We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas on the Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas on the Bay

Tapas on the Bay
Rodney Bay Waterfront | St Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
7584512433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 60 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tapas on the Bay - little dishes from around the world, served waterside with beautiful views and sea breezes. Great Sangria pitchers, cold beers and an ever changing winelist - open for lunch and dinner except Mondays. Located next to Dinghy Dock adjacent to Big Chef Steakhouse.
Auburndale, Florida
1 review
“Tapas on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recommended by staff at our resort as "something a little different" and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We had a combination platter that the two of us shared comfortably. Sadly we did not get our bread and forgot to ask for it...on the plus side we had room for a dessert which was excellent! The staff was very friendly and would definitely go again. Thanks, Digna!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We're so glad your resort recommended Tapas on the Bay, and happy that you enjoyed your platter of tapas. Sorry for the oversight with the bread, but as they say here 'every disappointment is a blessing' and enjoying one of our home-made desserts is a definite upside. Thanks very much for your positive review, and Digna says hi! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    62
    33
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castries, St. Lucia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best there is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Whether it is for a drink or two, dinner date, business metting or catching up with friends Tapas is perfect. The menu is amazing, the fried calamari especially and the sangria! 6 out of 5 stars!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Wow, can't get better than 6 out of 5 stars!! Thanks for posting your wonderful review and hope we'll see you again on the deck for calamari and sangria!! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Great Dining Experience @ Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I found Tapas on our honeymoon and the food and service was excellent....best meal we've had so far on our trip. Our server Shermain especially made our experience fun. She was very friendly, gave us advice on where to seek out fun during our trip and our dining experience wouldn't have been the same without her. Also....great view outside by the water.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little bites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A wonderful evening in a relaxed atmosphere overlooking the bay. Even the rains could not spoil the wonderful meal of well prepared & executed tapas! Lots of little bites to make up an really great meal!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your short & sweet review, and it's good to know our tapas were well received. We designed the restaurant to make sure the interior was as welcoming and beautiful as the deck (since we realise our limitations in controlling the weather!!). Hope to see you again soon, and please remember to say hi. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went for lunch, was not upto the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The portions were little compared to how much you paid. If you like french cuisine this is the place to come. It opened to the bay which would have been much more prettier during the night. The place is a bit out of the way though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to post your comments. Just a couple of corrections, Tapas on the Bay is a Spanish restaurant - definitely not French. Tapas are in fact the traditional 4-5 bite size dishes originating from Spain, hence the small portions. Although we are tucked away from the noisy main road, we are located right in the heart of Rodney Bay on the water's edge, 1 minute walk from the major malls, and 15 seconds from our other restaurant Big Chef. Again, thanks for your time. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas on the Bay also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.