We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 year Wedding Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Gardens Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“20 year Wedding Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location to experience St. Lucia. Staff is very helpful and friendly. We stayed for a week and went on 4 excursions that were arranged by the hotel. Food was OK and service was slow for the amount of people staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor for the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We’ve taken note of your feedback on our service and we will continue to work on improving our efficiency in service delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    326
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
252
565
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bay Gardens Beach Resort for 3 nights at the end of October 2012 for the start of our honeymoon prior to moving down to Jalousie Plantation (also reviewed). Upon arrival we were given a refreshing rum punch and were given a quick orientation. We stayed in a 3rd floor end unit beachfront room, which while basic, was spacious and clean and provided us with lovely unobstructed views of Reduit Beach. The only issue with the room itself was a slightly leakly AC unit that would leave a little puddle on the floor near the closet. This didn't really bother us much though. Slightly bothersome though, was that all rooms were bulilt to be cojoined, so the interior doors to rooms next store serve to easily allow noise to travel into your room. Breakfast, which we had included as part of a Fall promotion, was buffet style and was adequate for us, though nothing special. For dinner, its easy to walk a few blocks off property to a good selection of Rodney Bay restaurants, or down the beach to Spinnakers. The beach itself is very pretty, well maintained and is long for St. Lucia. The pool area seemed nice but we hardly spent any time there since we were mostly on the beach. Most employees we encountered were very friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and were happy to kick-off our honeymoon here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Congratulations again on your wedding! It pleases us that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. On rare occasions, condensation occurs due to temperature changes and this leads to the sort of leak you mentioned. Hopefully, you reported it so that our capable Maintenance team got a chance to fix the issue for you. In future, I’d like to recommend our very own Trios restaurant – one of the best dining options in Rodney Bay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Most people assume that a holiday in the Caribbean would be best enjoyed at an All Inclusive resort. This hotel and resort is the best possible location if like us you prefer freedom to explore, and if you want a wide choice of dining options. From arrival, the staff at Bay Gardens Beach Resort were helpful, professional, and friendly, whilst leaving you to get on with your holiday at a leisurely pace. There are entertainment and activities if you want them, and if not, no pressure.
The room was excellent. We had a deluxe pool view room on the second floor, which gave us a view of the pool and the sea - best of both. The room was a great size and had everything you need, in-room safe, fridge, iron and board, brolly (didn't need it), British sockets. We had a look at a suite on the last day and it was even better for a bigger family. We ate at two of the hotel's establshments, Hi Tide (on the Caribbean buffet night) and Trio's next door. We really enjoyed Trios. Chef Ian served up amazing food, and explained the interesting menu to us before making our choice. The atmosphere was perfect, just what someone coming to St Lucia would want.
From what we could see when we picked up holidaymakers from other hotels on our way to a trip, the Rodney Bay location is the best you could ask for, with enough restaurants to eat somewhere different for a month. There are even two American style shopping malls (smaller versions). The beachfront location of Bay Gardens was also perfect. The pool is great quality and beautiful, however we found it very hot there and preferred the beach with the cool breeze. The beach itself is excellent. Its never crowded and the vendors are no trouble at all. If you make friends with them and buy a couple of trinkets at the start, you will have no trouble. There is a lady on the beach called Elizabeth who sells lunch and you can get a roti (wrap with chicken, or saltfish, or vegetable), cakes, drinks, etc. All reasonably priced and tasty.
I would thorougly recommend Bay Gardens Beach Resort for a trip to St Lucia, it was the best decision we made. Everyone we spoke to agreed.
Huge thanks to the management for a wonderful holiday. Any small issues, and they were very small, were dealt with professionally and promptly. Also thanks to Peggy, the Virgin rep who was very helpful and professional, and like everyone in St Lucia, so friendly. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 709. Top floor and at a corner which allowed views of pool, sea and backwards to the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First the bad, or rather not so good.

Service in the bar and Hi Tide restaurant is very slow and not that great. Everything has a service charge added on to it and in what seems to be an employment creation scheme. The person who serves you your drink is not the person you pay. It is someone else who sits beside the till.

