We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a greta place for activities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not a greta place for activities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

This being our 4th Sandals trip, we had high expectations, and lets just say that all of them fell way off from what we had in mind.

We did not get an upgrade, although it is customary for Sandals, and we were in the only wing that did not have even a partial ocean view. The service was okay, but not the friendliest that we have gotten from other Sandals properties.

The daily activities that occured were very mediocre at best. Every day they had pool vooleyball and only 4 people showed up, they did not recruit or even have visible playmakers present.

We loved the view on the beach and the pools were excellent. The food was decent, but not up to Sandals standards.

The day trips were not the best and there is not alot to see or do on the Island, so be aware that if you are very active that you may find yourself a little bored during the days, as we did.

Overall we were there 10 days and it was a pleasant trip, but not one that I would go on again.

Jayson Fogle
Wisconsin

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,808
    1,141
    377
    181
    134
See reviews for
78
3,646
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

We stayed at the Sandals Grande for our Honeymoon form Sept.26-Oct. 3. We had a fabulous time and would highly recommend it to anyone for their honeymoon.

Concierge Service:

We had a rocky start with the Airlines (delay, missed connections etc) but the Sandals reps and our concierge service (well worth it) dealt with the airlines on our behalf to file the claim and get our luggage to us as quickly as possible. In the meantime they provided us with complimentary amenities, even 2 Sandals t-Shirts! They were also instrumental in getting us booked into the restaurants at the Halcyon and Regency that required reservations. These were booked until after we left but they managed to get us 2 reservations!!

Swim-Up Room:

We had booked a swim up room and our so glad we did. It will be so hard to go to any other resort without this feature. We spent plenty of time at the main pool where all the action and the bar is, but the lagoon pool from our room was wonderful to relax in before/after br4eakfast or nap time. And every night after dinner and whatever the nightly entertainment was we would unwind in our own private paradise. There was hardly anyone in it at the same time, it was refreshing and relaxing. The room itself had room service which was great for relaxed breakfast or long days of tours etc. The room was just like the others but tiled & clean. The housekeeping staff really tried to make it special with fresh flowers etc.

Food:

I think it was excellent. Anything you want at any time.

Bare foot by the sea has a great surf and turf with a view for dinner and a fantastic lunch. Grilled steak, baked potatoes, & Caesar salad. Not your ordinary buffet lunch!

Bayside had your typical buffet breakfast and made to order omelets etc. We did not make it there for any other meal.

Toscanni's was pretty good Italian with a great antipasto bar and white glove service.

Old London Pub had great apps - mozzarella logs, salads etc. I had a nice prime rib and husband has a tasty homemade pot pie. Desserts are really good too if you can find room.

Josephine was a hit for late afternoon snack before a late dinner or when you had skipped lunch. Savory crepes are a great for a meal but the have to try is the delicious chocolate crepe. Also have fresh brewed Cafe Latte Espresso etc.

Room service was good but not a great variety.

Kimonos at the regency was fun and the Teppanayaki was awesome and plenty of food for everyone!

Pools and Grounds were always clean. The staff was friendly, polite, and accommodating (even to some of the guests whom I thought were extremely rude and demeaning).

We took the helicopter to the airport and it was a great way to see the island and get to the airport quick! We did the Soufriere Sea Adventure which is all day and does have some land aspects, The Catamaran ride was long and great, the snorkeling was very cool, and all in all it was a great way to see a lot of the island off the resort in one shot.

We also did a couples massage at the spa in the beginning of our trip and it was so worth it. You also find out you can use their steam baths, sauna, and plunge pools at anytime even off hours and they show you how to access it.


The island was great, people were very friendly, and the weather was killer. 90+ sunny hot and humid every day. We did not have one cloudy or rainy day.

