We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst meals of my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Oriental Restaurant

The Oriental Restaurant
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts | Rodney Bay, Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
+1 758-457-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 69 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $19 - $56
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst meals of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were staying in an adjacent resort and wanted to try something different when we tried the Oriental. First we arrived around 7 pm, the restaurant was completely empty. They then told us that the place was completely booked and that maybe we would like to reserve for the next day. In awe, we said " But it is completely empty!". The chef came out and gave us a "special table".
The menu looked good but the food was awful:
- The ramen soup was cold chicken broth with linguini pasta in it and a couple slices of zucchini
- The green curry was very dry
- The tuna was a bleak and unappetizing grey
- The white wine was not chilled - the only redeeming quality was that the bottle was only $20US....

The service was less than adequate:
- The person serving the wine served it gripping the bottle with two hands as if holding on to dear life and pouring it haphazardly over our shoulders, draping his table cloth in our plates....
- The waitress did not know they served stir fry on the menu and got the order of one of our dining parties wrong… three times!
- The billing process was unnecessarily lengthy and they had mistakes on the bill…

Overall this was extremely disappointing. If you have ever had decent Asian food, this is not it!
Avoid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBernon, Manager at The Oriental Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear MBP0016 ,
I am sorry that you did not have a great experience at The Oriental what we have so far been able to show in the short time we have been open,as is evident from the few reviews we have . Thanks for your feedback as every feedback is a learning factor for us. We will scrutinize that evening in the restaurant and learn from the mistakes and ensure that it does not happen again.

Food is somthing very personal to everyone and can be liked by a hundred and disliked by one but does not say that everyone enjoys the same, our goal is great food and service and I must apologise for the service that evening at your table. We take every comment by our guest seriously and work on those to not repeat again.

It would have been perfect for both of us if you had mentioned these on the night so something/anything could have been done to rectify the problems to turn your dissatisfaction into a happy evening.

If you are still on the island, please contact me personally on rexorientalchef@candw.lc and give us another try for that rating we driving to get in our food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visiting next door resort, heard about opening night under new management. Decided to have a try and we were not disappointed.Fusion food was as described and chef's special roast pork was delicious. We will definitely go back before leaving and are recommending our friends to have a go. We have tried several restaurants in the area and found it to be top notch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBernon, Manager at The Oriental Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review , we are always pleased to hear when our clients have enjoyed their meal with us. Kind Regards Chef Bernon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion: The Oriental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I heard of the Oriental, an upscale Asian Fusion Restaurant and was immediately intrigued. When I did a stakeout during volunteer work, I was awestricken by the beautiful décor and the menu. It truly represented Asian Fusion; Chinese, Indian and Thai cuisine. Upon perusing the cuisine, many of the items infuse influences from Singapore and Malaysia. Though pricey, it is possible to do fine dining on a budget! I will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great choice of food and with a bit of spice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very friendly and helpful service. Good choice of menu, sort of mixture of Thai, chinese and Malasian. Choose your spice too, mild, medium or hot.

Good value too

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.