We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club Morgan Bay to your Saves list
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER VACATION 40% OFF!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 days there. Was in the 400 building.
It was a great place, very relaxing. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few days, this is a place to consider. The staff at the resort is very attentive. The food was good, lots of fresh fruits (this was my favorite). The place is also very clean. My husband and I were very pleased with the room accommodations. The only negative aspect about the resort is that in between meals they did not offer snacks. Unlike other resorts that keep at least one restaurant open till late, if you miss lunch or dinner there are no options until next meal.

All in all a nice time and would recommend.

Would note that the hotel is almost an hour and a half from the airport.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    1,246
    359
    183
    130
See reviews for
975
1,419
50
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with two friends for three nights in mid-June. It was perfect for us!
If you go in with the expectation that this is a mid-range all-inclusive resort and not a luxury resort, you will enjoy it immensely. You won't get beachside drink service, bbqs on the beach, or unlimited room service, as I've seen at luxury all-inclusives, and the buffet selection will not be as bountiful either-- that said, this place is an AWESOME value and provides everything that you need at a reasonable price.
We really enjoyed all the water sports, and often tried 3-4 activities a day, including banana boating, water skiing and wakeboarding, paddle boarding, kayaking, sailing, and pedal boating. All the activity staff were super friendly, encouraging, and seemed to be enjoying their jobs. Do take advantage of all the activities they have to offer!
Our room was immaculately cleaned each day and the air conditioner worked very well.
Food at the Palms wasn't anything fancy, but filling, stick-to-your-ribs kind of food, and service was always friendly and competent.
The food at Bambou was mediocre. Skip it and go to Morgan's Pier multiple times instead. Food there was excellent (awesome fish dishes) and I loved the atmosphere there! Really romantic.
Speaking of romance, this resort is almost exclusively couples. Aside from one solo traveller and teenagers traveling with their families, we didn't encounter any other single people.
Also, seemed like a good 90% of the guests were Brits.
All the hotel guests were really friendly and we had a great time socializing with everyone!
One great thing about the hotel is that there is a bus stop right at its entrance, so we were able to bus here very easily when we arrived. The local bus is definitely the way to get around in St Lucia-- MUCH cheaper than the taxi and an opportunity to interact with locals. I know some guests paid for the hotel shuttle to go to the Friday Jump-Up party, but I recommend the bus that will take you right there for 2.50 EC and 5EC to come back.
One suggestion for the hotel is to make wifi available in the rooms, instead of just in the lounges and lobby. Also, drinks could be stronger.
As other reviewers have mentioned, it's true that the water here is a bit murky. Be sure to check out other beaches to really get all the natural beauty St. Lucia has to offer.
All the staff seemed genuinely warm and caring. We even ran into Stuwart from the hotel and Vaughn from Joy's Cruise at the jump-up party on Friday night and they kept us company, which made us feel safer. Really kind and fun people!
For three people sharing a room, it ended up costing about $100 US a day.... for food, drink, accommodation, and activities, that is pretty much unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful ....Wonderful...I would recommend this resort to anyone. It was my wife's birthday and our anniversary and the staff at the resort ensured that there was nothing we could of wanted not even the birthday cake or the wine to toast. You felt special and totally cared for . We would like to thank the staff especially Lucy , Nicholas , Francis, Stanius , Michael and the lady at palms restaurant preparing the delicious eggs for breakfast . The nightly entertainment was a blast .This resort is amazing. If we will come again ? Of course our bags are already packed for next year's trip.

Room Tip: Any where will be comfortable. This resort is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Room very nice,we had beach front stunning views.did have some heavy showers as start of rainy season.food very good especially pier restaurant.staff all friendly and accommodating.good choice of pools and beach fab.some good groups in entertainment at night though no caberate acts as such.watersports free if all inclusive would def return

Room Tip: Beach front or blocks 5,6,or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just got back from St James Club in St Lucia, we were 10 people ages 5-50...everyone had a blast. There was always something to do...never a dull moment during the day. From sailing, jet-sking (thats extra) kayaking, snorkeling, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water aerobics in the morning, a morning stretch class on the beach, ping pong, a pool table, and tons of excursions to choose from. The staff is amazing, friendly and helpful. Ginna who worked in the restaurant was fantastic with the kids. Ricardo at the bar made the best screaming wolf and kept us laughing all night! Vanilla who worked in the sunset lounge was great also. The housekeeping staff was always available. Best of all was Chocolate..she served drinks on the beach and she kept them coming...you never had to leave the beach for a cold drink!! Food is average and the and evening entertainment was a just ok but that was alright because we didn't stop all day so by 10 we were all exhausted and ready to call it a night (except the 4 who were in their 20's they closed the bar each night. All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend a visit here