Enjoy - We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

My husband and I spent 3 days (of a 6 day St. Lucia stay) at the Grande and had a great time. One activity we wanted to do was the diving. Since it had been over a year since we had dived, we were required to take a refresher course ($50 pp). We appreciated this and were more comfortable diving afterwards. Martin, our dive master, was very professional and friendly.
We met many honeymooners, but also some who had been married over 25 years like we had.

Our room overlooked the quieter pool near the tennis courts. From our balcony, we could see Martinique. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the pillows - nice and thick.

We do not drink much or stay up late partying, so I can speak to those areas. We enjoyed swimming, diving, kayaking, tubing (too short a ride!), hiking on Pigeon Island, and just reading books. When we were there, the selection at their lending library was pretty slim. But I know that changes daily.

The staff was GREAT, very friendly and helpful. I found that true of most of the St Lucians we met. And, they are all very proud of their island.

The food was fine, but not outstanding. We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts at Bayside. We took lunch at Barefoot by the Sea and Bayside. Our three evening meals were at the London Pub, Toscinini's, and Barefood by the Sea. Just FYI, we were told the dress for evening meals was casual. A friend of ours was wearing his basketball shorts and was turned away at Barefood by the Sea. It should be stressed - it is ELEGANTLY CASUAL - rather an interesting distinction.

We definitely would return to St. Lucia. And, Sandals Grande would be a good choice for our lodging.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

Folks,
We contemplated doing a European cruise for our honeymoon. Thanks to the brilliance of our travel agent, we went with Sandals. After the insane week of preparation leading up to our wedding day, it was EXACTLY what the doctor ordered.

Even though there will be 100 couples with the same anniversary as you (i.e. you are not 'special'), the Management and Entertainment staff will make you feel like a celebrity.

GRANDE HIGHLIGHTS:
The Grande gives you a TON of things to eat and do, all in a big, but not too sparse an area. The beach is stunning, the pool is amazing and the drinks are FANTASTIC. We did not get the chance to have a massage or other spa treatments, but all were highly praised by other guests.
Save your pool chairs with umbrellas by 9:00 / 9:30. There's only a few and they go fast.

BEVERAGES:
Swim up bar opens at 10:00. Look for Fanis - he is by far the best and he does the Pigeon Island and Dirty Banana (extra dirrrty), proud. Another drink to try that is NOT on the menu board, is the "bbc" - Baileys, Banana & Coconut rum. Yummy, like a shake.
The Beach bar, right next to the swim up bar also offers the same drinks into the night, and then some. Often, the Entertainment crew will host events outside in this area. Go to them - it's a blast! Dance all night - they are a scream.
Cheers to Sergin, Mama Dumplyn, Fluffy, Mervin and Thyan.
This is a group who goes above and beyond to entertain you! Or they will feature events in the Palladium. Also a good time but smokey!

RESTAURANTS AT THE GRANDE:
Josephine's, the crepery, is a MUST. I tried 4 different kinds. All good. And you can take them to go. Don't forget an amazing homemade choco chip cookie for dessert.
Toscanninni's was okay. I recommend the pasta dishes. In our group, anyone who had seafood or meat, wasn't too impressed.
The Barefoot during the day was a great late afternoon / pre-nap place to grab a bite. Burgers, steak, fries, salad and nachos with great dips.
The Olde London pub is by far the best restaurant on site. The fish 'n chips are fantastic as are the salads, pot pies & mozarella sticks.
You can also call down and/or take out from here if you feel like a quiet night in your room. Open late until 2:00 am. You can even take a bottle of wine to go...

Seafood Buffet - They feature this on a Friday night, in the lobby. It 'looks' like a big deal but the seafood isn't that great. The presentation is lovely and it was okay but the chocolate was very good.

FOOD / MEALS AT OTHER RESORTS:
We did visit the other 2 resorts. I would recommend the Halycon for The Pier restaurant (and that alone). Not much to see here but the food was excellent. Wear something cool there as there is no air conditioning. It overlooks the water and the windows are open.

