We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virgin holidays at Bay Gardens Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Gardens Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% + FREE Transfers
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Settle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Virgin holidays at Bay Gardens Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Could'nt ask for a better hotel.The rooms are clean and tidy and very spacious.All air conditioned
We stayed on room only basis which meant we could eat out at different restaurants each evening.Really good selection of eateries within walking distance

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for staying. It’s great having so many diverse options in and around the resort to enjoy. Bring the family again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    275
    42
    11
    12
See reviews for
224
494
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here on business for two days and I wanted to stay for two weeks! The location was perfect in Rodney Bay. The room was clean, spacious, had a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool, and teriffic wifi - a must for any modern traveler. The staff were all very courteous and friendly and the bar snacks were delicious - I strongly recommend the tempura vegetables, they were lightly crispy and go superbly with the fresh mango smoothie!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Pros: The cleanliness, the staff and location!
Cons: Not much! Maybe drink service out on the Beach?
Location: There are many restaurants within walking distance. Water sports are located right on the beach and the taxi to Pigeon Island is easily accessible.
My boyfriend and I stayed at BGBR Jan. 11-18 and had a very nice stay. The room was clean, bed was very comfortable, the grounds were kept immaculate, and the staff was outstanding. The only negative was the "Interval International" presentation we were roped into attending. We were told it would only take 1 1/2 hours but ended up being 2 hours out of our day, plus it was suppose to be at 9:30am but got delayed to 1045, messed up our entire morning and we were late for our massage! Other than that small bump in the road our stay was awesome and we will definitely return to BGBR! Thanks for great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for a 6 night honeymoon, purchased through our timeshare service. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was lovely and very well kept. The housekeeper even washed our dishes. We would have washed them ourselves, but didn't think to bring dish detergent. We loved the personal concierge service and this was our first time staying at a resort that offered this. Our concierge's name was Lester and he was completely professional, but also extremely friendly and helpful. If I needed anything at all, I simply called the front desk and asked for him and whatever I needed (dinner reservation, spa treatment, taxi, you-name-it) was taken care of forthwith.

The hotel restaurant had a great breakfast with English, American and traditional Caribbean items. We had dinner twice at restaurants in gros islet, ordered room service twice, ate in the restaurant once and cooked for ourselves once. We normally had lunch beach side or pool side, and twice we ventured into town and filled up on snacks and street food. My favorite restaurant was, Razmataz which was in walking distance from the hotel.

The spa was lovely and the prices were so reasonable that I visited multiple times.

The biggest con I can think of is that the beach vendors were relentless. We politely and firmly said "no thank you" sooo many times, but the guys kept bothering us. They eventually ran us off the beach. Twice we wanted to go to the beach, but didn't want to be bothered by vendors and went to the pool instead, which is a shame as we came all the way to St. Lucia specifically to experience the beautiful unspoiled beaches. Given that sunshine was scarce due to us traveling during rainy season, beach time was really at a premium and it was disappointing to not feel comfortable going to the beach. There were guards there (whose purpose I assume is to chase away the vendors), but they were also annoying, interrupting our beach time to chat up my husband for long periods (seriously, 20-30 minutes at a time) while we were trying to relax and bond. One of them asked each time he saw us throughout the week, "when are you checking out? What day? What time?" We never told him, but found it quite creepy.

The organized shuttle to the Friday Night jump up was a nice idea. We had a good time and it was a relief to know exactly how we would get home.

All in all, we would likely stay here again and would try to do so in the dry season as we had to cancel some of the day trips/excursions we had planned due to the rain. We flew into Castries, which was a short convenient drive to the hotel. We flew out of Hewanorra, which was a long windy drive which gave us both motion sickness.

Room Tip: would have loved a room facing the ocean, for a more private balcony. Ours was in full view of every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Congratulations again! Thank you for choosing us for such a special time – we’re very happy that you enjoyed it. It’s unfortunate that some of your excursions had to be cancelled, but you didn’t let it put a damper on your vacation. We would normally advise that you bring such a situation to our attention, so that we could speak with the vendor(s). You should never feel uncomfortable relaxing on the beach and we wish we had the opportunity to resolve it. As well, our security team will excuse themselves if they are asked to do so. On another note, helicopter transfers are great for anyone who wants to get across the island much quicker while experiencing some of the best views around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoy ours vacation 100%. The staffs is the best, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and welcome. We love everything about the Bay Garden. Ours room was a 4star or better. Thank for the best vacation ever. The Gibson

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having flown into Hewanorra airport in the south, the BGBR is a good 1hr 40 by steep-sided roads winding their way along to Reduit via Castries. On arrival we were greeted warmly & checked in quickly, then shown to our room. We'd booked a 1 bed suite for our 2 weeks as we like our space, and we were not disappointed - this is really good-sized, clean accommodation. Fully kitted out lounge, kitchen & dining area, with a separate cloakroom near the front door, and a large furnished balcony with a superb view over the bay. The bedroom also has plenty of space & storage, and has a huge bathroom en-suite with hairdryer & shaver socket, all toiletries supplied & bath robes. Our room was kept clean & well serviced, with various swan towels every day. Evening turndown service offered on some nights, apparently randomly! Pool/beach towels are provided & these ensure you free access to a sunlounger on the public beach.

