We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential but needs an upgrade - OK if you don't mind roughing it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stephanie's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stephanie's Hotel to your Saves list
Stephanie's Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massade | P O Box 497, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Barbados
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Has potential but needs an upgrade - OK if you don't mind roughing it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This small hotel is located in an area where the immediate view is the backyard of the neighbors. That said if you look further you can enjoy the beautiful hills of
St. Lucia.

However, on arrival I was turned off by the shabby looking area allocated for Reception. What was even more amazing was the fact that the check in was archaic...writing in books.

Up to the room and very basic. While I can do basic, fittings were old, tiles were chipped and the bathroom looked to be done by an amateur. I also found the linens to be very thin. Some of the lights didn't work.

Nevertheless, I made the best of the situation and after the room was cleaned, it seemed a tad more bearable.

In terms of the area, local restaurants (nothing fancy) abound and public transportation is close by.

The happening place in St. Lucia is Rodney Bay...a short ride away. Plenty of restaurants, beach, supermarket and many other hotel options. For local food, try The Triangle...lunch there was great.

Stephanie's is not my choice for a holiday but if you're on a budget and just looking for a place to sleep, it's an option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. since then we have undertaken new management as well as major renovations fitted for comfort and high quality for all guests. We look forward to your future stays here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My best friend and I took a 7 day trip to st.Lucia to stay with a friend but on arrival we were very disappointed with the accommodation arrangement. with not much money in our buget we were faced with a problem,another friend recommended Stephanie's and it saved the rest of our vacation.
The rate was well within our small budget, the location was ideal for us 2 ladies to get around on our own, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the room we got was perfect for the two of us.
The rest of our trip was grrreeeaaaat.
Thank you Stephanie's

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are more than happy to be the ones who saved your trip and we were even more elated to have you guys spending your vacation here. We eagerly await your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Service was friendly and room was nice and clean. There was a plumbing problem in the first room we stayed in and had to be moved to another room not quite as nice. However, a few months upon staying here I recieved 2 very large charges on the same credit card I used to pay when I was there. Although the charges were reversed (taken care of by my bank) I still wonder about the charges and the legitamacy of the business.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Changing rooms to one we didnt request
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and your family. This isolated incident was due to a faulty credit card machine, which was immediately replaced when the defect was realized. We are a business built on integrity and would never jeopardize our reputation. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

I am a World Traveler . I stayed at Stephanie's Hotel in 2005.

I would recommend Stephanie's to anyone for it's well kept rooms and the friendly service from all the staff.
I felt like I was at home and I will return in 2007 for the World Cup Cricket. I cannot wait to go back and spend some time @ Stephanie's for it was clean and the service was like a 5 star hotel. I have recommended this to my friend's & we will be staying there this year 2007, Just to enjoy the comfort's of a home away from home with Stephanie and her gracious staff that were very accommadating while I was on vacation.

Thank-you,

D. Smith,
Ont. Canada

  • Liked — clean and great staff
  • Disliked — no inground pool
  • Tips/Secrets — book ahead of time
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're elated that you enjoyed your stay here and we will continue providing our 5 star service to make everyone's stay a great one. We anxiously await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Vincent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

I Have Stayed at the Stephanie`s Hotel on Many occassion and recently stayed their in October and i have no regret and would recommend the hotel for your next Vacation to Saint Lucia ,the Staff is the best in the world the hotel is cozy quiet and full of fun excitement and Clean

Asberth Williams St Vincent

  • Liked — The Rooms and the Food and the Staff
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you continue to enjoy your stay here. Looking forward to your many visits to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

I visited Stephanie's Hotel in 2005 it's perfect We had a wonderful time there. Stephanie and her staff makes you feel welcome and at home. The hotel is always clean and comfortable. I had such a wonderful time that I had to returned
in July 2006. Stephanie and her staff are such wonderful people. You know what ? I will be back there with a team in a few monthsThumbs up to Stephanie and her staff. I would'nt stay anywhere else in St Lucia, but at Stephanie's Hotel.

I wish you and your staff God's blessing through out the year.
I love you all Happy New Year.

  • Liked — Friendly and pleasent staff and it was very comfortable Transportaation was on time.
  • Disliked — nil
  • Tips/Secrets — If you visit Stephanie's Hotel you would'nt regret yout stay. you will go again.
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we to enjoyed having you. We look forward to your many visits in the future. God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

I stayed at Stephanie's Hotel in April 2006 and I would not recommend it to any one. They organised the pick up from the airport and the transportation was one of the route taxis which you would take from town to your destination. I had to shower in cold water during my stay there. I told this to the receptionist who said she would have a Plumber come in and fix the problem.... this never happened and neither was I offered an alternative room. The microwave in the room was not working...the staff were not very helpful. The restaurant - Pie Pie the food was not very appealing to the eye.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at the time. Since then the hotel has been under new management and hence a lot has changed, enabling you to have a much better experience. We look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stephanie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie's Hotel

Address: Massade | P O Box 497, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stephanie's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stephanie's is a small hotel situated in the Rodney Bay Gros Islet strategically located in the north of the island, the home of St. Lucia's premier nightclubs , sports bar and popular restaurants . We are in the heart of all major activities and attractions and only walking distance to all venues such as :- shopping Centres, night clubs, restaurants, Gros Islet Friday night street Party, Historic Fort Rodney at Pigeon Island (home of the Jazz Festival) The Rodney Bay Marina (where the Atlantic Rally for Cruisers culminates) perfect for a stay ashore while hauling your boat in the Rodney Bay Marina, beaches, churches , the Beasejour Cricket Stadium, Car Rentals, Medical Center and the Fire and Gros Islet Police Station 15 minutes drive from the George F.L Charles Air port and 90 minutes drive from Hewanorra International Air port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Stephanie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanies Hotel Gros Islet
Stephanie's Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stephanie's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.