The Regency, the 2nd biggest has more character than the Grande, but lacks the modern feel and pool area charm. Their Bayside (open area restaurant is stunning though). Super high ceilings and a live band area. We would have liked to take in the night life here for a night.
The resort is also more spread out and secluded in spots. You can take a 2 minute shuttle ride to get to Kimonos.
La Toc was amazing food! French cuisine but the portions were very small (order many of them). The service was a little snooty but well worth it. Kimonos, the japanese restaurant was disappointing. I had heard that the sushi was horrible. I had to see for myself. Confirmed - do not take a chance on it. However, they do grill tuna, steak, mussels, shrimp and chicken in teppanyaki which is very good.

TOURIST ATTRACTIONS:
We went on the horseback (2hr) tour with Sandals. It was $60 U.S. per person. Great experience and you get to ride bareback, if you wish, in the beach. The tour guides are locals and very friendly. The horses are also well behaved. It poured as soon as we mounted but even with the wet ground, the horses kept their footage.

I would suggest hiring a cab driver for the day and ask them to take you to all the highlights of the Sandals "Land & Sea" tour. If you can get him/her to take you for less $80 U.S. per person, it would be worth your while. We saw the Piton mountains, sulphur springs / volcano. Both good. The Botanical gardens were stunning.

We also climbed the Fort Rodney peaks near the end of the Sandals drive. Spectacular view - well worth the $5 U.S. to get onto the property. Bring cash and exact change if possible. Go LONG before sundown. We got caught when it turned dark and it was a little scary with animal sounds and sightings.

Snorkelling was okay but I would suggest only going if they take you farther away from the resort. We went nearby (close to Fort Rodney) and it was disappointing. All the sealife was the same colour and not much to see.

FITNESS:
My attempt at gaining 5 lbs, rather than 10 was to partake in some of the activities offered. I recommend the Power walk, every morning at 8:00 with Thierry. He is great! It's early, but you get an energetic start to your day and you get to see more of the resort that you might not have.
We also did Aquacise in the late morning. You work against the water - good muscle workout. You get points toward your sandals prizes, for these. The pool and beach volleyball were also a hit among guests.
The gym facilities at the Grande were pretty good. TV's are set up and decent equipment. There were hardly any people in there when we went.

OTHER OBSERVATIONS:
If you arrive on a Sunday or Monday, you'll be joined by hundreds of couples who have the same schedule. If you stay for 10 days, like we did, you get to see and meet a whole new crop come in for the next week.
Roaming the pool was like an American geography lesson. We loved it!
We met great people from all over. That's the thing about Sandals - you can hang out on your own in the more secluded pools or beach areas, or join the crowd in the main pool.

ACCOMMODATIONS:
We stayed in a Deluxe, regular room. It was very nice, new and clean.
We heard of a few people paying a lot more for a swim up or "beach front" room. The way the resort is laid out, you are always steps away from the pool. I'd save your money and spend it on cool stuff while you are there. The swim up rooms are nice but no bar and no fun goings-on.

**Take Heed**
Be wary of the rooms on the first floor. We had 'some kind' of small varmit (unidentified to this day) in our room near the end, and found small droppings. The housekeeping was good about it but Management was slow to respond. A bit unnerving and not at all up to par with Sandals' level of service.

INTERNET ACCESS:
You have to pay for it! $5 U.S. for only 15 minutes. Save your long emailing until you get home :)

PHOTOGRAPHERS:
They have some that roam around taking pictures of you that you can buy. It's expensive ($15 / 5 x 7) and you may think that you have enough of your own, but they are really nice. The flash makes it look like you are in front of a backdrop, wherever it is. We had to get a pool one.

GIFT SHOP / SOUVENIRS:
The Regency has a better one than the Grande, surprisingly. Bigger variety and the prices are not that bad. We compared them to shopping in the local stores in town and often, the Sandals prices were the same or better! You will get approached by locals in town. Some of them are pretty aggressive. Just politely decline and keep moving.

