We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip to St. Lucia for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club Morgan Bay to your Saves list
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50%!!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip to St. Lucia for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were at St James Club Morgan Bay for one week for our daughters wedding. It was a fabulous location, the food in all eating establishments was superb. Beach was terrific, pools and lounge areas always had chairs and very clean. Entertainment was good, the only thing I may suggest is perhaps have some place available for a late night snack, and some place to dance longer than 11pm. service was terrific and the wedding reception, was fabulous. I would go back.

Room Tip: Each room that I visited, 8, were all very nice, of course a suite is perfect. I was not worried abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,229
    357
    183
    131
See reviews for
970
1,383
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,084)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks, late April. Upon arrival we thought the hotel was beautiful. We were soon disappointed when we tried to check in. The staff were so disorganised! It honestly took 2hours before we got to our room. We upgraded our room but its honestly not worth it. Our bed sheets were never changed and our cleaner kept taking our loose change (which was in the drawers) The food was ok but very repetitive. The beach was ok but not the safest place. Random locals kept coming onto the beach (apparently they were allowed to because the "private beach" isn't private). A few of them even asked us to get them drinks from the bar. There was a man on the beach everyday who we had to pass to get to our room, who would constantly try to sell us drugs. The bar staff were mostly good. Some had a bit of attitude and be prepared to wait a while to be served unless you're in a bikini. The Entertainment was good but again pretty repetitive. When checking out there was a lot of random stuff added to our bill we hadn't bought or ordered. We had to argue a bit to have it removed. Wouldn't recommend it. You can probably find better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We greatly appreciate client comments as a way to improve our guests's experience.

As a green resort we strive to help preserve the environment as best we can. Linens are changed every three days unless guests place a card on the bed which is in all rooms requesting for them to be changed. This allows us to save water and create less environmental distress.

All beaches throughout the Caribbean are public. Having said that, in response to our guests' comments we have removed all unlicensed vendors from the beach and have increased security to maintain the friendly and fun atmosphere that we are known for.

We do hope that when considering a fun-filled Caribbean vacation that we may help create wonderful sun-filled memories for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was my first trip to the islands and I wasn't sure what to expect. What I wasn't expecting was to have the premium room I had booked downgraded! Upon arrival the hotel had pulled approximately ten couples aside and informed them that they had "overbooked" and that we were all being moved to inferior rooms. As compensation, the hotel offered a $150 credit to be used in their overpriced spa/tours. This was in spite of the fact that the premium for the room was over $300 in cash. What was surprising was the number of couples who accepted this? I told the assistant manager that this was unacceptable and would talk to him in the morning (we had been travelling since early in the morning with Air Canada - enough said) as I was too irate to have any conversation. The next morning the offer was upped to $250 with a $54 freebie to the premium restaurant. Again I said that this was unacceptable and went to see the tour operation (Air Canada vacations) and after several hours they agreed to refund the price difference to myself and two other couples who were fighting the situation as well.

The assistant manager assured me that this was an aberration caused by a fault at the head office although the ladies at the reception said that this was a frequent situation. Afterwards the hotel offered to allow us to check out of our room and move to another room although still not to the level of room for which we paid. As we were only staying for a week we opted not to go through the aggravation of being without room for the day.

The hotel itself was fine, clean but dated and the food certainly exceed expectations. Mosquitoes at night were an issue but perhaps it was because of our room location towards the river? The tour prices were exorbitant and we found it was cheaper to book outside the hotel for the same tours at a much cheaper rate. Lots of tour operations available through Tripadvisor. The staff were great and a lot of fun. The ride to the hotel from the airport is around an hour and fifteen minutes and if anybody is prone to motion sickness, take a Gravol prior to setting out as it is quite a hilly and windy route.

One week was certainly enough as there were too many people together for my liking. I certainly wouldn't go back here because of the unethical way I was treated.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have screens so the river/garden side rooms seem to have more mosquitoes if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We value our guests' feedback greatly and appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with us.

We sincerely apologize for the situation in which you were not able to stay in the room type you booked. We accept full responsibility for this error and are working diligently to avoid this type of situation in the future.

We do hope that we can once again host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Keep searching there are far better hotels than this for the similar price.
Would not recommend this hotel.
Over crowded pool area Sunbed set up like sardines.
Beach area also overcrowded with sunbeds which are very grubby and almost black with grime.
Reception staff unfriendly and Unhelpful ,requested a key for my safe in Room was told if they had one I could come to reception to collect if not I would have to wait until one became available.
Bar staff especially the main bar and pool bar are incredibly rude.
Adult only Pool had the only friendly bar staff, but only 25 sun beds by the pool so get up early to put your towel out.
Theme restaurant food awful
Buffet restaurant and bamboo restaurant had okay food the staff here were the friendliest.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the St.James's Club St. Lucia.

