We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas on the Bay

Tapas on the Bay
Rodney Bay Waterfront | St Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
7584512433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tapas on the Bay - little dishes from around the world, served waterside with beautiful views and sea breezes. Great Sangria pitchers, cold beers and an ever changing winelist - open for lunch and dinner except Mondays. Located next to Dinghy Dock adjacent to Big Chef Steakhouse.
Kingston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

My friend's and I went to Tapas on the Bay for dinner our first night in Rodney Bay, we loved the food. We made a pledge to try a different restaurant each night and then return to the best for our last night. Tapas was the first choice for our last evening in St. Lucia. Niem, was our waiter both evenings and provided great service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We're delighted that you chose Tapas as your favourite restaurant in Rodney Bay and thank you for posting your feedback. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Tapas on the Bay or Big Chef Steakhouse in future. Thanks for posting! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    67
    35
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We ended up going back to Tapas on the Bay a second night as we were very impressed with the food. The restaurant is very well decorated and the table out on the deck are very nice. We opted for the set selection of taps on the menu on the fist trip so that we had an idea of what would come, was not disappointed, next trip we selected what we fancied with a jug of sangria. What a great dinner. Will definitely be going back in a few weeks when we return to St. Lucia.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
One of the reasons we love Tapas is the variety of little dishes and combinations the guest can enjoy. Thank you for your feedback, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visits so much you plan to return. Hope to welcome you back to Tapas on the Bay or Big Chef Steakhouse again in the near future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice spot, good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good location right on the water. We went for Taste of Tapas with wine & water. We were served fresh bread to start with a blue cheese dip - delicious. Taste of Tapas was a mixture of round 12 small dishes including separate plate of tomato and parmesan bruschetta which was v good. The food was delicious and well presented - but there was just too much of it. Maybe we over - ordered for 2 people. Bill was around $120 US which was expensive for what we had. May have worked out OK between 4.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and it seems perhaps our Pick 6 Platter may have been enough for you and your dining companion, as Taste of Tapas is one of the larger platters on the menu. We're delighted that you enjoyed the home-made dips and bread, and hope to welcome you back to Tapas on the Bay or Big Chef Steakhouse in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tapas on the bay rodney bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

tucked in behind Big chef you will find a fabulous place to eat. There are tables inside and out with a view of the bay dotted with moored sailboats. The selection is good with options of Big Chef specialty items as well. Pasta and rice dishes were very tasty. The atmosphere and service was pleasant. Definitely worth trying

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We're so glad you found Lil Chef & Tapas on the Bay, and appreciate your positive comments about your visit. Thanks for taking time out to post your review, and don't forget to visit us again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Rodney Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

St. Lucia's breakfast on this menu was just right. This place was great, next to the water, great setting. The staff was nice. This spot is a bit hidden in the back of the building, so try not to miss it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for your review of our Lil' Chef daytime menu, and we are glad you enjoyed your experience. Our all day breakfasts are very popular, and a great addition to Tapas on the Bay. We've added more signs so hope you'll find us again in future! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas on the Bay also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.