We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent Carribean experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Palm Resort

Save Saved
You added Coco Palm Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Palm Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
High River, Canada
1 review
“an excellent Carribean experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

we were really satisfied with our room, it was very clean and spacious, the staff very freindly and helpful, location was excellent, close to all restaurants,bars and beach. we would definately go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
On behalf of Coco Palm Management we wish to thank you for choosing Coco Palm. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location and have shared your kind words with our Team. We do strive to continuously improve our product and look forward to welcoming you back to join our valued repeat guest’s family.

Sincerely,

Coco Palm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    347
    74
    32
    9
See reviews for
136
494
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great location, affordable and clean rooms. Fantastic staff.

Make sure you book a room AWAY from the road if you are staying in the Kreole side of the complex. A lot of loud music in the clubs that line that road from Thursday-Sunday late into the night.

Has a great pool and is only a short walk from reduit beach as well as from St. Lucia's best restaurant - The Spice of India.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
On behalf of Coco Palm we wish to thank you for choosing to say with us.

Thank you for your kind words which we will share with our Team. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your kind review and trust this will help future guests plan their trip.

Sincerely,

Coco Palm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our 8th visit in 8 years to CoCo Palm. We return each year because of the friendly and happy atmosphere together with the smiling welcoming faces of the staff. It is just like coming home! Each year we bump into other guests who, like us, just can't keep away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
On behalf of Coco Palm we can’t thank you enough for your kind words and great review.

We do appreciate you coming back again and again. We do strive to keep improving our product and hope on your next trip you will once again find us living up to your expectations while enjoying our Saint Lucian hospitality. We have shared your kind review with our Team who look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for your continued support.

Sincerely,

Coco Palm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

was satisfied,room was clean nice and spacious,you get what u pay for your money.stayed in the family suit

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
On behalf of Coco Palm we wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do appreciate your kind words and taking the time to post a review. It is reviews such as yours which help future guests plan their trip and no doubt they will find this helpful.

Sincerely,

Coco Palm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked this resort after reading the reviews on TA which had been on the whole positive. We chose o go with the special package which meant our room was situated in the older Creole building. The building and rooms are tired in many places and could do with refreshing. It appears investment has been put into the larger, newer part of the hotel accessed by the reception. Upon arrival we were given the room called 'la woz'. This was on the ground floor and had double sided which was charming and we were able to sit outside with a drink and watch the wildlife frogs, geckos and hummingbirds. Sadly also this was absolutely ruined by the music coming from next door initially it had been loud but we were in and out. Half way through the holiday we decided to have a quiet night to relax, no chance!! The music and base went on and on and eventually my husband and I felt ill. Wherever you went in the room you could not get away from it. We called the manager Donn on duty and whilst he was sympathetic he was unable to help us as the hotel was full.
Vanessa and Patricia the day managers dealt with the room change fairly quickly and we were moved to another room. Whilst it was still in the Creole part of the hotel it was so much better for the noise this room was 'Pwale'. Larger room, little noise, sadly not so much wildlife but had to live with that to be away from the noise.
The staff here are friendly from the security guards to the receptionists.
Last negative very disappointed with the Ti Bananne on the on resort restaurant. Food was expensive and on the several occasions we had food there it was very hit and miss. We had room service from them and the food was so bad we didn't eat it.
The location of this hotel is amazing as you are only steps away from all Rodney Bag Village has to offer. Our favourite spot for breakfast was Rituals coffee, which did amazing pancakes. Also Deirius (opps.hotel) is a fab bar/restaurant amazing cocktails and food. It's really popular over the weekend so book to avoid disappointment.
Also no body made mention of mosquitoes before I went and got really bitten the 1st few days, if you are someone who gets bitten easily make sure you take some repellent and put it on from Day1!!
St Lucia is a beautiful Island, lovely people and lots of history (a lot more than I thought)

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building will guarantee a quieter time. Avoid Creole if you can afford it, but def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Coco Palm Review

