We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean space travel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Giorgia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gros Islet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Giorgia
Save
You added Villa Giorgia to your Saves list
Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Caribbean space travel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

This is anything but a typical holiday villa – quite unlike any other I’ve seen on the island. From a previous visit to St Lucia and studying pictures I thought I knew what to expect, but the unusual, low profile of the house didn’t prepare me for its enormous and deceptive size, emphasised by cool shades of white and grey and a simple, uncluttered interior where a family much bigger than ours could lose itself.

Contrasting, warm terracotta paving brackets the main house – in the large courtyard hidden behind an iron gate set in a rustic stone wall like the way into The Secret Garden, and along what must be the longest veranda in the Caribbean where we spent much of our time just chilling out, looking over the huge grounds and jumping into either of the pools whenever we felt like it – even in a tropical downpour!

Different birds visit through the day and in the evening bats swoop low over the pool-deck. If we looked carefully and quietly, sometimes we could spot a crab poised to retreat into its hole in the ground. Picking ripe mango and paw-paw from the laden trees is just one of many abiding memories, and finding a newly-fallen coconut definitely beats trying to win one at the fair.

The housekeeper Francesca is a star and the management company very responsive, whether to domestic enquiries or advising and booking sightseeing activities. When we didn’t stay in to enjoy a meal cooked by Francesca, all our needs were catered for in nearby Rodney Bay with its excellent restaurants and supermarkets, and almost all our wants in the capital Castries with its busy shops and enormous covered market for local produce and Caribbean crafts, about 20 minutes away.

A more challenging drive, off the good and steadily improving main roads into the hilly bits, rewarded us with stunning views of St Lucia’s mini-continent of landscapes from rain forest to volcanic peaks to rich, coastal plain. On one beach, we viewed the remains of a booster rocket, salvaged from the sea a couple of years ago!

I would recommend Villa Giorgia to any person or family group wanting a tropical island break somewhere quiet, secluded, spacious and unique yet not far from major amenities.

  • Liked — Spacious and simple in appearance but all luxuries available
  • Disliked — The access road
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Villa Giorgia welcomed us instantly. Its cool tiled floors and rapid turning ceiling fan lowered our temperature from the magnificent heat outside. The villa provided us with modern furnishings in comfortable conditions (you must try out the ice machine cocktails!). The Villa is so large, airy and spacious. For us. it felt like home away from home. We felt so comfortable, safe and extremely relaxed. One of my favourite spots was overlooking the pool and garden in the early hours of the morning whilst having breakfast on the patio... And then there is Francesca (the Housekeeper) which just tops it all off, she is brilliant. We wanted to bring her home with us!
The location… is excellent with easy access to various attractions like Pigeon Island, luxurious beaches and excellent restaurants in and around Rodney Bay… the island provides so much activity. We mingled with the locals and coated ourselves in mud from the sulphur springs, treated ourselves to the mineral baths at Diamond Falls and botanical gardens, marvelled at the dolphins swimming and playing alongside the boat and got lost in the rainforest.
We can’t end this review without mentioning the people. If any memory keeps a smile on our face it is the memory of the people. St Lucians are just so welcoming and pleasant… and to quote a favourite cocktail ‘No pressure, No problems’. Definitely one of our most enjoyable and rewarding holidays.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

We were very impressed !

I just wanted to tell everyone how much we enjoyed our stay at Villa Giorgia. The location was just perfect with the golf club only a few minutes away and close to the beaches, supermarket and restaurants in Rodney Bay.

The villa was so spacious and well equipped that we felt very much at home and are already looking forward to our next stay in the near future.

We were very impressed!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

Date: Visited February 2007

Visiting St. Lucia is an experience, with beautiful clear blue waters and incredible beaches - this island is truly a paradise.

I was welcomed with smiles and openness. The feeling was relaxed but friendly. We had so many plans, but then we fell under the spell of Villa Giorgia .

We reached the villa, and were greeted by the housekeeper Francesca - who had a big smile. As it turned out, nothing was too much trouble for her. You must try Francesca's rum punch, it is amazing!

The villa was something else. It was truly elegant, with simple clean lines throughout and simply white washed walls that allowed the beauty of the gardens with its bougainvilleas to shine.

The large pool and splash pools both were in their elements when the lights were on at night. It was all surrounded by well maintained grounds. Do look out for the humming birds.

Everything we needed was available here - so much, that it was very difficult to make the decision to go out, or simply just to relax and stay poolside!

The whole villa team was there to help and guide us, which we found great.

In addition, the villa was ideally situated if you do wish to explore.

To us, Villa Giorgia and St. Lucia meant the same things: Outstandingly beautiful, tranquil, and serene. It was, quite simply, somewhere to go and find yourself smiling and relaxing while enjoying a little bit of paradise on earth.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

My sister-in-law and I had a fantastic vacation.
Villa Giorgia was absoutley first class as was housekeeper, Francesca - also a wonderful cook. I fell in love with Villa Giorgia the moment we set foot inside...so spacious, airy, and simply decorated, so secluded and very private...ideal for swimming in the pool and sunbathing. [It is] perfectly situated in the north of the island, and is within easy reach of the majority of tourist attractions. We went on quite a few excursions arranged by Tropical Villas, the management company. Natasha was very helpful and professional at all times.

We enjoyed a boat trip down the west coast via the scenic famous Twin Pitons. We visited the beautiful Diamond Waterfalls, Botanic Gardens, had a spectacular drive in the Valcano Sulphur Springs. Marigo Bay was fun, sampling the local cuisine at a restaurant, which was excellent. Also, went
shopping in Castries to the Central Market and La Place Carenage duty-free shopping mall. [At the] only 18-hole golf course resort on the island, we had breakfast, and the food excellent... the staff were very friendly... the views were absolutely scenic, especially the houses in the hills.

The highlight of our holiday was horseback riding at Cas-en-Bas. Riding through the forested trail, via the Atlantic coast beach and riding your horse into the ocean, followed by a bar-be-que on the beach, was an experience of a lifetime and a must... We found the people of the St. Lucia to be very friendly and approachable, too. This was my second visit to this paradise island. I normally stay in a five-star hotel. After my stay at Villa
Giorgia, when I come back to St. Lucia, I will insist we stay in the same villa.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Giorgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giorgia

Address: Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villa Giorgia St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Giorgia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.