Room Tip: Beach front rooms were close to the beach and pools with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just got back from our honeymoon at St James's Club St Lucia, what an excellent place this was and I would certainly recommend it. As someone else pointed out the island tends to get quite a bit of rain for the Caribbean so it wasn't always the blue skys I imagined but, the resort made up for that...

Anyhow, the resort was top notch and ok it's your typical all-inclusive resort (the blue sun loungers with matching towels) but the food was by far the best buffet style I have ever had at an all inc and the option of a la carte restaurants again inclusive really made this resort stand out. Also the drinks were really good quality and although there weren't many bars you could always get severed quickly and with a huge smile... Huge smiles also also something this resort does well - the staff are superb...

All in all I really rate this place... I work in the travel industry and am lucky enough to go to a number of all inclusives each year - this has been by far the best mid range one!

Room Tip: We had just a garden view room with it's own private balcony, etc and it was perfect for us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this inclusive resort last week as my daughter and fiance had booked a wedding package here. After an initial hiccup as we did need a twin room rather than a double as I was sharing with my son (I can't remember there being a specific question on the booking form) which was dealt with well, without exception we found the staff very helpful and friendly with a great attitude . The food in the main buffet style restaurant (The Palms) was superb and I was really surprised at the number of dishes on offer featuring local ingredients, always lots of choice and well cooked. As we were a small wedding party of 10 we did eat as a group in the Bambou on the night before the wedding but obviously there was the normal limited choice of three items per course and the service though pleasant, was slow. The meal after the wedding was at the Pier and the service was excruciatingly slow even as it appeared not to be full, but as we were in a celebrating mood it did not matter over much, and according to other members of the party who had eaten there at other times it was not usual. The standard of cleaning in our room was very high, (thanks to you Magdelena) the beds comfortable and the covers just right for the air conditioning, as the weather was very hot , if showery. We were right at the top of one of the hills (very near the wedding bower) so it was rather a slog every time, however other party members had accommodation nearer the centre, which although much more convenient, could have been noisier, as nearer the entertainment area, which went on usually until 11pm. This brings me to my main criticism, why oh why is there not a comfortable well lit area for sitting to read, play games etc, away from 'the entertainment'? The only place we could find was in the lobby, but this was nearly always crowded with other people who wished to sit and talk without competing with the singers who were always very loud, and the lighting in The Sunset area was always low due to the entertainers. Some people do not want to be sung at every night, though the artists were good on the whole. There was a large TV area which was used by the reps for their introductory talk , and I rarely saw this being used in the evening, but again the lighting was far too dim and there were no tables.It would be a good alternative area as it is near the bars, but sufficiently away from the stage to make conversation possible. The water facilities seemed great and the water aerobics very popular. One thing I did do was the garden walk, which was fascinating, as there are so many beautiful and interesting plants in the extensive and well maintained grounds, there was only two of us and Bernard the gardener, very informative and charming - who knew that cashew nuts are a fruit! I appreciated the adults only pool on the hill as it is quite small and there are two other pools for families, so they are well catered for. According to my daughter the wedding organiser was really helpful and the whole ceremony beautifully done, the bower attractively decorated with flowers, lanterns and shells. We were made to feel very special and private, despite there being so many people staying there, for although my daughter and now husband originally planned to get married actually on the beach, the bower there was right in the centre and far too public. My only other point was that the hotel staff advised against using the local buses which we found to be very cheap and frequent for Castries and far more fun than a taxi. Also the trip back to the airport was far more expensive when booked through reception, we should have contacted the driver we had on the trip over from the airport - there were 6 of us and it cost us 20 US each, but 25US each back (30 US in total, quite a difference!) My final point is we did the famous Joy's excursion, a brilliant day out and actually very good value , really recommended, can be found at The Pier end of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, St. Lucia. A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort. Famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens, and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions, and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, and ocean view suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club Morgan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.