On arrival at the hotel it was not clear where we were to check in. There were two desks on opposite sides of the reception area. We and the two other couples that arrived in the same minibus should have realised that the desk nearest the door was the check in desk but that was not obvious.
The check in clerk appeared overwhelmed handling some problem with people at his desk and with the number of people mulling around wanting attention; a type of task thrashing between interrupts.
After some time because I wanted to put hotel charges on my credit card we were checked in and were pleased to be told that we were being upgraded from a pool view room upstairs to a pool view patio room. This room 102 turned out to be next to the reception area and the lifts. At night and early morning there was some slightly annoying noise from the movement of people and their conversation but it was not unacceptable.
The room which had two comfortable queen size beds was clean and spacious enough. The bathroom containing toilet and hand basin had both a hand-held and overhead shower. Both tended to make the bathroom floor outside the shower tray a little wet. The shower was as hot as we wanted and powerful.
Room cleaning, bed making and towel changing was carried out well every day. The bed sheets were changed at least once each week.
All hotel staff were friendly and helpful but please see my separate report on the Ti Bananne restaurant that is on the edge of the hotel grounds.
Our room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan. We did not use the air conditioning after the first hour finding that the ceiling fan kept the room cool enough
Next day I found that the free wifi did not work. Some time was then spent by one of the staff in an attempt to get me online via an ethernet cable. That failed but a subsequent reboot of the router has so far been successful in providing wifi. Note that the wifi access was open so it is not private and is unencrypted.
On the second day there was a small problem with the clothes closet rail pulling out of the wall at one end. This was attended to and repaired with an hour of reporting it by a very considerate and polite maintenance man.
The hotel pool is for me excellent to swim in. It has never been crowded, is well over 25 metres end to end so quite suitable for fitness length swimming.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in St Lucia and especially Coco Palm resort.

Room Tip: We were in room 102 near reception. A bit noisy so try 104, 106 ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
On behalf of the Management and Coco Palm Team, may we thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We value our guests views and hope it will help future guests in choosing their hotel in Saint Lucia. We appreciate it may not always go perfectly but we do address all reviews with our Heads of Department.

We have taken views such as yours to heart and by the end of February we will be addressing the ‘primary’ check –in desk in the lobby with an enhanced version along with additional terminal to allow our Hosts to multi-task and assisting our arrivals. Your views of 102 are noted and we will see how best to mitigate any noise. Caribbean WiFi is not up to par from that overseas but is something we strive to improve so my apologies this didn’t work consistently during your stay.

In regard to Ti Bananne, this has just undergone new management and we have a team in to assist us during these teething times. We do appreciate your views and will share them with Ti Bananne.

Thank you for choosing Coco Palm. We hope we will have the pleasure again. Safe travels.

Sincerely,
Feolla Chastanet & Coco Palm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week long stay in the Coco Palm, overall I would say we had a disappointing experience.

On arrival, the reception area was busy and when a staff member began to check us in, they appeared to be very confused with our booking, which was through hotels.com (we have used hotels.com around the world and have never previously had any difficulties).
We noticed that other guests were provided with welcome drinks but we did not receive these.
Due to the confusion we were told to wait by one member of staff and then just after this another member of staff brought us to our room. As a result of this confusion and the fact that we were not very impressed with the standard of room we were assigned to, we assumed we had been given the wrong room category. We had booked a garden view room so we called reception to clarify if the room we were given was the correct category and also to let them know we were unhappy. The manager quickly came to room and asked us why were dissatisfied. We said the standard was not what we expected and pointed out that the room was showing quite a bit of wear and tear with marks on the walls and signs of damp in the bathroom. The manager did not appear to be especially bothered that we were unhappy and simply offered a similar room down the hall with less signs of wear and tear. We took this room as clearly this was as good as it was going to get.
At no point during check in did we feel like valued guests. The hotel layout, facilities, tours etc available through the hotel were not outlined to us and there was no information booklet in the room. I think this was poor because when you are staying in a place for a week you should be informed about what’s on offer.

In terms of the room itself I feel it is fairly average. The decor is plain and unexciting. There was all the furniture you’d expect along with a fridge, a safe, an iron and board and a very temperamental tea/coffee maker. The TV was quite old and the sound was dreadful. The room was very dark and one of the bedside lamp cords was broken meaning we had to switch it on and off from the wall, a bit of a nuisance when going to bed each night. There was no full length mirror which is something I always like in a room. The bed was very comfortable both for sitting in and sleeping. Another big plus was the air conditioning which worked very effectively.
The bathroom was plain and average. The shower which has a rain shower head was fine but not very strong. The walk in design of the shower was nice but it led to the bathroom floor always being soaked after using the shower. A bath would have been appreciated for relaxing in but this was not available. The biggest problem with the bathroom is that it is very poorly lit. My husband would only realise he hadn’t shaved properly when we got into the lift which was properly lit!

The balcony provided is very small; it would have been nice if it was larger to sit on in the evenings.

I thought the external appearance of the hotel is very attractive and the pool area is very well kept. Unfortunately I thought the pool was freezing. I would much prefer to be in the water than on a sun lounger but on this holiday I just couldn’t take the water temperature of the pool. I have not experienced this problem previously and I don’t really know why the water was so cold. The sun loungers, of which there were plenty were not especially comfortable.

In terms of room choice I am sorry we paid more for a garden view room. Having stayed in Coco Palm, I now think that the Kreole rooms would just as good. They seem to have everything the garden view rooms have at a lesser price. Plus I think the Kreole rooms have a larger balcony. I would request a back facing Kreole room as I suspect they would be quieter. Regarding the ‘swim up’ rooms, I thought they sounded great and was very tempted to book one. After staying in the hotel I am glad we did not. They are permanently in the shade and the water in front of these rooms which is in a different section of the pool is noticeably colder than in the rest of the already chilly pool.