TIMING / WEATHER:
September is a great time to travel. It is not yet their hot summer months. When it rains there, you get big grey clouds, heavy downpour then it blows out in 20 minutes. It's great. We did get one afternoon of cloud / thunderstorms but it was awesome as it rings through the mountains!

PACKING:
We overpacked!! Big time. Not knowing what to expect here, we brought far too many outfits. Try to plan the following PER day that you are there and stick to it with a couple extras:
- Bikinis / shorts & coverups. You'll be in this ALL day
- Nice outfit / dress for evening dinners or capris / tank top
- Workout stuff. Bring runners for climbing / hiking too
- Beach / pool shoes and a few others.
That's basically all you'll need. We brought 3 huge suitcases and didn't touch half of it. One couple, our friends from Montreal, brought one between the two of them and looked great each night!

FLIGHTS IN / OUT:
We went via Barbados and were lucky enough to fly into the North airport (small one). It's only 25 minutes from the resort. Many people flew into the large one and the ride is a rough one. We had to take this one going back since they closed the small one for renovations.
Even though we drove up every mountainside while touring, this one made us nauceous.

**Important Note if transferring Flights**
If you are going via Barbados or another island, be sure to PICK UP your luggage and check it into the next airline carrier. We had an agent tell us this wasn't necessary, then found out you have to bring it yourself!!

INSECTS / BITES / SUNSCREEN:
I seemed to be the only one affected by this, but both nights that I was on the beach for dinner, the following days caused extremed itchiness on my calves and ankles. There was no sign of a rash just very bothersome. I had heard from people who went in June that there were sand fleas, but...
I purchased the Aveeno "Anti-Itch" lotion from the gift shop at a premium. If you can bring it with you, it works very well.

You really do need sunscreen, applied regularly, here. Many people cook themselves the first day and end up like lobsters. Ladies, watch your scalps if you tie your hair back or have parts. Put lotion there too. I and a few others got burnt from floating around the pool all day. A hat and sunglasses helps.

That outta do it. We'd do it again in a heartbeat.
Enjoy your trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

We just returned from our honeymoon at Sandals Grande (9/20 - 9/27, 2005) and we had an AMAZING time. Let me start out by saying that I had read a lot of reviews before going and to be completely honest, I really don’t understand what people were complaining about!!

Weather: It rained everyday – for at least 15 min or so. Two of the days it lasted a few hours – it really wasn’t a bother though. There were a few VERY hot and humid days where we didn’t stray far from the pool or ocean.

Room: We had the luxury oceanfront category room. All of the rooms at the Grande are pretty much the same (in size and amenities – with the exception of the butler level rooms) so you’re really paying for the location and view of your room. We had a bit of a walk from our room to the bars/restaurants, but it really wasn’t terrible. We had a view of the tennis courts and the ocean on the Martinique side. The room was very clean, but the carpet did smell musty. We brought scented candles that took care of that. The resort in itself was VERY clean and well taken care of. You can tell that the Grande is the newest of the three resorts.

Service: All of the staff at the Grande were exceptionally friendly and helpful (with the exception of maybe 2 or 3 that must have been having a bad day.) Many people have complained that the service was slow. In some cases, I have to agree, but in my opinion, it is mostly a difference in culture. You’ll hear the staff down there saying “No pressure, no problem” about a million times during your stay – this is their philosophy! It helps to smile and relax and say “thank you” – this will help you get your drinks/food faster. People who I saw getting antsy and nasty with the staff waited the longest for their drinks.

