We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club Morgan Bay to your Saves list
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER VACATION 40% OFF!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lacombe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing week in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Had an absolutely fabulous stay at this hotel. Staff were very accommodating and helpful. I had a back problem when we were there and they put us in a room close to all amenities and where I wouldn't have to do a lot of stairs.
We enjoyed all parts of our stay and would definitely return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    1,392
    402
    191
    138
See reviews for
1,098
1,660
51
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What can i say but what an amzing hotel. First impressions last and this is true, a very warm welcome with a nice cold towel to cool yourself down in the 30+C heat. Was taken to our room in a buggy and all luggage carried into your room for you. The room was 624 and a lovely room with an amzing view of the sea and beach, very clean and a good selection of English/American channels on the flat screen T.V. Food was great with a vast choice of restaurants or buffet choice all of which were great and service very good. What people have to remember is that this is the Carribean and service can be at their own pace which isnt a major problem. The pools are clean and have bar's at all of them. On our visit to this hotel we was walking around the complex and was stopped by a gentleman and asked if we needed a lift anywhere on his buggy, we started chatting to this American gentleman to only to find out he was the owner of this hotel group, what a friendly guy and wish him all the success in the future. The GM was also very friendly and easy to find around the complex, keep up the good work. Overall a must stay and I really cannot give this hotel any negative feedback. Blocks 500, 600, 700 are the best, but all other blocks seem fine to so don't worry. Block 200 i think was being refurbished when we was staying there. Air conditioning in the rooms are spot on, it's like walking into a fridge after a day by the pool/beach. Water sports on the beach are all free, we went on Joy's boat tour which is $100 each and he is situated on the beach by the towel shack, a must see tour of the island, with free rum on the way back, YUMMY.

Room Tip: Block 500,600 and 700 are the best in my eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are looking to stay at an “All Inclusive, good value for money, Caribbean 4 Star hotel”, then St. James's Club Morgan Bay should be on your “short list”!

Our party of five stayed in “Block 500” with excellent ocean view rooms which were only a short walk from the beach and pool. These rooms have been redecorated, installed with flat screen TVs (~100 TV channels) and we stayed for 7 nights in the first week of June 2013. In case you’re interested the weather was a mixture of sunshine and short showers; average daily temperatures were around 30 deg C (86 deg F) but there was normally an Easterly breeze to make life pleasant!

We dined at the Palm, Bamboo and on the Pier. Amongst our party there was a vegetarian, a non- fish eater and a non gluten eater - nevertheless the food choices and quality were very good.

We spoke briefly to the GM (Mark Grebby) whom we had met the previous year at La Source in Grenada. He had moved to St James when the hotel was bought up from the previous owner. He explained to us that around 10 million US dollars have been spent renovating the resort in the past 10 months. Clearly a lot of painting has been completed, but also considerable funds were spent on unseen activities such as renewing the sewage system. There is a program of on-going continuous improvements. For instance, last week the Kids club was closed for renovation, outside path lights were being rewired and a dozen trees & shrubs blocking the sea view from Tommys bar were felled. In recent weeks, Mark has brought in a new Head Chef from Grenada who is working on redesigning the menus and possibly increasing the number of restaurants on site.

The hotel wi-fi is accessible in the lobby and around the pool and works well. The GM hopes that some rooms will have their own wifi within the next few months.

Water sports, which include water skiing, were efficiently organised with well-trained instructors.

The staff were so friendly and helpful, that we want to return later on this year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, NY
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Was very happy with this resort. Beautiful landscaping, views, and beach. No clue why some people complained about the beach here, was fantastic! Highly recommend the Triple Adventure excursion which included ziplining, waterfall, and jeep ride. Lisa who did our tour was the best!!! Lloyd was great as well. We went to Pigeon Island on our own, and the views were breathtaking. Anyway regarding the hotel, my only real complaints were I booked a king room and got two double beds, this was never remedied, and the service was usually fantastic in the restaurants and bars, but once in a while you would have to wait quite a while to get water or place a drink order. Overall, food is good. Agnes who does eggs at breakfast is wonderful! Vaughn who waits at Plum Tree is great a well! I would definitely return. One quick thing about St. Lucia in general, although everyone including shop owners, vendors, front desk, taxi drivers, etc all deal with cash all day... Nobody ever has any change. Well they do, but claim they dont, bring some small bills.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria Heights, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 7 day, 6 night stay at St. James Morgan Bay. We didn't know what to expect prior to going. Well, from the moment our taxi pulled up we were in heaven. The staff had our room keys and safe lock ready. They gave us welcome drinks. We were driven by cart (with our luggage) to our room. The room was nicely furnished and clean! During our entire stay, we wanted for nothing!!!! The private beach always had chairs available. The pools were clean and never full. We always got to eat in any of the restaurants and the food was DELICIOUS. All of the staff were friendly and got what ever we asked for. The excursions were fun and reasonable. We also took advantage of a couples massage. What a treat! And the hour long ride from the airport was no big deal. The driver was giving us a "tour" and pointed out landmarks along the way. It was a good way to get history on St. Lucia. And the scenery was beautiful. The resort is very "kid friendly" if you want to take your enitre family. I could go on and on.....I have recommended this resort to all my friends and family and hope to return next year. Thanks Morgan Bay for a FABULOUS vacation.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from everyone, stay in the 900-1000 room numbers. If you want to be closer st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My partner and I have returned from St Lucia last week and can truely say this was a fantastic holiday. The staff were very friendly and helpful from arrival to departure. We lounged on the beach everyday, it was great that everything was very close. The watersports were brilliant, our regret is that we didnt try water skiing earlier in the holiday as we both really enjoyed it and the staff are excellent teachers. I am shocked reading some of the dissapointing comments, all of the guests that we spoke to really enjoyed it. The morgan pier was our favourite restaurant, The Palms was great food too, excellent variety. We would definatley return. The only disappointment is that the Le Jardin restaurant was closed for the duration that we were there which we wanted to dine in for my birthday. Also if you are staying at this resort make sure you book onto Joys cruise, it was our best day there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have just returned from a stay at St James Club Morgan Bay and after visiting many different places in the Carribean I have to say that this was definately one of my favourite. The atmosphere around resort is very laid back and you really do feel like you do not have a care in the world when you are relaxing on the beautiful beach . The staff are very friendly and are always willing to go beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome.

The Locals on the beach are also very friendly and make some amazing things to take home to your loved ones .


Restaurants are of very good standard and the buffet was different everyday we were there which was great . The pool bar near to the Kids club was great for burgers, pizza etc

This resort would be great for all travellers

We had room 709 which is a beachfront room and I absolutely loved it . Just steps from the beach and extremely clean and tidy.

Entertainment was good aswell. True Carribean Style.

i will definately be returning to the resort and making recommendations to others to do so to .

Room Tip: 709 Beachfront room - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, St. Lucia. A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort. Famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens, and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions, and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, and ocean view suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club Morgan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.