We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home away from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Springs Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gros Islet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Springs Villa
Save
You added Four Springs Villa to your Saves list
Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had the privilege of spending my St. Lucian experience at this location. It was a great alternative to pricey villas. It's very affordable and very laid back. Great location near a prime tourist spot. You must visit the Marina. They have some great burgers there. Also not far from the main town and the smaller airport. Great for if you want to go island hopping. There isn't a 5-star turn down service, but that's not what you're paying for after all. It gives the great bag-packer or family experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is hard to know where to start given the litany of problems with this establishment. It is a villa that is in increasing disrepair and you will regret your stay.

Our room was broken into on New Year Eve by a party that was, by all appearances, hosted by the villa's current "business manager" - we saw him partying it up. While nothing was taken (we had everything of value with us because the safe in the room was broken), our sense of security was violated and we left the next day. We managed to finally talk to the business owner after three days (he didn't show up to agreed to meeting times before that). He gave a variety of arguments to explain the situation - none of which stood the test of credibility - even admitting at one point that if we agreed to return to stay at the villa he would put us in a more secure room (implicitly admitting that our room wasn't safe - the door to the front porch didn't lock). He was unwilling to offer us a refund - only willing to give us a few free days if we agreed to return and stay at the property (which was clearly out of the question).

The villa itself is in disrepair - don't be fooled by the nice pictures on the internet. The pool isn't cleaned, you have to make due with old, beaten up towels, there is no bedside reading table (bring a flashlight) and no phone (the owner said we should have contacted him when we realized people had broken into the place but we didn't have a way to reach him directly - instead relying on friends on the island to help us). There is no one on site to help - you are left to fend for yourself.

If you decide to try the place, make sure you bring all your toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner) as none are provided, a facecloth, and you may even want to bring an extra roll of toilet paper and tissues as you are provided with bare minimum they think you need.

As a final piece of advice, only pay a day or two at a time so you can make a quick escape when things go sour for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed in the upstairs villa and was impressed with the size of the rooms. one was able to hold three single beds and still have space. the location spot was also great, close to rodney bay and the marina. the pool was a bonus and Tasha was very helpful.
thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: upstairs villas were bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.lucia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Safe Not Working Key 4 Door Is Not Working It Was Clean But The Worst Thing Was The Treatment I Recieved Due A Death In The Family,I Paid For Four Weeks And On The Wed Of The First Week I Had To Book My Flight Home When Asked About My Remainder Of My Money I Was Told That I Would Get Back 1 Weeks Refund Of 525 British Pounds Considering I Paid 2100 British Pounds I Was Devasted.I Spoke With The Manager Mr.A Scot Who Then Agreed He Would Give Me 2 Weeks He Paid Me 520 British Pounds And A Cheque Which Had To Be Cashed In Town Which Was 480 British Pounds Altogether I Have Recieved 1000 Pounds Which Is Totally Unacceptable Due To The Circumstances I Would Just Like Other Tourists To Beware Of This Procedure Which They Make Up As They Go Along As No Agrement Was Signed

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

I found Four Springs Villa by doing an extensive search online and I am so glad we booked it by calling them direct (you save money by avoiding the middle man).

Four Springs Villa is located in Bon Terre. It is surrounded by big houses...it's in an affluent neighborhood....very safe and very quiet. It is a few minutes walk to the main highway (where the bus stop is located) and it is a couple of minutes ride to Gros Islet and Rodney Bay. Castries is only 10-15 minutes bus ride away, depending on the traffic.

We booked a 1-bedroom villa for me and my fiance. Tasha checked us in when we arrived and showed us to our 2nd floor unit and was pleasantly surprised at how BIG it is just for 2 people. It is really a 2-bedroom villa (so it can really accomodate more people) but since we requested for a 1-bedroom, they locked one bedroom and one was open for us to use. Our unit was huge! When I walked in, the living room was there with a fan above and in front, a tv; to the left was a big kitchen which furnished with everything we needed. There were also french doors to the left (from the dining area) opening to a big balcony with 2 chairs, 1 table, and a place to hang our clothes. They also had a washing machine for us to use. To the right was the spacious bedroom (with A/C) and also a big bathroom.

The housekeeper came by daily...she was really friendly and kept our unit clean. When we asked for a sponge and detergent, she gladly gave them to us. We have no complaints about Four Springs Villa. It is away enough to be quiet from the hustle and bustle but yet only a couple of minutes away from the action by bus. You could walk to Gros Islet (we did one day) and the walk is not that bad at all.

Some days, we saw a couple of horses in front of the villa which was a treat. The villa also has a small pool and some lounge chairs....perfect for days when we wanted to just stay in and not go anywhere. It is so much different from a hotel setting...so much more relaxed because we cooked and ate when we wanted to, and not because it was a set time, as in some hotels. We were able to experience true island living. I am now hooked into staying in a villa as opposed to a hotel.

We will highly recommend Four Springs Villa and we will stay there again when we go back. What a find!!

  • Liked — Privacy, Peace and Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Springs Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Springs Villa

Address: Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly romantic and relaxing getaway, escape to the breath taking tranquility of Four Springs Villa. Conveniently located in the Rodney Bay/Bonne Terre basin, the hub of St. Lucia tourist activity.Four Springs Villa is just 5 minutes walk away from the Rodney Bay Marina and its surrounding facilities, yet it offers the quiet ambiance and easy-does it moments of living in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Springs Villa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Springs Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.