Food: The food was good, not outstanding, but good. I think people who complain about the food are either used to eating McDonald's everyday or are accustomed to 5-star cuisine. You have to understand that you’re in the Caribbean, and they use different types and amounts of seasonings than we’re used to in the states. Some of the dishes were a little salty, but only one dish was so salty I didn’t eat it – the tilapia at the London Pub. We ate at all of the restaurants at the Grande. If you’re worried about not being able to find something you’ll like, hit the breakfast and lunch buffets at the Bayside. They had a ton of variety. I’m a semi-vegetarian and was impressed at the amount and variety of vegetarian dishes available at all of the restaurants. We also ate at The Pier at the Halcyon and Arizona’s at the Regency. You need reservations at The Pier (seafood), Kimono’s (Japanese) and La Toc (French) – if you’re at all interested in eating at these during your stay, make reservations the day you get there!

Alcohol: I heard some complaints that the alcohol was watered down. All of the bars at Sandals are stocked with both rail and name brand liquors – Absolut, Stoli, Beefeater, Courvoisier, etc. If you ask for a rum and coke, you’ll get a rail rum and coke. If you ask for Bacardi and coke, you’ll get the high end pour. Just be careful how you order. If you think there’s not enough alcohol in your drink, ask for a double or a floater – the bartenders are MORE than happy to oblige, especially if you’re friendly with them!! If you’re heading there soon, look for Fanis – he was the best bartender there and took very good care of us!

I also heard that the pool bar would be littered with people getting absolutely wasted and obnoxious – this wasn’t the case at all! People were definitely drinking, but in the week we were there, I only saw two people stumbling drunk – one at the piano bar and one at the pool.

Guests: I’d estimate that about 90% of the people staying at all of the Sandals resorts were honeymooners. The other 10% were people celebrating anniversaries. The majority of the guests appeared to be in their 20’s or 30’s but I’d say it was about 30% older couples. We saw a bunch of weddings going on while we were there – there were 8 performed in one day!

Activities: It is very hard to be bored at the Grande!! There were so many things to do, we ran out of time and we didn’t even leave the resort to do any excursions. You can shoot pool, play shuffleboard and ping pong, get on the trampoline, play beach/pool volleyball, hit the gym, go to the spa (we did the champagne and chamomile treatment and it was AMAZING), go tubing, waterskiing, kayaking, ride the water bike, take out a Hobie cat, go snorkeling or scuba diving, hike the Pigeon Island peak next door ….and the list goes on and on. The snorkeling trip was amazing – they don’t just take you right off the coast – they ride you down about an hour to the south end of the island to a National Geographic site – it was the BEST snorkeling I’ve ever done and I’ve been about a dozen times in Mexico, Barbados, Bermuda and the Virgin Islands. Everything at the Grande was included, except for spa treatments.

There are also games and shows at night, they did a newlywed game (which was very funny), trivia, a casino night, movie night, Monday night football, karaoke (hilarious!) After each nightly activity, they opened up the Palladium (night club) for dancing. On Monday nights they have the manager’s party where they give out prizes (we won 2 t-shirts and some rum) and then they have a steel drum orchestra and fire eaters out on the beach. That was really cool to watch. They also made coconut drinks – they cut open a fresh coconut and mixed rum and ice with the coconut juice – I had never drank coconut juice, so I thought that was the coolest thing!!

I would HIGHLY recommend the Grande – I know we want to go back (if we can save up $5K again sometime soon!!)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

We went to St. Lucia for our Honeymoon. It was very quite and relaxing. The island was beautiful. Our hotel was very nice, the rooms were a little less as I expected. The pools were awesome and the beach was great. There were lots of activites to do and excursions available to see the island. The food at our resort was not the greatest. My favorite place to eat was Kimonos inside the Sandals Regency. There is not a lot of night life going on in hotel. If you travel outside the resort you will find more but it is definately a place to go to relax and spend time

