We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gros Islet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
33 Cap Park Hill, Cap Estate | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

My partner and I stayed in Araliya Inn for 7 night in April and wished we could have stayed for 7 months. If you are not so much a beach whale and enjoy discovering one of the most beautiful islands in the Caribbean, while being close to the action and the beaches if you want it, and only 2 minutes from peace and quiet, Araliya Inn is the place to be. Superb location, excellent facilities including swimming pool, luxurious rooms with 180 degree view over the most beautiful part of the island and Rodney Bay. Let the sun go down while sipping your favourite drink on the large terrace... If you are lucky enough to have Fazl, owner of the place, to look after you day and night if need be....you will most certainly feel like being "home"
Go and check it out
Barbara and Charlie (Wembley-London)
P.S. I suggest you rent a car

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — slight restriction because of security put in place
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

My girlfriend and I just returned from St. Lucia where we had the opportunity to stay 7 days and 6 nights at the Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn. What an experience that was...this Bed and Breakfast was the most elegant and beautiful place you could stay. As soon as we walked in and were greeted by the wonderful staff, Fazl and Brenda, it felt like home. It was immaculately clean, the rooms were beautiful and the view was spectacular! We felt so comfortable and relaxed there that it was so very hard for us to leave.

Every morning Brenda and her staff would cook us the most delicious and appetizing breakfasts...from banana pancakes, homemade scones and muffins, omelettes, and always fresh, sweet delicious fruit. We wish we could have brought them back with us to cook! It was simply delicious!

The management and staff were always very accomodating and the nicest, warmest people you ever wanted to meet. Their saying, "Once you come as our guest, you will return as our family", is so very true. They make you feel so welcomed and treat you just like family. We can't wait to return to St. Lucia and to stay with our wonderful family at Araliya. We can't say enough about this beautiful place and awesome staff, except to encourage you to visit beautiful St. Lucia and to make reservations at Araliya...we promise you, you won't regret it.

Toye and Brenda in Atlanta, GA

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We have been visiting the Caribbean for more than a dozen years now and have never been taken care of so well.
When we walked in the door after a long flight and seemingly endless drive across the island, Brenda and Fazl were waiting for us with a tray of cocktails and smiles as broad as the sky.
Every morning Brenda was waiting for us -- regardless of the hour -- with coffee and a lovely breakfast. Every day a new treat, always including fresh fruit and a table decorated with flowers. Brenda made day trip and restaurant reservations for us and never seemed taxed at all by our requests.
The two could never do too much -- Fazl even got a flat tire fixed in time for us to take one of our many side trips.
Their hospitality was warm, their advice on target and their house just gorgeous.
I recommend Araliya to anyone going to St. Lucia.
Really!
Chris & Teresa

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

The Araliya Inn is a very private posh little Inn perched atop a steep hill overlooking all of Rodney Bay the 2,000ft mountains south of it and Cas en Bas and the Atlantic to the east. The views are close enough to touch and will fill your viewfinder! The Inn is just up the hill from our favorite beach complete with a fish covered reef to one side. There are fresh flowers everywhere and tropical plantings both inside and out. In fact each room is named for a flower. We had the best room in the house and the only room on the top floor. It had a jacuzzi but the best thing about the room was the bathroom! It was huge and had two windows, two sinks, six mirrors and its own balcony! The height and angle of the balcony was so high that we left the door open all the time. It was great to brush your teeth and see the mountains in the mirror! Our walk-in closet was 16ft long and had a fabulous view! The main room also has a balcony beyond the french doors. The a/c has remote control and is powerful. Two housekeepers quietly spend the day wiping down and polishing everything. Another man works the gardens and keeps the pool spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served on formal china with cloth napkins and piano music playing in the salon. When other guests are present each has his own balcony or private dining area, all have fantastic views and the food is wonderful and different each day - a real cooked full breakfast with fruit - you can't eat it all! This was our third trip to St. Lucia and so far the best value yet. If you don't want to rent a car there's a taxi across the street at Le Sport that will bring you to Rodney Bay and Restaurant Row for $15. I recommend renting a car for only a few days, we had one delivered and picked up at the Inn. Brenda makes all of your reservations and calls for free and can arrange things you haven't even thought of! (She also can make a mean rum punch or pina-colada) I saved about $2,000 staying at the Inn but then spent about $750 on restaurant meals and drinks. Our favorite restaurants were The Great House (very close) Chic and the Edge (on the harbor). Lastly, Brenda and Fazil prepared us dinner after 10pm the night we arrived and our flight was delayed. I will never forget their thoughtfulness and the price makes their dinners one of the best values on the island but you must plan it at least a day in advance from their menu as everything is fresh. Don't believe the jerk who claimed the downstairs rooms weren't private. I had a chance to see these rooms and they are down a separate alcove hallway. Those rooms ARE more modest but it's very hard to deny their overall value. Each has their own balcony, the king sized bed is actually two twins beside each other with King sized linens. Next time we go to St. Lucia we'll stay at the Inn no matter which rooms are available. Make sure you bring your binoculars and diving masks! Call Me! Mark Alexander 508-693-0101

