We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for lunch, was not upto the mark” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas on the Bay

Tapas on the Bay
Rodney Bay Waterfront | St Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
7584512433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 69 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tapas on the Bay - little dishes from around the world, served waterside with beautiful views and sea breezes. Great Sangria pitchers, cold beers and an ever changing winelist - open for lunch and dinner except Mondays. Located next to Dinghy Dock adjacent to Big Chef Steakhouse.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Went for lunch, was not upto the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The portions were little compared to how much you paid. If you like french cuisine this is the place to come. It opened to the bay which would have been much more prettier during the night. The place is a bit out of the way though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to post your comments. Just a couple of corrections, Tapas on the Bay is a Spanish restaurant - definitely not French. Tapas are in fact the traditional 4-5 bite size dishes originating from Spain, hence the small portions. Although we are tucked away from the noisy main road, we are located right in the heart of Rodney Bay on the water's edge, 1 minute walk from the major malls, and 15 seconds from our other restaurant Big Chef. Again, thanks for your time. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    94
    46
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

One of our friends from st lucia recommended Tapas for dinner as she had visited every other restaurant in the area. This place didnt disappoint. I had the shrimp and brushetta. yummy!!! We probably had the best customer service thanks to a bubbly server called Digna. The owner even came over to say hello. Next time i visit st Lucia im heading here first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place looked good from the outside, but that's where it ends. You have to hunt down the pathway to actually find the enterence. Then I get inside and the people Working their just look at you. After a couple of mins waiting I ask if they are open, of course they are but they are not professional. We get a table and we ask for some drinks including water. It takes over 20 mins before I inquire from the waitress what's taking so long. Then she says to me in a rude tone that she is waiting on the bar tender. Meanwhile the place is empty with only another couple having lunch. All the while she was just chatting away.

This place is the pits. The food sucks and a little over priced. McDonald's would have better fish and chips.

Would have left if the wife did not insist on staying since we were already there.

Would not recommend.

Advice go to the Indian restaurant across the road.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit, and we are very disappointed that your experience was nowhere near our usual standard of service. We have never been compared to McDonalds, and our Chef is very unhappy to read your comments as he cooks every dish fresh to order. We will use this as a learning opportunity with the team, and hope you will consider visiting us again in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Would have expected a better setting right on the bay. We looked out over construction the entire time we were seated. Our beer arrived warm and the server had nothing else to offer. Finally we asked for a bucket with ice and it was cold by the time we were ready to leave. Tapas were small (by New York standards). My husband received 3 small meatballs, and I had 5 small shrimp that I peeled out of the skin. It was about 15 USD each. Ridiculous!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Tapas on the Bay, although we are disappointed that your experience was not up to our usual standard. We have had varying feedback on the portion size of our tapas and try to stick to the 4-5 bite size which is traditional. Our meatball tapa has a portion size of 5, so perhaps there was an error made in your order. We sincerely hope you'll come back again and let the Tapas team make up for your disappointment. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Waterside Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This restaurant was just what we needed after a long day. Tapas, cocktails, and waterside dining. Many great dishes to choose from.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas on the Bay, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate your short and sweet review of Tapas on the Bay, and hope you'll come back again for cocktails and tapas in the near future. Thanks for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas on the Bay also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.