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

First, let me say how beautiful an island St. Lucia is and the people are so friendly and nice! We originally were going to stay at the Sandals Regency, but after reading so many negative comments we booked the Sandals Grande. My husband and I are both former hotel managers and went with the expectation of average accommodations and average food....anything better and you'll be pleased! Most people expect American 5-star standards and it's just not quite the same. We also booked the helicopter transfer after reading so many comments about the length of travel time to the resort. If you can afford it, do it!! It was awesome! It was amazing and quick! We beat other people from our flight by at least 1 1/2 hours. Note also: if you are going to book only 1 helicopter transfer, book your return flight to the airport vs. arriving. Flights from the southern airport to the North, only fly directly across the island (no view of the Pitons) and it is quicker...about 5 minutes, it seemed. Whereas, the return flight takes the west coast route to the Pitons and then over to the airport.
The Resort: Upon check-in, we were greeted with champagne and ice cold towels which were very welcoming! We booked the lowest category room and were supposed to get a one level upgrade because we were returning Sandals guests, however, we ended up 3 levels higher with the Luxe Honeymoon Beachfront accommodation. The view was great overlooking the pool and Rodney Bay and exceeded my expectations. The room itself is standard in size (it was originally built as a Hyatt), nice bathroom with granite countertops, but most important....tile floors throughout. I understand about half of the resort rooms now have tile floors and they are working on replacing the carpet in the rest. Trust me, a HUGE difference...there is also a stocked refrigerator with bottled water and sodas. You can, however, drink the tap water...fyi. The only complaint about our room was that it still had a musty smell...scented candles came in handy somewhat, but then I realized that it was the cushions from the chairs that smelled so badly. (people sitting in the chairs with wet bathing suits=mold/mildew=very stinky)..so, I simply put them on the balcony and the room was fine.
Food - again, we had average expectations and overall, I would say that it was definately that...a 3 on a scale of 1 to 5. We tried all of the restaurants at the Grande and our best meals were at Barefoot by the Sea (ask for Donovan..he is great!!) and the Olde London Pub. Our best meals overall, were at 1) The Pier at the Halcyon and 2) La Toc at the Regency. We didn't try Kimono's or the other 2 Italian rest. Still, these two restaurants, I would give a 4. Wonderful service and atmosphere, but lower on the food itself.
Sandals Grande vs. Regency: both have beautiful grounds. Regency is a little larger and more spread out/hilly. Their lobby is more intimate and breathtaking view...I have to say, I was quite stunned as I had very low expectations after reading other reviews. I think I would have been happy at either location. It really depends on what you're looking for in a resort. The Regency definately had a much stronger presence with their managers... they also had a DJ at the main pool (possibly to drown out renovation noise which it did) Do not let that stop your booking that property. We did see a comparable room (same category) and it was smaller, but very nice and quaint with a beautiful view...and that was un-renovated. The Grande - definately a nicer beach! Always calm and able to do the watersports. No red-flags here. Also, I highly recommend the park next door to the resort. Costs $5/per person. Awesome views and much larger than I expected. History, nice private beach, spectacular vistas....a must!
Activities: Watersports are awesome! We tubed, skiied, took out a sea kayak, golfed at the Regency. You are required to have a caddy...try to get Andy or Joe. They are both AWESOME!!!! So nice and VERY helpful.
We also did the Rub-A-Dub-Scrub for 2 at the spa (extra $) - incredible! 2 hours of massage, exfoliation, 9 head shower, mineral bath soak with bubbles and champagne followed up with lotion massage!
Tours - we did the Land & Sea...I would probably do the Soufriere Day Sail instead...the catamaran was just not long enough. We didn't want to get off and you see all the same things.
Drinks - not bad waits at all....all of the Sandals employees are so nice and helpful. We enjoyed Cervil/"Mr. Feel Good" at the pool side bar...quite a comedian. Try a BBC...they are incredible! Beer is either Piton or Heineken. Both fine.
Weather - we went during the supposed rainy season, but it was great! Intense, hot sun, but only got about 20 minutes of rain. We went Sept 16-23.
I don't see how someone could have a terrible vacation here...it is beautiful and relaxing. St. Lucia is incredible!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.