We are very disappointed with your assessment of the staff at the resort and are concerned that you felt the staff was unfriendly. On the contrary...the resort boasts one of the friendliest and most hospitable staffs in the Caribbean. The vast majority of our guests comment very positively about our staff and we know this from guest surveys as well as online forums.

We do hope that when you once again consider a sun-filled Caribbean vacation the St. James's Club may once again host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed 4 weeks in Jan. 2014, was a gamble because if we did not like the resort we were stuck there but it paid off. The staff made the resort for us.
It is an older place showing age but looks clean and cared after as well as you can. We were in the beachfront rooms and were completely happy after getting moved away from the 700 block beachfront rooms to the 600 block because of the noise.
Check-in was a breeze except on the form they wanted my email address not and unreasonable request but for the matter that the hotel hides their email address and there is no way to contact the hotel directly by email, I put a request on social media for someone to supply me with this information and was given the general managers and the customer service's email address, I sent two emails to each one with no reply, so I left that blank on my form.

Beach was small and water was far from clear with discharge from a small river near the resort.

Our favorite restaurant was the Palms buffet the staff were always helpful right from the staff that seats you to the great people cooking your food, the chefs made sure they had time to come out and meet the guests they were cooking for as well answer ?. It was always a great
start to the day to see Danielle prepare my eggs perfect every time with an genuine smile. Michailena was always just a smile away with staff like Sarah, Sharma, Laura and my favorite chef Rene along with many others working there to make our stay enjoyable. My only problem was the garbage birds sometimes it felt like I was eating in the bottom of a bird cage.
We found the entertainment staff fantastic Madrina and Jaffrey were always around to get us involved in something, there was a good variety
of entertainers and I liked the fact that the resort gets involved in the community bringing support the children as well as adult organizations.
My favorite dinner was at the Bamboo, chef Andy did lobster like no other I have ever had, with a million $ view on the beach it was hard to not go every night, sadly the lobster was $32.00 xstra and the rest of our foursome had a hard time finding something they wanted on the limited menu. I did have 2 lobsters and should have went for a 3rd.

The Pier was my least favorite restaurant , went 3 times and was disappointed with the service and food 3 times although our server Brigette did manage to make one night enjoyable even though our game hen was raw inside.

The Tree Top was a surprise with good food and service that is coming along, lots of staff. Allison was our favorite employee there.

The staff that worked the lobby and front desk as well as bellhops were fantastic and were always very helpful.
We took a few tours but our favorite one was with Leo who works at the resort, one day we wondered up to the lobby and asked about someone to take us out for the day a young lady named Karry called the motor pool for someone but it was middle of the day and everyone seemed out with guests, so she called Leo and he came and took us on a fantastic tour of the area, great day. Thanks Karry and Leo.

We always had good loungers on the beach with a fantastic view and shade if wanted, also a bonus was Carmel aka 29 who kept us with cool drinks. All in all the staff and guests we met made our holiday one
to remember in a good way.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what type of room you paid for and demand it if they try to give you a lesser roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

During our stay, true we had a few showers but once the sun was out it was boiling!! Wear factor 20 at least and do not use oil - well at least not on your first day...
The food is great - 6 restaurants with plenty of choice - prepare to put on weight!
I was ill the first few days with germs from the flight - all staff were fantastic in that they offered rum based cures - excellent and completely worked!
All the people there are great even those down at the market in Castries - such lovely people. We can't wait to go back - definitely a place i would recommend and have done to all family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We chose this hotel because we had stayed at the sister hotel in Antigua last year. Quite a different experience and felt it was not as good value. We were disappointed not to be allocated the requested beachfront room on our arrival and although we were upgraded to a junior suite we could not see the ocean at all! We were re-allocated a room the following day (Ocean View) which was perfect - we could hear the waves crashing on the shore all day and night which was awesome. Once we had settled to a completely different experience we had a great time - all the staff are friendly; the atmosphere was happy and the choice of food in all the restaurants was very good - particularly at Morgan's Reef. We were disappointed in the evening entertainment - down to bad, distorted, sound systems rather than the 'performers' - St Lucia Police Band were fantastic. We felt the island trip we chose was not good value - this was not organised through the hotel - and after hearing about Joy's trip from the beach, we wished we had chosen that one!

Room Tip: We were in 500 block which suited us perfectly - a little quieter with wonderful ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, St. Lucia. A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort. Famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens, and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions, and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, and ocean view suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club Morgan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.