We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & safe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stephanie's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stephanie's Hotel to your Saves list
Stephanie's Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massade | P O Box 497, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location & safe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

As a solo traveler who stays off the beaten path, this hotel was a suitable stay within my budget. Although a hot shower is a trickle, I have real no complaints. If you're seeking a resort experience, try Sandals. If you need a safe place to sleep 7 hrs and a great location to walk to the Marina for breakfast or drinks, the Friday night street dance, or easy bus access to Castries or Rodney Bay, I really found it accessible and authentic. I also enjoyed waking up dancing to music tunes from neighbouring houses and one morning, steel drums! The staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and comments. We sincerely apologize for the trickle in the shower, which was due to a faulty pump that has been rectified. We assure you that all is good and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
castries
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My little stay at Stephanie's hotel was just a disaster. Employees doing inappropriate flirting with guess and always seem to be on a social network. My room's a/c was not working,not enough hot water had to shower with really cold water, my room smelt of wet paint still. Though the place looks nice on the outside, well up to date but the rooms still need work.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. During your stay you were informed that we were under major renovations and you proceeded to accept the room at a discounted rate under said conditions. While we apologize for the conditions faced during the renovations, which you chose to endure, we find that you have exaggerated on the quality of the rooms. We are not aware of any staff and guests flirting or staff being on social media and we have never gotten such a complaint before but we have alerted our staff as to your complaints. We urge you to come visit us to prove to yourself that our rooms are of a higher standard after the renovations. Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't know if there is preference for non-locals, but as a local who came from a different part of the island and needed a place to stay, I was appalled. The room smelled bad. There was gum on the door..and on the wall..and under the light switch. Are you kidding me? The bed sheets were ridiculously thin and one of the sheets had a stain. The one table we were given was broken and leaned over. I even found some random hairs from previous guests in the bed. To add to that...the bathroom light did not work. The bin had not been emptied by whoever used it last. Honestly, I wish I was making any of this up. It was very disappointing, especially knowing that there are other more inviting guest houses available for less money than I paid for this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your response. We admit that there was a rust spot on the sheet from the laundry which should not have been used as bedding and we humbly apologize to you and changed the sheets immediately. Although we gave you a discount, you refused to pay for the room. The rest of your concerns, we are not aware of and they were never brought to our attention. Therefore, we regard your complaint as pure exaggeration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Stephanie's for one night - the hotel is very dated, it needs a lot of upgrading. We didn't have any hot water so we had to shower in icy cold water. The next morning when we were checking out, the young man who apparently mopped the floor was very annoyed because we had to walk on the floor to exit the building and he made it known to us that he was very annoyed by pointing out to us that we had made a mess. When we said "good morning" he didn't even respond. Mrs. Caulderon was very pleasant and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We would firstly like to apologize for the uncomfortable situation you were placed in and reassure you that this person had their socks pulled up, figuratively speaking. Since then we have improved the quality of our facility to ensure every guest is comfortable and 100% satisfied. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a good time at Stephanie's.

The hotel is clean staff very friendly. I feel at home . It is mainly a family ran hotel. Johanna, Jonathan and mrs. Stephanie make you feel welcome and homely. I made lots of friends in st.lucia not luxury hotel but if you are looking for a clean, friendly, homely and economic place to suit your budget Stephanie is the best place for you. What makes it special is the fact it is by the bus stop minutes walk to all major activities. Open all night with security personnel. I felt safe and secure at Stephanie.

Room Tip: I stayed in 326
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. We're looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Francois, Martinique
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

This place has its ups and downs. It is in a real neighborhood as opposed to the tourist strip. Walking distance to the Jump Up party on Friday night. 15-20 Minute walk to Rodney Bay, THE place to be after sunset. Staff was mostly friendly. That said, it's not really that nice, equipment is kinda old, and one of the windows in the room didn't open (the room has AC but I am a windows open guy), and there was a leak in one of the walls on the side. The beds were basic but I found them very comfortable. For a group of 3 young guys (<25) looking to party it was fine, but there are other places in the area close by, and I would give them a shot first before going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do apologize for any discomfort you may have had during your stay and would like to inform you that since then we have undertaken major renovations and are under new management,seeking mainly to provide full customer satisfaction. We await your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This small hotel is located in an area where the immediate view is the backyard of the neighbors. That said if you look further you can enjoy the beautiful hills of
St. Lucia.

However, on arrival I was turned off by the shabby looking area allocated for Reception. What was even more amazing was the fact that the check in was archaic...writing in books.

Up to the room and very basic. While I can do basic, fittings were old, tiles were chipped and the bathroom looked to be done by an amateur. I also found the linens to be very thin. Some of the lights didn't work.

Nevertheless, I made the best of the situation and after the room was cleaned, it seemed a tad more bearable.

In terms of the area, local restaurants (nothing fancy) abound and public transportation is close by.

The happening place in St. Lucia is Rodney Bay...a short ride away. Plenty of restaurants, beach, supermarket and many other hotel options. For local food, try The Triangle...lunch there was great.

Stephanie's is not my choice for a holiday but if you're on a budget and just looking for a place to sleep, it's an option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanies_Hotel, Owner at Stephanie's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. since then we have undertaken new management as well as major renovations fitted for comfort and high quality for all guests. We look forward to your future stays here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stephanie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie's Hotel

Address: Massade | P O Box 497, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stephanie's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stephanie's is a small hotel situated in the Rodney Bay Gros Islet strategically located in the north of the island, the home of St. Lucia's premier nightclubs , sports bar and popular restaurants . We are in the heart of all major activities and attractions and only walking distance to all venues such as :- shopping Centres, night clubs, restaurants, Gros Islet Friday night street Party, Historic Fort Rodney at Pigeon Island (home of the Jazz Festival) The Rodney Bay Marina (where the Atlantic Rally for Cruisers culminates) perfect for a stay ashore while hauling your boat in the Rodney Bay Marina, beaches, churches , the Beasejour Cricket Stadium, Car Rentals, Medical Center and the Fire and Gros Islet Police Station 15 minutes drive from the George F.L Charles Air port and 90 minutes drive from Hewanorra International Air port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Stephanie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanies Hotel Gros Islet
Stephanie's Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stephanie's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.