our associates and our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. Beautifully designed and located, the landings is our favorite destination. Nothing to complain about, 5 stars service that will make your stay unforgettable and so pleasant!
The room is the size of a 3 bedroom apartment, impeccably decorated and clean. Premium components with a kitchen fully equipped, stunning views, ultra calm. We are looking to own a property in the near future. The best place in st Lucia by far!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. Thanks also for writing a review and mentioning our 5 star service. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Simply Beautiful St. Lucia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I just had a wonderful experience at the Landings, St Lucia, January 11 through the 17, 2013 to celebrate my wife’s birthday. The property and the staff were wonderful and we had a beautiful ocean front condo for our stay.

We found the condo was perfect with a wonderful view and location right at the beach and the Beach Club restaurant. The room was in excellent condition, beautifully appointed, and fully stocked with the essentials we needed to cook or just make coffee. During our stay the room was kept in an immaculate state.

We ended up eating most of our meals at the Beach Club restaurant at the property.. We found the breakfasts were excellent. I started out my day (every day) with a freshly made omelette, along with the fruits and other selections available – different delicacies were available on different days - it was great. The dinners were also great with a wide selection of choices ranging from fish to beef to pork. We dined at the Beach Club four out of the six nights we were on St Lucia and thought all of the meals were excellent. We had read earlier in Trip Advisor the restaurant had its downsides but we found all meals excellent. We spoke with the head of the restaurant, Xavier, who has only been there for several months and let him know the Beach Club had really “stepped up its game.”

The final thing I must let you know is that we found the staff at Landings always courteous and very helpful. As we researched places for our "Dream 2013 Vacation" we found this was always not the case for different hotels. Our interaction with the Landings staff staff started even before our visit when we emailed Wincia, the concierge, with questions before our arrival. She was back to us within 24 hours with the answers we needed to know. We met her in person at the hotel and she was very nice and once again quite helpful. The Beach Club staff were also quite wonderful, remembering us and always making sure we had our favourite table.

Room Tip: It is worth the money to get the beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
So nice to have you with us. Thank you for writing and helping to tell our story. Great to hear about how wonderful our associates were...we agree! Stay well and come back soon.
Thank you thank you thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet
Address: | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landings St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.