The location of Coco Palm is excellent. Its right in the middle of the town and you are within very easy walking distance of a multitude of nice restaurants and a few bars too. I think Rodney Bay is the place to stay in St Lucia- we drove around the whole island and didn’t see anywhere else with such a choice of restaurants. We ate out on 6 nights of our stay and didn’t have a bad experience once and there were lots of other places which could have gone to if we were there longer. The food is not cheap but it is good.

The beach is also very close to the hotel, about 5 minutes down a rough road that is clearly signposted. Contrary to what I have read, I didn’t think this route was unsafe at all, other than maybe watching your step on the bumpy road. The beach for me was good, lovely warm water in a nice setting but it is very over developed. Most of the beach is lined with hotel boundary walls and what should be beautiful views have been ruined. What a pity for what’s supposed to be one of St Lucia’s finest beaches. I generally felt the situation on Reduit beach typified the island- carelessly over developed in such a way that has seriously detracted from what should be a paradise island.

We only had breakfast in the hotel once. Service was very attentive but we had to wait as they were replenishing the hot foods, even though they had just been replaced the food was cold. Overall breakfast wasn’t worth it, for half the price you can go to Rituals just down the road where there’s lots to choose from- and everything we had there was good.

Overall I would not recommend Coco Palm. If you do want to go lower your expectations and maybe you will be happy.

As for St Lucia as a holiday destination I was not very impressed, it is not cheap to get to or stay in and it’s just not worth it. I have travelled all over the world and have found that places with much lower reputations are much more beautiful and far more interesting. We hired a car for 2 days and had seen everything we wanted in the first day. If you fancy some winter sun I’d strongly recommend Cuba, it’s cheap and amazing. The rest of the year there’s a whole world out there and you can have a lot more of an experience elsewhere for less.

If you do go to St. Lucia, we used Kimbert Duplesis phvtours@gmail.com for our transfer from Hewanorra Airport to Rodney Bay, he was the cheapest I found and we were very happy with him.

The cheapest car rental company we found was Adventure Leisure, very low powered car but perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoPalmManagement, Owner at Coco Palm Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
On behalf of Coco Palm Management, we thank you for posting your views on Trip Advisor. Whilst we take every measure to assure guests satisfaction, we appreciate we may not always get it right.

We value your opinion and am sorry you found Coco Palm and Saint Lucia to not be what you expected. Whilst I can’t speak for the island, I can only apologize for Coco Palm not living up to your expectations. First impressions do set the tone and am sorry upon arrival you were not made to feel welcome. Given the limited flights coming in to the island, arrivals can sometimes be heavy for short windows. Welcome drinks are not the norm but can be extended and am sorry you felt slighted by this not being extended to you. The layout of our Front Desk is being upgraded with an additional counter being installed later this month as we wish to improve the check-in process. Our in-room directories are in the final stages of being updated with tour information being improved so it is unfortunate you timing had to experience this in transition. Being a guests of hotels.com, an established partner of ours, should not have reflected on your booking in any way.

Our lead in categories are being upgraded with flat screen TV’s and full length mirrors as the higher categories have. Patios are only available on the ground floor as the rooms were made to benefit with more space internally. We do have 12 Suites which have the roll top Victorian bathtub which am sorry you missed. The 2nd floor rooms at Kreole do indeed benefit from larger balconies as it is a different build. Am sorry all of this was not available to you when you were making your choice of room.

Again, thank you for your valued opinion and we hope that future guests will be guided and we will deliver a service our guests have come to enjoy and your future travels will be more rewarding.

Sincerely,
Feolla Chastanet & Coco Palm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Resort

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Palm Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Palm in St. Lucia, an Award-Winning Boutique Hotel with classic Caribbean French Creole décor and modern amenities offers value without compromise.From the moment you arrive you’ll be impressed by our level of personal service and warm hospitality by our Saint Lucian owned and managed Team. Equally impressive are our stylish rooms and suites, and the authentic creole and international cuisine at KoKo Cabana Caribbean Bistro with Trinidadian Chef Richardson's specialty dishes along with newly introduced All Inclusive plan. Coco Beauty Clinic, gym and complimentary Wi-Fi along with being centrally located in the heart of Rodney Bay Village, just steps from the white sand Reduit Beach, shops, bars and casino, have made Coco Palm the preferred choice for business or pleasure and creating a strong repeat guest of Coco Club family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coco Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Hotel Gros Islet
Hotel Coco Palm
Coco Palm St Lucia
Coco Palm Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Palm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.