We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qulaity & Exceptional Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Palm Resort

Save Saved
You added Coco Palm Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Palm Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Gros Islet
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Qulaity & Exceptional Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Arriving at Coco Palm Resort was a breeze, the Check-in staff we're ready for my arrival offering me a complementary drink, and after a long Flight from London this was just what I needed to start my vacation.
I had a garden suite Room that was perfect, Clean, Classy and Comfortable only minus the TV is not a flat Screen however I was on vacation so it did not bother me.
In Total I stayed at Coco Palm for just over a week.
The Staff at all levels Maid to Waiters are exceptionally polite and willing to go the extra mile to make your vacation perfect and stress free. (The maids will spray your room for mosquito, which is a big plus also fresh flower’s in your room)
The hotel has a new menu, which taste amazing with something for all taste buds. (The Prawns are to die for and fresh juices)
I had a few spa treatments value for money and excellent results.
I had the pleasure to go on a boat cruise organised by the hotel, which has just started. It was a fantastic experience, very well organised plus I got to meet other guest.
Location is Perfect, 3-5 Minute walk to the beach loads of places to eat, bars and shopping.
Transportation is not an issue with access to local taxis, or if you want to do as the locals, which I did get the bus, a great experience to the town centre.
The Wi-Fi at this resort was probably better then my own house which was a big shock, it was never down always had a good connection.
Having stayed at other hotels on the island perhaps rated more luxurious, this resort is the best so far due to the extra touch's the staff make that adds to ones vacation.

Room Tip: The Bed's are very good sizes, The Garden Suite is spaces and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    354
    75
    30
    10
See reviews for
152
513
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Point Fortin, Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wedding was on the 30th Dec 2012, and at the very last minute, I was able to secure a flight from Trinidad and accommodation at Coco Palm. The room was large and very clean, especially the towels. Some other hotels despite their high ratings have very grungy towels. The food was excellent, in particular the variety of fresh fruit. In terms of service, everyone we interacted with was very polite. We liked Mr. James, our driver a lot. He was very knowledgeable about the on goings in St.Lucia beyond the usual information tourist get. Overall it was a great trip, good value for money. The only thing that should be done better is a more detailed explanation of the all-inclusive packages.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Swim-up" suits. These rooms have a separate door and steps straight out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were a group of 5 adults and 2 kids, we arrived late after 930pm and we were all starving and tired from a long day. The staff in the restaraunt were so friendly and accomodated us without a fuss, Amelia and Esther are two gems! The rooms were clean, linen fresh, service prompt. The food was really good and I was especially pleased to find out it was a Trini chef:)
I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel for a holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Coco Palm for the first time this year. Having traveled to St. Lucia for many winters this was our first time at this resort. We were very pleased and surprisingly so. Since it is near the beach but not on the beach we at first were unsure if we would like it. However, our expectations were heightened by a combination of the boutique size (we don't like overwhelming sizes of resorts), the cleanliness and upkeep, friendliness and hospitality of staff, proximity of stores and shops, and the ability to walk out the front door and walk to any choice of fine dining or lite fare for meal. (Taxi's are expensive on the island, so being able to walk to restaurants is quite helpful in saving taxi fares). The pool area is kept very clean and is close to our room as well as the restaurant. Boutique hotels are many, but this one is uniquely Caribbean style, charming and has everything we needed. We will be returning. Oh, breakfast is included, a full and delicious breakfast in an open air setting.

Room Tip: We stayed at the lower end of prices for a couple of nights before moving to our time share. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here early in the new year. The staff are lovely, genuinely friendly and keen to make your holiday a great experience. They are justifiably proud of their island, it's beauty and heritage. We felt safe here although some of the reports on the web of crime in the Caribbean had made us a bit wary before we left. The security staff are to be commended for their diligence and friendliness. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We particularly enjoyed the selection of fresh peeled fruits and the omelette station. We ate so well each morning that all we needed at lunch-time was a light snack. The bedrooms were clean and adequately furnished. My one criticism is that the bathrooms could do with being upgraded. The shower worked fine but the stone seat was damaged and the overall decor is not appealing. I was impressed though with the efficiency of the toilet flush which seems to work with a minimum amount of water, very Eco-friendly! The location is good if, like us, you do not want to be confined to one resort. There were plenty of good restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Also we found the local buses easy to use and very cheap. Coco Palm is not the most luxurious hotel you will find in the area but you would be hard pushed to find nicer staff and this is what makes it special.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from a ten night B&B stay booked through Kuoni. It was our first time in the Caribbean having travelled extensively in Europe and the Middle East/North Africa looking for winter sun.

Let's get rid of the niggles first as they are quite minor and do not detract from the superb service and value for money that this hotel offers.