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

We rented two rooms which were advertised as en suite only one was and both were situated very close to the front door of the hotel(large house really) which offered no privacy as you moved from one room to the other. THe rooms offer no drinks making facilities. On our second day we attempted to help ourselves and was told that the other guests were asking why we had use of the kitchen when they did not. There were no other guests! That was the first of many lies told during our stay. We were the only guests for the first week and our comings and goings were constantly being monitored by the two innkeepers. We could not leave as we had to pay in advance for our stay. The intrusiveness of the female innkeeper was particularly unbearable. The innkeepers (who do not own but rent the house) cannot afford to place furniture in the rooms. Our bedroom had limited furniture, nothing other than a bed to sit on. Breakfast is limited to eggs, toast and inedible homemade muffins (no meat or fish and certainly no pork). When we queried this including why other cereals weren't available we were told they could not afford to do so and guests should provide their own.
St Lucia is beautiful, but the amature experience of the pair involved here takes the shine off what should be a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Inn Manager at Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2005
Araliya is an Elegant Boutique Bed & Breakfast Inn serving the diversity of travellers around the world with highly personalized service and attention to every detail. We are here to pamper you and ensure a memorable vacation at the elegant Araliya Inn in Paradise St.Lucia.

I am proud and honored to be the Inn Manager at Araliya and I am very disturbed and disappointed by the comments posted.

First of all Araliya has never advertised it's rooms as ensuite and we are definitely not a hotel, Araliya is a Bed & Breakfast Inn as shown on our website and all correspondence to all our guests.

This family who booked 2 rooms with us was offered a very special discounted rate for their stay with us. All information given to them before their confirmation stated all that is true. It was never mentioned or written that the rooms contained coffee/tea making facilities. The guests were told where the rooms were located, the room amenities and what was included in that special rate as well as the policies that follows. Further more every Guest is briefed upon arrival about the Inn's policies.

You intruded on our privacy when you helped yourself to our kitchen on the very first morning of your stay after checking in the evening before and was told that the kitchen was private and should you need anything do not hesitate to ask.

You were told what time the breakfast is served every morning and what is offered for breakfast. Continental Breakfast does not include meat or fish but limited to coffee/tea, juice, toast, butter, jam and a pastry. We served up a variety of fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, fresh homemade goodies ( a different one everyday), freshly brewed coffee and teas, preserves, butter, cheeses, egg dishes, cereals etc etc. It is not our concern if some of you do not eat sweets in the morning and some you do not eat eggs. We gave what we said we would and it was for free and you agreed to that upon confirmation of your booking.

You used our personal and business computer without any permission whatsoever after again being told to let us know when you need to use the internet and we will set it up for you.

You disturbed the rest of our guests by slamming the doors as early as 5am and as late as midnight and even sometimes at 2am. You presume that you were the only guests inhouse.