Very slow service as I have said. There is only one blender for cocktails in the whole property and it is moved to the bar area of the restaurant at the start of happy hour at 1730 (5.30pm for our American cousins). The only draught beer pump is also at that bar which closes at 1830 after happy hour.

Breakfast is pretty rubbish. Cold pancakes, lukewarm sausages and over cooked streaky bacon the coffee is terrible.

There is free wifi everywhere, however you will need the password and it is not very fast and prone to dropping out.

There is a policy of only serving drinks in plastic cups at the pool for safety. But several people were observed bringing bottles down from their rooms and drinking out of those glass bottles at the pool.

There seems to be some crazy music policy where annoying loud music is played at the bar every night. As soon as the steel band at happy hour on a Monday finishes on goes the loud CD player


The good.

It's a nice place. The food at the Hi Tide restaurant was very good. If a little overpriced.

The pool area is lovely except when they have stupid water jets that point into the pool on. If you are sitting next to one your stuff gets soaked.

There is a great bar next door called Spinnakers. Go there for sundowners! Beer comes in proper glasses and cocktails are 2 for 1 from 1700 to 1800.

Supermarket is ten minutes away. Buy booze there.

Rooms are nice and clean. One bedroom suite came with full kitchen, ideal for cooking on nights that you can't be bothered eating out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
The service charge of 10% is standard across St. Lucia’s tourist industry and is not controlled by individual companies, but is nationally imposed. We’re constantly working on improving our service delivery.
We’ve added additional blenders in our bars. You will be pleased to know that our wifi has been upgraded and is quicker and more reliable. Cold/lukewarm breakfast is not our standard and is not commonplace.
We hope that you will stay with us again to see the updates we’ve made since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was upgraded to a one bedroom suite. It was great!
We stayed there Oct 18 to 25, 2012
Can't wait to go back.
Highly recommend this place.
Weather was great, beach was beautiful, pool was great as well.
The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful.
St. Albert, Alberta

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We’re happy you loved your room.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRINGFIELD
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family had two suites. The staff was amazing! They were very courteous and did everything they could to be helpful. The pool was perfect for our children, there was a ledge for little ones or if we wanted to sit in the water. The circular pool was about 4.6' which was perfect for our children to swim in. The hot tub (for adults only) was hot and had great jets. The ocean was also at our doorstep. Nice beach, with gradual drop off. Life jackets were complimentary for use on the water trampoline. A swimming area was clearly marked. Small shells could be gathered. No seaweed and mild tides made swimming more enjoyable. Bring lots of sunscreen and reapply often! Lounges are complimentary. Beach towels are in the rooms. The kitchens were stocked with cooking utensils, groceries were near. Coffee, shampoo, soap, etc. are replenished. There are two washing machines and dryers, see main desk for 75 cent token to run the washing machines. A shuttle bus ran almost hourly to the bay gardens hotel, which was close to the grocery stores, this would make grocery shopping possible without having a car. I didn't do well driving! The roads are challenging, I would NOT recommend driving. St. Lucia has very few road signs!! Restaurants are in walking distance, expect pricy menus. There was one US compatible outlet in each kitchen, so we could recharge our electronics. Wifi was available in the rooms and on the beach. The sun was up by 6am and it was dark around 7:30. It was about two hours from the southern airport. My credit card had a service charge each time I used it, didn't expect that. Great place to visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for leaving this honest feedback. It makes us very happy when our guests fully enjoy their vacations. You covered quite a bit in your review, and we hope that you got a chance to dine at Trios, our Caribbean-Asian fusion restaurant – it’s definitely a highlight of our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having got married in St Lucia in 1994 we had made the decision to come back to celebrate our 18th anniversary and bring our 2 sons with us. We could not have asked more of the Bay Gardens Resort who made this such a memorable holiday for all of us. Thanks to Penny for the champagne in our room, to Ali in keeping the Piton flowing, to Jackie 1 and Jackie 2 at the front desk, to Nadia at the Spa for my pedicure. Loved the Manager's cocktail party and meeting the manager herself. Be warned - we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you for giving us the chance to make this very special occasion a fantastic one for you. Our team members are always happy to help! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.