We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View! June 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Italian Guesthouse to your Saves list
Italian Guesthouse
Axted Road, Gros Islet 00124, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome View! June 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There are a few things that should be mentioned by the owner that are not in the description.

You need a jeep as the road is very steep and not paved. I rented a Suzuki Jimmy and that was perfect.

Getting there: When you get to Rodney Bay, go past the Rodney Bay Mall and the Rodney Bay Marina and look for the fire station on the right side. Just past the fire station is the police station. Turn right there and then stay to the right at the first fork in the road. There are signs to direct you from there.

There is no hot water.

I would only suggest renting #1, #5, or #6. The other rooms are very, very small and #4 does not have an attached bathroom. There are no safes in the rooms either. As a single woman, I would have liked a little more security, as the curtains didn't completely cover the windows in #3 which is the room I stayed in. The bed was very, very short in #3, so if you are taller than 5ft, it will be too small.

The view is amazing and it is nice and quiet. Overall it was a very nice stay and the island is beautiful.

Room Tip: Only suggest rooms #1, #5 and #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This Guest House was just exceptional. Everything about our stay was fabulous from getting on the taxi at the airport all the way to the Guest House. Every one is friendly and exceeds your highest expectation. It was my wife and I 6 months wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Italian guest house was simply the best experience I've ever had! NO QUESTIONS ASKED! Every one was so friendly, the house keeper is so adorably kind, the surroundings are soooo neatly kept, the service was exceptional, the manager was always in touch. it was truly a transcendent. i would advise anyone to take this experience.

Room Tip: i dont think it matters which room you choose, they are all awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufriere, St. Lucia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and daughter and I stayed at the hotel from April 30, 2014 to May 10, 2014. It was awesome. The taxi driver took us up there and we were received by a great housekeeper, Delia. She made us comfortable and ensured that our rooms were always kept clean. The Manager was in constant communication with us to make sure that everything worked out fine. The beds were relaxing and the view is phenomenal. I recommend this guest house for everyone who wants an enjoyable and relaxing vacation in Saint Lucia. You could have a blast with your entire family, or just some quiet time by yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hi! I am Italian but i live in London. I choose the "Italian guesthouse" for the name!! I stayed there in February with my friends.. I can not find one negative thing about this place! Alessandro, the owner, has a 4x4 jeep for rent, it's super! we rented it for a week at a discounted price .. we explored the island !
Together with him we also made dinners with barbeque that is available to all guests in the garden. I hope to come back to you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed there for 18 days in Marts/April 2014, and we must say the The Italian Guest House is very unique; firstly for the view over Rodney Bay secondly for the very friendly owner Alexandro and the staff headed by Delia. They keep the place neet and clean. For a guest house we were very impressed with the regular cleaning of th rooms and the changing of linnen and towels. The olny thing we did was to do our own dishes.
Thirdly we liked the quiet surroundings and the beautiful garden, - and all of it is for you to use and enjoy.

The guest house is close to Rodney Bay and the Marina with the Yacht Warf and even closer to the little village "Gros Islet" - all places are nice to visit with good or even excellent restaurants just a short but steep an bumpy trip away. You can walk the road but we prefered to go by car a 4x4, which you can rent from the guest house. They can also arrange sail boat cruises where the owner of the guest house is the "Skipper".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff, good location, community feel and the view! The best view I have ever had. The room was cleaned every day and the laundry service is priceless. You are going to spend more time by the guesthouse than visiting the island!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Italian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italian Guesthouse

Address: Axted Road, Gros Islet 00124, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is built in wood and volcanic stone, structured as a typical colonial house with a beautiful view on Rodney Bay. In the tropical garden you find mango, banana, papaya, cherries trees and a well organized barbeque area. There is also a cottage which hosts, besides the laundry where you can give your clothes to the housekeeper , a relaxing area with double Jacuzzi and an outdoor shower dip in the nature. The property has two separate apartments with their private kitchen and four cozy apartments with an airy shared kitchen. The property is located into Rodney Bay Marina area, in the north of Saint Lucia island, on the top of a sweet hill which overhang the world famous Marina and Gros Islet village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Italian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italian Guesthouse St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.