We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most sophisticated Indian food we've eaten in the western hemisphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegance Cafe

Elegance Cafe
Massade | Opposite the Gros Islet Police Station, Gros Islet 00000, St. Lucia
+1 758-450-9864
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Elegance Cafe, one of the restaurants in the north of the island, is an excellent dining option that merges authentic Indian cuisine with International healthy dining options. Our Indian menu features some of the most popular and unique home style dishes from all over India.Each dish is prepared and presented in a special way to give a distinct mouth-watering taste and flavors.The international Menu includes steam baskets, selection of grilled sandwiches with freshly baked breads,simple salads with local organic produce and home style desserts.The cafe also serves Italian cappuccino, latte, espresso using freshly ground Jamaican Blue Mountain coffeebeans, a variety of teas, fresh juices with no additives,and a fine selection of wines.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Probably the most sophisticated Indian food we've eaten in the western hemisphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Not done anywhere in Trinidad, but this place wipes the floor with anywhere else we've been - fantastic service, wonderful food, excellent value for money.

New, and going places.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    4
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Heatlhy Food - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our first meal at Elegance Cafe last night and will definitely be returning. The menu was varied, sensibly priced and healthy (which makes a very pleasant change) and the food itself was all freshly prepared and delicious. The service was professional and Carlos, the Indian owner, took time to chat with us and was rightly proud of his business and restaurant ethos. He is currently extending the restaurant beyond the outside veranda/terrace to establish and indoor bar and seating area and will shortly be moving the interior design shop to the upper floor. We wish him every success and are already planning our next visit. Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ephilip2013, Owner at Elegance Cafe, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review and we enjoyed having you dine with us. We are pleased that your food experience matches our vision for the restaurant. Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful clean Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We are on a yacht, and during our visit to St. Lucia of about 10 days we have eaten at the Elegance Cafe three times.
This little restaurant serves some of the best Indian food we have ever tasted, and we lived in London for many years. This is a South Indian restaurant, and all the food is very fresh with a minimum of oils and no additives. The Masala Dosas (only on Saturdays) are very good and are fantastic value, and unobtainable in most places.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been on the island for 3 weeks now and have been Elegance Cafe about 5-6 times, as its the most reliable place to be assured something good to eat. There are Cafe's and Fine Dinning restaurants, Elegance Cafe is not really a Cafe its in-between, the food quality is high with authentic India food as well as healthy western options. For those people fed up of paying high prices for good food Elegance is the place to visit while in the Rodney Bay and surrounding areas. They also do take-aways so you can grab a meal to go.

Recently they have also added some in-door seating for those looking to inside an A/C environment.

We wait eagerly for the arrival of thier Tandoor Oven which will expand the menu more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had lunch with a friend. Best Indian food since I was in India. Also has western food but didn't try it. Juices were fresh and cold. Food was spicey but not overly so. Had vegetarian but next time will try curried goat or lamb. There are about eight tables on porch fairly close to road,so not ideal but they are planning to add inside dining. Worth a visit if you are near Rodney Bay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elegance Cafe also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Elegance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegance Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.