You broke our flower vase, TV table, doors, left the lights on and air-condition running when not in room, left the water running in the shower and bathroom sinks many times, walked back and forward within the Inn un-necessarily, fiddled around with every door to see what’s behind it, walked in with mud in your shoes and sand from the beach and made a mess on our floors and carpet, stained room carpet with red wine which was not sold by us, destroyed key tags and still we were very nice to you.

I personally made the effort to bring you hot tea every morning room service as early as 5:30am which we are not under any obligation to do so. Not a thank you from you and you certainly did not appreciate the kindness extended to your family.

Why did you ask if we had other guests, were you expecting someone or paid for someone else's vacation or were you just nosy ? Why did you ask management and staff of their personal affairs, why did you ask the staff’s of their pesonal life, work and pay why did it concern you ? Why did you go around questioning who owns the property ? We never asked any of these questions from you. Who does the cap fits now....

Anywhere you vacation in this world expect to be asked how you spent your day and if you need help on booking restaurants, attractions, tours, trips, and the lots more that the Island has to offer to make your vacation fun, and exciting. And that’s what we did at Araliya. Now if that’s being nosy, then I suggest you not travel for vacation but stay home or if you plan on traveling rent a house especially with your definition of privacy.

Futhermore it would help to know why this family spent an extra 2 nights with us if they disliked our breakfast, service, no privacy as much as they said, why not book another hotel, you had not paid for those 2 nights yet.

The point is you hated to be told to respect the property and it’s policies, you were unable to get your own way and decided the only one way to get back to us is slander us on this forum for the world to see.

It is such a difficult job to be in the hospitality industry and so hard to please the diversity of people on a daily basis, but we continue to do what we do best, serve our people the best we can.

The Owner, management and staff is here to help all our guests enjoy the best that St. Lucia has to offer and that includes your comfort and happinness throughout. We are kind, honest and friendly people knowledgeable about our Island and the hospitality industry and will go the extra mile but never mislead anyone with false information.

Thank You,
Brenda Alfred
Inn Manager
Araliya Bed & Breakfast Inn
St.Lucia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

Araliya is not a B&B like the owners called it, it is much more, like a small luxury hotel. The rooms, views, food, service, friendliness of the staff, manager and owner is excellent. The property and surroundings are so clean just like they mentioned in their website. We were so relaxed and pampered every minute, interesting conversations, great advise on where to go and eat in St.Lucia.

We definitely will come back to stay with our newly formed friends and family. We can't stop talking about our trip it was truly a memorable experience.

Anyone looking for a relaxing vacation at affordable prices with remarkable services, I suggest you stay at Araliya Inn in St.Lucia. See their website for more information or call Brenda the Inn Manager, she is very helpful.

Have a wonderful time and please try the food...soooo delicious...healthy....presentation to die for...very classy.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2005

One thing to be careful about is the cancellation policy. The hotel takes one half deposit, but if one needs to cancel, this becomes a norefundable charge. I booked on a Wednesday for arrival the following Monday. The next day, Thursday (fully 4 days before arrival date), I needed to cancel and called immediately. I received an email confirmation of the cancellation showing that the one-half deposit of nearly US$600, was nonrefundable. Only after strenuous complaints did the management agree to charge only $30 instead of the entire deposit amount. Also, the hotel charges a 5% fee for credit card transactions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 33 Cap Park Hill, Cap Estate | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Araliya is a warm and inviting Elegant Four Bedroom Inn artistically designed and decorated. Each beautifully decorated bedroom is unique with air-conditioning, private balconies and all have stunning views. Meticulously clean, secure, comfortable and spacious accommodation overlooking picturesque Cap Estate, Rodney Bay and ocean views. This superb luxury villa "Island holiday home" is the quintessential location for discerning guests accustomed to the finer pleasures of life. An idyllic venue where you can experience the elegance and charm of luxury Bed & Breakfast house living. This is your home away from home complete with all the amenities of a small luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Araliya Hotel Gros Islet
Araliya b&b Inn
Araliya Bed And Breakfast Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Araliya Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.