We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Gardens Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off + Airport Shuttle
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Gros Islet
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a really great hotel, Right on the reduit beach so you can swim in pool or in the sea...

Has a lovely swimming pool and bars so perfect for all your needs.

All staff extremely friendly and helpful, Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    294
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
239
517
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our week at Bay Gardens Beach Resort went all too quickly. We loved the location which was adjacent to the beautiful beach and was also convenient for shopping in Rodney Bay. Without exception the staff were friendly and helpful. Problems were dealt with quickly and efficiently. For instance, when we mentioned to reception that the sliding wardrobe doors didn't work, someone arrived at our room within five minutes. By the time we returned from the beach the faulty track was gone, the doors had hinges and handles and the frame had been repainted! We were astonished at the level of service we received. We had no other complaints about our room. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and had lovely views towards Pigeon Island. The housekeeping staff kept it immaculate.

We chose the all-inclusive meal option which we thought represented great value for money. We enjoyed both restaurants but Trio's was our favourite because it was quieter. The food was delicious and well-presented. All the staff went out of their way to make my birthday meal enjoyable and memorable. The attention to detail was amazing. We felt that everyone in the place enjoyed their job and wanted only to make the guests feel that they mattered.

Given the chance, we would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, avoid rooms that overlook the pool and bar areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our second trip back to St. Lucia and stay at this small, intimate resort. Close enough to Rodney Bay, shopping and dining. Far enough to be away from crowds. Fabulous location, awesome beach with great views of the anchored yachts and sailboats. Stunning sunsets! Beach is not too crowded with adequate security. Thanks to Margaret and Joseph for being so approachable and friendly. Wonderful massage on the beach from the spa ladies listening to the waves......how relaxing! Don't miss out on beach vendor food. The BEST roti and chicken patties in the world are available from Shirley. Made fresh everyday! Not only are they tasty but also reasonably priced. Highly recommend as a quiet, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing us a second time around. It’s great hearing just how much you enjoyed your stay and we’re hoping that we will see you again for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We've just returned from a week at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort and had an excellent time.

However, where it not for the location on a fantastic beach, we were likely to have been disappointed. The hotel could definitely do with a spruce up - the beds were hideously uncomfortable (far too soft and saggy), the a/c, safe and toilet in our room all broke at some point (though they were quickly fixed by the excellent maintenance team) and the two restaurants on site (Trios and the beach bar) were both poor, Trios especially.

Saying that, however, the location is superb and you're not more than 20 metres from one of the best beaches in St Lucia. Rodney Bay is an excellent location with plenty of shops, though try and eat at the local places, not the over-priced international restaurants.

Unfortunately, I suspect the hotel is resting on its location laurels somewhat, but what a location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time out to leave a review. While we certainly do enjoy a wonderful location, we’re definitely much more than a great location. The hotel is rated as a 4 star property and we’ve done quite a bit to ensure that it keeps its rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I have just spent two weeks at the BGBR and throughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel.

Unlike some of the completely over the top (single poster) reviews, I would like to post a more objective report.

The pros

Our Ocean view suite was clean, spacious and nicely furnished. The view was obstructed by trees, I would recommend the top floor rooms and suites for a better view.

The staff are really excellent, friendly, well mannered and good fun to be with.

BGBR is attractive and well designed and deserves it's four star rating. The pool is clean and the gardens well attended. The security seems good at all times.

The cons

The Hi Tide restaurant was a disappointment, the food is very average and lacks imagination. Most guests dine outside the hotel at night. The service is very hit and miss, no one seems in charge. The 'specials' remained unchanged for the whole two weeks. The hotel is missing a big opportunity and needs to get it right. These views were shared with many of the other guests we met.

Getting a simple drink from the bar takes forever with all the receipts having to go to a central cashier where they are hand written and bought back for signing. There must be a better system.

The beach is very nice but is dominated by the two Rex Resort Hotels which cover around 80% of the beach. The BGBR end is quieter but you will be sharing the beds with guests from the other two Bay View Resorts. The beach is also very popular with the cruise ships, when they are in port they bus their passengers up to the beach (which is most days).

Would we return, definitely as the BGBR offers great accommodation at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor for ocean views as the first and ground floor are obstructed by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving your honest views on our property. We’ve taken steps to liven up our offerings over at Hi Tide restaurant and developed theme nights to offer our guests some fun dining options. We’ll also take a second look at ways we can improve on them. We generally enjoy the quieter end of the beach, as you mentioned.
We would be happy to have you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was the second trip for us and we were not let down. The complex is wonderful and the staff is amazing. From the grounds keepers to the hotel staff the experience was amazing. We especially enjoyed our morning chat with Margaret and Joseph to get the skinny to start our day on the beach. Loved the roti from Shirley and the meat patties she has such great food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
A second trip means you’re definitely part of our family. Thank you for staying with us again and for your very kind words. We hope visit number three is going to be sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for a week and loved it. Nice hotel. Very clean. The staff is absolutely the best. Anything you want to do just tell them and they will make it happen. Penny helped us with taxis, restaurant reservations, excursions etc. She was excellent! Hotel has a travel desk where you can book your excursions. The pool was very nice. The beach was very nice. An easy walk to shops, restaurants, supermarket and nightclubs. We didn't try Trios, but the Hi-tide restaurant by the pool has very good food and will serve you on the beach. One warning, there are several resident cats. We were on the second floor, but you may have to share your patio with them if you are on the first floor. Definitely recommend this hotel. When we go back to St Lucia, we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room near the road and would hear some noise early in the morning when the mainte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving this very kind review. On your next visit, Trios should definitely be on your list for your next stay, we highly recommend it. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;