1. A slight mustiness to the room. This was tracked down to the fact that the housemaid bleaches the shower cublicle on a daily basis. We found this out when we returned just after the service and could smell the chlorine. Switching on the aircon or opening the windows quickly freshened the air.
.
2. A couple of stains on chair coverings that could probably be removed quite easily with a fabric steam cleaner.

3. TV is a 17" tube that has poor resolution for those of us with deteriorating eyesight, or it could just be being used to 42" HDTV from Sky.

4.Pricing of bar and restaurant is in US$ The final bill is in US$ but credit cards are charged in East Caribbean Dollars. If you are have a preloaded US$ card do not use it to settle your bill or you will bear two conversion costs from your local currency to USD then again to XCD.

The pluses just go on and on

1. The check-in process was welcoming, swift and the bell-hop was informative.
2. Our room was garden view, end of terrace. So we had two french windows one south facing the other west which flooded the room with light and allowed a lovely through draft in the room. The aircon and ceiling fan were quiet and efficient.
3. A fridge is supplied that you can fill from the supermarket with your favourite beverage once you have drunk the free bottles of water suppplied on arrival.
4. The bathroom has a large head shower with integral seat and daughter attachment that enables foot washing to be performed so much more easily than balancing like a stork.
5. The room safe was free.
6. The bed was superking size and the pillow supportive.

In terms of the rest of the hotel
7. The concierge was full of life and even though you know that they want to sell you tours, there is no pressure to buy.
8. Breakfast was served on the terrace restaurant overlooking the pool. The presentation was international buffet style with food kept warm by hot water chafing trays. Most days had an egg chef to cater for varying needs but the pre-prepared scrambled egg was very good, The cusine catered for all nationalities.
9. The evening menu was limited and we only ate there three times. The quality was good but the range of restaurants in the village meant that the B&B option suited us well.

Finally service:

For 10 days, every member of staff that we passed smiled and said hello to us. This spirit is the basis for making every guest feel welcome and special. We have seen this approach at some hotels - mainly the Marriott group - but rarely in an independant hotel in over 40 years of touring the world. It may be the standard in every St Lucian hotel but we doubt it. It comes from the ethos of the senior managers in setting the example that every other member of staff is expected to follow.

The price was excellent value. After deducting the standard airfare and 90 minumte taxi bus transfer the package worked out at approximately GBP100 or USD155 per day per couple bed and breakfast. Fantastic value for a hotel in the top resort area of the island.

This was our first visit to St Lucia and when we return we will stay at Coco Palm again, not because there is no better hotel on the island, we know there must be, but because we do not need any better service than that offered at Coco Palm.

Room Tip: Take a garden view room if you like quiet and to be tucked up well before 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed 5 days in this hotel during the week and overall the experience was a good. It started off badly however as we got there at 4 pm and the room was not ready yet. We had to wait 30 minutes for the room to bed ready as housekeeping were still cleaning. Other than this, the hotel was good the facilities were as advertised. We stayed in a garden view room on the second floor and had no problems with noise as I saw some other reviews speak about. At the time the hotel was quite full as well. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The rain showerhead in the bathroom was great. There's close to 100 channels on the television so you'll never be bored. Although we didn't spend much time in the room as there is so much to do on the island. The fitness center was a bit outdated but had working equipment. The only thing missing was a threadmill but you can easily run outside on the road. There is free wifi in the rooms and around the pool and restaurant.

Our package included free breakfast which consisted of the normal continental breakfast with an island flavour. Made to order omlets, fresh local fruits everyday along with cereal, bread, potatoes and plantain. Pancakes and tarts were alternated with muffins and french toast. The hotel restaurant had a good choice of food at reasonable prices. We ate out every night though since there are many restaurants within walking distance to the hotel.

Some of the staff were not so friendly especially when they had to deal with quite a large number of people at breakfast and when checking in however Tiffany at the front desk made up for that. She was quite friendly and went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor garden view and had no issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Resort

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Palm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Palm in St. Lucia, an Award-Winning Boutique Hotel with classic Caribbean French Creole décor and modern amenities offers value without compromise.From the moment you arrive you’ll be impressed by our level of personal service and warm hospitality by our Saint Lucian owned and managed Team. Equally impressive are our stylish rooms and suites, and the authentic creole and international cuisine at KoKo Cabana Caribbean Bistro with Trinidadian Chef Richardson's specialty dishes along with newly introduced All Inclusive plan. Coco Beauty Clinic, gym and complimentary Wi-Fi along with being centrally located in the heart of Rodney Bay Village, just steps from the white sand Reduit Beach, shops, bars and casino, have made Coco Palm the preferred choice for business or pleasure and creating a strong repeat guest of Coco Club family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Coco Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Hotel Gros Islet
Hotel Coco Palm
Coco Palm St Lucia
Coco Palm Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Palm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.