The beach is patrolled by staff moving on any non-residents who try to take up a sunbed. There are hawkers on the beach too, mostly selling handmade goods, but they generally accept a firm polite no thank you & move on before being told to shift by the security staff. They do tend to stop by each day even though you've turned them down every day! There's a lady selling very good chicken rotis most days ecd30/usd15 for two. The beach is soft golden sand & the views are beautiful. The guests at sister properties have free access to this beach too & locals also come out in force on Sundays. The beach gets quite busy & noisy on cruise ship days, even though it was still low season when we went, and ships only 3 times a week. Not sure we'd want to see high season on the beach! Our only criticism would be the lack of parasols and the cheap beach sunbeds, which are metal-framed plastic-strapped affairs - rather uncomfortable to be on.

All the restaurants we went to were within walking distance, so no need for transport here. We ate at the Hi-Tide (burger/baguette), Fire Grill (ribs & seafood), Razmataz (curry) & Delirious (steak & chicken) - all excellent. Also Charthouse (steak) expensive for what you get, Big Chef (best steak we had & homemade cheesecake) and Spinnakers (fish) - no atmosphere here & we were harassed throughout by a cat begging for food at our table - really unpleasant, but the staff did nothing to discourage it, so they lost our vote too. Discovered Jacques on our penultimate night & decided this was the best meal we'd had in 2 weeks. Went to Buzz on our last night & enjoyed the live music (sax player) with our excellent food. Our dinners (for two people) ranged from US$38 to US$140 including drinks, taxes & service. Most places auto add at least 10% service to your bill. The Hi-Tide has a themed menu which changes each night, but if you want something more casual just ask for the All Day menu. Breakfasts are US$23pp. There is entertainment some nights, like steel bands & karaoke - probably gets better in high season - and on our first Saturday the Hi-Tide was closed for a wedding reception. The piano bar is a great place to stop by after dinner - GBP£8-9 for two spirits with mixer.

The hotel runs a free shuttle hourly into Rodney Bay, about 5 minutes by bus, perfect for catching back with your shopping. It runs through the evening too so you can catch it to / from dinner if you want, and it goes via the BG Hotel & Inn (neither of which to be confused with Beach Resort). Taxi is US$7 / EC20 one way. Friday night's Jump Up in Gros Islet is good fun, inexpensive night out - US$10pp for the return fare. We took the water taxi to Pigeon Island US$15pp round trip. We were told US$12 each way for road taxi. US$6pp entry fee on arrival which allows you to stay all day & explore the island. We spent a couple of hours snorkelling & felt it was worth the trip for that - the hotel's bay is sand, so no reef & due to the volume & speed of motorised traffic outside of the marked swimming areas, we did not feel it a worthy risk to try snorkelling further out. The breakwater rocks do provide somewhere to snorkel with marine life to see but the vis gets stirred quite easily.

Within the grounds there's also a small room which houses a 'library' with books left by other guests, various leaflets (excursions etc.), and free internet access. Plus the freshwater pool and the spa which we didn't use - GBP£44 for 30 min massage unless you catch it when they've got an offer on. We found all the staff and the locals we met friendly & cheerful. It rained 12 of our 14 days but not for long, although quite heavy showers.

UK travellers *Note* We were disappointed to be told on our last night that no courtesy changing room would be made available to us on our departure date. We understand this is courtesy not guaranteed & although US$60 charge for late check-out (standard here is 11am) they wouldn't let us keep our room for a couple of hours either, which meant we had 5 hours to hang around with nowhere to go until our airport transfer bus turned up. Maybe it was their attempt to get us into the Hi-Tide for a long lunch... That's when we found out there's no air-con in any of the hotel's public areas either, except the internet kiosk, so baking hot in travelling clothes. Really poor show to end what had been an otherwise excellent holiday in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We've recently returned from a lovely 10 days in this friendly hotel in a great location. Our room was very clean and well equipped for a 4 star hotel, and had beautiful views of Rodney Bay from our balcony. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a good experience, and especially Cheryl the deputy General Manager, and the Spa staff. The hotel is located at the quieter end of Reduit Beach which suited us well, especially as the beach can get busy when cruise ships are in. There is also an attractive pool and jacuzzi in the hotel gardens. We partly chose the hotel because it is in walking distance of great restaurants and we weren't disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We’re very happy that you were not disappointed. Our location is a great one, as there’s so much to do in Rodney Bay. Come back for another 10 days...or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.